National Pollutant Release Inventory Substance Review

Proposed Deletions for 2016

Environment and Climate Change Canada proposed to delete 21 substances from the NPRI substance list starting in 2016. Consultations on this proposed change were conducted with the NPRI Multi-Stakeholder Work Group (WG) from October 30, 2014 to January 12, 2015. After considering the comments received, Environment and Climate Change Canada has decided to proceed with the deletions, as reflected in the 2016-2017 NPRI Canada Gazette notice.


Consultation Document

The following is a summary of the proposal. To obtain a copy of the proposal, please contact the NPRI.


Summary

In order to continually improve the National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) and meet both departmental priorities and data user needs, Environment and Climate Change Canada has been conducting a review of the NPRI substance list. This review involves verifying that the NPRI substance list is complete and relevant, and that reporting thresholds are appropriate for gathering data on pollutant releases in Canada.

Based on the analyses conducted as part of this substance review, Environment and Climate Change Canada is proposing to delete 21 substances that are currently listed in Part 1A of the NPRI substance list (with 10 tonne mass and 1% concentration thresholds). These substances are proposed for deletion starting with the 2016 reporting year. The substances fall into two groups:

  1. Four substances that are manufactured, processed or otherwise used (MPO) in Canada, but are not of health or environmental concern in Canada, and are not released in significant quantities by facilities in Canada. These substances meet NPRI decision factor 1.1, but do not meet decision factors 1.2, 1.3, and 2. For more information on the factors that are considered when modifying the NPRI, see A Guide to the Procedures to Follow When Submitting Proposals and A Description of the NPRI Stakeholder Consultation Process.
    Table 1. Substances proposed to be deleted from the NPRI that are manufactured, processed or otherwise used in Canada
    Substance NameChemical Abstracts Services Registry Number (CAS RN)
    C.I. Basic Red 1989-38-8
    C.I. Food Red 1581-88-9
    Dimethyl phenol1300-71-6
    Tetracycline hydrochloride64-75-5

     

  2. Seventeen substances that are not MPO in Canada, are not of health or environmental concern in Canada, and which are not released in significant quantities by facilities in Canada. These substances do not meet decision factors 1.1-1.3 and 2.
  3. Table 2. Substances proposed to be deleted from the NPRI that are not manufactured, processed or otherwise used in Canada
    Substance NameChemical Abstracts Services Registry Number (CAS RN)
    C.I. Acid Green 34680-78-8
    C.I. Direct Blue 21828407-37-6
    Calcium cyanamide156-62-7
    Chlorendic acid115-28-6
    2,6-Dinitrotoluene606-20-2
    Dinitrotoluene (mixed isomers)25321-14-6
    Hexachloroethane67-72-1
    Isosafrole120-58-1
    p-Nitrophenol (and its salts)100-02-7
    Paraldehyde123-63-7
    Pentachloroethane76-01-7
    o-Phenylphenol (and its salts)90-43-7
    Propargyl alcohol107-19-7
    p-Quinone106-51-4
    Safrole94-59-7
    Styrene oxide96-09-3
    Vinylidene chloride75-35-4

Note that while these substances do not currently meet the decision factors to be retained on the NPRI substance list, Environment and Climate Change Canada will continue to assess any new information on these and all NPRI substances, as it becomes available. Should information indicate in the future that a substance removed from the NPRI does meet the decision factors, re-addition to the NPRI can be considered at that time.


Summary of Stakeholder Comments and Environment and Climate Change Canada’s Response

The National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) Multi-Stakeholder Work Group provided input on Environment and Climate Change Canada’s proposal to delete 21 NPRI substances.

After considering the comments received, which were supportive of the Substance Review process and of the deletions, Environment and Climate Change Canada has decided to proceed with the deletion of these 21 substances.

Comments were received from the following stakeholders:

  • Canadian Steel Producers Association
  • Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers’ Association

Support for the process and change is acknowledged. A response from Environment and Climate Change Canada to these stakeholder comments is not required.

Date modified:

Examen des substances de l’Inventaire national des rejets de polluants

Suppressions proposées pour 2016

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a proposé de supprimer 21 substances de la liste des substances de l’INRP à compter de 2016. Des consultations concernant ce changement proposé ont été menées avec le Groupe de travail multilatéral de l’INRP du 30 octobre 2014 au 12 janvier 2015. Après avoir pris en compte les commentaires reçus, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a décidé d’aller de l’avant avec les suppressions. Ces dernières sont mentionnées dans l’avis de la Gazette du Canada de 2016-2017 concernant l’INRP.


Document de consultation

Voici un résumé de la proposition. Pour obtenir une copie de la proposition intégrale, veuillez communiquer avec l'INRP.


Sommaire

Afin d’améliorer continuellement l’Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP), de répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs de données et de respecter les priorités ministérielles, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a effectué un examen de la liste des substances de l’INRP. Cet examen consiste à vérifier que la liste des substances de l’INRP est complète et pertinente et que les seuils de déclaration sont appropriés pour recueillir des données sur les rejets de polluants au Canada.

D’après les analyses effectuées dans le cadre de cet examen des substances, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada propose de supprimer 21 substances qui sont actuellement inscrites à la partie 1A de la liste des substances de l’INRP (avec un seuil quantitatif de 10 tonnes et un seuil de concentration de 1 %). Il est proposé que la suppression de ces substances soit mise en œuvre à compter de l’année de déclaration 2016. Ces substances sont divisées en deux groupes :

  1. Quatre substances qui sont fabriquées, traitées ou utilisées d’une autre manière (FTU) au Canada, mais qui ne sont pas préoccupantes pour la santé ou l’environnement au Canada et qui ne sont pas rejetées par les installations au Canada en quantités significatives. Ces substances répondent au facteur de décision 1.1 de l’INRP, mais ne répondent pas aux facteurs de décision 1.2, 1.3 et 2. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les facteurs qui sont pris en considération pour déterminer les modifications à apporter à l’INRP, veuillez consulter le Guide des modalités à suivre pour présenter des propositions et Description du processus de consultation des intervenants de l’INRP.
    Tableau 1. Substances que l’on propose de supprimer de l’INRP qui sont fabriquées, traitées ou utilisées d’une autre manière au Canada
    Nom de la substanceNuméro de registre du Chemical Abstracts Service (no CAS)
    Indice de couleur rouge de base 1989-38-8
    Indice de couleur rouge alimentaire 1581-88-9
    Diméthylphénol1300-71-6
    Chlorhydrate de tétracycline64-75-5

     

  2. Dix-sept substances qui ne sont pas fabriquées, traitées ou utilisées d’une autre manière (FTU) au Canada, qui ne sont pas préoccupantes pour la santé ou l’environnement au Canada et qui ne sont pas rejetées par les installations au Canada en quantités importantes. Ces substances ne répondent pas aux facteurs de décision 1.1 à 1.3 et 2.
  3. Tableau 2. Substances que l’on propose de supprimer de l’INRP qui ne sont pas fabriquées, traitées ou utilisées d’une autre manière au Canada
    Nom de la substanceNuméro de registre du Chemical Abstracts Service (no CAS)
    Indice de couleur vert acide 34680-78-8
    Indice de couleur bleu direct 21828407-37-6
    Cyanamide calcique156-62-7
    Acide chlorendique115-28-6
    2,6-Dinitrotoluène606-20-2
    Dinitrotoluène (mélanges d’isomères)25321-14-6
    Hexachloroéthane67-72-1
    Isosafrole120-58-1
    p-Nitrophénol (et ses sels)100-02-7
    Paraldéhyde123-63-7
    Pentachloroéthane76-01-7
    o-Phénylphénol (et ses sels)90-43-7
    Alcool propargylique107-19-7
    p-Quinone106-51-4
    Safrole94-59-7
    Oxyde de styrène96-09-3
    Chlorure de vinylidène75-35-4

Il est à noter que bien que ces substances ne répondent pas actuellement aux facteurs de décision pour le maintien sur la liste des substances de l’INRP, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada examinera tout nouveau renseignement disponible sur ces substances et sur toutes les substances de l’INRP. Si de tels renseignements indiquent qu’une substance retirée de l’INRP répond aux facteurs de décision, il est alors possible d’envisager de l’ajouter de nouveau à l’INRP.


Résumé des commentaires des intervenants et des réponses d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

Le Groupe de travail multilatéral de l’Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) a fourni des commentaires sur la suppression de 21 substances de l’INRP proposée par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Après avoir pris en compte les commentaires reçus, lesquels étaient favorables au processus d’examen des substances et aux suppressions, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a décidé d’aller de l’avant avec la suppression de ces 21 substances.

Des commentaires ont été reçus des intervenants suivants :

  • Association canadienne des producteurs d’acier
  • Association canadienne des constructeurs de véhicules

Le support exprimé envers le processus et le changement est reconnu. Une réponse d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada aux commentaires des intervenants n’est pas requise.

Date de modification :