This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The National Pollutant Release Inventory Oil and Gas Sector Review

Environment Canada is undertaking a review of National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) reporting requirements for oil and gas facilities in order to achieve appropriate rates of reporting coverage for pollutants of concern, as well as simplified data reporting/data collection processes for industry and Environment Canada. The review will be completed in two phases. Phase 1 is intended to respond to the environmental petition submitted to the Auditor General of Canada, requesting Environment Canada to address NPRI reporting for shale gas and in-situ oil sands extraction. Phase 2 will build on Phase 1, and examine NPRI reporting requirements and remaining issues for the sector as a whole.


Discussion Document: Scope and Approach

1. Introduction

NPRI Overview

The NPRI is Canada's legislated, publicly accessible inventory of pollutant releases (to air, water and land), disposals and transfers for recycling. It is used for identifying pollution prevention priorities; supporting the assessment and risk management of chemicals and air quality modeling; helping develop targeted regulations for reducing releases of toxic substances and air pollutants; encouraging actions to reduce the release of pollutants into the environment; and improving public understanding. It captures data on over 300 substances of concern, including many substances declared toxic under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) and key air pollutants from a wide variety of industrial sectors.

Under section 46 of CEPA 1999, the Minister of the Environment issues notices to require facilities to report information each year for the purpose of creating an inventory of data. The NPRI reporting requirements, as published in the Canada Gazette, Part I Notice with respect to substances in the National Pollutant Release Inventory, specify the chemicals which need to be reported and set minimum quantities for reporting. As such, the NPRI does not capture data on all pollutant emissions in Canada. The reporting requirements are intended to create a balance between the level of effort required from reporting facilities and the overall quality of information in the NPRI. For the 2011 reporting year, 346 substances or substance groups were listed on the NPRI and approximately 8,000 facilities submitted reports on the substances that they released, disposed of, or sent to other facilities for recycling.

Background

Facilities from the oil and gas sector are required to report their releases, disposals and transfers of all substances listed on the NPRI for which they meet the reporting criteria, as published in the Canada Gazette notice. For the most recent reporting year (2011), close to 4,000 oil and gas extraction facilities reported to the NPRI, representing over 40% of all facilities reporting to the NPRI. All producing Canadian oil sands operations and off-shore oil and gas extraction facilities reported, as did most natural gas processing plants. Reporting coverage is lower for conventional oil and gas batteries, compressor stations and gas-gathering systems. Many facilities of these types were not required to report based on NPRI thresholds. Current NPRI reporting requirements capture most combustion-related emissions from the sector, but do not require reporting of fugitive or venting emissions (e.g. volatile organic compounds and hydrogen sulphide) from oil and gas extraction facilities with fewer than the equivalent of 10 full-time employees, or releases from oil and gas drilling and exploration activities.

Environment Canada is undertaking a review of NPRI reporting requirements for oil and gas facilities in order to achieve appropriate rates of reporting coverage for pollutants of concern, as well as simplified data reporting/data collection processes for industry and Environment Canada. This review also responds to the environmental petition Shale Gas Fracking and In Situ Oil Sands Chemicals and the National Pollutant Release Inventory: Public Disclosure Needed (petition 317) which was submitted to the Auditor General of Canada on June 22, 2011. Environment Canada responded to the petition on October 25, 2011, indicating that it will be undergoing a review of NPRI reporting from the oil and gas sector and would consider NPRI reporting for shale gas and in-situ oil sands extraction as part of that review.Footnote1 See Section 3 for more information.


2. Scope

The NPRI Oil and Gas Sector Review will primarily examine NPRI reporting requirements for oil and gas extraction and for support activities for oil and gas extraction (North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes 211 and 213). However, it should be noted that the review is not limited to facilities and activities with these two NAICS codes and may examine other facilities or activities from the oil and gas sector.

The scope of this review will look at the known gaps with NPRI data for the oil and gas industry and the potential contributing factors. The issues have been identified based on input from stakeholders and departmental needs. It should be noted that as this review progresses and discussions and consultations take place, other issues and contributing factors may be identified. However, for the time being, Environment Canada will be reviewing the impacts of the nine issues identified below and considering changes that would capture additional information on oil and gas activities and facilities. The review will be completed in two phases and the issues will be considered as part of Phase 1 and/or Phase 2, as applicable.

1. The exemption for oil and gas exploration or drilling (Phases 1 & 2)

This exemption has two main implications. First, it exempts facilities that are solely involved in these activities from reporting to the NPRI. Due to this reporting exemption, most pre-production facilities (e.g. those in pilot phase or in exploration or drilling phase) are not currently required to report to the NPRI. Second, for facilities that engage in other activities, the oil and gas exploration and drilling portion of their operations are exempt from reporting. Consideration of possible changes to this exemption will also need to take into account that exploration and drilling are not usually ongoing activities.

2. The 20,000 employee-hour (i.e. the equivalent of 10 full-time employees) threshold for reporting (Phases 1 & 2)

Many oil and gas facilities (such as wells, batteries and compressor stations) are unmanned or have few employees, and are therefore not required to report to the NPRI, except for criteria air contaminants (CACs) (see issue #3 below). It should be noted that the employee threshold does not apply to facilities that are engaged in certain specified activities (e.g. incineration). The review will consider whether certain oil and gas activities should be added to the list of activities for which reporting is required regardless of the number of employee hours.

3. Facilities with few employees are only required to report specified substances and specified release sources (Phases 1 & 2)

Facilities that do not meet the 20,000 employee-hour threshold are only required to report CACs and are only required to consider these releases from stationary combustion sources. Consequently, the majority of CACs from combustion-related emissions are tracked through the NPRI, but the majority of fugitive or vented emissions are not (e.g. fugitive emissions of volatile organic compounds and hydrogen sulphide from oil and gas wells). The review will consider whether adjustment of the requirements to ensure reporting on these emissions is warranted.

4. Subterranean releases are not specifically listed as a reportable category under releases to land (Phase 1)

NPRI requires reporting of releases to air, surface water and land, with land releases reported separately by spills, leaks, or other releases to land that are not disposals. Underground injection for the purposes of waste disposal is reportable under the disposal category (either on- or off-site). Underground injection for the purpose of enhancing upstream oil and gas production (e.g. hydraulic fracturing and enhanced oil recovery) is not specifically listed as a reportable category. This results in uncertainty as to whether this injection should be categorized as subterranean releases, whether these releases need to be reported to the NPRI and how they should be reported. The review will consider whether and how to address this issue.

5. Reporting is only required for substances listed in the NPRI (Phases 1 & 2)

Reporting for a particular substance is required only if that substance is listed in the NPRI notice. Therefore, releases or disposals are not captured if the substances of concern are not listed on the NPRI. For example, hydraulic fracturing fluid is a mixture of substances that may contain specific NPRI substances. Reporting of this fluid would be based on the individual NPRI substances contained in the mixture and not on the hydraulic fracturing fluid as a whole. As part of this review, substances that are relevant to the oil and gas sector but not already listed on the NPRI may be identified, and if so will be considered for addition.

6. Reporting on NPRI substances is only required if the threshold for a particular substance is met (Phases 1 & 2)

Thresholds for amounts of a substance manufactured, processed or otherwise used (MPO), or released should be at a level that will trigger reporting of all significant releases or disposals. If the thresholds are too high, then those substances are not reported. If deemed appropriate, reduced thresholds could be considered to increase reporting.

7. NPRI facility definition (Phase 2)

Some oil and gas facilities and activities can be transient or temporary and may not be captured by the current NPRI facility definition, and thus not be required to report. In addition, data users have difficulty comparing NPRI data to other sources, such as provincially reported data. In some cases, this is due to the NPRI facility definition not being aligned with other emissions reporting programs. Changes to how oil and gas sector facilities are defined under NPRI may be considered.

8. Certain types of information that may be relevant are not collected (Phase 2)

Certain types of information that may be relevant for this sector are not collected, such as equipment-level data, information on concentration and amounts of substances used, annual production data, etc. This is a potential issue for supporting the analysis needs of Environment Canada and other data users. The potential addition of certain additional data elements, which would be required to be reported by oil and gas sector facilities, will be considered.

9. Difficulty tracking facilities over time (Phase 2)

NPRI faces difficulty in tracking and processing reports from conventional oil and gas extraction facilities (such as oil and gas batteries and natural gas gathering systems) from year to year. This is due to the large number of these types of facilities and their frequent ownership changes, name changes and closures. Solutions on how to better track oil and gas extraction facilities from year to year will be explored.


3. Approach for This Review

The NPRI Oil and Gas Sector Review will be completed in two phases. The issues listed above that are relevant to shale gas and in-situ oil sands extraction activities, will be considered in whole or in part, during the first phase of the review. The remaining issues, as well as any others that arise will be considered during the second phase.

The review will occur in line with Environment Canada’s established procedures for considering changes to the NPRI, as set out in the Guidelines for the Use of Information Gathering Authorities under Section 46 of CEPA 1999Footnote2.

Phase 1: NPRI Reporting for Shale Gas and In-situ Oil Sands Extraction

The first phase of the review will look at NPRI reporting for shale gas and in-situ oil sands extraction activities, in response to environmental petition 317. The main issue raised in the petition is the concern that the chemicals injected into the ground for these activities are not being reported to the NPRI due to the current reporting requirements. All shale gas and in-situ oil sands facilities are required to report if they meet the NPRI criteria. However, pre-production facilities (i.e. those in pilot phase or in the exploratory or drilling phase) may not meet the NPRI requirements due to the exclusion for oil and gas exploration and drilling activities. Furthermore, once in production they may not trigger the 20,000 employee-hour threshold for reporting on substances other than air pollutants.

Environment Canada will consider changes that would capture more information on oil and gas activities and facilities beyond the traditional reporting thresholds. Phase 1 will focus on aspects of the issues listed in Section 2 that are relevant to shale gas and in-situ oil sands extraction. During 2013, stakeholders and the public will be consulted on the issues raised in petition 317 and on Environment Canada’s proposed path forward and position. It is anticipated that Phase 1 of this review will be completed in 2014.


Phase 2: NPRI Reporting for Other Oil and Gas Facilities and Activities

The second phase of the review will be a broader review of reporting from the oil and gas sector with a primary focus on extraction activities. This phase will build on Phase 1 and examine NPRI reporting requirements and aspects and issues from the list in Section 2 that remain. This broader review is anticipated to begin in 2014 and be completed in 2015.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Examen du secteur du pétrole et du gaz en lien avec l’Inventaire national des rejets de polluants

Environnement Canada procède à un examen des exigences de déclaration de l’Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) pour les installations pétrolières et gazières afin de réaliser des taux de déclaration appropriés pour les polluants préoccupants et d’établir des processus simplifiés de collecte et de présentation de données pour l’industrie et Environnement Canada. Il comprendra deux volets. Le premier volet vise à répondre à la pétition en matière d’environnement présentée au vérificateur général du Canada, dans laquelle les pétitionnaires demandent à Environnement Canada de se pencher sur la déclaration des produits chimiques utilisés pour les gaz de schiste et l’extraction de sables bitumineux in situ. Le second volet, qui se fondera sur le premier, examine les exigences de déclaration de l'INRP et les autres enjeux dans l’ensemble du secteur.



Document de travail: Portée et approche

1. Introduction

Survol de l'INRP

Établi par une loi et accessible aux citoyens, l'INRP est un inventaire des polluants rejetés (dans l’atmosphère, dans l’eau et dans le sol), éliminés et recyclés. Cette ressource clé permet de déterminer les priorités en matière de prévention de la pollution, de faciliter l'évaluation des substances chimiques et des risques qui y sont liés ainsi que la modélisation de la qualité de l'air, d'élaborer des règlements ciblés afin de réduire les rejets de substances toxiques et de polluants atmosphériques, d'encourager les mesures de réduction des rejets de polluants dans l'environnement, et de mieux informer le public. L'INRP permet de saisir des données sur plus de 300 substances préoccupantes, dont de nombreuses ont été déclarées comme étant toxiques en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], et les principaux polluants atmosphériques provenant d’un vaste éventail de secteurs industriels.

En vertu de l’article 46 de la LCPE (1999), le ministre de l’Environnement peut émettre des avis exigeant que les installations lui communiquent chaque année des renseignements pour lui permettre d’établir un inventaire de données. Les exigences de déclaration de l'INRP, publiées dans l’Avis concernant les substances de l'INRP, dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, spécifient les produits chimiques qui doivent être déclarés et les quantités minimales qui nécessitent une déclaration. Par conséquent, l'INRP ne saisit pas de données sur les émissions de tous les polluants au Canada. Les exigences de déclaration visent à créer un équilibre entre le niveau d’effort requis de la part des installations déclarantes et la qualité générale des renseignements dans l'INRP. Pour l’année de déclaration de 2011, 346 substances ou groupes de substances ont été inscrits à l'INRP et environ 8 000 installations ont présenté des déclarations sur les substances qu’elles avaient rejetées, éliminées ou envoyées à d’autres installations pour recyclage.

Contexte

Les installations du secteur du pétrole et du gaz sont tenues de déclarer leurs rejets, les éliminations et les transferts de toutes les substances inscrites dans l'INRP pour lesquelles elles répondent aux critères de déclaration énoncés dans l’avis publié dans la Gazette du Canada. Pour la plus récente année de déclaration (2011), près de 4 000 installations d’extraction pétrolière et gazière ont produit une déclaration à l'INRP; elles représentent plus de 40 % de toutes les installations produisant une déclaration. Toutes les installations canadiennes d’exploitation de sables bitumineux et d’extraction extracôtière du pétrole et du gaz ont produit une déclaration à l'INRP, ainsi que la plupart des usines de traitement de gaz naturel. Le taux de couverture est moins élevé pour les installations traditionnelles du pétrole et du gaz, les stations de compression et les systèmes de collecte du gaz. De nombreuses installations de ces types n’étaient pas tenues de faire une déclaration en fonction des seuils de l'INRP. Les exigences de déclaration actuelles à l'INRP permettent de capturer la plupart des émissions attribuables à la combustion provenant du secteur, mais elles ne visent pas les émissions fugitives ou d’évacuation (p. ex. les composés organiques volatiles et le sulfure d’hydrogène) provenant d’installations d’extraction du pétrole et du gaz où travaillent moins de l’équivalent de 10 employés à temps plein, ou les rejets provenant d’activités de forage de puits et d’exploration du pétrole et du gaz.

Environnement Canada procède à un examen des exigences de déclaration de l'INRP pour les installations pétrolières et gazières afin de réaliser des taux de déclaration appropriés pour les polluants préoccupants et d’établir des processus simplifiés de collecte et de présentation de données pour l’industrie et Environnement Canada. L’examen vise aussi à répondre à la pétition en matière d’environnement intitulée La fracturation liée au gaz de schiste, les produits chimiques liés aux sables bitumineux et l’Inventaire national des rejets de polluants : nécessité de divulgation publique (pétition no 317), présentée le 22 juin 2011 au vérificateur général du Canada. Environnement Canada a répondu à cette pétition le 25 octobre 2011 en indiquant que le Ministère allait entreprendre un examen des exigences de déclaration de l'INRP pour le secteur pétrolier et gazier et envisagerait la déclaration pour les gaz de schiste et l’extraction de sables bitumineux in situ dans le cadre de cet examen.Footnote1 Voir la section 3 pour un complément d’information.


2. Portée

L’examen du secteur pétrolier et gazier porte principalement sur les exigences de déclaration de l'INRP pour l’extraction de pétrole et de gaz et les activités de soutien à leur extraction [codes 211 et 213 du Système de classification des industries de l’Amérique du Nord (SCIAN)]. Cela dit, il convient de mentionner que l’examen ne se limite pas aux installations et aux activités portant ces codes SCIAN; il peut viser d’autres installations et activités du secteur pétrolier et gazier.

L’examen visera à examiner les lacunes connues dans les données de l'INRP pour l’industrie pétrolière et gazière et les facteurs contributifs possibles. Les enjeux ont été relevés à partir des commentaires des intervenants et en fonction des besoins du Ministère. Il convient de souligner que, à mesure que progressera l’examen et se tiendront des discussions et des consultations, d’autres enjeux et facteurs contributifs pourraient être relevés. Cela dit, pour le moment, Environnement Canada passera en revue les incidences des neuf enjeux identifiés ci-dessous et envisagera des changements qui permettraient d’obtenir des renseignements additionnels sur les installations et les activités liées au pétrole et au gaz. L’examen comportera deux volets. Les enjeux seront abordés dans le cadre du volet 1 et/ou du volet 2, selon le cas.

1. Exemption pour l’exploration pétrolière ou gazière ou le forage de puits de gaz ou de pétrole (volets 1 et 2)

Cette exemption a deux conséquences principales. En premier lieu, elle soustrait les installations qui se livrent exclusivement à ces activités de la déclaration à l'INRP. En raison de cette exemption, la plupart des installations de pré-production (c.-à-d. celles à la phase pilote ou à la phase d’exploration ou de forage) ne sont pas tenues à l’heure actuelle de présenter une déclaration à l'INRP. En second lieu, dans le cas des installations qui se livrent à d’autres activités, la portion de leurs opérations portant sur l’exploration pétrolière ou gazière et le forage de puits de gaz ou de pétrole sont exemptées de la déclaration. La prise en considération de changements possibles à cette exemption devra aussi tenir compte du fait que l’exploration et le forage de puits ne sont habituellement pas des activités continues.

2. Seuil de déclaration de 20 000 heures travaillées (soit l’équivalent de 10 employés à temps plein) (volets 1 et 2)

Étant donné que de nombreuses installations pétrolières et gazières (puits, stations de compression et stations de pré-transformation) sont sans personnel ou sont gérées par peu d’employés, elles ne sont pas tenues de faire de déclaration à l'INRP, sauf pour les principaux contaminants atmosphériques (PCA) (voir l’enjeu no 3 ci-dessous). Il convient de souligner que le seuil relatif aux employés ne s’applique pas aux installations qui se livrent à certaines activités spécifiées (p. ex. incinération). L’examen visera à établir si certaines activités pétrolières et gazières devraient être ajoutées à la liste des activités pour lesquelles une déclaration est requise, quel que soit le nombre d’heures travaillées par les employés.

3. Les installations dotées de peu d’employés sont seulement tenues de déclarer les substances et les sources de rejets spécifiées (volets 1 et 2)

Les installations qui n’atteignent pas le seuil des 20 000 heures travaillées sont tenues de déclarer uniquement les PCA et de prendre uniquement en compte les rejets provenant de sources de combustion fixe. Par conséquent, la majorité des PCA provenant d’émissions attribuables à la combustion sont suivies par l’entremise de l'INRP, mais la majorité des émissions fugitives ou de ventilation ne le sont pas (p. ex. émissions fugitives de composés organiques volatiles et de sulfure d’hydrogène provenant de puits de pétrole ou de gaz). L’examen visera à établir si l’ajustement des exigences afin d’assurer la déclaration de ces émissions est justifié.

4. Les rejets souterrains ne sont pas expressément indiqués comme une catégorie de déclaration dans rejets au sol (volet 1)

L'INRP exige la déclaration des rejets dans l’atmosphère, dans l’eau et au sol, les rejets au sol étant déclarés séparément par les catégories suivantes : déversements, fuites ou autres rejets au sol qui ne sont pas des éliminations. L’injection souterraine aux fins d’élimination de déchets doit être déclarée dans la catégorie d’élimination (sur place ou hors site). L’injection souterraine aux fins d’accroître la production de pétrole ou de gaz en amont (p. ex. fracturation hydraulique et récupération assistée des hydrocarbures) n’est pas expressément indiquée comme une catégorie de déclaration. Ceci soulève de l’incertitude quant à savoir si cette injection devrait être classifiée comme des rejets souterrains, si ces rejets doivent être déclarés à l'INRP et comment ils devraient l’être. L’examen visera à établir si cet enjeu doit être étudié et la manière de le faire.

5. La déclaration est requise uniquement pour les substances répertoriées à l'INRP (volets 1 et 2)

La déclaration d’une substance particulière est seulement requise si elle est répertoriée dans l’avis de l'INRP. Par conséquent, les rejets et les éliminations n’y sont pas saisis si les substances préoccupantes ne sont pas répertoriées dans l'INRP. Par exemple, les fluides de fracturation hydraulique sont un mélange de substances qui peuvent contenir des substances répertoriées dans l'INRP. La déclaration de ces fluides reposerait sur les substances individuelles de l'INRP présentes dans le mélange et non sur les fluides de fracturation hydraulique dans l’ensemble. Dans le cadre du présent examen, des substances pertinentes au secteur du pétrole et du gaz mais non encore répertoriées dans l'INRP peuvent être identifiées et, le cas échéant, elles seront considérées pour ajout à l'INRP.

6. La déclaration des substances de l’INRP est requise seulement si le seuil pour une substance particulière est atteint (volets 1 et 2)

Les seuils des quantités d’une substance fabriquée, préparée ou utilisée d’une autre manière, ou rejetée devraient se situer à un niveau qui déclenchera la déclaration de tous les rejets et éliminations importants. Si les seuils sont trop élevés, ces substances ne sont alors pas déclarées. Si elle est appropriée, une réduction des seuils pourrait être envisagée pour accroître le taux de déclaration.

7. Définition de « installation » dans l'INRP (volet 2)

Certaines installations et activités pétrolières et gazières peuvent être provisoires ou temporaires et donc ne pas être incluses dans la définition actuelle de « installation » dans l'INRP et, par conséquent, ne pas être tenues de produire une déclaration. De plus, les utilisateurs des données ont de la difficulté à comparer les données de l'INRP aux données provenant d’autres sources, telles que les données déclarées au niveau provincial. Dans certains cas, cela est dû au fait que la définition de « installation » dans l'INRP n’est pas harmonisée à d’autres programmes de déclaration des émissions. La modification de la définition des installations pétrolières et gazières dans l'INRP peut être envisagée.

8. Certains types de renseignements qui peuvent être pertinents ne sont pas recueillis (volet 2)

Certains types de renseignements qui peuvent être pertinents pour le secteur du pétrole et du gaz ne sont pas recueillis, notamment des données sur l’équipement, les concentrations, les quantités des substances utilisées, la production annuelle, etc. Cette situation peut s’avérer problématique pour ce qui est de combler les besoins en matière d’analyse d’Environnement Canada et d’autres utilisateurs des données. L’ajout possible de certains autres éléments de données, que les installations du secteur du pétrole et du gaz seraient tenues de déclarer, sera considéré.

9. Difficulté à effectuer le suivi des installations au fil du temps (volet 2)

L'INRP a de la difficulté à effectuer le suivi et le traitement des déclarations des installations d’extraction du pétrole et du gaz par des méthodes classiques (comme les stations de pré-transformation du pétrole et du gaz et les systèmes de collecte du gaz naturel) d’une année à l’autre. Ceci est dû au grand nombre de ces types d’installations et aux changements fréquents de propriétaires, aux changements de nom et aux fermetures. Des solutions pour mieux effectuer le suivi des installations pétrolières et gazières d’une année à l’autre seront explorées.



3. Approche de l’examen

L’examen du secteur du pétrole et du gaz en lien avec l'INRP comportera deux volets. Les enjeux énumérés ci-dessus en lien avec les gaz de schiste et l’extraction in situ de sables bitumineux seront étudiés en entier ou en partie durant le premier volet de l’examen. Les autres enjeux, de même que tout autre qui se présentera, seront considérés durant le second volet.

L’examen sera mené conformément aux procédures appliquées par Environnement Canada lorsque le Ministère envisage d’apporter des changements à l'INRP, telles qu’elles sont établies dans les Directives sur l’application du pouvoir de collecte d’information aux termes de l’article 46 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)Footnote2.

Premier volet : Déclaration à l'INRP pour les gaz de schiste et l’extraction in situ de sables bitumineux

Le premier volet de l’examen portera sur la déclaration à l'INRP pour les activités portant sur les gaz de schiste et l’extraction in situ de sables bitumineux, en réponse à la pétition en matière d’environnement no 317. Le principal problème soulevé dans la pétition a trait à la préoccupation que les produits chimiques injectés dans le sol pour ces activités ne sont pas déclarés à l'INRP en raison des exigences de déclaration actuelles. Toutes les installations d’exploitation des gaz de schiste et de sables bitumineux in situ sont tenues de faire une déclaration si elles satisfont aux critères de l'INRP. Il se peut toutefois que les installations de pré-production (c.-à-d. celles à la phase pilote ou à la phase d’exploration ou de forage de puits) ne répondent pas aux exigences de l'INRP en raison de l’exemption des activités d’exploration pétrolière et gazière et de forage de puits de gaz ou de pétrole. En outre, une fois qu’elles sont en production, elles peuvent ne pas déclencher le seuil de 20 000 heures travaillées pour la déclaration des substances autres que les polluants atmosphériques.

Environnement Canada envisagera des changements qui permettraient de recueillir plus de renseignements sur les activités et les installations pétrolières et gazières au delà des seuils de déclaration traditionnels. Le premier volet mettra l’accent sur les aspects des enjeux identifiés à la section 2 qui sont pertinents aux gaz de schiste et à l’extraction in situ de sables bitumineux. Au cours de 2013, les intervenants et le public seront consultés au sujet des enjeux soulevés dans la pétition no 317 et le cheminement proposé et la position d’Environnement Canada. Il est prévu que le premier volet du présent examen se terminera en 2014.

Second volet : Déclaration à l'INRP pour d’autres installations et activités pétrolières et gazières

Le second volet de l’examen portera sur une évaluation élargie de la déclaration pour le secteur du pétrole et du gaz, la cible principale étant les activités d’extraction. Ce volet, qui s’appuiera sur le premier, portera sur l’examen des exigences de déclaration à l'INRP et les autres aspects et enjeux identifiés à la section 2. Il est prévu que cet examen plus vaste débutera en 2014 et se terminera en 2015.


Date de modification :