Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Microbial Source Tracking in Aquatic Ecosystems: The State of the Science and an Assessment of Needs

Microbial Source Tracking Overview

Microbial source tracking (MST) is an emerging field that seeks to identify the source of microbial contamination in the environment. The field has been developing rapidly to address growing needs to find the source of fecal pollution contaminating sources of drinking, shellfish and recreational waters. The general approach is based on comparing the similarity of microorganisms collected from aquatic ecosystems to microorganisms collected from known fecal pollution sources in order to make inferences about the likely source of fecal contamination.

Various methods have been developed for microbial source tracking (Simpson et al. 2002; Scott et al. 2002; U.S. EPA 2005). Since the field of MST is evolving rapidly, many new methods are also under investigation. The collection of methods for microbial source tracking has often been referred to as a toolbox, with some methods being more relevant to use than others in certain circumstances. This section provides an overview of some of the more commonly used MST methods.

MST methods can be classified as library-dependent methods or library-independent methods. To date, library-dependent methods have been more widely used in MST studies, although it can be very labour intensive and time consuming to develop the library for these methods. Library-independent methods are increasingly under investigation.

Library-Dependent MST Methods

Library-dependent methods are based upon choosing a fecal indicator microorganism (e.g., Escherichia coli) and establishing a reference library of characteristics of individual isolates of the selected microorganism obtained from known fecal pollution sources. For example, a library could be a database of DNA fingerprints of E. coli isolates obtained from fecal pollution sources such as animal feces, septic tanks or municipal wastewater effluents. The DNA fingerprints of E. coli isolates obtained from aquatic ecosystems ("unknowns") can then be compared to the DNA fingerprints in the library ("knowns") to make inferences about the source of the waterborne E. coli isolates. Sound taxonomic identification of the fecal and waterborne isolates is necessary to ensure similarity comparisons are warranted. A minimum size has not yet been established for libraries, although they need to be sufficiently large to reflect the diversity of isolates in the environment. A targeted sampling approach may be useful for focusing MST efforts (Kuntz et al. 2003).

Sewage treatment secondary clarifying tanks | Photo: Quintin RochfortThe most common fecal indicator microorganisms used in library-dependent methods to date have been Escherichia coli and Enterococcus spp. These bacteria are common inhabitants of warm-blooded animal guts, are relatively easy to isolate and culture in the lab, and are widely used by water quality monitoring programs. The similarity between isolates of a fecal indicator microorganism can be measured by either phenotypic profiling or genotypic fingerprinting methods.

Phenotypic methods use cellular or physiological comparisons between the isolates based on features such as antibiotic resistance (Wiggins 1996; Hagedorn et al. 1999; Harwood et al. 2000) or carbon utilization (Hagedorn et al. 2003). Antibiotic resistance profiling has been the most commonly used phenotypic method to date. For this method, bacterial isolates can be inoculated onto the surface of many agar plates, with each plate containing a different antibiotic mixed into the agar. The isolates are incubated overnight on the agar plates, and their growth is compared to their growth on a control plate (i.e., the same agar without antibiotics). How well each isolate grows on many different agar plates is used to develop a profile of its antibiotic resistance. An antibiotic resistance approach to MST is based on the assumption that bacteria in human and domestic animal guts are exposed to different antibiotics in medical and veterinary treatments, and that these gut bacteria will develop different resistance profiles. Since wildlife species do not receive direct antibiotic treatments, their gut bacteria are typically less resistant to antibiotics.

Genotypic methods use DNA sequence comparisons between the isolates based on approaches like DNA fingerprinting using rep-PCR (Dombek et al. 2000; Johnson et al. 2004), ribotyping (Carson et al. 2001), and amplified fragment length polymorphism (AFLP) (Guan et al. 2002; Leung et al. 2004). In these DNA fingerprinting methods, DNA is extracted from cells of an isolate and different DNA cutting or amplifying techniques can be used to obtain DNA fragments of different sizes. The different sized DNA fragments can then be separated on an electrophoresis gel into a ladder-like pattern of DNA bands that can be visualized and statistically analyzed as a unique DNA fingerprint. Ribotyping and rep-PCR have been the most commonly used DNA fingerprinting techniques to date.

Library-Independent MST Methods

Library-independent methods are based upon detecting host-specific markers to indicate the presence of fecal contamination from a specific human or animal host in the water. Most library-independent methods rely on the polymerase chain reaction (PCR) to detect host-specific markers. These methods do not generally require a cultivation step, although in some cases this is necessary to increase the numbers of microorganisms carrying a host-specific marker gene. For example, cultivation-based methods have been proposed for human-specific markers in Enterococcus (Scott et al. 2005), and cattle and swine markers in E. coli (Khatib et al. 2002, 2003).

Some of the most promising results to date for developing host-specific markers for fecal pollution source tracking involve 16S rDNA markers within the Bacteroidetes family. These anaerobic bacteria comprise a very large portion of the fecal flora in warmblooded animals. Bernhard and Field (2000a) found host-specific 16S rDNA sequences in Bacteroides sp. bacteria in human and cow fecal samples and used a method to track these sequences in coastal waters. Bernhard and Field (2000b) then developed Bacteroides 16S rDNA PCR assays specific to ruminants and humans as culture-independent MST methods. There is now an active research effort to validate and find new Bacteroides sp. host-specific markers (Field 2004). Additional host-specific markers have been proposed based on bacteriophages (Payan et al. 2005) and pathogenic microorganisms such as enteric viruses (Fong et al. 2005) and protozoa like Cryptosporidium sp. (Jiang et al. 2005).

Other Source Tracking Methods

While the field of microbial source tracking is growing rapidly, it should be noted that other methods can also be used to track fecal contamination in aquatic ecosystems. For example, chemical tracers have been used, most commonly to detect chemicals associated with human wastes. As the highest concentration of these chemicals is typically found in wastewater treatment plants, they have been proposed for tracking human fecal waste pollution. For example, fecal sterols and stanols, caffeine, detergents, laundry brighteners, fragrance materials and pharmaceuticals are among chemicals proposed as markers of fecal pollution (Elhmmali et al. 2002; Roser et al. 2003; Glassmeyer et al. 2005). Eukaryotic mitochondrial DNA markers have also been used to discriminate between fecal pollution sources in surface waters (Martellini et al. 2005) as outlined later in this Workshop Report.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Le dépistage des sources de pollution microbienne dans les écosystèmes aquatiques: état de la science et évaluation des besoins

Aperçu du dépistage des sources de pollution microbienne

Le dépistage des sources de pollution microbienne (DSPM) est un nouveau domaine qui vise à retracer les sources de contamination microbienne dans l'environnement. Ce domaine s'est développé rapidement pour répondre aux besoins croissants de repérage des sources de pollution fécale contaminant les eaux potables, coquillères et récréatives. La démarche générale est fondée sur l'établissement du degré de similitude entre les microorganismes recueillis dans les écosystèmes aquatiques et les microorganismes provenant de sources connues de pollution fécale pour en arriver à déduire la source probable de la contamination fécale.

Diverses méthodes ont été élaborées pour le dépistage des sources de pollution microbienne (Simpson   et al., 2002; Scott   et al., 2002; U.S. EPA, 2005). Comme le domaine évolue rapidement, de nombreuses nouvelles méthodes sont également à l'étude. L'ensemble des méthodes de DSPM est souvent vu comme une « boîte à outils », certaines méthodes s'avérant davantage pertinentes que d'autres selon les circonstances. La présente section brosse un tableau de certaines des méthodes de DSPM les plus communément utilisées.

Les méthodes de DSPM peuvent être divisées en deux grands groupes, soit les méthodes qui reposent sur une banque de matériel microbien de référence et les méthodes qui ne reposent pas sur une telle banque de matériel. À ce jour, les méthodes avec banque de matériel de référence ont été les plus largement utilisées dans les études de DSPM, bien que l'élaboration de la banque de matériel puisse demander beaucoup de travail et de temps. On se penche de plus en plus sur les méthodes sans banque de matériel de référence.

Méthodes de DSPM avec banque de matériel microbien de référence

Les méthodes avec banque de matériel de référence consistent à choisir un microorganisme fécal indicateur (p. ex. Escherichia coli) puis à établir une banque de caractéristiques de référence des isolats individuels du microorganisme choisi qui proviennent de sources connues de pollution fécale. Par exemple, on pourrait avoir comme banque de matériel de référence une base de données d'empreintes génétiques d'isolats d' E. coli provenant de sources de pollution fécale comme des fèces animales, des fosses septiques ou des effluents d'eaux usées municipales. Les empreintes génétiques des isolats d' E. coli provenant d'écosystèmes aquatiques (c.-à-d'origine inconnue) peuvent alors être comparées aux empreintes génétiques figurant dans la banque (origine connue) pour déduire la source des isolats d' E. coli tirés du milieu aquatique. L'identification taxinomique des isolats fécaux et aquatiques doit être exacte pour assurer la validité de l'établissement des similitudes. La taille minimale des banques de matériel de référence n'a pas encore été établie, mais elles doivent être suffisamment importantes pour refléter la diversité des isolats tirés de l'environnement. Il pourrait être utile de procéder à un échantillonnage ciblé pour mieux orienter les efforts de DSPM (Kuntz et al., 2003).

Réservoirs de clarification secondaires pour le traitement des eaux usées | Photo : Quintin RochfortLes microorganismes fécaux indicateurs les plus communément utilisés à ce jour dans les méthodes avec matériel de référence sont les Escherichia coli et des Enterococcus. Ces bactéries sont communément présentes dans le tube digestif des homéothermes et sont relativement faciles à isoler et à cultiver en laboratoire, de sorte qu'elles sont largement utilisées dans les programmes de surveillance de la qualité des eaux. On peut mesurer la similitude entre isolats d'un microorganisme fécal indicateur au moyen de méthodes fondées sur la détermination des profils des phénotypes ou de méthodes fondées sur la détermination des empreintes des génotypes.

Les méthodes fondées sur les phénotypes utilisent des comparaisons cellulaires ou physiologiques entre les isolats, reposant sur des caractéristiques comme la résistance aux antibiotiques (Wiggins, 1996; Hagedorn   et al., 1999; Harwood   et al., 2000) ou l'utilisation du carbone (Hagedorn et al., 2003). Le profilage fondé sur la résistance aux antibiotiques est à ce jour la méthode phénotypique la plus communément employée. Dans cette méthode, les isolats bactériens peuvent être inoculés sur de nombreuses plaques de gélose, chaque plaque renfermant un antibiotique différent mélangé à la gélose. Les isolats sont incubés sur les plaques de gélose durant une nuit et leur croissance est comparée à leur croissance sur une plaque témoin (renfermant la même gélose mais sans antibiotique). Le degré de croissance de chaque isolat sur les différentes plaques de gélose est utilisé pour établir son profil de résistance aux antibiotiques. La méthode de DSPM fondée sur la résistance aux antibiotiques repose sur l'idée que les bactéries du tube digestif des humains et des animaux domestiques sont exposées à différents antibiotiques par la voie de traitements médicaux et vétérinaires et que ces bactéries entériques acquièrent différents profils de résistance. Comme les espèces sauvages ne sont pas directement exposées à des antibiotiques, leurs bactéries entériques sont habituellement moins résistantes aux antibiotiques.

Les méthodes fondées sur les génotypes comparent des séquences d'ADN des isolats à l'aide de méthodes comme la détermination des empreintes génétiques à l'aide de la rep-PCR (Dombeck et al., 2000; Johnson et al., 2004), du ribotypage (Carson et al., 2001) et du polymorphisme de longueur de fragments amplifiés (AFLP) (Guan et al., 2002; Leung et al., 2004). Dans ces méthodes de détermination des empreintes génétiques, l'ADN est extrait des cellules d'un isolat, puis différentes techniques de coupure et d'amplification de l'ADN peuvent être utilisées pour obtenir des fragments d'ADN de tailles diverses. Ces fragments peuvent ensuite être séparés sur gel d'électrophorèse, ce qui produit un spectre de bandes pouvant être visualisé et caractérisé statistiquement comme empreinte génétique unique. Le ribotypage et la rep-PCR sont les techniques de détermination des empreintes génétiques les plus communément utilisées à ce jour.

Méthodes de DSPM sans banque de matériel microbien de référence

Les méthodes sans banque de matériel microbien de référence sont fondées sur la détection de marqueurs spécifiques aux hôtes indiquant que la contamination fécale de l'eau provient d'un hôte humain ou animal spécifique. La plupart de ces méthodes utilisent la réaction en chaîne de la polymérase (PCR) pour détecter les marqueurs spécifiques. La culture microbienne n'est généralement pas nécessaire, mais elle peut l'être dans certains cas pour accroître le nombre de microorganismes porteurs d'un gène marqueur spécifique à l'hôte. Par exemple, on a proposé des méthodes avec culture pour des marqueurs spécifiques à l'homme trouvés chez des bactéries du genre Enterococcus (Scott et al., 2005) et pour des marqueurs spécifiques aux bovins et au porc trouvés chez les E. coli (Khatib et al., 2002, 2003).

Certains des résultats les plus prometteurs à ce jour pour l'obtention de marqueurs spécifiques aux hôtes en vue du dépistage des sources de pollution fécale ont trait à des marqueurs ADNr 16S dans la famille des Bacteroidetes. Ces bactéries anaérobies représentent une très forte proportion de la flore fécale des homéothermes. Bernhard et Field (2000a) ont trouvé des séquences d'ADNr 16S spécifiques aux hôtes chez des Bacteroides sp. dans des échantillons de fèces humaines et bovines et ont utilisé une méthode pour dépister ces séquences dans les eaux côtières. Les mêmes auteurs (2000b) ont ensuite élaboré des essais de PCR pour l'ADNr 16S des Bacteroides spécifiques aux ruminants et à l'humain offrant des méthodes de DSPM ne requérant pas de culture. Un effort de recherche important est en cours pour valider et trouver de nouveaux marqueurs spécifiques aux hôtes chez les Bacteroides sp. (Field, 2004). On a proposé d'autres marqueurs spécifiques aux hôtes chez des bactériophages (Payan et al., 2005) et des microorganismes pathogènes, tels des virus entériques (Fong et al., 2005) et des protozoaires, comme des cryptosporidies (Jiang et al., 2005).

Autres méthodes de dépistage des sources

Bien que les méthodes de dépistage des sources de pollution microbienne décrites ci-dessus évoluent rapidement, on doit souligner que d'autres méthodes peuvent être utilisées pour dépister la contamination fécale dans les écosystèmes aquatiques. Par exemple, des traceurs chimiques ont été utilisés, le plus souvent pour détecter des substances chimiques associées aux déchets humains. Comme les plus fortes concentrations de ces substances chimiques se trouvent habituellement dans les stations d'épuration des eaux usées, ce type de méthodes est proposé pour le dépistage de la pollution fécale d'origine humaine. Par exemple, les stérols et stanols fécaux, la caféine, des détergents, des agents de blanchiment pour la lessive, des parfums et des produits pharmaceutiques ont été proposés comme marqueurs de la pollution fécale (Elhmmali et al., 2002; Roser et al., 2003; Glassmeyer et al., 2005). Des marqueurs ADNm d'eucaryotes ont aussi été utilisés pour discriminer des sources de pollution fécale pour les eaux de surface (Martellini et al., 2005), sujet traité plus bas dans le présent rapport.