This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Microbial Source Tracking in Aquatic Ecosystems: The State of the Science and an Assessment of Needs

Appendix A - List of Workshop Participants

* indicates speaker/panelist; ** workshop organizing committee; *** workshop sponsor


Kevin Rieberger, B.C. Min. of Water, Land & Air Protection
Norm Neumann *, Prov. (Alberta) Lab. for Public Health
Wendy Ralley, Manitoba Water Stewardship
John Lynch, Ontario Ministry of the Environment
Susan Weir, Ontario Ministry of the Environment
Todd Howell * ** ***,Ontario Ministry of the Environment
Brian Whitehead, Ontario Ministry of the Environment
Ted Briggs, Ontario Ministry of the Environment
Renée Bowler *, Ontario Ministry of the Environment
Cecily Flemming , Ontario Ministry of the Environment
Ann Marie Weselan, Ontario Ministry of the Environment
Stewart Sweeney *, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture & Food
John Drage, Nova Scotia Environment & Labour
Martin Goebel, Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Environment and Conservation

Ontario Conservation Authorities

Mari Veliz, Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority
Karen Maaskant, Upper Thames River Conservation Authority
Sandra Cooke, Grand River Conservation Authority
Tim Van Seters *, Toronto & Region Conservation Authority

Municipal/Regional Governments

Pat Chessie ** ***, City of Toronto
Ilze Andzans, City of Toronto
Ted Bowering *, City of Toronto
William Snodgrass, City of Toronto
Peter Gauthier, City of Toronto
Mahesh Patel, City of Toronto
Janis Cumin, City of Owen Sound
Jason Culp, City of St. Catharines

Federal Departments

Teresa Brooks, Health Canada
Will Robertson * **, Health Canada
Vic Gannon * **, Public Health Agency of Canada
Ed Topp * **, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Katrin Nagelschmitz *, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Roland Brousseau *, National Research Council of Canada
Tom Edge * ** ***, Environment Canada-NWRI
Karl Schaefer **, Environment Canada-S&T Liaison Division
Rob Phillips, Environment Canada-NWRI
Jim Maguire, Environment Canada-NWRI
Jiri Marsalek *, Environment Canada-NWRI
Allan Crowe, Environment Canada-NWRI
Jim Sherry, Environment Canada-NWRI
Heather Osachoff, Environment Canada-PYR
M.T. Grant, Environment Canada-AR
Sandra Kok ** ***, Environment Canada-OR-GLSF
Thomas Tseng, Environment Canada -OR
Janette Anderson, Environment Canada -OR
Lorraine Standing, Environment Canada-EPS
Elaine McKnight, Environment Canada-EPS  

Professional Associations

Catherine Jefferson, Canadian Water & Wastewater Assoc.
Cindy Toth, Water Environment Association of Ontario & Town of Oakville
Ian Mcilwham, Water Environment Association of Ontario & Region of Durham
Mary Jane Conboy, Ontario Federation of Agriculture
Sarah Winterton, Environmental Defence
Jeff Ridal, St. Lawrence River Institute of Environmental Sciences
Keith Sherman, Severn Sound Environmental Association


Greg Bezanson, Acadia University
Pierre Payment *, Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS)
Corinne Ong, University of British Columbia
Richard Nordin, University of Victoria
Shu Chen, University of Guelph
Kari Dunfield, University of Guelph
Michele Van Dyke, University of Waterloo


Don Stoeckel *, U.S. Geological Survey
John Griffith *, Southern California Coastal Water Research Project
Mike Jenkins *, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Cindy Nakatsu, Purdue University
Valerie J. Harwood *, University of South Florida
Charles Hagedorn *, Virginia Tech
Paul Rochelle *, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California
Nick Ashbolt *, The University of New South Wales

Date modified: