Solid Waste Disposal and Diversion

Access PDF (479 KB)

From 2002 to 2012, the total amount of solid wasteFootnote [1] disposed and diverted in Canada grew from 30.7 to 33.5 million tonnes, with a peak of 34.3 million tonnes in 2008.

While the residential sector is the dominant source of the growth in total annual solid waste generated from 2002 to 2012, an increasing share of residential waste is being diverted. On a per capita basis, residential waste diversion increased by 51%, while residential waste disposal increased by 2%. Diversion of non-residential waste remained relatively stable over this period.

Solid waste disposal and diversion, Canada, 2002 to 2012

Column chart

Long description

The stacked column chart presents biennial data, for the period from 2002 to 2012, on the amount of solid waste disposed and diverted from residential and non-residential sources in million tonnes. The chart shows that the total amount of waste disposed and diverted peaked in 2008.

Data for this chart
Solid waste disposal and diversion, Canada, 2002 to 2012
YearWaste diverted from residential sources
(million tonnes)
Waste diverted from non-residential sources
(million tonnes)
Waste disposed from residential sources
(million tonnes)
Waste disposed from non-residential sources
(million tonnes)
Waste diverted from residential sources
(kilograms per capita)
Waste disposed from residential sources
(kilograms per capita)
20022.83.98.415.689269
20043.43.79.016.3105281
20063.73.99.716.7114299
20084.34.09.416.6129281
20104.53.69.515.5133278
20124.73.89.615.4134276

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.17 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Source: Statistics Canada (2015) CANSIM Table 153-0041 – Disposal of waste, by source, Canada, provinces and territories, every 2 years (tonnes). Statistics Canada (2015) CANSIM Table 153-0042 – Materials diverted, by source, Canada, provinces and territories, every 2 years (tonnes).

In Canada, the responsibility for managing non-hazardous solid waste and reducing the amount of waste sent for disposal is shared among the provincial, territorial and municipal governments. Waste in landfills can contribute to environmental impacts such as air emissions, land disturbance and water pollution. These impacts occur both during and after the lifetime of the landfill site. Waste can be diverted from landfills by activities such as recycling or composting. These have the added benefit of also helping to conserve natural resources. Also, the use and processing of recycled waste often requires less energy and produces less pollution and greenhouse gas emissions compared to raw material extraction and processing.

Solid waste diversion rate by source

Between 2002 and 2012, the share of solid waste being diverted from disposal increased from 21.6% to 25.2% of the total waste generated. This increase was attributed to higher diversion from residential sources,Footnote [2] which increased from 24.8% to 32.7% over the period. The share of waste diverted from non-residentialFootnote [3] sources was relatively stable during this time.

Solid waste diversion rate by source, Canada, 2002 to 2012

Line chart

Long description

The line chart shows the total solid waste diversion rate from all sources and the rate of waste diversion from residential and non-residential sources, biennially, for the period from 2002 to 2012. It shows that the diversion rate increased every year for residential sources and that it is higher than non-residential sources.

Data for this chart
Solid waste diversion rate by source, Canada, 2002 to 2012
YearResidential sources diversion rate
(percentage of waste being diverted)
Non-residential sources diversion rate
(percentage of waste being diverted)
All sources diversion rate
(percentage of waste being diverted)
200224.819.821.6
200427.318.722.0
200627.619.022.4
200831.519.524.3
201032.318.724.4
201232.719.725.2

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 979 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Source: Statistics Canada (2015) CANSIM Table 153-0041 – Disposal of waste, by source, Canada, provinces and territories, every 2 years (tonnes). Statistics Canada (2015) CANSIM Table 153-0042 – Materials diverted, by source, Canada, provinces and territories, every 2 years (tonnes).

Solid waste diversion by type of material

Paper products are the most common type of material diverted for recycling. However, the increase in the total amount of solid waste being diverted between 2002 and 2012 was largely due to an increase in the diversion of organic materials.Footnote [4]

Solid waste diversion by type of material, Canada, 2002 to 2012

Stacked area chart

Long description

The stacked area chart shows the amount of solid waste being diverted, by type, biennially, for the period from 2002 to 2012. The chart includes data for the following types of material: other materials, plastics, household appliances, glass, metals, construction, renovation and demolition, organic materials and paper. Paper represents the largest share of diverted material throughout the period. The volume of diverted paper, organic materials, glass, household appliances and plastics increased during the period (with the volume of plastics diverted more than doubling).

Data for this chart
Solid waste diversion by type of material, Canada, 2002 to 2012
Type of material2002
(million tonnes)
2004
(million tonnes)
2006
(million tonnes)
2008
(million tonnes)
2010
(million tonnes)
2012
(million tonnes)
Other materials0.250.310.200.250.270.31
Plastics0.140.190.230.300.310.32
Household appliancesn.a.0.240.300.310.330.33
Glass0.330.400.380.420.430.41
Metals0.850.480.480.540.620.63
Construction, renovation and demolition0.650.850.720.720.650.64
Organic materials1.311.521.912.332.212.45
Paper3.113.133.423.443.253.36

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.05 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: n.a.: not available. Other materials include electronics, tires and other unclassified materials.
Source: Statistics Canada (2015) CANSIM Table 153-0043 – Materials diverted, by type, Canada, provinces and territories, every 2 years (tonnes).

Related indicators

Other information

Access PDF (479 KB)

Date modified:

Élimination et réacheminement des déchets solides

Accéder au PDF (492 Ko)

De 2002 à 2012, la quantité totale de déchets solidesNote de bas de page [1] éliminés et réacheminés au Canada est passée de 30,7 à 33,5 millions de tonnes, et on a enregistré une pointe de 34,3 millions de tonnes en 2008.

Même si le secteur résidentiel représente la source prédominante de la croissance dans la quantité annuelle totale de déchets solides produits de 2002 à 2012, une part en hausse de déchets résidentiels est réacheminée. Par rapport au nombre d'habitants (c.-à-d., par capita), le réacheminement des déchets résidentiels a augmenté de 51 %, alors que l'élimination des déchets résidentiels a augmenté de 2 %. Le réacheminement des déchets non résidentiels est demeuré relativement stable au cours de cette période.

Élimination et réacheminement des déchets solides, Canada, 2002 à 2012

Graphique à colonnes empilées

Description longue

Le graphique à colonnes empilées présente les données biennales, pour la période de 2002 à 2012, sur la quantité de déchets solides éliminés et réacheminés provenant de sources résidentielles et non résidentielles en millions de tonnes. Le graphique montre que la quantité de déchets éliminés et réacheminés a atteint un sommet en 2008.

Données du graphique
Élimination et réacheminement des déchets solides, Canada, 2002 à 2012
AnnéeDéchets de sources résidentielles réacheminés
(millions de tonnes)
Déchets de sources non résidentielles réacheminés
(millions de tonnes)
Déchets de sources résidentielles éliminés
(millions de tonnes)
Déchets de sources non résidentielles éliminés
(millions de tonnes)
Déchets de sources résidentielles réacheminés
(kilogrammes par habitant)
Déchets de sources résidentielles éliminés
(kilogrammes par habitant)
20022,83,98,415,689269
20043,43,79,016,3105281
20063,73,99,716,7114299
20084,34,09,416,6129281
20104,53,69,515,5133278
20124,73,89,615,4134276

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,25 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Source : Statistique Canada (2015) Tableau CANSIM 153-0041 – Élimination de déchets, selon la source, Canada, provinces et territoires, aux 2 ans (tonnes). Statistique Canada (2015) Tableau CANSIM 153-0042 – Matières récupérées, selon la source, Canada, provinces et territoires, aux 2 ans (tonnes).

Au Canada, la responsabilité de la gestion des déchets solides non dangereux et de la réduction de la quantité de déchets envoyés pour être éliminés relève à la fois des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et des administrations municipales. Les déchets dans les sites d'enfouissement peuvent avoir des impacts environnementaux, tels que des émissions atmosphériques, la perturbation des terres et la pollution de l'eau. Ces impacts se produisent pendant et après la durée d'utilisation d'un site d'enfouissement. Les déchets provenant de ces sites d'enfouissement peuvent être réacheminés dans le cadre d'activités comme le recyclage ou le compostage, qui ont également l'avantage de favoriser la conservation des ressources naturelles. De plus, l'utilisation et le traitement des déchets recyclés requièrent souvent moins d'énergie et produisent moins de pollution et d'émissions de gaz à effet de serre par rapport à l'extraction et au traitement de matières premières.

Taux de réacheminement des déchets solides, selon la source

De 2002 à 2012, la portion des déchets solides destinés à être éliminés qui ont été réacheminés est passée de 21,6 % à 25,2 % du total de déchets produits. Cette augmentation a été attribuée à une hausse de la quantité de déchets de sources résidentielles réacheminés,Note de bas de page [2] qui est passée de 24,8 % à 32,7 % au cours de cette période. La part de déchets provenant de sources non résidentiellesNote de bas de page [3] réacheminés a été relativement stable pendant cette période.

Taux de réacheminement des déchets solides, selon la source, Canada, 2002 à 2012

Graphique linéaire

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire présente le taux de réacheminement total de déchets solides provenant de toutes les sources et le taux de réacheminement de déchets provenant de sources résidentielles et non résidentielles, aux deux ans, pour la période de 2002 à 2012. Il montre que le taux de réacheminement augmente chaque année pour les sources résidentielles et qu'il est supérieur au taux des sources non résidentielles.

Données du graphique
Taux de réacheminement des déchets solides, selon la source, Canada, 2002 à 2012
AnnéeTaux de réacheminement de déchets de sources résidentielles
(pourcentage de déchets réacheminés)
Taux de réacheminement de déchets de sources non résidentielles
(pourcentage de déchets réacheminés)
Taux de réacheminement de déchets de toutes les sources
(pourcentage de déchets réacheminés)
200224,819,821,6
200427,318,722,0
200627,619,022,4
200831,519,524,3
201032,318,724,4
201232,719,725,2

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,07 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Source : Statistique Canada (2015) Tableau CANSIM 153-0041 – Élimination de déchets, selon la source, Canada, provinces et territoires, aux 2 ans (tonnes). Statistique Canada (2015) Tableau CANSIM 153-0042 – Matières récupérées, selon la source, Canada, provinces et territoires, aux 2 ans (tonnes).

Taux de réacheminement des déchets solides, selon le type de matières

Les produits de papier sont le type de matières le plus fréquemment réacheminé pour être recyclé. Par contre, l'augmentation de la quantité totale de déchets solides réacheminés de 2002 à 2012 a largement été attribuée à la hausse du taux de réacheminement des matières organiques.Note de bas de page [4]

Réacheminement des déchets solides, selon le type de matières, Canada, 2002 à 2012

Graphique en aires empilées

Description longue

Le graphique en aires empilées montre la quantité de déchets solides réacheminés, selon le type de matière, aux deux ans, pour la période de 2002 à 2012. Le graphique comprend des données sur les types de matières suivants : autres matières, plastiques, appareils électroménagers, verre, métaux, construction, rénovation et démolition, matières organiques et papier. Le papier représente la portion la plus grande de matières réacheminées au cours de la période. Le volume de papier, matières organiques, verre, appareils électroménagers et plastiques a augmenté au cours de la période (le volume de plastique réacheminé a plus que doublé).

Données du graphique
Réacheminement des déchets solides, selon le type de matières, Canada, 2002 à 2012
Type de matière2002
(millions de tonnes)
2004
(millions de tonnes)
2006
(millions de tonnes)
2008
(millions de tonnes)
2010
(millions de tonnes)
2012
(millions de tonnes)
Autres matières0,250,310,200,250,270,31
Plastiques0,40,190,230,300,310,32
Appareils électroménagersn.d.0,240,300,310,330,33
Verre0,330,400,380,420,430,41
Métaux0,850,480,480,540,620,63
Construction, rénovation et démolition0,650,850,720,720,650,64
Matières organiques1,311,521,912,332,212,45
Papier3,113,133,423,443,253,36

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,13 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : n.d.: non disponible. Les autres matières comprennent l'électronique, les pneus et les autres matières non classées.
Source : Statistique Canada (2015) Tableau CANSIM 153-0043 – Matières récupérées, selon le type, Canada, provinces et territoires aux 2 ans (tonnes).

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Accéder au PDF (492 Ko)

Date de modification :