Ambient Levels of Nitrogen Dioxide

Access PDF (1.63 MB)

Nitrogen dioxide (NO2) belongs to a group of substances called nitrogen oxides (NOX).Footnote [1] Nitrogen oxides are emitted into the atmosphere from high-temperature combustion processes such as vehicle engines, power plants and industrial processes. The major sources of nitrogen oxides in Canada are on-road and off-road vehicles, the oil and gas industry, and the use of fuel for electricity generation and heating. Nitrogen dioxide plays an important role in the formation of ozone in the atmosphere. It is a precursor to fine particulate matter, and contributes to acid deposition and eutrophication. Nitrogen dioxide also has adverse health effects: it can irritate the lungs, decrease lung function and increase susceptibility to allergens for people with asthma.

The annual average NO2 concentration indicators are based on the annual average of hourly NO2 concentrations.

National ambient level of nitrogen dioxide

In 2014, the national annual average concentration of NO2Footnote [2] was 8.9 parts per billion (ppb), or 0.7% lower than in 2013.

Since 2000, a decreasing trend of 0.5 ppb per year was detected. This was largely due to the federal government introducing progressively more stringent emissions standards that led to NOX emission reductions from cars and trucks.

Nitrogen dioxide concentrations, Canada, 2000 to 2014

Line chart of the national annual average concentrations of nitrogen dioxide - Long description below

Long description

The line chart shows the national annual average concentrations of nitrogen dioxide from 1999 to 2014. A decreasing trend was detected from 2000 to 2014.

Data for this chart
Nitrogen dioxide concentrations, Canada, 2000 to 2014
YearAnnual average concentration (parts per billion)
200015.0
200114.2
200213.2
200313.4
200412.8
200512.3
200611.8
200711.2
200810.9
200910.4
20109.6
20119.6
20129.0
20139.0
20148.9
Annual trend-0.5

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 765 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The national annual average nitrogen dioxide concentration indicator is based on the annual average of the hourly concentrations recorded at 85 monitoring stations across Canada.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) National Air Pollution Surveillance Program.

Regional ambient levels of nitrogen dioxide

In 2014, the annual average concentrations of NO2 in the air varied from 4.4 ppb in Atlantic Canada to 10.5 ppb in British Columbia. Concentrations of NO2 were lower in Atlantic Canada, southern Quebec and the Prairies and northern Ontario region than in 2013. However, concentrations were higher in southern Ontario and British Columbia in 2014 compared to the previous year.

Since 2000, decreasing trends in NO2 concentrations were observed for all regions in Canada. Southern Ontario had the largest decreasing trend at 0.7 ppb per year, followed by southern Quebec and British Columbia with 0.5 ppb per year and 0.4 ppb per year, respectively. Atlantic Canada had a decreasing trend of 0.3 ppb per year, while the Prairies and northern Ontario region had a decreasing trend of 0.2 ppb per year.

Regional nitrogen dioxide concentrations, 2000 to 2014

Line chart of the annual regional average concentrations of nitrogen dioxide - Long description below

Long description

The line chart shows the annual average concentrations of nitrogen dioxide from 2000 to 2014 for five regions in Canada: Atlantic Canada, southern Quebec, southern Ontario, Prairies and northern Ontario, and British Columbia. Since 2000, decreasing trends were observed for all regions.

Data for this chart
Regional nitrogen dioxide concentrations, 2000 to 2014
YearAtlantic Canada annual average concentration (parts per billion)Southern Quebec annual average concentration (parts per billion)Southern Ontario annual average concentration (parts per billion)Prairies and northern Ontario annual average concentration (parts per billion)British Columbia annual average concentration (parts per billion)
2000n/a15.518.611.215.6
200112.514.618.210.714.4
20027.413.517.010.713.6
20038.315.516.810.913.4
20046.513.815.810.113.2
20055.613.616.39.612.7
20063.911.713.89.713.2
20074.111.713.09.611.8
20085.212.212.78.511.6
20094.310.910.89.111.6
20104.111.110.79.09.9
20114.610.810.68.59.7
20123.99.39.67.810.1
20135.08.89.58.310.0
20144.48.49.87.910.5
Annual trend-0.3-0.5-0.7-0.2-0.4

Note: n/a = not available.

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.65 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The annual average nitrogen dioxide concentration indicator is based on the annual average of the hourly concentrations recorded at 5 monitoring stations in Atlantic Canada, 14 in southern Quebec, 20 in southern Ontario, 21 in the Prairies and northern Ontario and 25 in British Columbia. There was no value for the Atlantic Canada region in 2000 because there were only two stations with reported concentrations. At least three stations are required to report a concentration value for a given year.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) National Air Pollution Surveillance Program.

Ambient levels of nitrogen dioxide at monitoring stations

The National Air Pollution Surveillance program measures air pollutant concentrations at monitoring stations across Canada. The Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators provide this information through an interactive indicator map. With the interactive map, you can drill down to NO2 concentrations at specific monitoring stations.

Related indicators

Other information

Access PDF (1.63 MB)

Date modified:

Concentrations ambiantes de dioxyde d'azote

Accéder au PDF (1,69 Mo)

Le dioxyde d'azote (NO2) appartient à un groupe de substances qui sont appelées oxydes d'azote (NOX).Note de bas de page [1] Les NOX sont émis dans l'atmosphère par la combustion à haute température, comme dans les moteurs de voitures, les centrales électriques et les procédés industriels. Les principales sources des émissions d'oxydes d'azote au Canada sont les véhicules routiers, les véhicules hors route, l'industrie du pétrole et du gaz, ainsi que la consommation de combustibles pour la production d'électricité et le chauffage. Le NO2 joue un rôle important dans la formation d'ozone dans l'atmosphère. C'est un précurseur des particules fines et il contribue aux dépôts acides et à l'eutrophisation. Le NO2 a également des effets nocifs sur la santé : il peut irriter les poumons, affaiblir la fonction pulmonaire et augmenter la sensibilité aux allergènes chez les personnes atteintes d'asthme.

Les indicateurs sur la concentration annuelle moyenne de NO2 sont basés sur la moyenne annuelle des concentrations horaires de NO2.

Concentrations ambiantes de dioxyde d'azote à l'échelle nationale

En 2014, la concentration annuelle moyenne de NO2Note de bas de page [2] était de 8,9 parties par milliard (ppb), ce qui représente une baisse de 0,7 % par rapport à la valeur de 2013.

Depuis 2000, une tendance à la baisse de 0,5 ppb par année a été détectée. Cette tendance à la baisse est en grande partie attribuable à la diminution des émissions des NOX par les automobiles et les camions, découlant de la mise en place graduelle de normes plus strictes en matière d'émissions par le gouvernement fédéral.

Concentrations de dioxyde d'azote, Canada, 2000 à 2014

Graphique linéaire des concentrations annuelles moyennes nationale de dioxyde d'azote - description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire montre les concentrations annuelles moyennes de dioxyde d'azote à l'échelle nationale de 1999 à 2014. Une tendance à la baisse a été détectée de 2000 à 2014.

Données du graphique
Concentrations de dioxyde d'azote, Canada, 2000 à 2014
AnnéeConcentration annuelle moyenne (parties par milliard)
200015,0
200114,2
200213,2
200313,4
200412,8
200512,3
200611,8
200711,2
200810,9
200910,4
20109,6
20119,6
20129,0
20139,0
20148,9
Tendance annuelle-0,5

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 833 O)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur national sur la concentration annuelle moyenne de dioxyde d'azote est basé sur la moyenne annuelle des concentrations horaires relevées à 85 stations de suivi dans l'ensemble du Canada.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique.

Concentrations ambiantes de dioxyde d'azote à l'échelle régionale

En 2014, les concentrations annuelles moyennes de NO2 dans l'air variaient de 4,4 ppb dans le Canada atlantique à 10,5 ppb en Colombie-Britannique. Les concentrations de NO2 étaient plus basses dans le Canada atlantique, dans le sud du Québec ainsi que dans les Prairies et nord de l'Ontario par rapport à celles de 2013. Cependant, en 2014, les concentrations étaient plus élevées dans le sud de l'Ontario et en Colombie-Britannique par rapport à celles de 2013.

Depuis 2000, des tendances à la baisse dans les concentrations de NO2 ont été détectées dans l'ensemble des régions du Canada. Le sud de l'Ontario affichait la plus importante tendance à la baisse, soit de 0,7 ppb par année, suivi du sud du Québec et de la Colombie-Britannique à 0,5 ppb par année et 0,4 ppb par année, respectivement. Une tendance à la baisse de 0,3 ppb par année a été détectée dans le Canada atlantique, alors qu'une tendance à la baisse de 0,2 ppb par année a été détectée dans les Prairies et nord de l'Ontario.

Concentrations de dioxyde d'azote à l'échelle régionale, 2000 à 2014

Graphique linéaire des concentrations annuelles moyennes de dioxyde d'azote à l'échelle régionale - description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire montre les concentrations annuelles moyennes de dioxyde d'azote de 2000 à 2014 dans cinq régions du Canada : Canada atlantique, sud du Québec, sud de l'Ontario, Prairies et nord de l'Ontario, et Colombie-Britannique. Depuis 2000, des tendances à la baisse ont été détectées dans l'ensemble des régions.

Données du graphique
Concentrations de dioxyde d'azote à l'échelle régionale, 2000 à 2014
AnnéeConcentration annuelle moyenne du Canada atlantique (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle moyenne du sud du Québec (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle moyenne du sud de l'Ontario (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle moyenne des Prairies et nord de l'Ontario (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle moyenne de la Colombie-Britannique (parties par milliard)
2000n.d.15,518,611,215,6
200112,514,618,210,714,4
20027,413,517,010,713,6
20038,315,516,810,913,4
20046,513,815,810,113,2
20055,613,616,39,612,7
20063,911,713,89,713,2
20074,111,713,09,611,8
20085,212,212,78,511,6
20094,310,910,89,111,6
20104,111,110,79,09,9
20114,610,810,68,59,7
20123,99,39,67,810,1
20135,08,89,58,310,0
20144,48,49,87,910,5
Tendance annuelle-0,3-0,5-0,7-0,2-0,4

Note : n.d. = non disponible.

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,88 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur de la concentration annuelle moyenne de dioxyde d'azote est basé sur la moyenne annuelle des concentrations horaires relevées à 5 stations de suivi dans le Canada atlantique, 14 stations de suivi dans le sud du Québec, 20 stations de suivi dans le sud de l'Ontario, 21 stations de suivi dans les Prairies et nord de l'Ontario, et 25 stations de suivi en Colombie-Britannique. Aucune valeur n'est indiquée pour le Canada atlantique en 2000, puisqu'il n'y avait que deux stations qui avaient rapporté des concentrations. Au moins trois stations sont nécessaires pour établir une valeur de concentration valide pour une année.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique.

Concentrations ambiantes de dioxyde d'azote aux stations de suivi

Le programme du Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique mesure les concentrations de polluants atmosphériques à des stations de suivi partout au Canada. Les Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement fournissent ces renseignements par l'entremise d'une carte interactive en ligne. Avec la carte interactive, il est possible d'obtenir des détails sur les concentrations de NO2 propre à chaque station de suivi.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Accéder au PDF (1,69 Mo)

Date de modification :