Protected Areas, by Province and Territory

The proportion of terrestrial area protected varies by province and territory, ranging from 2.8 to 15.7%. Differences in geography and historical land use influence the degree of protection. For example, Prince Edward Island is highly agricultural, while recreational use of mountainous British Columbian landscapes is more compatible with protection.

Total percentage of terrestrial area protected by province and territory, Canada, 2013

Total percentage of land and freshwater protected by province and territory, Canada, 2013

Long Description

The bar graph shows the percentage of terrestrial (land and freshwater) area protected in each province and territory in 2013, ranging from 2.8% to 15.7%. British Columbia, Alberta and Yukon have the largest proportions of protected area. New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island have the lowest proportions of protected area.

View data for this chart
How this indicator was calculated

Note: Areas include land and freshwater but not marine areas. Not all provinces and territories report on protected areas that are privately owned.
Source: For Canada except Quebec: Canadian Council on Ecological Areas (CCEA) (2014) Conservation Areas Reporting and Tracking System (CARTS). For Quebec: Ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs (2014) Registre des aires protégées au Québec. Data are current as of 31 December, 2013.

British Columbia, Alberta, Yukon, Manitoba and Ontario have the greatest proportion of territory under some level of protection (more than 10% for land areas).

Nunavut, Quebec, the Northwest Territories, Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia have 8 to 10% of their territories under protection.

Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island have less than 5% of their territories under protection.

Related indicators

Aires protégées, par province et territoire

Le pourcentage de la superficie terrestre et d’eau douce protégée se situe entre 2,8 et 15,7 % selon la province ou le territoire. Les différences dans la géographie et l’utilisation historique des terres influent sur le degré de protection. Par exemple, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard est très agricole, tandis que l'utilisation récréative des paysages montagneux de la Colombie-Britannique est compatible avec la protection de l'environnement.

Pourcentage total de la superficie terrestre protégée par province et territoire, Canada, 2013

Pourcentage total des terres et de l’eau douce protégés par province et territoire, Canada, 2013

Description longue

Le graphique à barres présente le pourcentage du territoire terrestre (terres et eau douce) protégé par province et territoire en 2013, allant de 2,8 % à 15,7 %. La Colombie-Britannique, l'Alberta et le Yukon possèdent les plus grandes proportions de territoire protégé. Le Nouveau-Brunswick et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard ont les plus petites proportions de territoire protégé.

Voir les données de ce graphique
Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Les aires protégées présentées incluent les terres et l’eau douce, mais les aires marines sont exclues. Les provinces et territoires ne font pas tous état des aires protégées privées.
Source : Pour le Canada (sauf le Québec) : Conseil canadien des aires écologiques (CCAE) (2014) Système de rapport et de suivi pour les aires de conservation (SRSAC). Pour le Québec : Ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (2014) Registre des aires protégées au Québec. Les données sont à jour au 31 décembre 2013.

La Colombie-Britannique, l'Alberta, le Yukon, le Manitoba et l’Ontario ont la plus grande proportion de terres bénéficiant d'un certain niveau de protection (plus de 10 % pour les aires terrestres).

Le Nunavut, le Québec, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, la Saskatchewan et la Nouvelle-Écosse ont 8 à 10 % de leurs territoires sous protection.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, le Nouveau-Brunswick et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard ont moins de 5 % de leurs territoires sous protection.

Indicateurs connexes