Regional Water Quantity in Canadian Rivers

Access PDF (757 KB)

In 2013, water quantity conditions in most drainage regions across Canada were normal. Lower-than-normal water quantity was observed in the Keewatin–Southern Baffin (16) drainage region. Higher-than-normal flows were observed in the Yukon (5), North Saskatchewan (10), South Saskatchewan (11), Assiniboine–Red (12), Lower Saskatchewan–Nelson (14), and Northern Quebec (18) drainage regions. Alberta's super-flood in June 2013 and a wetter-than-normal fall contributed to the higher  water quantity on the Prairies.

Water quantity status of drainage regions, Canada, 2013

Map of Canada

Long description

The map shows the water quantity classification (low, normal or high) for each of Canada's drainage regions.

Data for this map
Water quantity status of drainage regions, Canada, 2013
Drainage region nameDrainage region numberWater quantity classification
Pacific Coastal1Normal
Fraser–Lower Mainland2Normal
Lower Mackenzie7Normal
North Saskatchewan10High
South Saskatchewan11High
Lower Saskatchewan–Nelson14High
Keewatin–Southern Baffin16Low
Northern Ontario17Normal
Northern Quebec18High
Great Lakes19Normal
St. Lawrence21Normal
North Shore–Gaspé22Normal
Saint John–St. Croix23Normal
Maritime Coastal24Normal

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.81 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The 2013 water quantity classification for a drainage region is based on the category (low, normal, high) for the most downstream monitoring station in the drainage region with greater than 30 years of data (long-term station). The flows are for the Canadian portions of the drainage regions. There were not enough data to describe the Arctic Coast–Islands (8) drainage region. The normal period for the Northern Quebec (18) drainage region was 1971–2000, instead of 1981–2010, because of a data gap in that drainage region. The results for this indicator vary slightly from those in the Local Water Quantity in Canadian Rivers indicator because of differences in the methods used to calculate the indicator. For more information, please see the Data Sources and Methods document.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2015) Water Survey of Canada, HYDAT Database.

A drainage region is an area of land that drains all the water to a common outlet, such as the mouth of a bay, the outflow of a reservoir, or a larger river. The drainage region contains lakes, streams, reservoirs, wetlands, and all the underlying groundwater.

Canada's land mass can be divided into 11 major drainage areas and 25 drainage regions. The drainage regions are large and generally named for the major river or lake systems in Canada. Changes in temperature, rainfall and snowfall each year affect the water quantity in a river for that year.

Related indicators

Other information

Access PDF (757 KB)

Date modified:

Quantité d'eau à l'échelle régionale dans les cours d'eau canadiens

Accéder au PDF (777 Ko)

En 2013, la quantité d'eau était normale dans la plupart des régions de drainage du Canada. On a relevé des quantités d'eau inférieures à la normale dans la région de drainage Keewatin–sud de l'île de Baffin (16). On a relevé des quantités supérieures à la normale dans les régions de drainage Yukon (5), Saskatchewan Nord (10), Saskatchewan Sud (11), Assiniboine–Rouge (12), Bas Saskatchewan–Nelson (14) et nord du Québec (18). La superinondation de juin 2013 en Alberta et un automne plus humide que la normale ont contribué à l'augmentation des quantités d'eau dans les Prairies.

Quantité d'eau des régions de drainage, Canada, 2013

Carte du Canada

Description longue

La carte montre la classification de la quantité d'eau (faible, normale ou élevée) pour chacune des régions de drainage du Canada.

Données de la carte
Quantité d'eau des régions de drainage, Canada, 2013
Nom de la région de drainageNuméro de la région de drainageClassification de la quantité d'eau
Côte du Pacifique1Normale
Fraser–Basses-terres2Normale
Okanagan–Similkameen3Normale
Columbia4Normale
Yukon5Élevée
Paix–Athabasca6Normale
Bas Mackenzie7Normale
Missouri9Normale
Saskatchewan Nord10Élevée
Saskatchewan Sud11Élevée
Assiniboine–Rouge12Élevée
Winnipeg13Normale
Bas Saskatchewan–Nelson14Élevée
Churchill15Normale
Keewatin–sud de l'île de Baffin16Faible
Nord de l'Ontario17Normale
Nord du Québec18Élevée
Grands Lacs19Normale
Ottawa20Normale
Saint-Laurent21Normale
Côte-Nord–Gaspé22Normale
Saint-Jean–St-Croix23Normale
Côte des provinces Maritimes24Normale
Terre-Neuve–Labrador25Normale

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 2,08 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : La classification effectuée en 2013 de la quantité d'eau pour une région de drainage donnée est fondée sur la catégorie (faible, normale, élevée) de la station la plus en aval de la région de drainage qui possède plus de 30 ans de données (station à long terme). Les débits sont ceux de la portion canadienne des régions de drainage. Il n'y avait pas suffisamment de données pour décrire la région de drainage Côte de l'Arctique–Îles (8). La période normale pour la région de drainage nord du Québec (18) a été de 1971 à 2000 plutôt que de 1981 à 2010, en raison de lacunes dans les données portant sur cette région de drainage. Les résultats pour cet indicateur diffèrent légèrement de ceux de l'indicateur sur la Quantité d'eau à l'échelle locale dans les cours d'eau canadiens en raison des différences dans la méthode de calcul de l'indicateur. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le document Sources de données et les méthodes.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2015) Relevés hydrologiques du Canada, base de données HYDAT.

Une région de drainage désigne une zone de terre qui draine toute l'eau vers un même exutoire, comme l'embouchure d'une baie, le débit sortant d'un réservoir ou une rivière plus importante. La région de drainage renferme des lacs, des cours d'eau, des réservoirs, des milieux humides et toutes les eaux souterraines sous-jacentes.

La masse terrestre du Canada peut être divisée en 11 aires de drainage principales et 25 régions de drainage. Les régions de drainage sont vastes et généralement nommées d'après les principaux réseaux de rivières ou de lacs du Canada. Chaque année, les variations de la température, de la pluie et des chutes de neige modifient la quantité d'eau présente dans une rivière pour l'année en question.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Accéder au PDF (777 Ko)

Date de modification :