Environmental Emergencies – Regulated Facilities

Access PDF (591 KB)

An environmental emergency is an accidental release of a hazardous substance that can have immediate and long-term impact on environmental and human health, such as an oil or chemical spill.Footnote [1] To prevent and mitigate potential spills of regulated substances, facilities that have these substances at or above certain quantities may be required to have environmental emergency plans (E2 plans) under the Environmental Emergency Regulations (E2 Regulations). Between April 2012 and March 2015, less than 1.0% of facilities with E2 plans have reported environmental emergencies.

Percentage of facilities with E2 plans that have reported environmental emergencies, Canada, 2012 to 2015

Column chart

Long description

The column chart presents the percentage of facilities with environmental emergency plans that have had environmental emergencies in Canada by fiscal year (1 April to 31 March) from 2012–2013 to 2014–2015. Less than 1.0% of facilities with environmental emergency plans have reported environmental emergencies.

Data for this chart
Percentage of facilities with E2 plans that have reported environmental emergencies, Canada, 2012 to 2015
Fiscal year
(1 April to 31 March)
Total number of facilities with E2 plansNumber of facilities with E2 plans that have had environmental emergenciesPercentage of facilities with E2 plans that have had environmental emergencies
2012–20132517100.4
2013–20142585110.4
2014–20152449210.9

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 707 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada's National Emergencies and Enforcement Management Information System and Intelligence System (NEMISIS).

Facilities may be required to develop an E2 plan if they manufacture, store, use, or dispose of regulated substances at or above specified quantities, as described in the List of Substances in Schedule 1 of the E2 Regulations. An E2 plan strengthens the capacity of facilities to prevent, prepare for, respond to, and recover from environmental emergencies and incidents. The Environmental Emergencies Program helps facilities comply with the requirements and obligations under the E2 Regulations by providing guidance for the development of an E2 plan.

Related information

Icon
This indicator is used to measure progress toward Target 4.7: Environmental Disasters, Incidents and Emergencies: Environmental disasters, incidents and emergencies are prevented or their impacts mitigated of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy 2013–2016.

Access PDF (591 KB)

Date modified:

Urgences environnementales – Établissements réglementés

Accéder au PDF (597 Ko)

Une urgence environnementale désigne un rejet accidentel de substances dangereuses qui peut avoir des répercussions immédiates et à long terme pour l'environnement et la santé humaine, tel qu'un déversement de produits chimiques ou pétroliers.Note de bas de page [1] Afin de prévenir et d'atténuer les déversements potentiels de substances réglementées, les établissements où se trouvent de telles substances en quantité égale ou supérieure à un seuil fixé peuvent être contraints d'avoir des plans d'urgence environnementale (plans UE) en vertu du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales (Règlement UE). D'avril 2012 à mars 2015, moins de 1,0 % des établissements avec des plans UE ont déclaré des urgences environnementales.

Pourcentage des établissements avec des plans UE qui ont déclaré des urgences environnementales, Canada, 2012 à 2015

Graphique à colonnes

Description longue

Le graphique à colonnes présente le pourcentage des établissements ayant des plans d'urgence environnementale qui ont connu des urgences environnementales au Canada par exercice (du 1er avril au 31 mars) de 2012–2013 à 2014–2015. Moins de 1,0 % des établissements avec des plans d'urgence environnementale ont déclaré des urgences environnementales.

Données du graphique
Pourcentage des établissements avec des plans UE qui ont déclaré des urgences environnementales, au Canada, de 2012 à 2015
Exercice
(1er avril au 31 mars)
Nombre total d'établissements avec des plans UENombre d'établissements avec des plans UE qui ont eu des urgences environnementalesPourcentage d'établissements avec des plans UE qui ont eu des urgences environnementales
2012–20132 517100,4
2013–20142 585110,4
2014–20152 449210,9

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 786 o)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Source : Système national de renseignements, de gestion de l'information sur l'application de la loi et des urgences d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Les établissements peuvent être tenus de préparer un plan UE s'ils fabriquent, stockent, utilisent ou éliminent des substances réglementées en quantité égale ou supérieure aux quantités stipulées, comme le précise la Liste des substances de l'annexe 1 du Règlement UE. Un plan UE renforce la capacité des établissements à prévenir les urgences et incidents environnementaux, à s'y préparer, à y répondre et à s'en rétablir. Le Programme d'urgences environnementales aide les établissements à satisfaire aux exigences et obligations en vertu du Règlement UE en leur offrant une orientation sur l'élaboration d'un plan UE.

Renseignements connexes

Icône
Cet indicateur est utilisé pour mesurer les progrès vers l'atteinte de la cible 4.7 : Catastrophes, urgences et incidents environnementaux – Les catastrophes, urgences et incidents environnementaux sont évités ou leurs incidences atténuées de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2013–2016.

Accéder au PDF (597 Ko)

Date de modification :