Weather Warning Index

Access PDF (827 KB)

When severe weather threatens, Environment and Climate Change Canada issues public alert bulletins so that those in affected areas can take steps to protect themselves and their property from harm. Each year, the Meteorological Service of Canada issues, on average, 15 000 severe weather warnings. A weather warning is an urgent message that severe weather is either occurring or will occur. Warnings are usually issued 6 to 24 hours in advance, although some severe weather (such as thunderstorms) can occur rapidly, with less than a half hour's notice.

The Weather Warning Index was created to track the performance of Environment and Climate Change Canada's severe weather warning system in providing Canadians with warnings in sufficient lead time.

Weather Warning Index and individual components for a three-year moving average, Canada, 2009–2011 to 2012–2014

Line chart

Long description

The chart shows weather warning index component scores for the four three-year moving averages available, by warning type: wind, freezing rain, rain, marine gale, snow and severe thunderstorm. The overall index score for each three-year moving average is also provided. The overall score of the index increased from 7.6 to 8.3 between 2009–2011 and 2012–2014. With the exception of marine gale, the score of individual components of the indicator also increased during this period.

Data for this chart
Weather Warning Index and individual components for a three-year moving average, Canada, 2009–2011 to 2012–2014
Warning type2009–2011 score2010–2012 score2011–2013 score2012–2014 score
Wind8.68.99.19.2
Freezing rain7.78.58.89.0
Rain8.08.48.78.6
Marine gale8.38.28.48.2
Snow7.47.27.77.6
Severe thunderstorm4.95.86.86.4
Overall score7.67.98.38.3

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1009 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The index reaches 10 if all extreme weather events in targeted areas were preceded by a warning with sufficient lead time, as per the weather warning performance targets. The overall index and its components are expected to exhibit modest fluctuations due to year to year changes in the predominant weather patterns.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2015) Meteorological Service of Canada – Integrated Planning and Performance Management Division.

The index is calculated based on information from six warning types that are representative of Canada’s climate. These warning types are severe thunderstorm, rainfall, freezing rain, wind, snowfall and marine gale. For each warning type, a component score is determined based on the warning's accuracy in predicting an actual severe weather event and its timeliness in comparison to the lead times identified within Environment and Climate Change Canada warning performance targets.

The index components are calculated using warnings data from a set of selected geographical regions considered representative of the Canadian climate and for which Environment and Climate Change Canada has sufficient warning events information.

The components are an indication of Environment and Climate Change Canada's performance in providing timely and accurate warnings for each warning type. For instance, the score for severe thunderstorm highlights the challenge of forecasting severe thunderstorms in a timely and accurate manner when compared to other types of severe weather.

Environment and Climate Change Canada's national weather forecast and warning system relies on several observation networks to detect changes in the atmosphere and the development of threatening conditions. The monitoring infrastructure runs 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. It includes 31 weather radar stations, over 80 lightning detection sensors, approximately 1580 surface weather and climate stations, 46 weather buoys, 53 automated ship observation programs and 31 stations for launching balloon-borne observations of the upper atmosphere. Also extremely valuable to Environment and Climate Change Canada are hundreds of volunteer weather observers and severe weather watchers from coast to coast.

Weather warnings are invaluable for the protection of life and property. They are also critical to provincial and municipal emergency measure organizations (for managing flood control, sewer overflow and stormwater run-off) and for weather-sensitive users (such as snow removal operators and outdoor recreational enthusiasts).

Related information

Access PDF (827 KB)

Date modified:

Indice d'avertissement météorologique

Accéder au PDF (859 Ko)

Lorsque le temps est menaçant, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada publie des bulletins d'alerte publics pour informer les personnes se trouvant dans les zones touchées afin qu'elles puissent prendre des mesures pour se protéger et protéger leurs biens. Chaque année, le Service météorologique du Canada émet en moyenne 15 000 avertissements de temps violent. Un avertissement météorologique est un message urgent indiquant la présence ou l’imminence de temps violent. Les avertissements sont habituellement émis entre 6 et 24 heures à l'avance, même si certains phénomènes violents (par exemple les orages) peuvent se produire rapidement, avec un avis de moins d'une demi-heure.

L'indice d'avertissement météorologique a été créé pour évaluer la performance du système d'avertissement de temps violent d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada à fournir des avertissements aux Canadiens avec un préavis adéquat.

Indice d'avertissement météorologique et composantes individuelles fondés sur une moyenne mobile sur trois ans, Canada, 2009–2011 à 2012–2014

Graphique

Description longue

Le graphique présente la note des composantes de l'indice d'avertissement météorologique pour les quatre moyennes mobiles basées sur les périodes de trois ans disponibles, selon le type d'avertissement: vent, pluie verglaçante, pluie, coups de vent marins, neige et orage violent. La note globale pour chaque période de trois ans est également fournie. La note globale de l'indice a augmenté de 7,6 à 8,3 entre la période 2009–2011 et la période 2012–2014. À l'exception des avertissements de coups de vent marins, la note des différentes composantes de l'indicateur a également augmenté au cours de cette période.

Données du graphique
Indice d'avertissement météorologique et composantes individuelles fondés sur une moyenne mobile sur trois ans, Canada, 2009–2011 à 2012–2014
Type d'avertissementNote de 2009–2011Note de 2010–2012Note de 2011–2013Note de 2012–2014
Vent8,68,99,19,2
Pluie verglaçante7,78,58,89,0
Pluie8,08,48,78,6
Coups de vent marins8,38,28,48,2
Neige7,47,27,77,6
Orage violent4,95,86,86,4
Note globale7,67,98,38,3

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,24 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indice est de 10 lorsque tous les événements météorologiques extrêmes se produisant dans les régions ciblées ont été précédés d'un avertissement avec un délai suffisant, conformément aux objectifs de rendement des avertissements météorologiques. Il faut s'attendre à ce que l'indice global et ses composantes présentent des fluctuations modestes en raison de variations interannuelles dans les conditions météorologiques prédominantes.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2015) Service météorologique du Canada – Division de la planification intégrée et de la gestion du rendement.

L'indice d'avertissement météorologique est calculé à partir des renseignements provenant de six types d'avertissements représentatifs du climat canadien. Il s'agit des orages violents, de la pluie, de la pluie verglaçante, du vent, de la neige et des coups de vent marins. Une note de composante est attribuée à chaque type d'avertissement en fonction de la fiabilité des avertissements à prévoir un phénomène météorologique violent réel et de la rapidité de diffusion de l'alerte par rapport aux délais fixés par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada dans le cadre de ses objectifs de rendement des avertissements.

Les composantes de l'indice sont calculées en utilisant les données d'alerte provenant d'une sélection de régions géographiques considérées représentatives du climat canadien et pour lesquelles Environnement et Changement climatique Canada dispose de suffisamment de renseignements sur les avertissements météorologiques.

Les composantes sont une indication de la capacité d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada à émettre des avertissements précis et en temps opportun pour chaque type d'avertissement. Par exemple, la note attribuée aux avertissements d'orages violents souligne la difficulté à prévoir ces phénomènes météorologiques avec exactitude et au moment opportun comparativement aux autres types d'avertissements de temps violent.

Le système national de prévisions et d'avertissements météorologiques d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada repose sur plusieurs réseaux d'observation qui détectent les changements de l'atmosphère et la formation de conditions menaçantes. L'infrastructure de surveillance fonctionne 24 heures par jour, 7 jours par semaine, 365 jours par an. Elle comprend 31 stations de radars, plus de 80 capteurs de détection de la foudre, environ 1580 stations d'observation climatique et des conditions de surface, 46 bouées météorologiques, 53 programmes d'observation de navires automatisés et 31 stations d'observation par ballon de la haute atmosphère. De plus, les centaines d'observateurs météo bénévoles œuvrant d'un bout à l'autre du pays constituent une aide très importante pour Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Les avertissements météorologiques s'avèrent très précieux pour la protection de la vie et des biens essentiels. Les organismes d'intervention d'urgence municipaux et provinciaux en dépendent également pour la gestion du contrôle des inondations, du débordement des égouts et de l'écoulement des eaux pluviales. Par ailleurs, les avertissements météorologiques sont essentiels pour les utilisateurs vulnérables aux conditions météorologiques, comme les opérateurs d'équipement de déneigement et les amateurs de loisirs en plein air.

Renseignements connexes

Accéder au PDF (859 Ko)

Date de modification :