Residential Water Use in Canada

In 2011, 58% of Canadian households were equipped with water meters compared to 52% in 1991. Over the same period, average daily water use dropped by 27% from 342 litres per person in 1991 to 251 litres per person in 2011.

Households on metered water systems and per capita residential water use, Canada, 1991 to 2011

Households on metered water systems and per capita residential water use, Canada, 1991 to 2011

Long Description

The top line graph shows the percentage of households with water meters between 1991 and 2011 and the bottom line graph shows per capita residential water use in litres per day between 1991 and 2011. In 2011, 58% of Canadian households were equipped with water meters compared to 52% in 1991. Over the same period, average daily water use dropped from 342 litres per person in 1991 to 251 litres per person in 2011.

View data for this chart
How this indicator was calculated

Note: Data only refer to households served by municipal water systems; private water systems are not included. The data source for these indicators has changed. The data for percentage of households with water meters changed in 2006 and per capita water use changed in 2011. See the data sources and methods document for more information about the data source change.
Source: Environment Canada’s Municipal Water and Wastewater Survey; Statistics Canada’s Households and the Environment, Catalogue no. 11-526-XIE; Statistics Canada’s Survey of Drinking Water Plants, Catalogue no. 16-403-X.

Despite improvements in household water conservation, Canada remains one of the largest per capita users of fresh water in the world.Footnote [1] Urban growth, industry expansion and climate change put pressure on Canadian cities’ ability to supply water to households. Managing water demand, and the financing of building and repairing water infrastructure, are a priority for many communities. Managing water use helps prevent a wide variety of environmental and economic problems, including water shortages, increased concentration of pollutants in water bodies, costly expansion of water and wastewater infrastructure, and increased energy consumption to pump and treat.

In 2011, households used 43% of the water distributed by municipalities.Footnote [2] The price of water has a major influence on the amount of water used by households. In general, municipalities price water following two approaches. In flat-rate pricing, households are charged the same price for water regardless of the amount used, an approach commonly found in municipalities with no water meters. In volume-based pricing, municipalities with water meters base their charges for water on the actual amount of water used. Household metering and volume-based pricing increase consumer awareness about water use and provide a financial incentive to conserve water. For example, in 2009, Canadian households with meters on volume-based water pricing schemes used 73% less water than unmetered households on flat-rate water pricing schemes.Footnote [3] This change in water use has caused some municipalities to raise water rates to cover the loss of revenue used to finance water utilities.

Related information

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (2013) Use of freshwater resources in Environment at a Glance 2013. Retrieved on 6 March, 2014.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Statistics Canada (2013) Survey of Drinking Water Plants, 2011. Catalogue no. 16-403-X. Retrieved on 29 January, 2014.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Environment Canada (2011) 2011 Municipal Water Pricing Report: 2009 Statistics. Retrieved on 6 March, 2014.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Consommation résidentielle d'eau au Canada

En 2011, 58 % des ménages canadiens étaient équipés de compteurs d'eau, par rapport à 52 % en 1991. Pendant la même période, la consommation quotidienne moyenne d’eau a chuté de 27 %, passant de 342 litres par personne en 1991 à 251 litres par personne en 2011.

Ménages disposant de systèmes d'alimentation en eau dotés de compteurs et consommation résidentielle d'eau par habitant, Canada, 1991 à 2011

Ménages disposant de systèmes d'alimentation en eau dotés de compteurs et consommation résidentielle d'eau par habitant, Canada, 1991 à 2011

Description longue

Le premier graphique linéaire indique le pourcentage des ménages disposant de compteurs d'eau entre 1991 et 2011 et le second graphique linéaire présente la consommation résidentielle d'eau en litres par jour entre 1991 et 2011. En 2011, 58 % des ménages canadiens étaient équipés de compteurs d'eau, par rapport à 52 % en 1991. Pendant la même période, la consommation moyenne quotidienne d’eau a chuté de 342 litres par personne en 1991 à 251 litres par personne en 2011.

Voir les données de ce graphique
Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Les données ne renvoient qu'aux ménages desservis par des réseaux municipaux de distribution d’eau ; les réseaux privés de distribution d'eau ne sont pas compris. La source de données pour cet indicateur a changé. Les données sur le pourcentage des ménages équipés de compteurs d’eau ont changé en 2006 et celles sur la consommation d’eau par habitant ont changé en 2011. Voir le document Sources des données et méthodes pour plus d’information sur les changements liés à la source des données.
Source : Enquête sur l'eau potable et les eaux usées des municipalités d'Environnement Canada; Les ménages et l’environnement, Catalogue no. 11-526-X de Statistique Canada; Enquête sur les usines de traitement de l’eau potable, Catalogue no. 16-403-X de Statistique Canada.

En dépit des améliorations dans la consommation d'eau des ménages, le Canada reste l'un des plus grands consommateurs par habitant d'eau douce à l'échelle mondiale.Note de bas de page 1 La croissance urbaine, l'expansion industrielle et les changements climatiques exercent une pression sur la capacité des villes canadiennes à fournir de l'eau aux ménages. La gestion de la demande en eau et les coûts liés à la construction et à la réparation des infrastructures sont une priorité pour de nombreuses collectivités. La gestion de la consommation d’eau aide à prévenir une grande variété de problèmes environnementaux et économiques, y compris les pénuries d’eau, l’augmentation de la concentration des polluants dans les lacs et cours d’eau, l’expansion coûteuse de l’infrastructure liée à l’eau et aux eaux usées et l’augmentation de la consommation d’énergie pour pomper et traiter.

En 2011, les ménages ont consommé 43 % de l'eau distribuée par les municipalités.Note de bas de page 2 Le prix de l’eau a une grande incidence sur la quantité d'eau consommée par les ménages. En général, les municipalités facturent l'eau selon deux approches. Dans le cas d'une tarification forfaitaire, le même tarif est facturé aux ménages indépendamment de la quantité consommée, une approche courante dans les municipalités sans compteur d'eau. Pour une tarification en fonction du volume, les municipalités dotées de compteurs d'eau basent leur facturation de l'eau en fonction de la quantité réelle d'eau consommée. L'installation de compteurs et la tarification en fonction du volume pour les ménages favorisent la sensibilisation du consommateur quant à la consommation d'eau et offre un incitatif financier pour conserver l'eau. Par exemple, en 2009, les ménages canadiens ayant un compteur d’eau et une tarification en fonction du volume ont utilisé 73 % moins d’eau que les ménages sans compteurs d’eau avec une tarification forfaitaire.Note de bas de page 3 Ce changement dans la consommation d’eau a amené certaines municipalités à augmenter les tarifs de l’eau afin de couvrir la perte de revenus servant à financer les services publics liés à l’eau.

Renseignements connexes

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (2013) Use of freshwater resources dans Environment at a Glance 2013. Consulté le 6 mars 2014.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page [1] referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Statistique Canada (2013) Enquête sur les usines de traitement de l’eau potable, 2011. Catalogue no. 16-403-X. Consulté le 29 janvier 2014.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page [2] referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Environnement Canada (2011) Rapport de 2011 sur la tarification municipale de l’eau : statistiques de 2009. Consulté le 6 mars 2014.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page [3] referrer