Extent of Canada's Wetlands

Access PDF (306 KB)

Wetlands are among Earth's most productive ecosystems. They provide numerous ecosystem services and support many species (including species at risk) and significant numbers of migratory birds, fish and amphibians. They are also home to a wide diversity of plants, and many other species.

Canada has about 1.29 million km2 of wetlands, covering 13% of Canada's terrestrialFootnote [1] area. This is close to one quarter of the world's remaining wetlands.Footnote [2] Where wetlands have been monitored, they generally show declines in extent due to conversion to agriculture and other development.Footnote [3]

Most of Canada's wetlands occur in the Boreal Shield (25% of Canadian wetland area), Hudson Plains (21%) and Boreal Plains (18%). Wetlands form almost 80% of the Hudson Plains, and very low proportions of mountainous regions such as the Arctic Cordillera (less than 0.5%) and Montane Cordillera (less than 2%).

Wetland extent, Canada, circa 2000Footnote [4]

Map of Canada - see long description below

Long description

The map shows the proportion of wetlands across Canada. The Hudson Plains and the southwestern Boreal Forest have the highest proportion of wetlands, while Arctic, Cordilleran and Prairie regions have the lowest.

Data for this map
Wetland extent, Canada, circa 2000
Ecozone LabelEcozoneWetland area
(square kilometres)
Proportion of ecozone that is wetland
(percentage)
L01Arctic Cordillera10590.45
L02Northern Arctic48 8773.4
L03Southern Arctic52 4725.6
L04Taiga Plains138 73725.0
L05Taiga Shield145 87311.0
L06Boreal Shield320 77816.9
L07Atlantic Maritime69206.3
L08Mixedwood Plains12 85711.1
L09Boreal Plains235 93830.3
L10Prairies14 2693.1
L11Montane Cordillera81521.86
L12Pacific Maritime25871.2
L13Boreal Cordillera71211.28
L14Taiga Cordillera25811.12
L15Hudson Plains276 23078.8
L16Tundra Cordillera1880.65
L17Atlantic Highlands35363.8
L18Semi-Arid Plateaux4600.81
 Total1 290 18712.9

Note: The sum of the wetland area of the ecozones does not equal the overall total due to the generalization of boundaries at the national scale.

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.04 KB)

How this indicator was calculated
Unlabeled map

Note: Mapped values are the proportion of wetland in each 25 km by 25 km grid cell.
Source: Canadian Wildlife Service, 2016.

Wetlands can be defined as "areas of marsh, fen, peatland or water, whether natural or artificial, permanent or temporary, with water that is static or flowing, fresh, brackish or salt."Footnote [5] Alternatively, a wetland can be defined by its function, as land that is saturated with water long enough to promote aquatic processes.Footnote [6] Many types of wetlands are included within these definitions, but familiar examples include bogs, fens, marshes, swamps, and ponds.

Wetlands are valuable ecosystems. They support a disproportionately high number of species and are often very productive. Wetlands provide a range of benefits to people. Such "ecosystem services," include purifying water and removing pollutants, buffering water flows during times of flood or drought, capturing and storing carbon from the atmosphere, and providing places to watch wildlife and reconnect with the natural environment.

Related information

Access PDF (306 KB)

Date modified:

Étendue des milieux humides au Canada

Accéder au PDF (316 Ko)

Les milieux humides sont l'un des écosystèmes les plus productifs de la terre. Ils offrent de nombreux services écosystémiques et abritent un nombre disproportionnellement élevé d'espèces, y compris des espèces en péril et un nombre important d'oiseaux migrateurs, de poissons, d'amphibiens, une grande diversité de plantes et de nombreuses autres espèces.

Au Canada, les milieux humides couvrent environ 1,29 million de kilomètres carrés (km2), soit 13 % du territoireNote de bas de page [1] du pays, ce qui représente environ un quart des milieux humides qui existent encore dans le monde.Note de bas de page [2] Les activités de suivi des milieux humides révèlent en général que l'étendue de ces milieux diminue en raison de leur conversion en terres agricoles ou à d'autres types de développement.Note de bas de page [3]

La plus grande partie des milieux humides du Canada se trouve dans le bouclier boréal (25 % de l'aire des milieux humides du Canada), les plaines hudsonniennes (21 %) et les plaines boréales (18 %). Les milieux humides forment presque 80 % une très grande proportion des plaines hudsonniennes et une très faible proportion des régions montagneuses comme la cordillère arctique (moins de 0,5 %) et la cordillère montagnarde (moins de 2 %).

Étendue des milieux humides, Canada, circa 2000Note de bas de page [4]

Carte du Canada - Voir la description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

La carte présente la proportion des milieux humides dans l'ensemble du Canada. Les basses terres de la baie d'Hudson et la forêt boréale du sud-ouest renferment la plus grande proportion de milieux humides, alors que les régions de l'Arctique, de la Cordillère et des Prairies en renferment les plus faibles proportions.

Données de la carte
Étendue des milieux humides, Canada, circa 2000
ÉtiquetteÉcozoneSuperficie des milieux humides
(kilomètres carrés)
Proportion de milieux humides dans l'écozone
(pourcentage)
L01Cordillère arctique1 0590,45
L02Haut-Arctique48 8773,4
L03Bas-Arctique52 4725,6
L04Taïga des plaines138 73725,0
L05Taïga du Bouclier145 87311,0
L06Bouclier boréal320 77816,9
L07Maritime de l'Atlantique6 9206,3
L08Plaines à forêts mixtes12 85711,1
L09Plaines boréales235 93830,3
L10Prairies14 2693,1
L11Cordillère montagnarde8 1521,86
L12Maritime du Pacifique2 5871,2
L13Cordillère boréale7 1211,28
L14Taïga de la Cordillère2 5811,12
L15Plaines hudsonniennes276 23078,8
L16Toundra de la Cordillère1880,65
L17Hautes-terres de l'Atlantique3 5363,8
L18Plateaux semi-arides4600,81
 Total1 290 18712,9

Note : La somme des superficies de milieux humides des écozones ne correspond pas au total en raison de la généralisation des limites à l'échelle nationale.

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,22 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé
Carte non étiquettée

Note : Les valeurs illustrées représentent la proportion de milieux humide dans chaque cellule de 25 km par 25 km.
Source : Service canadien de la faune, 2016.

Les milieux humides peuvent être définies comme « des étendues de marais, de fagnes, de tourbières ou d'eaux naturelles ou artificielles, permanentes ou temporaires, où l'eau est stagnante ou courante, douce, saumâtre ou salée ».Note de bas de page [5] Autrement, un milieu humide peut être défini par sa fonction, comme une terre qui demeure saturée d'eau suffisamment longtemps pour favoriser des processus aquatiques.Note de bas de page [6] Ces définitions englobent de nombreux types de milieux humides, mais les exemples connus comprennent les tourbières oligotrophes, les tourbières minérotrophes, les marais, les marécages et les étangs.

Les milieux humides sont des écosystèmes précieux. Ils abritent un nombre disproportionnellement élevé d'espèces et sont souvent très productifs. Les milieux humides fournissent divers bénéfice à la population. Parmi ces bénéfices, mentionnons les « services écosystémiques », qui comprennent la purification de l'eau et l'élimination des polluants, l'absorption de l'eau durant les périodes d'inondation ou de sécheresse, le captage et le stockage de carbone de l'atmosphère et la mise à la disposition d'endroits où il est possible d'observer les animaux sauvages et se reconnecter au milieu naturel.

Renseignements connexes

Accéder au PDF (316 Ko)

Date de modification :