Freshwater Quality in Canadian Rivers

The Freshwater Quality in Canadian Rivers indicator is designed to provide an overall measure of the ability of select rivers across Canada to support aquatic life.Footnote [1] It integrates multiple pressures from human activity upstream of water quality monitoring sites to present freshwater quality in the regions where the majority of Canadians live.Footnote [2] The indicator focuses on rivers with higher risks to water quality and provides Canadians with an indication of human impacts on freshwater quality.

For the 2010 to 2012 period, freshwater quality in Canadian rivers where human activities are most concentrated was rated:

  • excellent or good at 45% of monitoring sites,
  • fair at 37% of sites,
  • marginal at 16% of sites, and
  • poor at 2% of sites.

Overall, freshwater quality in Canadian rivers can maintain healthy river ecosystems.

National freshwater quality indicator, Canada, 2010 to 2012 period

graph

Long description

The bar graph presents freshwater quality rating in rivers selected to be representative of the regions of Canada where human activities are most concentrated for the period 2010 to 2012. The bars show the number of sites where freshwater quality was rated excellent (9), good (69), fair (64), marginal (27) and poor (3). Ratings are based on data from 172 monitoring sites.

Data for this chart
National freshwater quality indicator, Canada, 2010 to 2012 period
Water quality categoryNumber of sitesPercentage of sites
Poor32
Marginal2716
Fair6437
Good6940
Excellent95
Total172100

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 548 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: Freshwater quality was assessed at 172 sites on select rivers throughout 16 of Canada's drainage regions where human activity is most intensive using the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment's Water Quality Index.
Source: Data assembled by Environment Canada from federal, provincial, territorial and joint water quality monitoring programs.

Clean freshwater is an essential resource. It provides habitat for aquatic plants and animals, supports many commercial and industrial uses, and is at the heart of many recreational activities. Impaired water quality can undermine both aquatic ecosystem health and economic activities, such as fisheries, tourism and agriculture.

Freshwater quality varies naturally across Canada because of the country's diverse geology and climate. It is further shaped by the ways in which people have developed the land around rivers and lakes. Each freshwater quality monitoring site has its own unique geography and set of human pressures.Footnote [3]

The rivers included in the indicators are selected to be representative of the drainage regions in Canada where human activities, such as industry, agriculture, urban growth and recreation, are most concentrated. The potential impacts of these human activities mean that these rivers are generally considered to have a higher potential for water quality impairment. At each site, physical properties of water, such as temperature, and levels of chemical substances, such as nutrients and metals, are measured and compared to freshwater quality guidelines. The more often a freshwater quality measurement is above its guidelines, the lower the freshwater quality rating will be.

Change in the national freshwater quality indicator through time

Between 2003–2005 and 2010–2012, there was an increase in the percentage of sites rated good or excellent and a decline in the percentage of sites rated poor or marginal.

Overall, the freshwater quality scores have:

  • improved at 11 sites;
  • declined at 4 sites; and
  • showed no change at the remaining 85 sites.

National freshwater quality indicator, Canada, change between 2003–2005 and 2010–2012

graph

Long description

The bar graph shows the percentage of sites where freshwater quality was rated excellent, good, fair, marginal and poor between 2003–2005 and 2010–2012. The inset pie chart shows the number of sites where the freshwater quality indicator has improved, where it has deteriorated, and where no change was detected. Between 2003–2005 and 2010–2012, the freshwater quality indicator rankings have improved at 11 sites and declined at four sites. No change was detected at 85 sites.

Data for this chart
National freshwater quality indicator change between 2003–2005 and 2010–2012, Canada: Historic histograms
Sampling periodPoor
(percentage of sites)
Marginal
(percentage of sites)
Fair
(percentage of sites)
Good
(percentage of sites)
Excellent
(percentage of sites)
2003–200532538304
2004–200642335326
2005–200752034338
2006–200851839335
2007–200951741298
2008–201021840337
2009–201132232358
2010–201231938337

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 795 B)

National freshwater quality indicator change between 2003–2005 and 2010–2012, Canada: Pie chart of significant changes between 2003–2005 and 2010–2012
ChangeNumber of sites
Improving11
Declining4
No change detected85
Total100

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 556 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: Change in the indicator between the 2003–2005 and 2010–2012 periods was assessed at 100 sites in 16 drainage regions across Canada where historical data are available. For each site, change in the indicator was assessed using a consistent set of water quality guidelines and parameters through time.
Source: Data assembled by Environment Canada from federal, provincial, territorial and joint water quality monitoring programs.

Freshwater quality is affected by rain and snow which controls how much water runs off the land or leaches through soils. It is also affected by pollution released directly into it or that travels across land and through the air. Urban growth, agricultural practices and industrial development impact how water moves across the land and change water quality along the way. These multiple pressures on water quality mean freshwater quality trends are slow to change.

The decline in water quality can be reversed by upgrading wastewater treatment plants, adopting environmental farming practices, or planting native vegetation, such as trees, along rivers.

Related indicators

Other information


icon
This indicator is used to measure progress toward Goal 3: Water Quality and Water Quantity – Protect and enhance water so that it is clean, safe and secure for all Canadians and supports healthy ecosystems of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy 2013–2016.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Water quality is assessed using the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment's Water Quality Index using water quality guidelines for the protection of aquatic life. For more details about how the indicator is calculated, please refer to the Data Sources and Methods document.

Return to footnote [1] referrer

Footnote 2

The impacts of these human activities mean that the focus is on rivers where there is a high potential for impairment, it should not be considered an indicator of overall freshwater quality in Canada's rivers.

Return to footnote [2] referrer

Footnote 3

For example, for some areas, elevated levels of naturally-occurring substances, such as minerals found in rocks, nutrients, glacier deposits and soils, lower freshwater quality index ratings. For a discussion of existing limitations, please refer to the Data Sources and Methods document.

Return to footnote [3] referrer

Qualité de l'eau douce des cours d'eau canadiens

L'indicateur de la qualité de l'eau douce des cours d'eau canadiens est conçu afin de fournir une mesure globale de la capacité de cours d'eau sélectionnés à travers le Canada à soutenir la vie aquatique.Note de bas de page [1] Il intègre de multiples pressions venant des activités humaines en amont des sites de suivi de la qualité de l'eau et présente la qualité de l'eau douce dans les régions où la majorité des Canadiens vivent.Note de bas de page [2] L'indicateur se concentre sur les cours d'eau où les risques de compromettre la qualité de l'eau sont plus élevés et fournit aux Canadiens un indice des impacts des activités humaines sur la qualité de l'eau douce.

Pour la période de 2010 à 2012, la qualité de l'eau douce des cours d'eau canadiens où les activités humaines sont les plus concentrées a été jugée :

  • excellente ou bonne à 45 % des sites de suivi,
  • satisfaisante à 37 % des sites,
  • douteuse à 16 % des sites, et
  • mauvaise à 2 % des sites.

En général, la qualité de l'eau douce des cours d'eau canadiens peut maintenir la santé des écosystèmes de ces cours d'eau.

Indicateur national de la qualité de l'eau douce pour la période de 2010 à 2012, Canada

graphique

Description longue

Le diagramme à barres présente la catégorisation de la qualité de l'eau douce pour la période de 2010 à 2012 pour des cours d'eau choisis comme étant représentatifs des régions du Canada où les activités humaines sont les plus concentrées. Le diagramme montre le nombre de sites où la qualité de l'eau douce était cotée excellente (9), bonne (69), satisfaisante (64), douteuse (27) et mauvaise (3). Les cotes s'appuient sur des données provenant de 172 sites de suivi.

Données du graphique
Indicateur national de la qualité de l'eau douce pour la période de 2010 à 2012, Canada
Catégorie de qualité de l'eauNombre de sitesPourcentage of sites
Mauvaise32
Douteuse2716
Satisfaisante6437
Bonne6940
Excellente95
Total172100

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 641 o)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : La qualité de l'eau douce des cours d'eau choisis a été évaluée à 172 sites de suivi  dans les 16 régions de drainage du Canada où l'activité humaine est la plus intense, en utilisant l'Indice de la qualité des eaux du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement.
Source : Les données ont été réunies par Environnement Canada à partir des programmes fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et conjoints de suivi de la qualité de l'eau.

Une eau douce saine constitue une ressource essentielle. Elle fournit l'habitat pour les plantes et les animaux aquatiques, sert de nombreux usages commerciaux et industriels, et est au cœur de plusieurs activités récréatives. Une qualité de l'eau dégradée peut affecter négativement les activités économiques telles que la pêche, le tourisme et l'agriculture.

La qualité de l'eau douce varie naturellement à travers le Canada en raison de la diversité géologique et climatique du pays. Elle est de plus façonnée par la manière dont les gens ont développé le territoire autour des rivières et des lacs. Chaque site de suivi de la qualité de l'eau douce a sa propre géographie et un ensemble de pressions humaines propres et uniques.Note de bas de page [3]

Les cours d'eau inclus dans les indicateurs de la qualité de l'eau douce sont sélectionnés de façon à être représentatifs des régions de drainage du Canada où les activités humaines, telles que l'industrie, l'agriculture, la croissance urbaine et les activités de loisirs, sont les plus concentrées. Les impacts potentiels de ces activités humaines signifient que ces cours d'eau sont généralement considérés comme ayant un potentiel plus élevé de dégradation de la qualité de l'eau. À chaque site, les propriétés physiques de l'eau, tel que la température, et les concentrations de substances chimiques, tel que les nutriments et les métaux, sont mesurées et comparées aux recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau. Plus les recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau sont dépassées souvent, plus la cote de la qualité de l'eau est abaissée.

Changement à l'indicateur national de la qualité de l'eau douce au fil du temps

Entre 2003–2005 et 2010–2012, le pourcentage des sites jugés bons ou excellents a augmenté et celui des sites jugés mauvais ou douteux a diminué.

En général, les cotes :

  • se sont améliorées à 11 sites;
  • se sont détériorées à 4 sites; et
  • n'ont affiché aucun changement pour les 85 autres sites.

Changements à l'indicateur national de la qualité de l'eau douce entre 2003–2005 et 2010–2012, Canada

graphique

Description longue

Le diagramme à barres présente le pourcentage de sites auxquels la qualité de l'eau douce pour la protection de la vie aquatique était cotée excellente, bonne, satisfaisante, douteuse ou mauvaise entre 2003–2005 et 2010–2012. Le graphique circulaire, fourni comme encart au diagramme à barres, présente le nombre de sites où l'indicateur de la qualité de l'eau douce s'est amélioré, où il s'est détérioré et où aucun changement n'a été décelé. Entre 2003–2005 et 2010–2012, le classement de l'indicateur de la qualité de l'eau douce s'est amélioré à 11 sites et s'est détérioré à quatre sites. Aucun changement n'a été décelé à 85 sites.

Données du graphique
Changement au niveau de l'indicateur national de la qualité de l'eau douce entre 2003–2005 et 2010–2012, Canada : histogrammes historiques
Période d'échantillonnageMauvaise
(pourcentage de sites)
Douteuse
(pourcentage de sites)
Satisfaisante
(pourcentage de sites)
Bonne
(pourcentage de sites)
Excellente
(pourcentage de sites)
2003–200532538304
2004–200642335326
2005–200752034338
2006–200851839335
2007–200951741298
2008–201021840337
2009–201132232358
2010–201231938337

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 934 o)

Changement au niveau de l'indicateur national de la qualité de l'eau douce entre 2003–2005 et 2010–2012, Canada : Graphique circulaire des changements significatifs entre 2003–2005 et 2010–2012
ChangementNombre de sites
Amélioration11
Dégradation4
Aucun changement relevé85
Total100

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 689 o)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Les changements au niveau de l'indicateur entre les périodes 2003–2005 et 2010–2012 ont été évalués à 100 sites dans les 16 régions de drainage à travers le Canada où les données historiques sont disponibles. Pour chacun des sites, les changements au niveau de l'indicateur ont été évalués en utilisant un ensemble temporellement cohérent de recommandations et de paramètres.
Source : Les données ont été réunies par Environnement Canada à partir des programmes fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et conjoints de suivi de la qualité de l'eau.

La qualité de l'eau douce est affectée par la pluie et la neige qui contrôlent la quantité d'eau qui ruissèle sur la terre ou s'introduit dans les sols. Elle est aussi affectée par la pollution directement libérée dans l'eau ou qui atteint l'eau par la terre ou par l'air. La croissance urbaine, les pratiques agricoles et le développement industriel influent sur la façon dont l'eau traverse les terres, et sur le changement de sa qualité en cours de route. Ces multiples pressions sur la qualité de l'eau signifient que les tendances au niveau de la qualité de l'eau sont lentes à changer.

Il est possible de ralentir la dégradation de la qualité de l'eau en modernisant les usines de traitement des eaux usées, en adoptant des pratiques agricoles environnementales, ou en plantant des espèces indigènes, tels que des arbres, le long des cours d'eau.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

icone
Cet indicateur est utilisé dans la mesure du progrès vers l'atteinte de Objectif 3 : Qualité de l'eau et quantité d'eau – Protéger et améliorer l'eau pour qu'elle soit propre, saine et sécuritaire pour tous les Canadiens et qu'elle soutienne des écosystèmes sains de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2013–2016.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

La qualité de l'eau est évaluée à l'aide de l'Indice de la qualité des eaux du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement utilisant les recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau pour la protection de la vie aquatique. Pour de plus amples détails sur la façon dont l'indicateur est calculé, veuillez vous référer au document Sources des données et méthodes.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Les impacts de ces activités humaines signifient que l'attention est portée sur les cours d'eau où il existe un potentiel élevé de dégradation et que l'indicateur ne devrait pas être considéré comme une mesure de la qualité globale de l'eau douce dans les cours d'eau canadiens.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Par exemple, pour certains secteurs, des concentrations élevées de substances d'origine naturelle, telles que les minéraux présents dans les roches, les nutriments, les dépôts glaciers et les sols, abaissent les cotes de l'indice de la qualité de l'eau douce. Pour une discussion sur les limites existantes, veuillez vous référer au document Sources des données et méthodes.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3