General Status of Species in Canada

Among Canada’s wild species assessed in 2010, 77% were ranked "secure", and 12% were ranked "at risk" or "may be at risk". The total of known species present in each province and territory varies, but overall the percentage of "secure" species is similar across Canada. The general status of wild species has been assessed every 5 years since 2000. Between 2000 and 2010, the proportion of species ranked "secure" has varied between 70% and 77%. Changes between years are due mostly to an improved knowledge of wild species and the assessment of new species groups.

General status ranks of wild species in Canada, 2010

Bar chart

Long description

The bar chart shows the proportion of species ranked "secure", "sensitive", "may be at risk" and "at risk" in Canada and in provinces and territories. Among Canada’s wild species assessed in 2010, 77% were ranked "secure" and 12% were ranked as either "at risk" or "may be at risk". Saskatchewan has the highest proportion of species ranked "at risk" or "may be at risk" at 24%. New Brunswick and Newfound-and-Labrador have the highest proportion of species ranked "secure", at 78% and 74% respectively.

Data for this chart
General status ranks of wild species in Canada, 2010
RegionSecure (number of species ranked)Sensitive (number of species ranked)May be at risk (number of species ranked)At risk (number of species ranked)
Canada6600960806247
Yukon16084533025
Northwest Territories14473852317
Nunavut6722792235
British Columbia3196100658085
Alberta254662643523
Saskatchewan181619260339
Manitoba176125645233
Ontario3312429863118
Québec291452560068
New Brunswick199926927429
Nova Scotia178040329026
Prince Edward Island9411783027
Newfoundland and Labrador150231819027

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 584 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: Only native species where a risk ranking has been assigned are considered (8613 species in Canada). Species ranked "extinct", "extirpated", "undetermined", "not assessed", "exotic" and "accidental" are excluded. Ocean regions are not represented on the chart due to the small number of species assessed. The number of species with a risk ranking varies from 3 species in the western Arctic Ocean to 4867 species in British Columbia.
Source: Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council (2011) Wild Species 2010: The General Status of Species in Canada, National General Status Working Group.

Canada supports a remarkable diversity of life. There are over 70 000 known species in Canada and many others occur but have yet to be recorded. Unfortunately, wild species face a variety of threats, including the loss, fragmentation and degradation of habitat; pollution; overexploitation; and fishery bycatch and incidental loss due to resource harvesting. Wild species also face the indirect effects of human activities such as invasive species, the introduction of new diseases, and climate change. The leading cause of biodiversity loss in Canada and around the world is the loss of habitat to human development.

Every 5 years, a Wild Species report by the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council compiles information on a large number of Canadian wild species to assess the general status of species and species groups. This information can reveal early signs of trouble before species reach a critical condition. The reports also identify gaps in our knowledge of wild species. In 2010, 11 950 species were classified into 10 ranks: "extinct", "extirpated" (species no longer present in Canada but found elsewhere in the world), "at risk", "may be at risk", "sensitive", "secure", "undetermined" (data are insufficient to reliably evaluate their general status), "not assessed", "exotic" and "accidental" (rarely present).Footnote [1]

General status by species group

Not all species face the same level of threat. Of those species groups with a known risk ranking, reptiles (43%), freshwater mussels (35%) and amphibians (20%) have the largest proportion of species ranked as either "at risk" or "may be at risk". Habitat loss and fragmentation from agriculture, urban and cottage development are the major threats to reptiles. Snakes, turtles and lizards also face additional threats, such as road mortality and collection for the pet trade.

The state of our knowledge also varies across species groups. While we have a good knowledge of large and captivating animals such as mammals and birds, we find important gaps in our knowledge of mosses, lichens and arthropods (insects, spiders, crustaceans and others). Several large groups of organisms have not yet been assessed, including fungi, snails and seaweeds. These less-familiar organisms perform critical roles in maintaining the healthy functioning of ecosystems on which all organisms, including humans, depend for water and air purification, crop pollination, soil formation and many other services.

Fishes were not reassessed in 2010, but in 2005, 12% of fishes were ranked as either "at risk" or "may be at risk" when considering species with a known risk ranking. About 60% of all Canadian fish species are ranked as "undetermined" or "not assessed", most of these are marine species, reflecting how much we still need to learn about marine ecosystems.

General status of selected species per species group, 2010

Bar chart

Long description

The bar chart shows the proportion of species ranked "extinct or extirpated", "at risk", "may be at risk", "sensitive", "secure", "undetermined or not assessed" and "exotic" in the following species groups in Canada: mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, arthropods, freshwater mussels, vascular plants, mosses and lichens. Reptiles (43%), freshwater mussels (35%) and amphibians (20%) have the highest proportion of species ranked either "at risk" or "may be at risk". Arthropods (26%), Lichens (25%) and Mosses (23%) have the highest proportion of species ranked "undetermined or not assessed".

Data for this chart
General status of selected species per species group, 2010
Species groupExtinct or Extirpated (number of species ranked)At risk (number of species ranked)May be at risk (number of species ranked)Sensitive (number of species ranked)Secure (number of species ranked)Undetermined or Not assessed (number of species ranked)Exotic (number of species ranked)
Lichens15100684682181
Mosses210711035812354
Vascular plants2513644448426351351252
Freshwater mussels1126132020
Arthropods*1916219823731012145
Amphibians19063100
Reptiles3170101312
Birds4371249344411
Mammals21211291351111

Note: The number of species in the chart represents the number of species assessed in Canada for that species group, excluding the “accidental” category (n=253 species).
* The arthropod group does not consider all species within that species group, which contains at least several tens of thousands of species. For all other species groups, all species found in Canada have been ranked.

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 830 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The number of species in the chart represents the number of species assessed in Canada for that species group, excluding the “accidental” category (n=253 species).
* The arthropod group does not consider all species within that species group, which contains at least several tens of thousands of species. For all other species groups, all species found in Canada have been ranked.
Source: Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council (2011) Wild Species 2010: The General Status of Species in Canada, National General Status Working Group.

Among the taxonomic groups that were included in previous Wild Species reports and reassessed in the 2010 report, the majority of reassessed species retained their status. Of 6697 reassessed species, 626 had a change in their national rank, mostly due to improved knowledge.

Related information



Theme III: Protecting Nature of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy.
This indicator is used to measure progress toward Goal 4: Conserving and Restoring Ecosystems, Wildlife and Habitat, and Protecting Canadians – Resilient ecosystems with healthy wildlife populations so Canadians can enjoy benefits from natural spaces, resources and ecological services for generations to come of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy 2013–2016.

Date modified:

Situation générale des espèces au Canada

Parmi les espèces sauvages du Canada évaluées en 2010, 77 % ont été classifiées comme « en sécurité » et 12 % comme « en péril » ou « possiblement en péril ». Le nombre total d’espèces connues présentes dans chaque province et territoire varie, mais le pourcentage d’espèces classifiées comme « en sécurité » est comparable à travers le pays. La situation générale des espèces sauvages a été évaluée tous les cinq ans depuis 2000. Entre 2000 et 2010, la proportion d’espèces classifiées comme « en sécurité » a varié entre 70 % et 77 %. Les écarts d’une année à l’autre sont principalement attribuables à une meilleure connaissance des espèces sauvages et à l’évaluation de nouveaux groupes d’espèces.

Classification de la situation générale des espèces sauvages au Canada, 2010

Classification de la situation générale des espèces sauvages au Canada, 2010

Voir les données de ce graphique
Comment cet indicateur est calculé


Note : Seules les espèces indigènes auxquelles une cote de risque a été attribuée ont été prises en compte (8 613 espèces au Canada). Les espèces classifiées comme « disparue », « disparue du Canada », « indéterminée », « non évaluée », « exotique » et « occasionnelle » sont exclues. Les régions océaniques ne sont pas représentées dans le graphique en raison du petit nombre d’espèces évaluées. Le nombre d’espèces pour lesquelles une classification du risque a été établie varie de 3 espèces dans l’océan Arctique occidental à 4 867 espèces en Colombie-Britannique.
Source : Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril (2011) Espèces sauvages 2010 : la situation générale des espèces au Canada. Groupe de travail national sur la situation générale.

La biodiversité au Canada est remarquable. On y compte plus de 70 000 espèces connues, outre les nombreuses autres espèces qu’il reste à répertorier. Malheureusement, de nombreuses menaces planent sur les espèces sauvages, notamment la perte de l’habitat, sa fragmentation et sa dégradation, la pollution, la surexploitation ainsi que les prises accessoires de poissons et autres pertes accessoires associées à la récolte des ressources. Les espèces sauvages subissent aussi les effets indirects de l’activité humaine, comme les espèces envahissantes, l’introduction de nouvelles maladies et les changements climatiques. La principale cause de la perte de biodiversité au Canada et partout dans le monde est associée à la perte de l’habitat attribuable au développement humain.

Tous les cinq ans, le Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril produit le rapport Espèces sauvages, qui réunit des informations sur un grand nombre d’espèces sauvages canadiennes afin d’évaluer la situation générale des espèces et des groupes d’espèces. Cette information peut révéler des signes avant-coureurs de problèmes avant que les espèces n’atteignent une condition critique. Ces rapports mettent aussi au jour les lacunes dans nos connaissances sur les espèces sauvages. En 2010, 11 950 espèces ont été évaluées selon 10 cotes : « disparue », « disparue du Canada » « en péril », « possiblement en péril », « sensible », « en sécurité », « indéterminée » (les données sont insuffisantes pour permettre une évaluation fiable de la situation générale de l’espèce), « non évaluée », « exotique » et « occasionnelle » (rarement présente).Note de bas de page [1]

Situation générale par groupe d’espèces

Le niveau de menace n’est pas le même pour toutes les espèces. Parmi les groupes d’espèces dont la classification du risque est connue, les reptiles (43 %), les moules d’eau douce (35 %) et les amphibiens (20 %) représentent la plus grande proportion d’espèces classifiées comme « en péril » ou « possiblement en péril ». La perte et la fragmentation de l’habitat causées par l’agriculture, l’expansion urbaine et l’aménagement de chalets sont les principales menaces pour les reptiles. Les couleuvres, les tortues et les lézards subissent aussi d’autres pressions, comme la mortalité sur les routes et la collecte dans le but d’en faire le commerce comme animaux de compagnie.

Nos connaissances varient aussi d’un groupe d’espèces à l’autre. Alors que nous connaissons assez bien les grands animaux qui retiennent l’attention comme les mammifères et les oiseaux, nos connaissances des mousses, des lichens et des arthropodes (insectes, araignées, crustacés, etc.) présentent des lacunes importantes. Plusieurs grands groupes d’organismes n’ont pas encore été évalués, notamment les champignons, les escargots et les algues. Ces organismes moins connus exercent des fonctions essentielles au bon fonctionnement des écosystèmes dont dépendent tous les organismes, y compris l’homme, pour la purification de l’eau et de l’air, la pollinisation des cultures, la formation du sol et bien d’autres services.

Les poissons n’ont pas été évalués en 2010. Cependant, en 2005, parmi les espèces dont la cote de risque était connue, 12 % des espèces de poissons ont été classifiées comme « en péril » ou « possiblement en péril ». Environ 60 % de toutes les espèces de poissons du Canada sont classifiées comme « indéterminées » ou « non évaluées ». Le fait que la plupart d’entre elles sont des espèces marines reflète l’ampleur des connaissances que nous devons encore acquérir sur les écosystèmes marins.

Situation générale d’espèces choisies par groupes d’espèces, 2010

Situation générale d’espèces choisies par groupes d’espèces, 2010

Voir les données de ce graphique
Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Le nombre d’espèces dans le graphique représente le nombre d’espèces évaluées au Canada pour ce groupe d’espèces, excluant la classification « occasionnelle » (n=253 espèces).
* Le groupe des arthropodes ne tient pas compte de toutes les espèces à l’intérieur de ce groupe, qui contient au moins plusieurs dizaines de milliers d’espèces. Pour tous les autres groupes, toutes les espèces observées au Canada ont été classifiées.
Source : Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril (2011) Espèces sauvages 2010 : la situation générale des espèces au Canada. Groupe de travail national sur la situation générale.

Parmi les groupes taxinomiques inclus dans les rapports Espèces sauvages précédents et réévalués dans le rapport de 2010, la situation est demeurée la même pour la majorité des espèces réévaluées. Sur 6 697 espèces réévaluées, 626 ont vu leur classification nationale changer, généralement en raison d’une amélioration des connaissances.

Renseignements connexes

Thème III : Protéger la nature, tel que formulé dans la stratégie fédérale de développement durable.
Cet indicateur est utilisé dans la mesure du progrès vers l’atteinte de Objectif 4 : Conserver et restaurer les écosystèmes, la faune et l'habitat et protéger les Canadiens - Écosystèmes résilients jouissant de populations fauniques en santé, de sorte que les Canadiens puissent bénéficier des aires naturelles, des ressources et des services écologiques pour les générations à venir de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2013-2016.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Pour obtenir une définition complète des classifications de la situation générale, veuillez consulter les rapports Espèces sauvages ou le document sur les Sources des données et méthodes.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1