Restoring the Great Lakes Areas of Concern

Access PDF (461 KB)

Environmental quality in Canada's 17 Great Lakes Areas of Concern has improved since the restoration program began in 1987. To date, considerable progress has been made toward with the restoration of the Areas of Concern with 61 impaired beneficial uses having been restored to Not impaired status, an increase of eight since 2014. As well, in 1994, 2003 and 2010, respectively, the Collingwood Harbour, Severn Sound and Wheatley Harbour Areas of Concern have had their environmental conditions judged to be fully restored. The Spanish Harbour and Jackfish Bay Areas of Concern were designated as Areas of Concern in Recovery in 1999 and 2011, respectively, when all actions were judged complete. These areas now require time for the environment to recover naturally. Efforts continue to confirm the impairment status of 22 beneficial uses identified as Requires further assessment and to restore the current 75 beneficial use impairments.

Progress on Canadian Great Lakes Areas of Concern, 1987 to 2016

Figure - See long description below

Long description

The figure shows the number of beneficial uses classified as Impaired and Requires further assessment for an Area of Concern's initial assessment, in 2003 and in 2016 for Canada's 17 Great Lakes Areas of Concern. During this period, three Areas of Concern have been fully restored and two are classified as Areas of Concern in Recovery.

Data for this chart
Progress on Canadian Great Lakes Areas of Concern, 1987 to 2016
LakeArea of ConcernInitial assessment – ImpairedInitial assessment – Requires further assessmentInitial assessment – Year2003 – Impaired2003 – Requires further assessment2016 – Impaired2016 – Requires further assessment
SuperiorThunder Bay10119919055
SuperiorNipigon Bay7119915041
SuperiorJackfish Bay621991613Footnote [A]2Footnote [A]
SuperiorPeninsula Harbour5119915022
St. Marys River9119929190
HuronSpanish Harbour5419933Footnote [A]0Footnote [A]3Footnote [A]0Footnote [A]
HuronSevern Sound6219880Footnote [B]0Footnote [B]0Footnote [B]0Footnote [B]
HuronCollingwood Harbour3019892Footnote [B]0Footnote [B]0Footnote [B]0Footnote [B]
St. Clair River9319919363
Detroit River8019919271
ErieWheatley Harbour501998510Footnote [B]0Footnote [B]
Niagara River8219936361
OntarioHamilton Harbour11119928383
OntarioToronto and Region8119898361
OntarioPort Hope Harbour1020031010
OntarioBay of Quinte831990101101
St. Lawrence River11319927352

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 2.63 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The initial assessments were conducted between 1988 and 1993, with the exception of Wheatley Harbour and Port Hope Harbour produced in 1998 and 2003 respectively. The number of beneficial uses that are Impaired or Require further assessment for 2016 is based on progress reported as of the end of the 2015-2016 fiscal year.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada's Great Lakes Area of Concern Office.

In 1987, the Canada – United States Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement identified 43 Areas of Concern across the Great Lakes. Of these Areas of Concern, 26 are entirely in American waters. Of the 17 examined here, 12 are entirely in Canadian waters and five are on the channels connecting the lakes and are shared by both countries. Of the 43 original Areas of Concern in Canada and the United States, six have been restored and removed from the Areas of Concern list: Collingwood Harbour, Severn Sound and Wheatley Harbour in Canada and the Oswego River, Presque Isle Bay and Deer Lake in the United States.

An Area of Concern is a region that has experienced environmental degradation. There are 14 beneficial uses considered for each Area of Concern. An impaired beneficial use indicates a change in the chemical, physical or biological integrity sufficient to restrict human use or the area's ability to support aquatic life. A beneficial use that requires further assessment needs scientific study to determine whether it is impaired or not. When all objectives for the impaired beneficial uses defined in the Remedial Action Plan have been achieved, the Area of Concern is restored. An Area of Concern in Recovery is an area originally identified as an Area of Concern where, based on community and government consensus, all scientifically-feasible and economically-reasonable actions have been carried out and time is required for the environment to recover naturally.

Status of the Canadian Great Lakes Areas of Concern, 2016

Map of Great Lakes - See long description below

Long description

The map shows the location and status of Canada's 17 Great Lakes Areas of Concern. Four Areas of Concern are located on Lake Superior, three on Lake Huron, one on Lake Erie and four on Lake Ontario. The remaining five are located on the channels connecting the lakes and are shared by Canada and the United States. As of the end of March 2016, there are three Restored Areas of Concern in Canada: Severn Sound and Collingwood Harbour on Lake Huron and Wheatley Harbour on Lake Erie. There are also two Areas of Concern in Recovery: Spanish Harbour on Lake Huron and Jackfish Bay on Lake Superior.

How this indicator was calculated

Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada's Great Lakes Area of Concern Office.

Related information

FSDS Icon - Pristine lakes and rivers Pristine lakes and rivers

This indicator supports the measurement of progress towards the long-term goal of the 2016–2019 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy: Clean and healthy lakes and rivers support economic prosperity and the well-being of Canadians.

Access PDF (461 KB)

Date modified:

Le rétablissement des secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs

Accéder au PDF (483 Ko)

La qualité de l'environnement dans les 17 secteurs préoccupants canadiens des Grands Lacs s'est améliorée depuis le début du programme de restauration en 1987. À ce jour, des progrès considérables ont été réalisés en vue de la restauration des secteurs préoccupants : 61 utilisations bénéfiques Altérées ont été rétablies, soit une augmentation de huit utilisations bénéfiques depuis 2014. Aussi, en 1994, 2003 et 2010, respectivement, les conditions environnementales du Port de Collingwood, du Bras Severn et du Port de Wheatley ont été jugées complètement rétablies. Les secteurs préoccupants du Port de Spanish et de la Baie Jackfish ont été désignés secteurs préoccupants en voie de rétablissement en 1999 et 2011, respectivement, lorsque toutes les mesures ont été jugées complètes. Ces secteurs nécessitent maintenant du temps pour que l'environnement se rétablisse naturellement. Les efforts se poursuivent pour confirmer le statut de 22 utilisations bébéfiques identifiées comme Nécessitant une évaluation plus approfondie et pour rétablir 75 utilisations bénéfiques présentement Altérées.

Progrès relatifs aux secteurs préoccupants canadiens des Grands Lacs, 1987 à 2016

Figure – voir description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Cette figure présente le nombre d'utilisations bénéfiques classifié comme Altérée ou Nécessite une évaluation plus approfondie pour l'évaluation initiale des 17 secteurs préoccupants canadiens des Grands Lacs, en 2003 et 2016. Pendant cette période, trois secteurs préoccupants se sont complètement rétablis et deux secteurs sont en voie de rétablissement.

Données du graphique
Progrès relatifs aux secteurs préoccupants canadiens des Grands Lacs, 1987 à 2016
LacSecteur préoccupantÉvaluation initiale – AltéréeÉvaluation initiale – Nécessite une évaluation plus approfondieÉvaluation initiale – Année2003 – Altérée2003 – Nécessite une évaluation plus approfondie2016 – Altérée2016 – Nécessite une évaluation plus approfondie
SupérieurBaie Thunder10119919055
SupérieurBaie Nipigon7119915041
SupérieurBaie Jackfish621991613Note de bas de page [A]2Note de bas de page [A]
SupérieurHavre Peninsula5119915022
Rivière St. Marys9119929190
HuronPort de Spanish5419933Note de bas de page [A]0Note de bas de page [A]3Note de bas de page [A]0Note de bas de page [A]
HuronBras Severn6219880Note de bas de page [B]0Note de bas de page [B]0Note de bas de page [B]0Note de bas de page [B]
HuronPort de Collingwood3019892Note de bas de page [B]0Note de bas de page [B]0Note de bas de page [B]0Note de bas de page [B]
Rivière St. Clair9319919363
Rivière Détroit8019919271
ÉriéPort de Wheatley501998510Note de bas de page [B]0Note de bas de page [B]
Rivière Niagara8219936361
OntarioPort de Hamilton11119928383
OntarioCommunauté urbaine de Toronto8119898361
OntarioPort Hope1020031010
OntarioBaie de Quinte831990101101
Fleuve Saint-Laurent11319927352

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 2,91 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Les évaluations initiales ont toutes été produites entre 1988 et 1993, à l'exception du Port de Wheatley et du port de Port Hope, produites en 1998 et 2003 respectivement. Le nombre d’utilisations bénéfiques qui sont Altérées ou qui Nécessitent une évaluation plus approfondie en 2016 provient des progrès présentés en date de la fin de l’année fiscale 2015-2016.
Source : Programme des secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

En 1987, l'Accord Canada–États-Unis relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs identifiait 43 secteurs préoccupants dans les Grands Lacs. Parmi ces secteurs préoccupants, 26 se trouvent entièrement dans les eaux américaines. Des 17 secteurs étudiés ici, 12 sont entièrement dans les eaux canadiennes et cinq sont situés dans les canaux connectant les lacs et sont donc partagés par les deux pays. Sur les 43 secteurs préoccupants identifiés au départ pour le Canada et les États-Unis, six ont été rétablis et retirés de la liste des secteurs préoccupants : Port de Collingwood, Bras Severn et Port de Wheatley au Canada et la rivière Oswego, la baie Presque Isle et Deer Lake aux États-Unis.

Un secteur préoccupant est une zone où l'environnement s'est dégradé. Il existe 14 utilisations bénéfiques évaluées pour chaque secteur préoccupant. Une utilisation bénéfique Altérée indique un changement dans l'intégrité chimique, physique ou biologique, suffisant pour restreindre l'utilisation humaine ou la capacité de ce secteur à soutenir la vie aquatique. Une utilisation bénéfique qui Nécessite une évaluation plus approfondie requiert une étude scientifique qui permettra de déterminer si l'utilisation bénéfique est Altérée ou non. Lorsque tous les objectifs de rétablissement relatifs aux utilisations bénéfiques Altérées définis dans le plan d'assainissement ont été atteints, le secteur préoccupant est rétabli. Un secteur préoccupant en voie de rétablissement est un secteur originalement identifié comme étant un secteur préoccupant et pour lequel, grâce à un consensus établi entre les collectivités et le gouvernement, toutes les mesures réalisables sur le plan scientifique et raisonnables sur le plan économique ont déjà été mises en œuvre et où l'environnement nécessite du temps pour se rétablir naturellement.

État des secteurs préoccupants canadiens des Grands Lacs, 2016

Carte des Grands Lacs - voir description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Cette carte situe et présente l'état des 17 secteurs préoccupants canadiens des Grands Lacs. Quatre secteurs préoccupants sont situés dans le Lac Supérieur, trois dans le Lac Huron, un dans le Lac Érié et quatre dans le lac Ontario. Les cinq autres sont situés dans les cours d'eau connectant les Grands Lacs et sont partagés par le Canada et les États-Unis. En date de la fin mars 2016, trois secteurs préoccupants sont considérés rétablis : Bras Severn et Port de Collingwood dans le Lac Huron et Port de Wheatley dans le Lac Érié. Il y a aussi deux secteurs préoccupants en cours de rétablissement : Port de Spanish dans le Lac Huron et Baie Jackfish dans le Lac Supérieur.

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Source : Programme des secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Renseignements connexes

Icone de la SFDD - Lacs et cours d'eau vierges Lacs et cours d'eau vierges

Cet indicateur appuie la mesure vers l'atteinte de l'objectif à long terme de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable 2016–2019 : Des lacs et des cours d'eau propres soutiennent la prospérité économique et le bien-être des Canadiens.

Accéder au PDF (483 Ko)

Date de modification :