Water Quantity in Canadian Rivers

Access PDF (757 KB)

In 2013, 27% of 866 water quantity stations were classified as having higher-than-normal quantity, 6% had lower-than-normal quantity and 67% had normal quantity.

From 2001 to 2013, Canada's rivers typically had normal water quantity with an increasing tendency for higher-than-normal quantity starting in 2010. The percentage of stations with lower-than-normal quantity has declined since 2001.

Water quantity at monitoring stations, Canada, 2001 to 2013

Column chart

Long description

The proportional column chart shows the percentage of stations with low, normal and high water quantity, on an annual basis, from 2001 to 2013. Over this period, Canada's rivers typically had normal water quantity.

Data for this chart
Water quantity at monitoring stations, Canada, 2001 to 2013
YearTotal number of stationsHigh quantity
(percentage of stations)
Normal quantity
(percentage of stations)
Low quantity
(percentage of stations)
2001124156827
2002123757916
2003125427721
200412539857
2005124722744
20061242117811
2007124812809
2008124510864
2009125688210
2010125220738
2011122626687
20121145167014
201386627676

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.37 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The water quantity classification for a station is based on a comparison of the most frequently observed flow condition in a given year with typical water quantity at that station between 1981 and 2010. The normal period for the Northern Quebec drainage region was 1971–2000, instead of 1981–2010, because of a data gap in the drainage region. The 2013 data has fewer stations contributing to the results because of delays getting data into the HYDAT database. Normal water quantities are specific to each region and do not refer to the same amount of water in each drainage region (e.g., normal water quantity in the Prairies is different from normal water quantity in the Maritimes).
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2015) Water Survey of Canada, HYDAT Database.

Canada is a water-rich country, with its rivers and lakes accounting for 7% of the world's renewable freshwater.Footnote [1] However, even with all this water, shortages are a serious problem for regions of Canada when natural water supplies do not meet human demand.

Water quantity in Canadian rivers is measured as water flow, or the volume of water moving over a point, over a fixed period of time. Water flows in rivers, lakes and reservoirs generally follow changes in temperature, rainfall and snowfall throughout the year. In general, the landscape is wettest right after snow melt in the early spring and gradually dries out through the late summer and early fall. In any given year, more precipitation increases the amount of water in rivers, lakes or reservoirs, whereas warmer temperatures and less rain or snowfall will result in less water.

Over longer time scales, water quantity is also affected by weather patterns and ocean surface temperatures. In any given year, ocean surface waters interact with weather patterns to influence the amount of rain or snow that falls, which can bring about years with too much, or too little, water. For example, extended summer droughts on the Prairies, which cause lower-than-normal water flows, tend to take place when the southern Pacific Ocean warms during El Niño Southern Oscillation events. In contrast, the Prairies experience more rain and snow, causing higher-than-normal flows, when the ocean cools during La Niña events.Footnote [2] Climate change may increase the strength and occurrence of the El Niño Southern Oscillations.

Related indicators

Other information

icon
This indicator is used to measure progress toward Goal 3: Water Quality and Water Quantity – Protect and enhance water so that it is clean, safe and secure for all Canadians and supports healthy ecosystems of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy 2013–2016.

Access PDF (757 KB)

Date modified:

Quantité d'eau dans les cours d'eau canadiens

Accéder au PDF (777 Ko)

En 2013, 27 % des 866 stations de suivi de la quantité d'eau ont enregistré une quantité d'eau supérieure à la normale, 6 % une quantité inférieure à la normale et 67 % une quantité normale d'eau.

De 2001 à 2013, les cours d'eau du Canada ont connu, de façon générale, des quantités normales d'eau, la tendance aux quantités supérieures à la normale ayant commencé en 2010. Le pourcentage des stations enregistrant des quantités inférieures à la normale a diminué depuis 2001.

Quantité d'eau aux stations de suivi, Canada, 2001 à 2013

Graphique à colonnes

Description longue

Le graphique à colonnes proportionnelles indique le pourcentage de stations enregistrant des quantités d'eau faibles, normales et élevées, sur une base annuelle, de 2001 à 2013. Au cours de cette période, la quantité d'eau des cours d'eau du Canada s'est révélée normale dans l'ensemble.

Données du graphique
Quantité d'eau aux stations de suivi, Canada, 2001 à 2013
AnnéeNombre total de stationsQuantité élevée
(pourcentage de stations)
Quantité normale
(pourcentage de stations)
Quantité faible
(pourcentage de stations)
20011 24156827
20021 23757916
20031 25427721
20041 2539857
20051 24722744
20061 242117811
20071 24812809
20081 24510864
20091 25688210
20101 25220738
20111 22626687
20121 145167014
201386627676

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,52 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : La classification de la quantité d'eau à une station est basée sur la comparaison des conditions de débit les plus fréquemment observées au cours d'une année donnée avec la quantité d'eau habituellement observée à la station entre 1981 et 2010. La période normale pour la région de drainage nord du Québec a été de 1971 à 2000 plutôt que de 1981 à 2010, en raison de lacunes dans les données portant sur cette région de drainage. Un moins grand nombre de stations ont contribué aux données de 2013 en raison de retards d'intégration des données dans la base de données HYDAT. Les quantités d'eau normales sont propres à chaque région et diffèrent d'une région de drainage à une autre (p. ex., la quantité d'eau normale dans les Prairies est différente de la quantité d'eau normale dans les Maritimes).
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2015) Relevés hydrologiques du Canada, base de données HYDAT.

Le Canada est un pays riche en eau, ses rivières et ses lacs représentant 7 % des réserves d'eau douce renouvelables de la planète.Note de bas de page [1] Malgré toute cette eau, les pénuries constituent un sérieux problème pour certaines régions lorsque les réserves naturelles en eau ne suffisent pas à la demande humaine.

La quantité d'eau dans les cours d'eau canadiens est mesurée sous forme de débit d'eau, ou le volume d'eau qui se déplace vers un point au cours d'une période déterminée. Les débits des rivières, lacs et réservoirs suivent, en règle générale, les fluctuations de la température, de la pluie et des chutes de neige tout au long de l'année. Habituellement, le paysage est le plus humide immédiatement après la fonte des neiges au début du printemps et s'assèche progressivement jusqu'à la fin de l'été et au début de l'automne. Au cours d'une année donnée, des précipitations abondantes feront augmenter la quantité d'eau présente dans les rivières, les lacs et les réservoirs, alors que des températures chaudes et des quantités de pluie ou de neige plus faibles la feront diminuer.

Sur des échelles de temps plus longues, la quantité d'eau est également influencée par les régimes climatiques et les températures de surface des océans. Au cours d'une année donnée, l'interaction des eaux de surface des océans et des régimes climatiques a des répercussions sur la quantité de pluie ou de neige qui tombe, ce qui peut entraîner des années de surabondance ou de pénurie d'eau. Par exemple, les sécheresses estivales prolongées dans les Prairies, qui entraînent des débits d'eau inférieurs à la normale, ont tendance à survenir lorsque l'océan Pacifique Sud se réchauffe au cours des épisodes d'El Niño-oscillation australe. En revanche, les Prairies reçoivent davantage de pluie et de neige lorsque l'océan se refroidit lors des épisodes de La Niña, entraînant ainsi des débits supérieurs à la normale.Note de bas de page [2] Les changements climatiques peuvent accroître la force et l'occurrence des épisodes d'El Niño-oscillation australe.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires


icône
Cet indicateur est utilisé pour mesurer les progrès vers l'atteinte de l'Objectif 3 : Qualité de l'eau et quantité d'eau – Protéger et améliorer l'eau pour qu'elle soit propre, saine et sécuritaire pour tous les Canadiens et qu'elle soutienne des écosystèmes sains de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2013–2016.

Accéder au PDF (777 Ko)

Date de modification :