Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Data Sources and Methods for the Air Health Indicator

Data

Canadian communities for which the ground-level ozone (O3) and fine particulate matter (PM2.5) concentrations were used for the National Air Quality Indicators of Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators (CESI) were considered. The Air Health Indicator (AHI) is based on the criteria of having a reasonably complete time series of pollution and weather measurements, and enough daily mortality data.

For each community there were three types of data used for the AHI : daily numbers of cause-specific deaths, air pollution concentrations, and potential confounders to the mortality-air pollution association.

3.1 Data source

3.1.1 Daily numbers of cause-specific deaths

The daily numbers of cause-specific deaths (non-accidental mortality data) were obtained from the national mortality database (Vital Statistics Database–Deaths) maintained by Statistics Canada. Based on the International Classification of Diseases (ICD), the mortality data included only deaths from internal causes (ICD-9 code < 800 for up to year 1999 and ICD-10 code A00-R99 for years 2000 onwards), excluding external causes such as injuries. Regarding cause-specific deaths, in particular, we were interested in cardiopulmonary mortality related to the circulatory or respiratory system. For this specification, our mortality data were categorized into a cardiopulmonary group (ICD-9 code between 390 and 520 and ICD-10 code between I00–I99 and J00–J99). The cardiopulmonary mortality data were extracted for a specified census division only where the census division of residence was the same as the census division of death occurrence.

3.1.2 Air pollution concentrations

The daily O3 and PM2.5 concentration data were obtained from the National Air Pollution Surveillance (NAPS) Network operated by Environment Canada. Established in 1969, NAPS provides accurate and long-term air quality data of a uniform standard across Canada to monitor the quality of ambient (outdoor) air in populated regions by specific procedures for the selection and positioning of monitoring stations. For each NAPS monitoring station, the daily average concentration for a certain day was calculated only if at least 75% of 24 hourly concentrations for that day (i.e. at least 18 hourly concentrations) were available. Otherwise, it was recorded as missing. For each census division, the daily average concentration was averaged over monitoring stations if there were two or more stations located in that census division. The metrics used for the concentrations were the daily 8-hours maximum (April to October) for O3 and the daily mean (April to October) for PM2.5.

3.1.3 Potential confounders to the mortality-air pollution association

As for potential confounding variables to the exposure-mortality association, three factors were considered: time; temperature; and indicators for days of the week. Calendar time is included to control both temporal and seasonal variations. Daily temperature controls for the short-term effect of weather on daily mortality; and day of the week accounts for mortality that varies by day of the week. Specifically, to account for the weather effect, daily mean temperature data were obtained from the National Climate Data and Information Archive of Environment Canada. As for lifestyle factors such as smoking or cholesterol in the community, they do not vary meaningfully from day to day and thus can be ignored as confounders.

3.2 Spatial coverage

Twenty Canadian communitiesFootnote [1] were selected for O3. Eighteen communitiesFootnote [2] were selected for PM2.5. Each community’s geographic boundaries were defined by the census division associated with the city.

3.3 Temporal coverage

Yearly data for the years 1990 to 2010 were used for O3 and yearly data for the years 2001 to 2010 were used for PM2.5.

3.4 Data completeness

At the time of the modeling of the AHI, only the 1990 to 2007 mortality data were sufficiently complete and available in the correct format. The indicators values reported for years 2008 to 2010 should be considered as preliminary, as they are approximated using the averages of annual national risk estimates from the previous periods (1990 to 2007 for O3 and 2001 to 2007 for PM2.5). A reasonable assumption was made that the consistency observed in these estimates continued. The latest year used for the air pollution concentration is 2010.

3.5 Data timeliness

Due to the complexity of mortality data collection, the AHI is few years behind the other data (air pollution concentrations).

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Saint John, Québec, Montréal, Ottawa, York, Toronto, Peel, Halton, Hamilton, Niagara Falls, Waterloo, Windsor, Sarnia, Sault Ste. Marie, Winnipeg, Regina, Saskatoon, Calgary, Edmonton, and Vancouver

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Saint John, Québec, Montréal, Ottawa, Toronto, Peel, Halton, Hamilton, Niagara Falls, London, Windsor, Sarnia, Waterloo, Winnipeg, Regina, Calgary, Edmonton, and Vancouver

Return to footnote 2referrer

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Sources des données et méthodes de l'indicateur air-santé

Données

Les mêmes concentrations d’ozone troposphérique (O3) et de particules fines (P2,5) des indicateurs sur la qualité de l’air des Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l’environnement (ICDE) ont été utilisées pour les concentrations des communautés canadiennes de l’indicateur air-santé (IAS). L’IAS s’appuie sur les critères suivants: la série chronologique de mesures météorologiques et de la pollution est jugée suffisamment exhaustive ainsi que les données sur la mortalité quotidienne.

Pour chaque communauté, trois types de données ont été utilisés pour calculer l’IAS : le nombre quotidien de décès par cause, les concentrations de polluants dans l’air et les facteurs de confusion potentiels pour la relation entre la mortalité et la pollution atmosphérique.

3.1 Sources des données

3.1.1 Nombre quotidien de décès par cause

Les chiffres concernant le nombre quotidien de décès par cause (données de mortalité non accidentelle) ont été obtenus à partir de la Base de données nationale sur la mortalité (Statistique de l’état civil – Base de données sur les décès) gérée par Statistique Canada. En s’appuyant sur la Classification internationale des maladies (CIM), les données sur la mortalité ne comprenaient que les causes internes (code CIM-9 < 800 pour 1999 ainsi que pour les années précédentes et le code CIM-10 A00-R99 pour 2000 et les années subséquentes) et non les causes externes telles que les blessures. Concernant les décès par cause, nous étions particulièrement intéressés par la mortalité cardio-pulmonaire liée à l’appareil circulatoire ou respiratoire. Pour répondre à cette spécification, nous avons classé les données sur la mortalité dans un groupe cardio-pulmonaire (code CIM-9 entre 390 et 520 et de code CIM-10 compris entre I00-I99 et J00-J99). Les données sur la mortalité cardio-pulmonaire ont été extraites pour les divisions de recensement seulement lorsque la division de recensement de résidence était identique à la division de recensement du décès.

3.1.2 Concentrations de polluants dans l’air

Les données sur les concentrations quotidiennes d’O3 et de P2,5 ont été obtenues à partir du Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique (RNSPA) dirigé par Environnement Canada. Créé en 1969, le RNSPA fournit des données précises et à long terme sur la qualité de l’air. Ces données sont recueillies en suivant des méthodes normalisées dans tout le pays afin de surveiller la qualité de l’air ambiant (extérieur) dans les régions peuplées en utilisant des procédures spécifiques pour la sélection et le positionnement des stations de surveillance. Pour chaque station de surveillance du RNSPA, la concentration moyenne quotidienne pour un jour donné n’est calculée que si au moins 75 % des 24 concentrations horaires du jour en question (soit au moins 18 concentrations horaires) sont disponibles. Dans le cas contraire, la concentration est considérée comme manquante. Si au moins deux stations de surveillance sont présentes dans la division de recensement, la moyenne des concentrations moyennes quotidiennes des stations de surveillance est calculée. Pour ce qui a trait aux définitions relatives aux polluants atmosphériques, nous avons sélectionné la concentration quotidienne moyenne maximale enregistrée sur une période de 8 heures (d’avril à octobre) pour l’O3 et la concentration quotidienne moyenne (d’avril à octobre) pour les P2,5.

3.1.3 Facteurs de confusion potentiels pour la relation entre la mortalité et la pollution atmosphérique

Quant aux facteurs de confusions potentiels pour la relation entre l’exposition et la mortalité, voici les trois qui ont été utilisés : le facteur temps, la température et les indicateurs pour les jours de la semaine. Le facteur temps est inclus pour contrôler les variations temporelles et saisonnières; la température quotidienne contrôle l’effet à court terme de la météorologie sur la mortalité quotidienne; le jour de la semaine permet de prendre en compte la variation de la mortalité selon le jour de la semaine. Plus précisément, pour tenir compte de l’effet de la météorologie, les données sur la température moyenne ont été obtenues à partir des Archives nationales d’information et de données climatologiques d’Environnement Canada. Quant aux facteurs relatifs au mode de vie, comme le tabagisme ou le cholestérol dans la communauté, ils ne varient pas de façon considérable d’un jour à l’autre. Ils ne sont donc pas considérés comme des facteurs de confusion.

3.2 Couverture spatiale

Vingt communautés canadiennesNote de bas de page [1] ont été sélectionnées pour l’O3 et dix-huit communautésNote de bas de page [2] pour les P2,5. Les frontières géographiques de chaque communauté ont été définies selon la division de recensement associé à la ville.

3.3 Couverture temporelle

Les données annuelles pour les années comprises entre 1990 et 2010 ont été utilisées pour l’O3 et les données annuelles pour les années comprises entre 2001 et 2010 ont été utilisées pour les P2,5.

3.4 Exhaustivité des données

Au moment de la modélisation de l’IAS, seulement les données sur la mortalité de 1990 à 2007 étaient suffisamment complètes et disponibles dans le format requis. Les valeurs des indicateurs pour les années 2008 à 2010 doivent être considérées  comme préliminaires car elles ont été évaluées de manière approximative à partir de la moyenne des risques annuels à l’échelle nationale des années précédentes (pour l’O3, les années 1990 à 2007 et pour les P2,5, les années 2001 à 2007). Il est assumé que la régularité observée pour ces années va continuer. 2010 est la dernière année utilisée pour les concentrations des polluants de l’air.

3.5 Actualité des données

En raison de la complexité de la collecte des données sur la mortalité, l’IAS est quelques années en retard sur les autres données (Concentrations de la pollution de l’air).

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Saint John, Québec, Montréal, Ottawa, York, Toronto, Peel, Halton, Hamilton, Niagara Falls, Waterloo, Windsor, Sarnia, Sault Ste. Marie, Winnipeg, Regina, Saskatoon, Calgary, Edmonton et Vancouver

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 1

Saint John, Québec, Montréal, Ottawa, Toronto, Peel, Halton, Hamilton, Niagara Falls, London, Windsor, Sarnia, Waterloo, Winnipeg, Regina, Calgary, Edmonton et Vancouver

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2