Land Use Impacts on Freshwater Quality

For the 2009 to 2011 period, freshwater quality was assessed by land use category to better understand how water quality is impacted by land-based activities, such as agriculture and mining. Good to excellent water quality was found in 25% of sites with little human development (Remote), 8% of sites with agriculture only, 8% of sites having a mix of agriculture, mines and cities (Mixed) and 7% of sites with mines. Marginal to fair water quality was found at 20% of sites classified with mixed land use, 14% of sites with agricultural land use, 8% of sites with mines and 8% of remote sites.

Overall, sites with agriculture and mining development are more likely to have impaired water quality, particularly when they have more than one type of land use. Remote sites generally have better freshwater quality.

Freshwater quality by land use category for the 2009 to 2011 period, Canada

Freshwater quality by land use category for the 2009 to 2011 period, Canada

Long Description

The bar graph presents the number of sites where freshwater quality for the protection of aquatic life is rated excellent, good, fair, marginal and poor in the four land use categories between 2009 and 2011. The four land use categories are: agriculture, mining, mixed pressures and remote. Good and excellent freshwater quality was found significantly more often in remote areas.

View data for this chart
How this indicator was calculated

Note: Freshwater quality by land use category was assessed at 166 sites throughout Canada’s 16 drainage regions where human activity is most intensive using the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment’s Water Quality Index. Six sites have not had their land use categorized and are not included in this indicator.
Source: Water quality data were assembled by Environment Canada from existing federal, provincial, territorial and joint water quality monitoring programs. Population, mining and land cover statistics for each site’s drainage area were provided by Statistics Canada.

Land use, or how humans have developed and managed land around a river, affects freshwater quality. Water running off of agricultural fields and city streets and discharged from mines or wastewater treatment plants can decrease freshwater quality in nearby rivers. In contrast, freshwater quality in remote areas is mainly determined by local soil conditions and tends to be rated excellent or good, given there is less human development and rivers are surrounded by plants and trees. Marginal or poor water quality can, however, occur in these areas, due to pollution travelling long distances through the air.

Related indicators

Other information

Impacts de l’utilisation du sol sur la qualité de l’eau douce

Pour la période de 2009 à 2011, la qualité de l’eau douce a été évaluée en fonction des catégories d’utilisation du sol afin de mieux comprendre comment la qualité de l’eau est affectée par les activités d’utilisation du sol, telles que l’agriculture et l’exploitation minière. Une qualité de l’eau bonne à excellente a été trouvée dans 25 % des sites avec peu de développement humain (site éloigné), 8 % des sites avec de l’agriculture seulement, 8 % des sites ayant un mélange d’agriculture, de mines et de villes (mixte) et 7 % des sites avec des mines. Une qualité de l’eau douteuse à satisfaisante a été trouvée dans 20 % des sites à utilisation mixte des sols, 14 % des sites agricoles, 8 % des sites avec des mines et 8 % des sites éloignés.

En général, les sites agricoles et miniers sont plus susceptibles d’avoir des répercussions sur la qualité de l’eau, particulièrement lorsqu’ils présentent plus qu’une catégorie d’utilisation du sol. Les sites éloignés ont en général une meilleure qualité de l’eau.

Qualité de l’eau douce selon les catégories d’utilisation du sol pour la période de 2009 à 2011, Canada

Qualité de l’eau douce selon les catégories d’utilisation du sol pour la période de 2009 à 2011, Canada

Description longue

Le diagramme à barres présente le nombre de sites où la qualité de l'eau douce pour la protection de la vie aquatique est cotée excellente, bonne, satisfaisante, douteuse ou mauvaise pour les quatre catégories d’utilisation du sol entre 2009 et 2011. Les quatre catégories d’utilisation du sol sont les suivantes : agriculture, exploitation minière, pressions mixtes et régions éloignées. Une qualité de l’eau douce excellente ou bonne étaient le plus souvent retrouvée dans les régions éloignées.

Voir les données de ce graphique
Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : La qualité de l’eau douce selon les catégories d’utilisation du sol a été évaluée à 166 sites dans les 16 régions de drainage du Canada où l’activité humaine est la plus intense, en utilisant l'indice de la qualité des eaux du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement. L’utilisation du sol n’était pas encore évaluée à six sites, qui ne sont pas inclus dans cet indicateur.
Source : Les données ont été réunies par Environnement Canada à partir des programmes fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et conjoints de suivi de la qualité de l’eau. Les statistiques sur la population, l’exploitation minière et la couverture terrestre des régions de drainage de chacun des sites ont été fournies par Statistique Canada.

L’utilisation du sol, ou la façon dont les humains ont développé et géré le territoire autour d’un cours d’eau, affecte la qualité de l’eau douce. L’eau ruisselant des champs agricoles, les rues urbaines et les rejets des exploitations minières ou des usines de traitement des eaux usées peuvent diminuer la qualité de l’eau douce dans les cours d’eau avoisinants. Au contraire, dans les régions éloignées, le développement humain est moindre et les cours d’eau sont entourés de plantes et d’arbres. La qualité de l’eau douce dans les régions éloignées est déterminée principalement par les conditions locales du sol et tend à être classée comme bonne ou excellente. La qualité de l’eau dans ces régions peut cependant être mauvaise ou douteuse parce que la pollution voyage sur de longues distances dans l’air.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires