Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

About the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators

The Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators (CESI) program provides data and information to track Canada’s performance on key environmental sustainability issues including climate change and air quality, water quality and availability, and protecting nature. The environmental indicators are based on objective and comprehensive information and convey environmental trends in a straightforward and transparent manner.

The indicators are prepared by Environment Canada with the support of other federal government departments, such as Health Canada, Statistics Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, as well as provincial and territorial government departments. Designed to be relevant to the Government’s policy, the indicators are built on rigorous methodology and high quality, regularly available data from surveys and monitoring networks.

The CESI website ensures that national, regional, local and international trends are readily accessible and transparently presented to all Canadians through the use of graphics, explanatory text, interactive maps and downloadable data. Indicator results are linked to their key social and economic drivers and information is provided on how the issues are influenced by consumers, businesses and governments. Each indicator is accompanied by a technical explanation of its calculation.

CESI is the prime instrument to measure progress of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy and responds to Environment Canada’s commitments under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act and the Department of the Environment Act to report to Canadians on the state of the environment.


Suggested citation for generally referring to the site: Environment Canada (current year) Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators. Consulted on day Month, year.

For citation of specific indicators, please refer to the relevant "Data Sources and Methods" document.

Au sujet des Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l’environnement

Le programme des Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement (ICDE) fournit des données et des renseignements qui permettent d’effectuer un suivi du rendement du Canada à l’égard d’enjeux clés en matière de durabilité de l’environnement comme les changements climatiques et la qualité de l’air, la qualité de l’eau et sa disponibilité, et la protection de la nature. Les indicateurs environnementaux sont établis à partir d’un ensemble complet de renseignements objectifs, lesquels permettent de dégager des tendances environnementales de façon directe et transparente.

Les indicateurs sont préparés par Environnement Canada avec l’appui d’autres ministères fédéraux, notamment Santé Canada, Statistique Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, ainsi que des ministères provinciaux et territoriaux. Parce qu’ils sont conçus pour éclairer les politiques du gouvernement, les indicateurs se fondent sur une méthodologie rigoureuse et des données de grande qualité obtenues régulièrement à partir d’enquêtes et des réseaux de surveillance.

Le site Web des ICDE fait en sorte que les tendances nationales, régionales, locales et internationales sont facilement accessibles et présentées au public canadien de manière transparente grâce à l’utilisation de graphiques, de textes explicatifs, de cartes interactives et de données téléchargeables. Le lien est fait entre les résultats des indicateurs et les facteurs socio-économiques clés qui sont en cause, et des renseignements sont présentés sur l’influence des consommateurs, des entreprises et des gouvernements sur les différents enjeux traités. En outre, le site fournit l’explication technique du calcul de chacun des indicateurs.

Les ICDE sont le principal instrument permettant de mesurer les progrès de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable et répond à l’engagement d’Environnement Canada de rendre compte à la population canadienne de l’état de l’environnement, en application de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement et de la Loi sur le ministère de l’Environnement.


Référence suggérée pour mentionner le site web : Environnement Canada (année en cours) Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l’environnement. Consulté le jour mois année.

Pour la référence d’indicateurs spécifiques, veuillez vous référer au document sur les « Sources de données et méthodes » approprié.