Releases of Harmful Substances to the Environment

Access PDF (1.04 MB)

Toxic substances released to the environment can harm human health, wildlife and biological diversity. For instance, toxic metals can be inhaled or deposited onto soil and into water, where they can enter the food chain and accumulate in the tissues of living organisms. Some of these substances can also travel great distances by air.

The Releases of Harmful Substances to the Environment indicators track releases of mercury (Hg), lead (Pb) and cadmium (Cd) and their compounds to air and water. These substances are listed as toxicFootnote [1] under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), so their release to the environment is closely monitored. The latest available data from the Air Pollutant Emissions Inventory (APEI) and reported facility releases from the National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) are used to calculate these indicators.

Releases to air

In 2014, Hg, Pb and Cd emissions to air have been reduced to about 10% of their 1990 levels (emissions reductions of 89%, 89% and 92% respectively). These reductions are mainly due to reduced emissions from industrial sources.

Mercury, lead and cadmium emissions to air, Canada, 1990 to 2014

Indexed Line Chart - see long description below

Long description

The indexed line chart shows the annual changes in emissions to air from 1990 to 2014, as a percentage of 1990 emissions, for three pollutants in Canada: mercury, lead and cadmium. Between 1990 and 2014, emissions were reduced by 89% for mercury, 89% for lead and 92% for cadmium.

Data for this chart
Mercury, lead and cadmium emissions to air, Canada, 1990 to 2014
YearMercury
(change in annual emissions to air as a percentage of 1990 levels)
Lead
(change in annual emissions to air as a percentage of 1990 levels)
Cadmium
(change in annual emissions to air as a percentage of 1990 levels)
1990000
1991-1-4-10
19920-1-7
1993-43-35-77
1994-49-34-75
1995-59-29-68
1996-60-22-59
1997-68-39-48
1998-70-47-48
1999-71-54-55
2000-73-56-58
2001-74-59-24
2002-75-63-57
2003-76-69-66
2004-76-74-63
2005-77-78-61
2006-76-76-55
2007-74-76-68
2008-77-78-75
2009-80-80-77
2010-84-83-82
2011-88-87-90
2012-89-88-89
2013-88-90-90
2014-89-89-92

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.08 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The indicator only reports releases from human-related sources.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Air Pollutant Emission Inventory.

Releases to water

In 2014, an important spill accounted for increases in releases of Hg and Pb to water of 518% and 499% respectively and of 29% for Cd between 2003 and 2014. On August 4, 2014, a dam securing a tailings pond from the Mount Polley mine in central British Columbia breached, spilling mining waste into Polley Lake and surrounding waters.

In 2014, the Mount Polley mine reported releases of Pb, Cd and Hg to water for the first time. Releases to water from the Mount Polley mine in 2014 amounted to 134.1 tonnes (t) of Pb, 2.8 t of Cd and 2.1 t of Hg.

Releases of mercury, lead and cadmium to water, Canada, 2003 to 2014

Indexed Line Chart - see long description below

Long description

The indexed line chart shows the annual changes in releases to water from 2003 to 2014, as a percentage of 2003 releases, for three pollutants in Canada: mercury, lead and cadmium. The increases of 518% for mercury, 499% for lead and 29% for cadmium to water between 2003 and 2014 are explained by the Mount Polley incident of 2014.

Data for this chart
Releases of mercury, lead and cadmium to water, Canada, 2003 to 2014
YearMercury
(change in annual releases to water as a percentage of 2003 levels)
Lead
(change in annual releases to water as a percentage of 2003 levels)
Cadmium
(change in annual releases to water as a percentage of 2003 levels)
2003000
2004-11-14-6
200541-13-31
2006-10-21-24
2007-33-41-24
2008-45-14-49
2009-10-32-35
2010-32-22-45
2011-6-29-43
2012-53-42-45
2013-44-47-44
201451849929

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.21 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The indicator only reports releases from human-related sources. This chart accounts only for the releases to water reported in the NPRI based on the NPRI reporting criteria for releases of Hg, Pb and Cd and their compounds. These amounts should not be interpreted as comprehensive totals of releases to water of these pollutants in Canada.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Overview of Reviewed Facility-Reported Data of the National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) 2014.

 

Related information

 

Icon
These indicators are used to measure progress towards Target 4.8: Chemicals Management – Reduce risks to Canadians and impacts on the environment and human health posed by releases of harmful substances of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy 2013–2016.

Access PDF (1.04 MB)

Date modified:

Rejets de substances nocives dans l'environnement

Accéder au PDF (1,08 Mo)

Les substances toxiques rejetées dans l'environnement peuvent nuire à la santé humaine, la faune et la diversité biologique. Par exemple, les métaux toxiques peuvent être inhalés ou se déposer sur le sol et dans l'eau, d'où ils peuvent pénétrer dans la chaîne alimentaire et s'accumuler dans les tissus des organismes vivants. Certaines de ces substances peuvent également parcourir de grandes distances dans l'air.

Les indicateurs sur les Rejets de substances nocives dans l'environnement font le suivi des rejets de mercure (Hg), le plomb (Pb), le cadmium (Cd) et leurs composés dans l'air et dans l'eau. Ces substances sont inscrites à la liste des substances toxiquesNote de bas de page [1] en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LCPE 1999), donc leur rejet dans l'environnement est suivi de près. Les données les plus récentes de l'Inventaire des émissions de polluants atmosphériques (IEPA) et les rejets déclarés par les installations dans l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) servent au calcul de ces indicateurs.

Émissions atmosphériques

En 2014, les émissions de Hg, de Pb et de Cd dans l'air ont diminué pour atteindre environ 10 % de leurs niveaux de 1990 (réductions de 89 %, 89 % et 92 % respectivement). Ces réductions résultent principalement d'une diminution des émissions de source industrielle.

Émissions atmosphériques de mercure, plomb et cadmium, Canada, 1990 à 2014

Graphique linéaire indiciel - Voir la description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire indiciel présente les changements annuels dans les émissions de 1990 à 2014, en pourcentages des émissions de 1990, pour trois polluants atmosphériques au Canada : le mercure, le plomb et le cadmium. Entre 1990 et 2014, les émissions ont diminué de 89 % pour le mercure, de 89 % pour le plomb, et de 92 % pour le cadmium.

Données du graphique
Émissions atmosphériques de mercure, plomb et cadmium, Canada, 1990 à 2014
AnnéeMercure
(changements annuels dans les émissions atmosphériques en pourcentage des niveaux de 1990)
Plomb
(changements annuels dans les émissions atmosphériques en pourcentage des niveaux de 1990)
Cadmium
(changements annuels dans les émissions atmosphériques en pourcentage des niveaux de 1990)
1990
0
0
0
1991
-1
-4
-10
1992
0
-1
-7
1993
-43
-35
-77
1994
-49
-34
-75
1995
-59
-29
-68
1996
-60
-22
-59
1997
-68
-39
-48
1998
-70
-47
-48
1999
-71
-54
-55
2000
-73
-56
-58
2001
-74
-59
-24
2002
-75
-63
-57
2003
-76
-69
-66
2004
-76
-74
-63
2005
-77
-78
-61
2006
-76
-76
-55
2007
-74
-76
-68
2008
-77
-78
-75
2009
-80
-80
-77
2010
-84
-83
-82
2011
-88
-87
-90
2012
-89
-88
-89
2013
-88
-90
-90
2014
-89
-89
-92

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,20 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur n'inclut que les rejets provenant d'activités humaines.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Inventaire des émissions de polluants atmosphériques.

Rejets dans l'eau

En 2014, un important déversement a entraîné une forte augmentation des rejets de Hg et de Pb dans l'eau entre 2003 et 2014, soit de 518 % et 499 % respectivement, et de 29 % pour le Cd. Dans le centre de la Colombie‑Britannique, un barrage protégeant un bassin de résidus miniers de la mine Mount Polley a cédé le 4 août 2014, et des résidus miniers se sont répandus dans le lac Polley et les eaux avoisinantes.

Pour la première fois en 2014, la mine Mount Polley signalait des rejets de Pb, de Cd et de Hg dans l'eau. Ces rejets équivalaient en 2014 à 134,1 tonnes (t) de Pb, 2,8 t de Cd et 2,1 t de Hg.

Rejets de mercure, plomb et cadmium dans l'eau, Canada, 2003 à 2014

Graphique linéaire indiciel - Voir la description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire indiciel présente les changements annuels dans les rejets dans l'eau de 2003 à 2014, en pourcentages des émissions de 2003, pour trois polluants au Canada : le mercure, le plomb et le cadmium. L'incident survenu à la mine Mount Polley en 2014 explique l'augmentation des rejets de mercure (518 %), de plomb (499 %) et de cadmium (29 %) dans l'eau entre 2003 et 2014.

Données du graphique
Rejets de mercure, plomb et cadmium dans l'eau, Canada, 2003 à 2014
AnnéeMercure
(changements annuels dans les rejets dans l'eau en pourcentage des niveaux de 2003)
Plomb
(changements annuels dans les rejets dans l'eau en pourcentage des niveaux de 2003)
Cadmium
(changements annuels dans les rejets dans l'eau en pourcentage des niveaux de 2003)
2003
0
0
0
2004
-11
-14
-6
2005
41
-13
-31
2006
-10
-21
-24
2007
-33
-41
-24
2008
-45
-14
-49
2009
-10
-32
-35
2010
-32
-22
-45
2011
-6
-29
-43
2012
-53
-42
-45
2013
-44
-47
-44
2014
518
499
29

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,37 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur n'inclut que les rejets provenant d'activités humaines. Le tableau présente uniquement les rejets dans l'eau signalés dans l'INRP, compte tenu des critères de déclaration à l'INRP, pour les rejets de Hg, Pb, Cd et de leurs composés. Ces quantités ne doivent pas être interprétées comme représentant un total exhaustif de rejets de ces polluants dans l'eau au Canada.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Aperçu des données déclarées et révisées de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) 2014.

 

Renseignements connexes

 

Icône
Ces indicateurs sont utilisés pour mesurer le progrès vers l'atteinte de la cible 4.8 : Gestion des produits chimiques – Réduire les risques pour les Canadiens et les incidences sur l'environnement et la santé humaine que posent les rejets de substances nocives de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2013–2016.

Accéder au PDF (1,08 Mo)

Date de modification :