Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Data Sources and Methods for the National Greenhouse Gas Emissions Indicators

Data

3.1 Data source

The Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Emissions indicators are based on GHG emissions data taken from Environment Canada’s National Inventory Report 1990-2012: Greenhouse Gas Sources and Sinks in Canada. Data used to develop the emission and removal estimates presented in the National Inventory Report (NIR) are drawn from published and unpublished sources from various government departments, industry sources and scientific papers. The methods used to prepare the emission and removal estimates are consistent with internationally accepted Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) reference documents. Figures 1–4 and 1-5 of the NIR illustrate the inventory preparation process and show the main partners involved in preparing the annual inventory. A comprehensive list detailing all data sources (disaggregated by sector and sub-sector) can be found in chapters 3 through 8 of the NIR.

3.2 Spatial coverage

GHG emission estimates are provided at the national and provincial/territorial levels.

3.3 Temporal coverage

GHG emission and removal estimates are compiled annually and reported for the period 1990 to 2012. Complete details of the temporal coverage for each data source used for the indicators can be found in chapters 1 (section 1.3) and 3 through 8 of the NIR.

3.4 Data completeness

Although the GHG emissions indicators are comprehensive, some emission sources have not been included in the indicators because they are not reported in the NIR. Owing to their relatively small contributions to the total emissions, these excluded sources do not significantly affect the overall completeness of the inventory. A detailed explanation of the excluded emission sources can be found in Annex 5 of the NIR. In addition, emissions and removals from the Land-Use, Land use Change and Forestry sector are excluded from national totals and subsequently not reported as part of the GHG emission indicators.

3.5 Data timeliness

The data included in the indicators cover the period from 1990 through the end of 2012. Preparation of the GHG emissions inventory takes almost 16 months from the end of the last reporting year because of the time needed to collect, validate, calculate and interpret the data.

Between November and January, emission estimates are prepared by Environment Canada’s Pollutant Inventories and Reporting Division with input from numerous experts and scientists across Canada. From January through March, the NIR text and accompanying emission data tables are developed. This material is reviewed by external experts and Environment Canada officials, and finally submitted electronically to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), typically by mid-April.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Sources de données et méthodes des indicateurs sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre à l’échelle nationale

Données

3.1 Source des données

Les indicateurs sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) sont basés sur les données d'émissions de GES du Rapport d'inventaire national 1990-2012 : Sources et puits de gaz à effet de serre au Canada d'Environnement Canada. Les données utilisées pour produire les estimations des émissions et des absorptions présentées dans le Rapport d'inventaire national (RIN) sont tirées de sources publiées et non publiées de divers ministères, de l'industrie et d'articles scientifiques. Les méthodes utilisées pour préparer les estimations des émissions et des absorptions sont conformes aux documents de référence internationalement acceptés du Groupe d'experts intergouvernemental sur l'évolution du climat (GIEC). Les figures 1-4 et 1-5 du RIN illustrent le processus de préparation de l'inventaire et indiquent les principaux partenaires qui participent à l'inventaire annuel. Une liste exhaustive de toutes les sources de données (divisées par secteur et sous-secteur) est fournie dans les chapitres 3 à 8 du RIN.

3.2 Couverture spatiale

Les estimations des émissions de gaz à effet de serre sont fournies à l'échelle nationale et à l'échelle provinciale/territoriale.

3.3 Couverture temporelle

Les estimations des émissions et des absorptions de GES sont compilées sur une base annuelle et déclarées pour la période de 1990 à 2012. Des détails sur la couverture temporelle pour chaque source de données utilisée pour les indicateurs peuvent être consultés au chapitre 1 (section 1.3) et dans les chapitres 3 à 8 du RIN.

3.4 Exhaustivité des données

Bien que les indicateurs des émissions de GES soient complets, certaines sources d'émission n'ont pas été incluses en raison d'exclusions à l'intérieur du RIN. En raison de leur contribution relativement faible au total des émissions, ces exclusions n'affectent pas de façon significative l'exhaustivité globale de l'inventaire. Une analyse détaillée des sources d'émission non incluses peut être consultée à l'annexe 5 du Rapport d'inventaire national. De plus, les émissions et absorptions provenant de l’affectation des terres, des changements d’affectation des terres et de la foresterie (ATCATF) sont exclues des totaux nationaux et, de ce fait même, ne font pas partie des indicateurs des émissions de GES.

3.5 Actualité des données

Les données incluses dans les indicateurs couvrent la période allant de 1990 à la fin de l'année 2012. La préparation des indicateurs sur les émissions de GES prend près de 16 mois à partir de la fin de la dernière année de déclaration en raison du temps nécessaire à la collecte, à la validation, au calcul et à l'interprétation des données.

Entre les mois de novembre et de janvier, les estimations des émissions sont préparées par la Division des inventaires et rapports sur la pollution d'Environnement Canada, avec la participation de nombreux experts et scientifiques au Canada. De janvier à mars, on prépare le texte et les tableaux de données sur les émissions du RIN. Ces documents sont révisés par des experts externes et des représentants d'Environnement Canada, puis ils sont soumis électroniquement à la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques (CCNUCC) au plus tard à la mi-avril.