Household Use of Chemical Pesticides and Fertilizers

Access PDF (475 KB)

Chemical pesticide and fertilizer use by Canadian households has declined since 1994.

In 2013, 19% of Canadian households with a lawn or garden used chemical pesticides compared to 31% in 1994. The largest decrease has occurred in Quebec, where household chemical pesticide use fell from 30% to 9%. The Prairie Provinces, led by Saskatchewan, remain the region where household use of chemical pesticides was the most widespread.

Cosmetic pesticide bans in the majority of provinces have contributed to the drop in pesticide use between 1994 and 2013. In general, provinces with bans used below the national average in 2013 (e.g., Newfoundland and Labrador [16%], Ontario [16%], Nova Scotia [14%], New Brunswick [11%], Quebec [9%], and Prince Edward Island [7%]).

In 2013, 25% of Canadian households with a lawn or garden used chemical fertilizers, compared to 47% in 1994. The largest decreases occurred in Quebec and Ontario. Quebec households were the lowest users of chemical fertilizers in 2013. Households in the Prairie Provinces, led by Alberta, were most likely to have used chemical fertilizer.

A number of factors, such as weather, have an impact on the use of chemical pesticides and fertilizers. Changes in those contributing factors may explain the yearly variation observed in the indicators.

Percentage of households in Canada with a lawn or garden using chemical pesticides and fertilizers, 1994, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011 and 2013

Column charts

Long description

The column charts show the percentage of Canadian households with a lawn or garden using chemical pesticides, and fertilizers in 1994, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011 and 2013. Over this period, the percentage of households using chemical pesticides and fertilizers has decreased. Chemical pesticide use in 2013 was 19%, compared to 31% in 1994. In 2013, chemical fertilizer use was 25%, compared to 47% in 1994.

Data for this chart
Percentage of households in Canada with a lawn or garden using chemical pesticides and fertilizers, 1994, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011 and 2013
YearChemical pesticides
(percentage of households with a lawn or garden)
Chemical fertilizers
(percentage of households with a lawn or garden)
19943147
20052932
20072527
20091522
20111521
20131925

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.33 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Source: Statistics Canada (2015) Households and the environment survey, use of fertilizer and pesticides, Canada, provinces and census metropolitan areas: CANSIM Table 153-0064. Statistics Canada (2013) Households and the Environment 2011. Statistics Canada (2011) Households and the Environment 2009. Statistics Canada (2009) Households and the Environment 2007. Statistics Canada (2008) Households and the Environment 2006. Statistics Canada (1995) Households and the Environment 1994, Catalogue No. 11-526.

Pesticides are used by households to eliminate unwanted plants and insect pests to maintain a particular appearance of lawns and gardens. There are two general varieties of pesticide: natural pesticides, such as nematodes and ladybugs; and chemical pesticides, including herbicides, insecticides and fungicides, which are manufactured. Chemical pesticides can have negative effects on human and environmental health by contaminating air, water, soil and food sources. In addition to killing target insects, insecticides can kill other species beneficial to lawns and gardens. For example, insects are a source of food for many birds, but this food source can be contaminated or reduced by pesticides. Many municipalities and most provinces have, or are considering, laws restricting the use of pesticides in cities.

Fertilizers contain nitrogen, phosphorus and potassium, and are added to lawns and gardens to make them greener and thicker. There are two general varieties of fertilizers: natural fertilizers like manure and compost; and chemical fertilizers, which are manufactured. If fertilizer is applied improperly, or in excess, these nutrients can run off into stormwater sewers and eventually reach lakes and rivers. When the amount of nutrients in a river or lake becomes too high, it can cause excessive growth of aquatic plants and algae.

Percentage of households with a lawn or garden using chemical pesticides and fertilizers by province, Canada, 1994 and 2013

Column charts

Long description

The column charts show the percentage of households with a lawn or garden in each Canadian province using chemical pesticides and fertilizers for 1994 and 2013. Chemical pesticide use was higher in four provinces (Saskatchewan, Alberta, Manitoba and Newfoundland and Labrabor) in 2013 compared to 1994. Manitoba was the only province to have an increase in chemical fertilizer use from 1994 to 2013.

Data for this chart
Percentage of households with a lawn or garden using chemical pesticides and fertilizers by province, Canada, 1994 and 2013
RegionChemical pesticide use 1994 
(percentage of households with a lawn or garden)
Chemical pesticide use 2013
(percentage of households with a lawn or garden)
Chemical fertilizer use 1994
(percentage of households with a lawn or garden)
Chemical fertilizer use 2013
(percentage of households with a lawn or garden)
Newfoundland and Labrador9162619
Prince Edward Island127Footnote [E]2313Footnote [E]
Nova Scotia19143517
New Brunswick20113617
Quebec3094111
Ontario34165123
Manitoba30373940
Saskatchewan37455745
Alberta36385847
British Columbia30204726

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.75 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Source: Statistics Canada (2015) Households and the environment survey, use of fertilizer and pesticides, Canada, provinces and census metropolitan areas: CANSIM Table 153-0064. Statistics Canada (2013) Households and the Environment 2011. Statistics Canada (2011) Households and the Environment 2009. Statistics Canada (2009) Households and the Environment 2007. Statistics Canada (2008) Households and the Environment 2006. Statistics Canada (1995) Households and the Environment 1994, Catalogue No. 11-526.

Related indicators

Other information

Access PDF (475 KB)

Date modified:

Utilisation des pesticides et des engrais chimiques par les ménages

Accéder au PDF (486 Ko)

L'utilisation des pesticides et des engrais chimiques dans les ménages canadiens a diminué depuis 1994. En 2013, 19 % des ménages canadiens ayant une pelouse ou un jardin ont utilisé des pesticides chimiques; ce pourcentage s'élevait à 31 % en 1994. La plus forte baisse s'est produite au Québec, où l'utilisation de pesticides chimiques par les ménages est passée de 30 % à 9 %. Les provinces des Prairies, avec la Saskatchewan en tête, demeurent la région où l'utilisation des pesticides chimiques par les ménages était la plus répandue. L'interdiction de l'utilisation de pesticides à des fins esthétiques dans la majorité des provinces a contribué à la baisse de l'utilisation de pesticides entre 1994 et 2013. En général, les provinces avec des interdictions ont utilisé moins de pesticides que la moyenne nationale en 2013 (p. ex., Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador [16 %], Ontario [16 %], Nouvelle-Écosse [14 %], Nouveau-Brunswick [11 %], Québec [9 %] et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard [7 %]).

En 2013, 25 % des ménages canadiens ayant une pelouse ou un jardin ont utilisé des engrais chimiques, par rapport à 47 % en 1994. Les baisses les plus importantes se sont produites au Québec et en Ontario; les ménages québécois sont restés les plus petits utilisateurs d'engrais chimiques en 2013. Les ménages des provinces des Prairies, l'Alberta en tête, étaient plus susceptibles d'avoir utilisé des engrais chimiques.

Un certain nombre de facteurs, tel que les conditions météorologiques, ont un impact sur l'utilisation de pesticides et d'engrais chimiques. Des changements dans ces facteurs pourraient expliquer la variation annuelle observée dans les indicateurs.

Pourcentage des ménages au Canada avec une pelouse ou un jardin utilisant des pesticides et des engrais chimiques, 1994, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011 et 2013

Graphiques à colonnes

Description longue

Les graphiques à colonnes indiquent le pourcentage des ménages canadiens avec une pelouse ou un jardin qui ont utilisé des pesticides, et des engrais chimiques en 1994, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011 et 2013. Au cours de cette période, le pourcentage des ménages qui ont utilisé des pesticides et des engrais chimiques a diminué. L'utilisation de pesticides chimiques en 2013 était de 19 %, par comparaison à 31 % en 1994. En 2013, l'utilisation d'engrais chimiques était de 25 %, par rapport à 47 % en 1994.

Données du graphique
Pourcentage des ménages au Canada avec une pelouse ou un jardin utilisant des pesticides et des engrais chimiques, 1994, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011 et 2013
AnnéePesticides chimiques
(pourcentage des ménages avec une pelouse ou un jardin)
Engrais chimiques
(pourcentage des ménages avec une pelouse ou un jardin)
19943147
20052932
20072527
20091522
20111521
20131925

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,41 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Source : Statistique Canada (2015) Enquête sur les ménages et l'environnement, utilisation d'engrais et de pesticides, Canada, les provinces et les régions métropolitaines de recensement : CANSIM Tableau 153-0064. Statistique Canada (2013) Les ménages et l'environnement 2011. Statistique Canada (2011) Les ménages et l'environnement 2009. Statistique Canada (2009) Les ménages et l'environnement 2007. Statistique Canada (2008) Les ménages et l'environnement 2006. Statistique Canada (1995) Les ménages et l'environnement 1994, produit nº 11-526 au catalogue.

Les pesticides sont utilisés par les ménages pour éliminer les plantes indésirables et les insectes nuisibles afin de maintenir l'apparence particulière des pelouses et des jardins. Il existe deux grandes variétés de pesticides : les pesticides naturels, comme les nématodes et les coccinelles, et les pesticides chimiques, notamment les herbicides, les insecticides et les fongicides, qui sont fabriqués. Les pesticides chimiques peuvent avoir des effets néfastes sur la santé humaine et sur l'environnement en contaminant l'air, l'eau, le sol et les sources de nourriture. En plus de tuer les insectes ciblés, les insecticides peuvent tuer d'autres espèces bénéfiques pour les pelouses et les jardins. Par exemple, les insectes sont une source d'alimentation pour de nombreux oiseaux, mais cette source d'alimentation peut être contaminée ou réduite par les pesticides. De nombreuses municipalités et la plupart des provinces ont énoncé ou envisagent d'énoncer des lois qui limitent l'utilisation des pesticides dans les villes.

Les engrais contiennent de l'azote, du phosphore et du potassium et sont ajoutés aux pelouses et aux jardins pour les rendre plus verts et plus épais. Il existe deux grandes variétés d'engrais : les engrais naturels, comme le fumier et le compost, et les engrais chimiques, qui sont fabriqués. Si l'engrais est appliqué de façon incorrecte ou excessive, ces éléments nutritifs peuvent s'écouler dans les égouts pluviaux et finir dans les lacs et les rivières. Lorsque la quantité d'éléments nutritifs dans une rivière ou un lac devient trop élevée, elle peut entraîner une croissance excessive des plantes aquatiques et des algues.

Pourcentage des ménages avec une pelouse ou un jardin qui utilisent des pesticides et des engrais chimiques par province, Canada, 1994 à 2013

Graphiques à colonnes

Description longue

Les graphiques à colonnes indiquent le pourcentage des ménages canadiens avec une pelouse ou un jardin, dans chaque province canadienne, qui utilisent des pesticides et des engrais chimiques en 1994 et 2013. L'utilisation des pesticides chimiques était plus élevée dans quatre provinces (Saskatchewan, Alberta, Manitoba et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) en 2013 par rapport à 1994. Le Manitoba est la seule province qui a eu une augmentation de l'utilisation des engrais chimiques entre 1994 et 2013.

Données du graphique
Pourcentage des ménages avec une pelouse ou un jardin qui utilisent des pesticides et des engrais chimiques par province, Canada, 1994 à 2013
RégionUtilisation des pesticides chimiques
1994 
(pourcentage des ménages avec une pelouse ou un jardin)
Utilisation des pesticides chimiques
2013
(pourcentage des ménages avec une pelouse ou un jardin)
Utilisation des engrais chimiques
1994
(pourcentage des ménages avec une pelouse ou un jardin)
Utilisation des engrais chimiques
2013
(pourcentage des ménages avec une pelouse ou un jardin)
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador9162619
Île-du-Prince-Édouard127Note de bas de page [E]2313Note de bas de page [E]
Nouvelle-Écosse19143517
Nouveau-Brunswick20113617
Québec3094111
Ontario34165123
Manitoba30373940
Saskatchewan37455745
Alberta36385847
Colombie-Britannique30204726

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,92 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Source : Statistique Canada (2015) Enquête sur les ménages et l'environnement, utilisation d'engrais et de pesticides, Canada, les provinces et les régions métropolitaines de recensement : CANSIM Tableau 153-0064. Statistique Canada (2013) Les ménages et l'environnement 2011. Statistique Canada (2011) Les ménages et l'environnement 2009. Statistique Canada (2009) Les ménages et l'environnement 2007. Statistique Canada (2008) Les ménages et l'environnement 2006. Statistique Canada (1995) Les ménages et l'environnement 1994, produit nº 11-526 au catalogue.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Accéder au PDF (486 Ko)

Date de modification :