Disposal at sea publications

On this page:

The Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) Disposal at Sea Program reports annually on its activities to the International Maritime Organization. The Program also informs Canada's Parliament through input to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA) Annual Report available through the CEPA Environmental Registry.

Information bulletins

Consultation documents

Discussion Paper on Disposal at Sea Permit Fees for Dredging and Excavation Operations

This paper discusses ways of modifying the permit fees to reduce the costs for clients that carry out routine dredging or excavation and to set a maximum level for the fees. The first proposal is the introduction of an annual fee cap for disposal at sea permits for maintenance dredging and excavation operations. The second proposal involves a multi-year permit fee for maintenance dredging and excavation.

Report on Consultations on Cost Recovery Review and Boundaries of the Sea

This document summarizes both the results of public meetings and written responses received during public consultations conducted by ECCC in 2002-2003. The consultations focused on two issues. First was a three year review of the disposal site monitoring fees charged for disposal at sea permits for dredged material and excavated till. The second was ECCC's proposal for a method to determine the landward boundaries of application of the disposal at sea provisions of the CEPA.

Public Consultation Paper on Boundaries of the Sea for the Ocean Disposal Program

This document outlines proposals for a process to be used in setting boundary lines between the sea and freshwater for the purposes of the Disposal at Sea Program. In particular this process will be considered as it applies to setting the boundary in major estuaries Consideration will also be given to how the process would work for areas of brackish water.

Public consultations occurred in the winter 2003. A consultation report has been prepared.

Review of the Monitoring Fee for the Disposal at Sea Program

In 1999, ECCC implemented a permit fee for the disposal at sea of dredged and excavated material at a rate of $470 per 1,000 cubic metres. The fee was estimated to be the fair market value of the right or privilege of permitting access to suitable disposal sites under the CEPA, 1999. A key commitment by ECCC to the regulated community was to review the fee three years after its implementation.

This paper focuses on the issue of cost recovery through monitoring fees and presents an analysis of the fees paid, who paid them, how they have been spent, and an update on the costs of disposal site monitoring.

Public consultations occurred in the winter 2003 and a consultation report prepared.

Application forms and Notice of application

Application forms

To be completed using compatible word-processing software, printed out, and submitted with supporting documents to your nearest Disposal at Sea Program regional office.

Alternatively, hard copies of the application form for a Disposal at Sea permit may be obtained from your nearest Disposal at Sea Program regional office.

Notice of application

The application must contain proof that a notice of application was published in a newspaper of general circulation in the vicinity of the proposed loading and disposal activities to satisfy CEPA requirements.

Disposal at sea permit examples

Examples of permits issued by ECCC as published on the CEPA Environmental Registry

Technical guidance documents and monitoring guidelines

National Guidelines for Monitoring Dredged and Excavated Material at Ocean Disposal Sites

This document provides advice to managers and professionals on developing and implementing monitoring projects at disposal at sea sites that receive dredged and excavated material. Issues discussed include:

  • triggers to monitoring
  • developing monitoring plans
  • study design
  • data analysis
  • biological assessment tools.

Technical Guidance for Physical Monitoring at Ocean Disposal Sites

This document provides advice to managers and professionals on developing and implementing monitoring projects at ocean disposal sites that receive dredged and excavated material. Technical guidance is provided on:

  • positioning equipment
  • sampling equipment
  • techniques for direct observation of disposal sites and defining their boundaries
  • sediment transport models to predict short-term and long-term effects.

Guidance Document on Collection and Preparation of Sediments for Physicochemical Characterization and Biological Testing 

This document describes methods recommended by ECCC for the selection of sampling stations within a study site, and the collection, handling, storage, transportation, and manipulation of samples of whole sediments from marine, estuarine, and freshwater environments, for the purposes of physicochemical characterization and/or biological assessment using whole sediments, pore waters, or sediment elutriates.

Sediment quality guidelines

Canadian Sediment Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life

These guidelines are developed for individual chemicals for both freshwater and marine (including estuarine) sediments by the Water Quality Guidelines Task Group of the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment. ECCC's National Guidelines and Standards Office is the technical secretariat for the Task Group. These guidelines are numerical limits or narrative statements recommended to support and maintain aquatic life associated with bed sediments and are developed from the available scientific information on the biological effects of sediment-associated chemicals.

Pollution gradient study

Report on Biological Toxicity Tests Using Pollution Gradient Studies: Sydney Harbour

The study was conducted by ECCC to assess tools used for permit assessment. Biological toxicity tests, chemistry, and benthic community structure were examined along a known pollution gradient in Sydney Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada. Major contaminants were polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, polychlorinated biphenyls, and heavy metals.

Biological test methods

ECCC has developed a series of biological test methods to measure various effects in sediments and porewater such as survival, growth and reproduction and bioaccumulation. Test results are interpreted according to interim interpretation criteria. These tests are required in the permit application phase when chemical measurements indicate the Lower Action Levels of the National Action List are exceeded. As well, these methods are used in monitoring to confirm predictions of no significant biological impacts arising from disposal at sea.

The following method can be ordered by contacting your nearest Disposal at Sea Program regional office or the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA):

US EPA, 1993. Guidance manual: bedded sediment bioaccumulation tests. US EPA. September 1993. EPA/600/R-93/183.

Date modified:

Documentation sur l’immersion en mer

Sur cette page :

Le Programme d’immersion en mer d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) dresse un compte rendu annuel de ses activités à l'Organisation maritime internationale. De plus, le Programme informe le Parlement du Canada par l'entremise du Rapport annuel de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE) disponible dans le Registre environnemental de la LCPE.

Bulletins d'information

Documents de consultation

Document de travail sur les droits à payer pour les permis d’immersion en mer concernant les travaux de dragage et d’excavation

Le document de discussion décrit les façons dont les droits à payer d’un permis pourraient être modifiés afin de réduire les coûts que doivent assumer les clients qui procèdent à des activités de dragage ou d’excavation de routine et de fixer un montant maximum. La première proposition consiste à mettre en place un montant maximum annuel pour les permis d’immersion pour les activités de dragage et d’excavation. La deuxième proposition prévoit l’établissement de droits de permis pluriannuels pour les travaux de dragage et d’excavation d’entretien.

Rapport de consultation sur l'examen de recouvrement des coûts et les limites de la mer

Ce document résume les résultats des rencontres publiques et les réponses écrites reçues lors des consultations publiques tenues par ECCC en 2002-2003. Deux sujets ont été abordés lors des consultations. L'un concernait l'examen, d’une durée de trois ans, des droits de suivi des lieux d'immersion facturés pour les permis d'immersion de déblais de dragage et d'excavation. L'autre était une méthode proposée par ECCC pour déterminer les limites continentales d'application des dispositions de la LCPE sur l'immersion en mer.

Document de consultation publique sur les limites de la mer dans le cadre du Programme d'immersion en mer

Le présent document dresse des propositions à l'égard d'un processus servant à établir les limites entre les plans d'eau salée et d'eau douce dans le cadre du Programme d'immersion en mer. Ce processus sera envisagé en particulier lorsqu'il s'agira de l'appliquer à l'établissement des limites des principaux estuaires. On accordera également une attention à la façon dont le processus serait exploité pour l'eau saumâtre.

Des consultations publiques ont été effectuées au cours de l'hiver 2003. Un rapport sur ces consultations a été préparé.

Examen des droits de surveillance imposés dans le cadre du programme d'immersion en mer

En 1999, ECCC a imposé des droits sur les permis pour l'immersion en mer des déblais de dragage et d'excavation à un taux de 470 $ par 1000 mètres cubes. Les frais correspondaient alors à la juste valeur du marché du droit ou du privilège d'avoir accès à des sites d'immersion convenables en vertu de la LCPE. ECCC s'est également engagé envers les organismes réglementés à revoir les droits trois ans après leur application.

Le présent document porte sur la question de recouvrement des coûts par l'imposition de droits de suivi et présente une analyse des droits payés, par qui ils ont été payés, comment ils ont été utilisés et les coûts de suivi actuels des sites d'immersion.

Des consultations publiques ont été réalisées à l'hiver 2003 et un rapport sur ces consultations a été préparé.

Formulaires de demande et préavis de demande de permis

Formulaires de demande

À être complété au moyen d'un logiciel de traitement de texte compatible, à être imprimé et soumis avec les documents en appui à la demande de permis au le bureau régional d'immersion en mer le plus près.

On peut également se procurer une copie papier du formulaire de demande de permis d'immersion en mer au bureau régional du Programme d'immersion en mer le plus près.

Préavis de demande de permis

La demande doit contenir la preuve que l'avis de la demande a été publié dans un journal à grand tirage dans les environs où auront lieu les activités de chargement et d’immersion afin de satisfaire aux exigences de la LCPE.

Exemples de permis d'immersion en mer

Exemples de permis délivrés par ECCC et publiés dans le Registre environnemental de la LCPE.

Guides techniques et lignes directrices en matière de suivi

Lignes directrices nationales relatives à la surveillance des lieux utilisés pour l'immersion en mer de déblais de dragage et d'excavation

Ce document offre des conseils aux gestionnaires et aux professionnels sur la conception et la mise en œuvre de projets de suivi environnemental aux lieux d'immersion en mer qui reçoivent des déblais de dragage et d'excavation. Voici les enjeux abordés :

  • les critères déclencheurs du suivi
  • l'élaboration de plans de suivi
  • la conception de l'étude
  • l'analyse des données
  • les outils d'évaluation biologique.

Directives techniques pour la surveillance physique aux lieux d'immersion en mer

Ce document offre des conseils aux gestionnaires et aux professionnels sur la conception et la mise en œuvre de projets de suivi aux lieux d'immersion en mer qui reçoivent des déblais de dragage et d'excavation. Il contient des conseils techniques sur :

  • les moyens de positionnement
  • l'équipement d'échantillonnage
  • les techniques servant à l'observation des lieux d'immersion et à leur délimitation
  • les modèles de transport sédimentaire pour prédire les effets à court et à long termes.

Document d'orientation sur le prélèvement et la préparation de sédiments en vue de leur caractérisation physicochimique et d'essais biologiques

Le présent document décrit les méthodes recommandées par ECCC pour le choix de stations d’échantillonnage sur les lieux d’une étude ainsi que pour le prélèvement, la manutention, l’entreposage, le transport et la manipulation d’échantillons de sédiments entiers provenant de milieux marins, estuariens et d’eau douce. On utilise ces échantillons entiers, l’eau de porosité qu’ils contiennent ou des élutriats produits à partir de ces sédiments à des fins de caractérisation physiochimique et d’évaluation biologique.

Directives sur la qualité des sédiments

Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des sédiments pour la protection de la vie aquatique

Ces recommandations sont élaborées pour chaque substance chimique associée aux sédiments en eau douce et en eau salée (y compris les eaux estuariennes) par le Groupe de travail sur les recommandations pour la qualité des eaux, sous la gouverne du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement. Le bureau national des recommandations et des normes d'ECCC est le secrétariat technique du Groupe de travail. Ces directives fournissent des limites numériques ou des énoncés circonstanciés établis pour protéger et conserver la vie aquatique liée aux sédiments. Elles reposent sur l'information scientifique actuelle sur les effets biologiques des produits chimiques associés aux sédiments.

Études sur le gradient de pollution

Rapport sur les essais biologiques de toxicité au moyen d'études sur le gradient de pollution : Port de Sydney

ECCC a entrepris cette étude afin d'évaluer les outils utilisés pour l'évaluation des demandes de permis. Des essais biologiques de toxicité, des analyses chimiques des sédiments et des analyses de la structure de la communauté benthique ont été faits le long d'un gradient de pollution connu dans le port de Sydney, Nouvelle-Écosse, Canada. Les principaux contaminants étaient les hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques, les biphényles polychlorés et les métaux lourds.

Méthodes d'essais biologiques

ECCC a mis au point une série de méthodes d'essais biologiques afin de mesurer divers impacts dans les sédiments et l'eau interstitielle comme les tests de toxicité aiguë, les essais de croissance et de reproduction et les tests de bioaccumulation. Les résultats des essais sont interprétés à l'aide des critères d'interprétation provisoires. Ces essais sont exigés lors de la demande de permis, lorsque les analyses chimiques indiquent que les niveaux inférieurs de la liste d'intervention nationale sont dépassés. En outre, ces méthodes sont utilisées au cours des activités de suivi afin de confirmer qu'aucun impact biologique grave ne découle de l'immersion en mer.

Pour commander la méthode suivante, communiquez avec le bureau régional d'immersion en mer le plus près de chez vous ou avec la US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) [en anglais seulement].

US EPA, 1993. Guidance manual: bedded sediment bioaccumulation tests. US EPA. September 1993. EPA/600/R-93/183.

Date de modification :