Applying for a Permit

A permit is required under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act to authorize the disposal, and the loading for the purpose of disposal, of any wastes or other matter into Canadian waters, or from Canadian ships, platforms, aircraft, or other vessel anywhere at sea. Only substances listed in Schedule 5 to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA) are eligible for consideration.

Permits become valid upon the end of the waiting period associated with publication in the Canada Gazette. The permit is published with conditions that specify: approved activity; time of permit expiry; location and volume of the material to be disposed of; location of disposal site(s); type of material to be disposed of; loading and disposal methods; measure to mitigate environmental impacts; disposal activity monitoring, and; reporting. If a permit is granted, it is the responsibility of the permit holder to ensure any permit conditions are incorporated into project planning and implementation.

The bearer of a previous Canadian Disposal at Sea Permit may be eligible to apply for a permit through the simplified renewal process. For more information, please consult the nearest Disposal at Sea Regional office.

Demande de permis

En vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LCPE), un permis est requis pour autoriser l'immersion et le chargement pour immersion de tout déchet ou autre matière dans les eaux canadiennes, que ce soit à partir de navires, plate-formes, aéronefs ou tout autre vaisseau canadien en mer. Ne sont admissibles que les substances indiquées à l'annexe 5 de la LCPE.


Le permis devient valide à la fin d'une période d'attente relative à leur publication dans la Gazette du Canada. Cette publication fait mention des conditions suivantes : l'activité approuvée; la date d'expiration du permis; l'emplacement du matériel à immerger et sa quantité; l'emplacement des lieux d'immersion; les types de matière à être immergées; les méthodes de chargement et d'immersion; les mesures pour atténuer les effets sur l'environnement; la surveillance des activités d'immersion; et la reddition de comptes. Si un permis est délivré, le détenteur du permis est responsable de veiller à ce que ces conditions soient intégrées à la planification et à la mise en œuvre du projet d'immersion.

Le titulaire ayant déjà obtenu un permis canadien d'immersion en mer pourrait être éligible au renouvellement simplifié de ce dernier. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau régional d'immersion en mer.