Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

International Programs and Conventions

Convention on Wetlands of International Importance

Wetlands are among the most productive ecosystems in the world, covering about 4% of the planet. They provide tremendous economic, ecological, and social benefits to people worldwide. However, wetlands are also among the most threatened habitats in the world, due mainly to pollution, drainage for land reclamation and overuse by competing land uses such as agriculture and urban development.

In recognizing the importance of wetlands, Canada became a Contracting Party to the Convention on Wetlands of International Importance, also known as the Ramsar Convention, in 1981. The Ramsar Convention was named after the city in Iran where the text was first adopted in 1971 through the cooperation of 18 nations. Currently, 138 nation states comprise the Contracting Parties to the Convention worldwide. The Convention's objective is to lessen the loss of wetlands and to ensure their conservation and sustainable wise use for future generations.

To date, Canada has designated 37 Ramsar sites, 17 of which are National Wildlife Areas or Migratory Bird Sanctuaries. Ramsar sites are located in all provinces and territories and account for over 13 million hectares of protected wetlands. They are owned and managed by a range of agencies reflecting the different partners responsible for wetland conservation in the nation. Most of the Ramsar sites are situated on federal lands (78%) and are managed by federal agencies such as Environment Canada, Parks Canada, the National Capital Commission, and Indian and Northern Affairs Canada.

Over 90% of Canada's total designated Ramsar areas lie within National Parks, National Wildlife Areas, Migratory Bird Sanctuaries, and provincial parks and wildlife management areas. About 10% of Canada's Ramsar areas lie on sites secured for conservation by non-government, Aboriginal, or other agencies.

United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity

Protected areas are also part of the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity. The objectives of the Convention are the conservation of biological diversity, the sustainable use of its components, and the fair and equitable sharing of the benefits arising out of the utilization of genetic resources.

In February 2004, the 7th Conference of the Parties adopted a program of work to establish and maintain national and regional systems of protected areas that collectively contribute to achieving the three objectives of the Convention and to reducing significantly the current rate of biodiversity loss. The deadline is 2010 for terrestrial areas and 2012 for marine areas.

The UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve Program

The UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve Program aims to conserve biodiversity while taking human development into account. Four of the 12 biosphere reserves in CanadaLac Saint-Pierre and Mont Saint-Hilaire in Quebec, Long Point in Ontario, and Redberry Lake in Saskatchewan are part of the Environment Canada Protected Areas Network.

The Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network

The Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network links sites in different countries of North, Central, and South America that are essential to large numbers of shorebirds as they complete their yearly migrations of thousands of kilometres. Of the five sites in Canada, three include NWAs and MBSs.

The Important Bird Areas

The Important Bird Areas (IBA) Program is a global effort of BirdLife International to identify and protect the most critical habitats for the world's birds. Of the 597 IBAs that have been identified in Canada as being of worldwide, continental, or national significance, 80 are located partially or wholly in NWAs or MBSs.

Conventions et programmes internationaux

Convention sur les zones humides d'importance internationale

Les zones humides sont parmi les écosystèmes les plus productifs au monde, couvrant environ 4 p. 100 de la planète. Elles offrent d'immenses avantages économiques, écologiques et sociaux à la population mondiale. Toutefois, les zones humides sont parmi les habitats les plus menacés au monde principalement en raison de la pollution, du drainage pour la mise en valeur des terres et de la surexploitation provoquée par les utilisations concurrentes des terres, telles que l'agriculture et le développement urbain.

Reconnaissant l'importance des zones humides, le Canada est devenu, en 1981, une partie contractante de la Convention relative aux zones humides, connue également sous le nom de Convention de Ramsar. Cette convention a reçu le nom de la ville en Iran où le texte a d'abord été adopté en 1971 grâce à la collaboration de 18 pays. Actuellement, 138 pays sont des parties contractantes de la Convention. L'objectif de la Convention est de réduire la perte des zones humides et d'assurer leur conservation et leur utilisation judicieuse et durable pour les générations à venir.

À ce jour, le Canada a désigné 37 sites Ramsar dont 17 sont des réserves nationales de faune ou des refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Les sites Ramsar sont situés dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires et représentent plus de 13 millions d'hectares de zones humides protégées. Elles sont possédées et administrées par un éventail d'organisations reflétant les différents partenaires responsables de la conservation des zones humides au pays. La plupart des sites Ramsar (78 p. 100) se trouvent sur le territoire domanial et sont administrés par des organismes fédéraux comme Environnement Canada, Parcs Canada, la Commission de la capitale nationale et le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord.

Plus de 90 p. 100 des sites Ramsar désignés au Canada se trouvent dans des parcs nationaux, des réserves nationales de faune , des refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs, des parcs provinciaux et des zones de gestion de la faune. Environ 10 p. 100 des sites Ramsar au Canada se trouvent dans des sites protégés pour la conservation par des organismes non gouvernementaux, autochtones ou autres.

Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique

Les aires protégées font aussi partie de la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique. Les objectifs de la Convention sont la conservation de la diversité biologique, l'utilisation durable de ses éléments et le partage juste et équitable des avantages tirés de l'exploitation des ressources génétiques.

En février 2004, la 7e Conférence des Parties a adopté un programme de travail en vue d'établir et de maintenir les systèmes nationaux et régionaux d'aires protégées. Tous ces systèmes vont contribuer à la réalisation des trois objectifs de la Convention et réduire de façon significative le rythme actuel de perte de la diversité biologique. La date limite pour les aires terrestres est 2010, et celle pour les aires marines est 2012.

Le Programme international de réserves de biosphère de l'UNESCO

Le Programme international de réserves de biosphère de l'UNESCO vise à conserver la biodiversité tout en tenant compte du développement humain. Quatre des douze réserves de biosphère au Canada : le lac Saint-Pierre et le mont Saint-Hilaire au Québec, Long Point en Ontario et le lac Redberry en Saskatchewan, font partie du réseau d'aires protégées d'Environnement Canada.

Le Réseau de réserves pour les oiseaux de rivage de l'hémisphère occidental

Le Réseau de réserves pour les oiseaux de rivage de l'hémisphère occidental (en anglais seulement) lie des sites dans différents pays en Amérique du Nord, en Amérique centrale et en Amérique du Sud, qui sont essentiels à un grand nombre d'oiseaux de rivage lorsque ceux ci effectuent leur migration annuelle sur des milliers de kilomètres. Parmi les cinq sites canadiens, trois sont des réserves nationales de faune ou des refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs.

Le Programme des Zones importantes pour la conservation des oiseaux au Canada

Le Programme des Zones importantes pour la conservation des oiseaux au Canada (ZICO) est une initiative mondiale de BirdLife International visant à identifier et à protéger les habitats les plus essentiels des oiseaux du monde. Des 597 ZICO qui ont été identifiées au Canada comme ayant une importance mondiale, continentale ou nationale, 80 sont situées en partie ou entièrement dans des réserves nationales de faune ou dans des refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs.