Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Great Lakes Facts and Information

Looking for more information about the Great Lakes? Here you can find information by topic:

Within this section, you can also access:

  • Quickfacts - Useful and interesting facts about the Great Lakes.
  • Great Lakes Publications and Archived Publications- Documents and reports about the Great Lakes available from Environment Canada (EC).
  • Data and Science - Links to scientific studies, data sets, Geographic Information Systems and other technical information about the Great Lakes ecosystem.
  • Maps - Maps of the Great Lakes basin produced by EC.

Water

  • Comprehensive Approach to Clean Water - The Government of Canada's approach to ensure clean water for all Canadians, and to preserve and protect the Great Lakes and other major watersheds for future generations.
  • Water Use and Supply Project - The Water Use and Supply Project was initiated to support improved management of surface and groundwater resources in the Canadian sub-watersheds of the Great Lakes, Ottawa River, and upper St. Lawrence River within Ontario.
  • The St. Lawrence Centre - The St. Lawrence Centre is the only federal research and development centre devoted entirely to the river ecosystem. Specialists are involved in a multitude of studies and research programs aimed at better understanding how the ecosystems of the St. Lawrence River function and at keeping knowledge up to date.
  • Water Modelling - Information on how the use of computers and numerical modelling can be used to better understand and assess water resources in Canada, including the Great Lakes.
  • National Water Research Institute - EC's National Water Research Institute contributes to research and science in the Great Lakes region.
  • RésEau - Waternet - RésEau provides easy access to water information from many jurisdictions across Canada.
  • US Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA), Great Lakes National Program Office - Information about Great Lakes programs coordinated by the USEPA's Great Lakes National Program Office.
  • International Joint Commission (IJC) - The IJC prevents and resolves disputes between the United States of America and Canada.
  • Great Lakes Commission - A binational agency that promotes the orderly, integrated and comprehensive development, use and conservation of the water and related natural resources of the Great Lakes basin and St. Lawrence River.
  • Wise Water Use - Information about sustaining our water supply, sustaining our water infrastructure and what you can do to conserve water at home, at work and in your community.

Climate Change

  • Climate Change - Information on climate change and how it may affect various regions of Canada, including the Great Lakes region.
  • Climate Change Impacts and Adaptation - Natural Resources Canada’s Climate Change Impacts & Adaptation Division (CCIAD) facilitates the generation and sharing of knowledge, tools and mechanisms to integrate adaptation into policy, plans and projects. CCIAD works in collaboration with a range of stakeholders, including technical experts and practitioners, across all levels of government and industry.

Pollution and Sustainability

  • Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators - Through the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators initiative, the federal government reports on environmental indicators that track three issues of key concern to Canadians: air quality, water quality, greenhouse gas emissions.
  • Canada’s Chemicals Management Plan - Jointly managed by EC and Health Canada, The Government of Canada's Chemicals Management Plan protects human health and the environment by assessing chemicals used in Canada.
  • Niagara River Toxics Management Plan - Reduction of toxic loadings to the Niagara River from hazardous waste sites.
  • Great Lakes Environmental Sensitivity Atlases - Publications that have been developed to aid agencies and companies prepare and respond to spills of oil and other hazardous materials in the Great Lakes.
  • Statistics by Subject : Environment - Statistics Canada information on Canada’s environment and its relationship with human activity. Includes issues related to natural resources (e.g., energy and minerals, forests, water, land), air and climate, pollution, wastes and measures to protect the environment.

Biodiversity and Alien Invasive Species

  • Non-native Species in the Great Lakes - St. Lawrence Basin - Find information here on non-native species in the Great Lakes - St. Lawrence Basin.
  • Invasive Alien Species in Canada - Information about Invasive Alien Species, as well as the Invasive Alien Species Strategy for Canada. This Strategy will minimize the risk of invasive alien species to the environment, economy, and society and protect environmental values such as biodiversity and sustainability.
  • The Canadian Ballast Water Program - Information about Transport Canada's Canadian Ballast Water Program, including definitions, statistics and environmental impacts.
  • Ecological Monitoring - Ecological monitoring generates the information required to assess and respond to ecosystem changes. Monitoring can assist with the identification of new environmental concerns, the prioritization of issues, and the evaluation of trends over time.
  • Natural Heritage Information Centre - Information on rare, threatened and endangered species and spaces in Ontario.

Nature and Wildlife

  • EC’s Ecosystem Initiatives - Over the years, EC’s Ecosystem Initiatives have responded to the unique problems of targeted areas and communities by considering environmental, economic, and social concerns.
  • Wetlands of Ontario - Not land or water, but a fluid combination of both, wetlands are among the most productive habitats on Earth.
  • Great Lakes Wetlands Conservation Action Plan - The Great Lakes Wetlands Conservation Action Plan brings together a number of government and non-governmental partners to secure and rehabilitate the remaining wetlands in the Great Lakes basin.
  • Canada Wildlife Act - Provides the authority for the establishment of refuges known as National Wildlife Areas in which migratory birds, other wildlife, and habitat could receive protection.
  • EC - Nature - This section contains information on the natural environment and the EC's efforts to preserve, protect and restore it.
  • Great Lakes Marsh Monitoring Program - The Marsh Monitoring Program functions to provide long-term monitoring of marsh-dependent bird and anuran (frog and toad) species in marsh habitats throughout the Great Lakes basin.

Fish and Fisheries Research

National Parks and Marine Conservation Areas

Faits et renseignements sur les Grands Lacs

Besoin de plus de renseignements sur les Grands Lacs? Vous trouverez ici des renseignements par sujet :

Dans cette section, vous pourrez également accéder à ce qui suit :

  • Faits intéressants - Faits utiles et intéressants à propos des Grands Lacs.
  • Publications sur les Grands Lacs et Publications archivées - Documents et rapports sur les Grands Lacs mis à la disposition par Environnement Canada (EC).
  • Données et Science - Liens vers des études scientifiques, des ensembles de données, des systèmes d’information géographiques et autres renseignements techniques à propos de l’écosystème des Grands Lacs.
  • Cartes - Cartes du bassin des Grands Lacs produites par EC.

Eau

  • L'assainissement de l'eau - une approche globale - L’approche du gouvernement du Canada pour s’assurer que tous les Canadiens ont accès à une eau pure et pour préserver et protéger les Grands Lacs et autres bassins hydrographiques pour les futures générations.
  • Projet d’utilisation et d’approvisionnement d’eau - Le Projet d’utilisation et d’approvisionnement d’eau a été entrepris afin de soutenir la meilleure gestion des ressources d’eau de surface et souterraine dans les sous-bassins hydrologiques canadiens des Grands Lacs, de la rivière des Outaouais, de la rivière Ottawa et le bassin du cours supérieur du fleuve St-Laurent en Ontario.
  • Le Centre St-Laurent - Le Centre Saint-Laurent est le seul centre de recherche et de développement fédéral entièrement consacré aux écosystèmes fluviaux. Les spécialistes du centre réalisent de nombreuses études et programmes de recherche visant à comprendre le fonctionnement des écosystèmes et à mettre à jour, de façon continue, les connaissances sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent.
  • Utilisation de modèles pour les eaux - Renseignements sur la façon d’utiliser les ordinateurs et les modèles numériques pour mieux comprendre et évaluer les ressources en eau du Canada, y compris les Grands Lacs.
  • Institut national de recherche sur les eaux - L’Institut national de recherche sur les eaux d’EC contribue à la recherche et à la science dans la région des Grands Lacs.
  • RésEau - Waternet (en anglais seulement) - RésEau donne accès aux données et à l’information concernant l’eau pour plusieurs juridictions à travers le Canada.
  • US Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) Great Lakes National Program Office (en anglais seulement) - Information sur les programmes des Grands Lacs coordonnés par le bureau du programme national des Grands Lacs de la USEPA.
  • Commission mixte internationale (CMI) - La CMI prévient et règle les disputes entre les États-Unis d’Amérique et le Canada.
  • Commission des Grands Lacs (en anglais seulement) - Agence binationale qui encourage le développement, l’utilisation et la conservation ordonnés, intégrés et complet de l’eau et des ressources naturelles du bassin des Grands Lacs et du fleuve St-Laurent.
  • L’utilisation judicieuse de l’eau - Information sur le maintien de nos réserves d’eau, sur le maintien de nos infrastructures d’eau et sur les façons de conserver l’eau chez soi, au travail et dans votre communauté.

Changements climatiques

  • Changements climatiques - Information sur les changements climatiques et comment ils peuvent affecter diverses régions du Canada, y compris la région des Grands Lacs.
  • Impacts et adaptation liés aux changements climatiques - La Division des impacts et de l’adaptation liés aux changements climatiques (DIACC) facilite la production et le partage de connaissances, d’outils et de mécanismes d’intégration de l’adaptation aux politiques, aux plans et aux projets. DIACC travaille en collaboration avec divers intervenants, incluant les experts techniques et les intervenants, de tous les ordres d’administration publique et de l’industrie.

Pollution et durabilité

  • Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l’environnement - Dans le cadre de l’initiative des Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l’environnement, le gouvernement fédéral produit des rapports sur les indicateurs environnementaux qui permettent de surveiller trois importants sujets de préoccupation pour les Canadiens : la qualité de l’air, la qualité de l’eau et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre.
  • Plan de gestion des produits chimiques - Dirigé EC en collaboration avec Santé Canada, le Plan de gestion des produits chimiques du gouvernement du Canada protège la santé humaine et l’environnement en évaluant les produits chimiques utilisés au Canada.
  • Niagara River Toxics Management Plan (en anglais seulement) - Réduction des charges toxiques dans la rivière Niagara des dépôts de déchets dangereux.
  • Atlas de sensibilité environnementale - Publications visant à aider les organismes et les entreprises à se préparer afin d'intervenir lors de déversements d'hydrocarbures et d'autres matières dangereuses dans les Grands Lacs.
  • Statistiques par sujet : Environnement - Renseignements de Statistiques Canada sur l’environnement au Canada et sa relation avec l’activité humaine. Comprend des sujets liés aux ressources naturelles (ex. énergie et minéraux, forêts, eau, terres), à l’air et au climat, à la pollution, aux déchets et aux mesures de protection de l’environnement.

Biodiversité et espèces exotiques envahissantes

  • Espèces non indigènes dans le bassin des Grands Lacs - St-Laurent - Vous y trouverez des renseignements sur les espèces non indigènes dans le bassin des Grands Lacs du St-Laurent.
  • Espèces exotiques envahissantes au Canada - Information sur les espèces exotiques envahissantes et sur la Stratégie nationale sur les espèces exotiques envahissantes au Canada. Cette stratégie permettra de protéger l’environnement, l’économie et la société ainsi que les valeurs environnementales telles la biodiversité et la durabilité contre les risques associés aux espèces exotiques envahissantes.
  • Programme canadien d’eau de ballast - Information sur le Programme d’eau de ballast de Transports Canada, y compris des définitions, des statistiques et les répercussions environnementales.
  • Surveillance écologique - La surveillance écologique produit l’information requise pour évaluer les changements aux écosystèmes et y répondre. La surveillance peut aider à découvrir de nouvelles préoccupations écologiques, à dresser les problèmes par ordre de priorité et à évaluer les tendances sur une période de temps.
  • Natural Heritage Information Centre (en anglais seulement) - Information sur les espèces et les espaces rares, menacés et en péril en Ontario.

Nature et faune

  • Initiatives écosystémiques d'EC- Au courant des années, les initiatives axées sur l'écosystème d’EC visaient à résoudre les problèmes uniques de zones ciblées et leurs collectivités, en tenant  compte des préoccupations d'ordre environnemental, économique et social.
  • Terres humides de l'Ontario - Ni terre ni eau, mais un mélange fluide des deux, les terres humides sont parmi les habitats les plus productifs de la planète.
  • Plan d'action en matière de conservation des terres humides des Grands Lacs - Le Plan d'action en matière de conservation des terres humides des Grands Lacs rassemble de nombreux partenaires publics et privés pour préserver et remettre en état les dernières terres humides du bassin
  • Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada - Fournit l’autorité pour l’établissement de refuges connus sous le nom de réserves nationales de la faune dans lesquelles les oiseaux migrateurs, autres animaux sauvages et habitat peuvent recevoir une protection.
  • EC - Nature - Cette section contient de l’information sur le milieu naturel et les efforts déployés par le Ministère pour le préserver, le protéger et le rétablir.
  • Programme de surveillance des marais des Grands Lacs - Le Programme de surveillance des marais permet de fournir une surveillance à long terme des espèces d’oiseaux et d’anoures (grenouilles et crapaud) dans les marais du bassin des Grands Lacs.

Recherches sur les poissons et sur la pêche

Parcs nationaux et aires marines de conservation