Restoring and Protecting the Great Lakes

The Great Lakes are a vast shared resource. They contain roughly 18% of the world supply of fresh surface water, and 84% of North America’s supply. They are home to millions of people, and are fundamental to the well-being of one third of the population of Canada and one tenth of the population of the United States. As our home and playground, the Great Lakes provide the foundation for billions of dollars in trade, shipping, manufacturing, fishing, forestry, agriculture, mining, energy and tourism and they are a direct source of drinking water for 8.5 million Canadians. Water from the Great Lakes drains into the St. Lawrence River, and therefore that ecosystem is directly affected by the quality and quantity of water from the Great Lakes. The Great Lakes basin supports a diverse, globally significant ecosystem that is essential to the resource value and sustainability of the region.

A number of challenges threaten the sustainability of the Great Lakes. These include:

  • toxic chemicals, including legacy contaminants and substances of emerging concern
  • excessive nutrients, leading to nuisance or toxic algae growth
  • beach closures and other problems in nearshore areas
  • aquatic invasive species
  • loss of biodiversity and loss of fish and wildlife habitat
  • impacts of climate change

These challenges have serious ecological, social and economic implications. Restoration and protection is critical to addressing these challenges and maintaining the health and function of the Great Lakes and its ecosystem.

Working together towards Restoration and Protection

Restoring and protecting the Great Lakes is a shared responsibility. That is why Environment Canada (EC) is working with the government of the United States, other Canadian federal departments and the Ontario provincial government on water management, restoration and protection efforts in the Great Lakes. Many local governments, organizations, groups and individuals are also engaged and working together on activities to restore and protect the Great Lakes.

Working with the United States

Working with Other Canadian Federal Departments

Working with Ontario

For More Information

Related Links

  • Great Lakes Publications - Documents and reports about the Great Lakes available from EC
  • Binational.Net - Binational.net is a collaboration between the US Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) and EC, to provide a single window for information on joint Great Lakes programs.

La protection et la restauration des Grands Lacs

Les Grands Lacs constituent une vaste ressource partagée. Ils renferment environ 18 % des réserves mondiales d’eau douce de surface et 84 % des réserves en Amérique du Nord. Des millions de personnes vivent dans la région des Grands Lacs, qui sont essentiels au bien-être du tiers de la population canadienne et du dixième de la population des États-Unis. Comme ils constituent à la fois notre lieu d’habitat et de divertissement, les Grands Lacs sont à la base de milliards de dollars en échanges commerciaux, en transport de marchandises, en industries manufacturières, en pêches, en foresterie, en agriculture, en mines, en énergie et en tourisme. De plus, ils constituent une source directe d’eau potable pour 10 millions de personnes au Canada. L’eau des Grands Lacs se draine dans le Saint-Laurent. Par conséquent, l’écosystème du fleuve est directement touché par la qualité et la quantité d’eau dans les Grands Lacs. Le bassin des Grands Lacs abrite un écosystème diversifié d’importance mondiale qui revêt un caractère essentiel pour la valorisation des ressources et la viabilité de la région. 

Divers défis menacent la viabilité des Grands Lacs, notamment :

  • la présence de produits chimiques toxiques, y compris les contaminants hérités des générations précédentes ainsi que les nouvelles substances préoccupantes;
  • la présence excessive de nutriments, entraînant des nuisances à grande échelle ou la prolifération d’algues toxiques;
  • les fermetures de plages et autres problèmes dans les régions littorales;
  • les espèces aquatiques envahissantes;
  • la perte de biodiversité et d’habitats pour les poissons et les espèces fauniques;
  • les répercussions des changements climatiques.

Ces défis ont de graves répercussions d’ordre écologique, social et économique. La restauration et la protection sont essentielles à la résolution de ces défis et au maintien de la santé et des fonctions des Grands Lacs et de leur écosystème.

Travailler en collaboration pour la restauration et la protection

La restauration et la protection des Grands Lacs sont des responsabilités communes. Voilà pourquoi Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) participe avec le gouvernement des États-Unis, d’autres ministères fédéraux canadiens et le gouvernement provincial de l’Ontario aux efforts de gestion, de restauration et de protection de l’eau qui ont cours dans les Grands Lacs. Bon nombre d’administrations locales, d’organisations, de groupes et de personnes se mobilisent également en vue d’œuvrer ensemble aux activités de restauration et de protection des Grands Lacs.

Liens connexes

  • Publications sur les Grands Lacs - Documents et rapports sur les Grands Lacs accessibles auprès d’ECCC
  • Binational.net - Binational.net est un projet de collaboration entre l’USEPA et ECCC visant à regrouper en un guichet unique les renseignements touchant les programmes binationaux touchant les Grands Lacs.
Date de modification :