Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Lakewide Management Plans

Under the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement (GLWQA), the governments of Canada and the United States agreed “to restore and maintain the chemical, physical and biological integrity of the waters of the Great Lakes basin ecosystem.” This is accomplished in part through binational Lakewide Management Plans that are developed and implemented in consultation with US state and Ontario provincial governments. In Canada, the Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem supports the development and implementation of Lakewide Management Plans.

What is a Lakewide Management Plan?

A Lakewide Management Plan is an action plan for cooperatively restoring and protecting the ecosystem of a Great Lake. Lakewide Management Plans are in place for:

Lake Huron has a Binational Partnership that is modeled after the other lakewide management plans and has similar governance, goals and objectives.

Who Participates in Lakewide Management Plans?

With the exception of Lake Michigan, each Lakewide Management Plan and the Lake Huron Binational Partnership is coordinated by a committee with membership from both Canada and the United States, with participation from Environment Canada (EC) as well as other federal, provincial, state and local government agencies. The Lake Michigan Lakewide Management Plan is a US domestic initiative.

Lakewide Management Plan Publications

Lakewide Management Plan publications are available on EC’s Publications web site.

For More Information

Related Links

  • Binational.net - Binational.net is a collaboration between the US Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) and EC, to provide a single window for information on joint Great Lakes programs.
  • Ontario Ministry of the Environment - As part of its commitment to Great Lakes protection, the Ministry of the Environment is a partner in a series of binational Lakewide Management Plans (LaMP), for Lake Ontario, Lake Erie, and Lake Superior, and is also a member of the Lake Huron Binational Partnership.
  • USEPA

Plans d'action et d'aménagement panlacustres

Dans le cadre de l’Accord relatif à la qualité de l’eau dans les Grands Lacs (AQEGL), les gouvernements du Canada et des États-Unis ont convenu de « rétablir et maintenir l'intégrité chimique, physique et biologique de l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs ». Ces objectifs peuvent être atteints en partie grâce à des plans binationaux d’action et d’aménagement panlacustres élaborés et mis en œuvre en collaboration et en consultation avec les gouvernements des provinces et des États visés, les gouvernements tribaux, les Premières Nations, les Métis, les administrations municipales, les organismes de gestion des bassins hydrographiques, d’autres organismes publics et la population. Au Canada, l’Accord Canada-Ontario concernant l’écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs soutient l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre des plans d’action et d’aménagement panlacustres.

Qu’est-ce qu’un plan d’action et d’aménagement panlacustre?

Un plan d’action et d’aménagement panlacustre est un plan d’action coopératif visant la restauration et la protection de l’écosystème d’un Grand Lac. Des plans d’action et d’aménagement panlacustres sont mis en œuvre ou en cours d’élaboration pour : 

Qui participe aux plans d’action et d’aménagement panlacustres?

À l’exception de celui du lac Michigan, chaque plan d’action et d’aménagement panlacustre est coordonné par un partenariat dont les travaux portent sur le lac visé et qui est dirigé par la U.S. Environmental Protection Agency et par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Chaque partenariat  facilite la mise en commun de l’information, établit les priorités et contribue à la coordination des activités binationales de restauration et de protection environnementale. Le plan d’action et d’aménagement du lac Michigan (en anglais) est une initiative des États-Unis.

Publications sur les plans d’action et d’aménagement panlacustres

Les publications sur les plans d’action et d’aménagement panlacustres sont accessibles sur le site Web des Publications d’ECCC et sur binational.net.

Liens connexes

  • Binational.net - Binational.net est un projet de collaboration entre l’USEPA et ECCC visant à regrouper en un guichet unique les renseignements touchant les programmes binationaux touchant les Grands Lacs.

 

Date de modification :