MANICE Chapter 2: Ice Observations


This chapter deals with the present ice-observing methodology.

Ice observations are made using electronic aids such as radar, by visual observation or from a combination of both methods. These methods vary as functions of the platform from which the ice observations are made as well as what electronic aid equipment is available.

The emphasis in this manual is on visual ice observations made from aerial- and surface-based platforms. References are made to the use of airborne radar imagery; however, the reader is referred to documents related to the interpretation of radar imagery. (cf. 4 and 5)

Ice observations are dependant on the perspective from which the ice is viewed. Ice can be observed from the aerial perspective using an aircraft or helicopter or from the surface perspective using a vessel or from shore. Each perspective has limitations on the nature and detail of ice observations which can be made and in turn drawn on an ice chart. It is important that the Ice Services Specialist (ISS) understands these limitations and what aspects of the ice can and cannot be observed from each perspective.

MANICE Chapitre 2: Observations des glaces


Ce chapitre traite de la méthodologie actuelle d'observation des glaces.

Les observations des glaces sont faites à l'aide d'appareils électroniques comme des radars, par observation visuelle ou en combinant les deux techniques. Ces méthodes varient selon la plate-forme d'où on observe les glaces et selon les moyens électroniques dont on dispose.

Dans ce manuel, nous insistons sur les observations visuelles des glaces à partir d'aéronefs et de plates-formes en surface. À l'occasion, nous faisons allusion aux images de radars aéroportés; cependant, pour plus de détails à ce sujet, le lecteur peut consulter les documents traitant de l'interprétation des images radar (cf. 4 et 5).

Les observations des glaces sont fonction de l'angle sous lequel on les voit. On peut les voir du haut des airs, à bord d'un avion ou d'un hélicoptère, ou depuis la surface, à bord d'un navire ou sur la côte. Chaque point de vue impose des limites à la nature et au détail des observations qu'on pourra faire et ensuite reporter sur une carte. Il importe que le/la spécialiste des services des glaces (SSG) comprenne ces limites et sache quels aspects de la glace il/elle peut ou ne peut pas observer dans chaque cas.