Skip booklet index and go to page content

Annual Arctic Ice Atlas - Winter 2015-2016

[Also available in PDF; 6.87 MB]

The 2015-2016 Annual Arctic Ice Atlas is part of a continuing series, prepared each year by the Canadian Ice Service since 1990. This collection of atlases documents Canadian Arctic winter sea ice conditions to provide a comparison from year to year. In this year’s atlas, graphical depictions of the winter ice conditions primarily based on Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) data are presented.

The SAR data used in the compilation of the image mosaics in this year’s atlas came from the RADARSAT-2 satellite. The data was captured by the Prince Albert (Saskatchewan) and Gatineau (Quebec) receiving stations, between January 29th and February 1st, 2016.

In this edition of the atlas, the Arctic is divided up into five main regions and three larger-scale snapshot regions. All of the regions have a SAR image mosaic, but three of the main regions (the Eastern Arctic, the Western Arctic, and Hudson Bay) also include an analysis of the data. The ice analyses were created by Environment and Climate Change Canada's (ECCC) Canadian Ice Service (CIS) personnel, who used additional supporting information (including meteorological summaries, ice thickness reports and NOAA AVHRR imagery) in their preparation. An explanation of the nomenclature on the analysis charts can be found on the Sea Ice Symbols page. A more detailed explanation of the terminologies used is available in the Revised Ninth Edition of MANICE (Manual of Standard Procedures for Observing and Reporting Ice Conditions), prepared by the Canadian Ice Service of Environment and Climate Change Canada.

The production of this year’s atlas involves an automated algorithm developed by CIS staff which was utilized to: apply radiometric enhancements to the input images; stitch the overlapping images into a seamless mosaic; and then colour-balance the final output. The mosaicked images now display “dual-polarization” imagery consisting of horizontal transmit / horizontal receive (“HH”) as well as horizontal transmit / vertical receive (“HV”). Generally speaking, and for discussion purposes here, varying polarizations in SAR data are akin to the spectral bands in an optical image (e.g. LANDSAT).

In order to display the dual-polarized imagery, the mosaicked imagery is presented in colour. The output consists primarily of yellow and purple hues by assigning the following polarization combinations to the RGB colour spectrum: Red = HH, Green = HH, and Blue = HV. During the winter months the horizontal transmit / vertical receive (HV) tends to highlight areas of second-year / multi-year ice as well as areas of roughness which appear as areas of blue to purple in the mosaic.

For most regions, the SAR image mosaic is a composite of satellite images captured over several days. In some instances older or newer data was used to substitute for small areas of missing data. The period over which the data was acquired is noted on each page. For all areas, the SAR data were captured at a resolution of 50 metres / pixel, the data were analyzed at approximately 100 metres / pixel and the published image mosaics were resampled to approximately 500 metres / pixel.

All the RADARSAT-2 images contained in this atlas were processed by and are the property of the MacDonald, Dettwiler, and Associates Ltd. (MDA), and are copyright © MDA 2016 - All Rights Reserved. RADARSAT is an official mark of the Canadian Space Agency. All data acquired for this atlas has been archived by the Canada Centre for Mapping and Earth Observation (CCMEO). This atlas has been published with the permission of MDA.

The successful completion of this project was made possible with the able assistance of many people. The following contributions should be noted:

  • Project Manager: Steve McCourt (ECCC)
  • RADARSAT SAR data acquisition: MDA, Céline Fabi and Ryan Griffin (ECCC)
  • Mosaic production: Correy Schaad (ECCC)
  • Mosaic algorithm: Yi Luo (ECCC)
  • Image analysis: Benoit Montpetit / Stéphanie Tremblay-Therrien, Bradley Drummond, Jason Ross (ECCC)
 
Foreword
Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Atlas annuel des glaces de l'Arctique - Hiver 2015-2016

[Aussi disponible en format PDF; 6.87 Mo]

L’Atlas annuel des glaces de l’Arctique de 2015-2016 fait partie d’une série d’atlas préparés chaque année depuis 1990 par le Service canadien des glaces. Ces atlas documentent les conditions des glaces hivernales dans l’Arctique canadien afin que l’on puisse suivre l’évolution d’une année à l’autre. Dans cet atlas, on trouve une représentation graphique des conditions glacielles hivernales, principalement fondée sur des données de radar à synthèse d’ouverture (RSO).

Les données RSO utilisées dans la compilation des mosaïques d’images proviennent cette année du satellite RADARSAT-2. Elles ont été captées par les stations de réception de Prince Albert (Saskatchewan) et de Gatineau (Québec) entre le 29 janvier et le 1 février 2016.

Dans la présente édition de l’atlas, l’Arctique est divisé en cinq régions principales et en trois instantanés de régions plus grandes. Toutes les régions sont représentées par une mosaïque d’images RSO; pour trois des régions principales (est de l’Arctique, ouest de l’Arctique et baie d’Hudson), on a également inclus une analyse des données. Les analyses de la glace ont été produites par le personnel du Service canadien des glaces (SCG) d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC), qui a utilisé des données à l’appui additionnelles (entre autres des sommaires météorologiques, des rapports sur l’épaisseur de la glace et des images AVHRR de la NOAA) pour les préparer. On trouvera une explication de la nomenclature des cartes d’analyse avec les symboles des glaces de mer. On trouvera également des explications plus détaillées sur les termes utilisés dans la neuvième édition révisée du MANICE (Manuel des normes d’observation des glaces), préparé par le Service canadien des glaces d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

La production de cet atlas implique un algorithme automatique, élaboré par le personnel du SCG, qui a servi à appliquer aux images d’entrée des rehaussements par radiométrie ainsi qu'à assembler les images chevauchantes en une mosaïque fluide et à ajuster les couleurs de la sortie finale. Les images utilisées pour les mosaïques sont maintenant des images à double polarisation constituées d’émission horizontale et de réception horizontale (HH), ainsi que d’émission horizontale et de réception verticale (HV). De façon générale, et aux fins de la présente discussion, la polarisation variable des données RSO est similaire aux bandes spectrales dans une image optique (p. ex. LANDSAT).

Pour afficher les images à double polarisation, la mosaïque est présentée en couleurs. La sortie comporte surtout des teintes jaunes et pourpres, obtenues par l’attribution des combinaisons de polarisation suivantes au spectre des couleurs RVB : Rouge = HH, Vert = HH et Bleu = HV. Durant les mois d’hiver, la transmission horizontale et réception verticale (HV) tend à mettre en évidence les zones de glace de deuxième année/plusieurs années et les zones de rugosité, qui apparaissent dans les couleurs bleu à pourpre dans la mosaïque.

Pour la plupart des régions, la mosaïque d’images RSO est composée d’images satellite captées durant plusieurs jours.  Dans certains cas, des données plus anciennes ou plus récentes ont été utilisées pour remplacer des petites zones de données manquantes. La période d’acquisition des données est notée sur chaque page. Pour toutes les zones, les données RSO ont été captées à une résolution de 50 mètres/pixel, les données ont été analysées à une résolution d’environ 100 mètres/pixel et les mosaïques d’images publiées ont été ré-échantillonnées à une résolution d’environ 500 mètres/pixel.

Toutes les images RADARSAT-2 figurant dans le présent atlas ont été traitées par MacDonald, Dettwiler, et Associés Ltée (MDA) et sont la propriété de cette dernière. © MDA 2016 – tous droits réservés. RADARSAT est une marque officielle de l’Agence spatiale canadienne. Toutes les données acquises pour le présent atlas ont été archivées par le Centre canadien de cartographie et d’observation de la Terre (CCCOT). L’atlas a été publié avec la permission de MDA.

La réussite du présent projet a été rendue possible grâce à la participation de nombreuses personnes, entre autres des personnes suivantes :

  • Gestionnaire de projet : Steve McCourt (ECCC)
  • Acquisition des données RSO RADARSAT : MDA, Céline Fabi et Ryan Griffin (ECCC)
  • Production de la mosaïque : Correy Schaad (ECCC)
  • Algorithme de la mosaïque : Yi Luo (ECCC)
  • Analyse des images : Benoit Montpetit / Stéphanie Tremblay-Therrien, Bradley Drummond, Jason Ross (ECCC)
 
Avant-propos
Date de modification :