This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Emission Factors from Canada’s Greenhouse Gas Inventory

The most common approach for calculating greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions is through the use of emissions factors. Emission factors are representative values relating the quantity of an emission with an activity associated with the release of that emission.

In This Section

The following section contains the most commonly used emission factors found in Canada's National Inventory Report. In most cases, if a source or facility specific emission factor is available, it should be used over a more general emission factor. Additional details on sector-specific methodologies for the use of these factors are presented in Canada's National Inventory Report, Annex 2 and Annex 3.

  • Fuel Combustion - This section contains emission factors for combustion of natural gas, refined petroleum products, and coal, as well as emission factors for mobile combustion.
  • Industrial Processes - This section contains emission factors for industrial activities not related to energy including production and use of mineral products, metal production, chemical production, consumption of halocarbons and other and undifferentiated production using fossil fuels for non-energy purposes.
  • Solvent and Other Product Use - This section contains emission factors for nitrous oxide (N2O) used as an anaesthetic and propellants.
  • Agriculture - This section contains emission factors for enteric fermentation for non-cattle animals and manure.
  • Biomass Combustion - This section contains emission factors for industrial combustion of biomass including landfill gas, wood fuel/wood waste, spent pulping liquor as well as emissions from combustion of biomass in residential stoves and fireplaces.
  • Waste - This section contains provincial methane generation rate constants (k) and methane potential (L0) values for municipal solid waste landfills.
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Coefficients d’émission issus de l’inventaire des gaz à effet de serre du Canada

La méthode la plus couramment utilisée pour calculer les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) est l’application de coefficients. Les coefficients d’émission sont des valeurs représentatives mettant en relation la quantité d’une émission et une activité associée au rejet de cette émission.

La section suivante présente les coefficients d’émission le plus couramment utilisés dans le rapport d’inventaire national du Canada. Dans la plupart des cas, le coefficient d’émission d’une source ou d’une installation en particulier sera à privilégier par rapport à un coefficient plus général.

Dans cette section

Les annexes 2 et 3 du le rapport d’inventaire national du Canada proposent des détails supplémentaires sur les méthodes propres aux secteurs quant à l'utilisation de ces coefficients.

  • Combustion de combustibles  - Cette section renferme des coefficients d'émission pour la combustion du gaz naturel, des produits pétroliers raffinés et du charbon, ainsi que pour la combustion de sources mobiles.
  • Procédés industriels - Cette section renferme des coefficients d'émission pour des activités industrielles non liées à l'énergie, notamment la production et l’utilisation de produits minéraux, la production de métaux, la production de produits chimiques, la consommation d'hydrocarbures halogénés et autres, et la production indifférenciée ayant recours à des combustibles fossiles à des fins non énergétiques.
  • Solvants et autres produits - Cette section renferme des coefficients d'émission pour l’oxyde nitreux (N2O) utilisé comme anesthésique et comme agent propulseur.
  • Agriculture - Cette section renferme des coefficients d'émission pour la fermentation entérique, pour les animaux non-bovins et pour le fumier.
  • Combustion de biomasse - Cette section renferme des coefficients d'émission pour la combustion industrielle de la biomasse, y compris les gaz de décharge, le bois de chauffage, les déchets de bois, les liqueurs résiduaires ainsi que les émissions provenant de la combustion de biomasse dans des poêles et foyers résidentiels.
  • Déchets - Cette section renferme les constantes provinciales pour le taux de génération de méthane (k) et les valeurs du potentiel de production de méthane (Lo) pour les décharges municipales de déchets solides.
Date de modification :