Canada’s Greenhouse Gas Emissions Projections

The Government of Canada is committed to addressing greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions while keeping the Canadian economy strong. We are achieving success - from 2005 to 2012, Canadian GHG emissions have decreased by 5.1 per cent while the economy has grown by 10.6 per cent.

The 2014 Canada’s Emissions Trends report estimates that, as a result of collective action to reduce GHGs since 2005, Canada’s 2020 GHG emissions are projected to be 130 megatonnes (Mt) lower than if no action was taken, an amount roughly equivalent to one year's worth of GHG emissions from all of Canada's road transportation.

The Government of Canada’s Action to Reduce GHGs

The Government of Canada has contributed to reducing Canada’s GHG emissions through stringent regulations for the transportation and electricity sectors – two of the largest sources of GHG emissions in Canada. As a result of our action to date:

  • Canada has strengthened its position as a world leader in clean electricity generation by becoming the first major coal user to ban construction of traditional coal-fired electricity generation units.
  • 2025 passenger vehicles and light trucks will emit about half as many GHGs as 2008 models.
  • GHG emissions from 2018 model-year heavy-duty vehicles will be reduced by up to 23 per cent.

Moving Forward

The Government of Canada is committed to continuing to address GHG emissions through its sector-by-sector regulatory approach.

Likewise, provinces and territories will continue to implement policies and measures to address GHG emissions. The Government of Canada supports the efforts of provinces and territories, consumers and businesses to lower their emissions.

For more information on Canada’s GHG projections, see Canada's Emissions Trends 2014.

Previous reports

Emissions Trends 2013 (accessible PDF; 1.5 MB)

Emissions Trends 2012

Emissions Trends 2011

Projections des émissions de gaz à effet de serre au Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada est engagé à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) tout en conservant une économie canadienne forte. Entre 2005 et 2012, les émissions canadiennes de gaz à effet de serre ont diminué de 5,1 %, alors que l'économie a enregistré une croissance de 10,6 %.

Les projections du rapport Tendances en matière d’émissions au Canada 2014 estime que, grâce aux mesures collectives prises pour réduire les GES depuis 2005, les émissions de GES du Canada devraient diminuer de 130 mégatonnes (Mt) en 2020 par opposition à un scénario selon lequel aucune mesure n'aurait été prise. Cette diminution équivaut à environ un an d’émissions de GES par le secteur du transport routier au Canada.

L’action du gouvernement du Canada pour réduire les GES

Le gouvernement du Canada a contribué à réduire les émissions de GES au pays grâce à des règlements strictes dans le domaine du transport et de l’électricité, deux des plus importantes sources d'émissions au Canada. Ces actions permettent d’atteindre les résultats suivants :

  • Le Canada est devenu le premier grand utilisateur de charbon à interdire la construction de groupes traditionnels de production d'électricité alimentés au charbon.
  • Les modèles 2025 de véhicules à passagers et de camions légers émettront près de la moitié des émissions de gaz à effet de serre comparativement à ceux de 2008. 
  • Les émissions de GES provenant des véhicules lourds de l'année modèle 2018 seront réduites jusqu'à 23 %.

Aller de l’avant

Le gouvernement du Canada est engagé à poursuivre ses efforts pour réduire les émissions de GES grâce à son approche réglementaire sectorielle.

De la même manière, les provinces et territoires poursuivront la mise en œuvre de leur politiques et mesures pour réduire les émissions de GES. Le gouvernement du Canada soutient les efforts des provinces, territoires, consommateurs et entreprises afin de réduire leurs émissions.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur les projections d’émissions des GES au Canada, consultez le rapport Tendences en matière d'émissions au Canada 2014.

Rapports précédents

Tendances en matières d'émissions, 2013 (PDF accessible; 1.5 MB)

Tendances en matières d'émissions, 2012

Tendances en matières d'émissions, 2011

Date de modification :