Tools for Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations Regulatees

The Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (the Regulations) apply to all individuals and businesses that export from, import into, or transit within Canada, for recycling or disposal purposes, wastes or materials that are considered to be hazardous under the Regulations. Included are, for example, generators, receivers, carriers, brokers, agents and transfer stations.

The following documentation has been prepared to explain various aspects of the Regulations. In case of discrepancies between this information and the Regulations, the Regulations have precedence.

See also Important Notices


Guide to Classification

It is your responsibility to identify and properly classify your waste and recyclable material according to the Regulations. 

A Guide to Classification has been prepared to help you with this responsibility. (PDF; 191 KB)

Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations User Guide

It is your responsibility to follow rules and transport hazardous waste or recyclable material according to the Regulations.

The EIHWHRMR User Guide has been prepared to help you understand and implement the requirements of the Regulations. (PDF; 581 KB)

A list of key considerations with respect to the export, import or transit of hazardous wastes or hazardous recyclable material is also available.

Notification

The import, export, and transit of hazardous waste or recyclable material require notification as set out in the Regulations. If you are a Canadian company considering exporting waste or recyclable materials to another country, be sure to read this important notice.

The procedures and information requirements for notification and returns are explained in sections 5 and 11 of the EIHWHRMR User Guide. This guide also provides detailed instructions on how to use the Online Notification and Permit System.

There are two ways to submit a proposed notice to Environment Canada:


Online Notification and Permit System

Using the Online Notification and Permit System is the preferred method for notifying Environment Canada of proposed exports and imports. The secure online system, accessible through Environment Canada’s Single Window web site, enables you to submit notices to Environment Canada, track the status of your submissions, and obtain permits, all online. Once you have set up your account, you will be able to reuse the information in future notices.

The Online Notification and Permit System is only available for import and export permits at this time. Notifications for transits, re-routings, returns, and requests for amendments must continue to be submitted via email, mail, registered mail, fax, or courier. For more information on the notification procedures and who must notify, please refer to the EIHWHRMR User Guide.


Administrative Notice Forms

The paper Administrative Notice forms may continue to be used for the purposes of notifying Environment Canada of a proposed export, import, or transit of hazardous wastes or hazardous recyclable materials as required by subparagraph 185(1)(b)(i) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and the Regulations.

To view and print PDFs, you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader, which can be downloaded for free. Once downloaded, the forms can be completed on-screen or printed for completion by hand. 

Signed and completed Administrative Notice Forms are to be submitted by email, mail, registered mail, fax, or courier to:

Waste Reduction and Management Division
Environment Canada
Place Vincent Massey
351 St. Joseph Boulevard, 9th Floor
Gatineau, QC  K1A 0H3
Fax: 819-938-4555
Email: notification@ec.gc.ca

Download the Administrative Notice Forms*

Important: When printing the forms, please use the PDF format.

Administrative Notice Form (PDF; 191 KB) (HTML version)

An Appendix to the Administrative Notice Form is also available for any additional hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material streams that need to be under the same Administrative Notice Form.

Appendix to the Notice Form (PDF; 236 KB)

* The forms on this page are administrative in nature and may change without prior notice.

Movement Documents

The procedure and information requirements for movement of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material are explained in section 10 of the EIHWHRMR User Guide.

The movement document is divided in three separate parts, and is made up of six copies of the same information. An example of the movement document can be found in Schedule 9 of the Regulations.

How to obtain movement documents?

Individuals or companies wishing to transport hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material in Canada must obtain pre-numbered movement documents from the competent authorities, primarily from the appropriate provincial authority.

Multiple Authorized Carriers Form

If more than one carrier is used for a shipment, the Multiple Authorized Carriers Form should be used as an annex to the movement document.

Important: When printing the form, please use the PDF format.

Multiple Authorized Carriers Form (PDF; 40 KB) (HTML version)

Confirmation of Disposal or Recycling

The procedure and information requirements for confirmation of disposal or recycling are explained in section 12 of the EIHWHRMR User Guide.

Important: When printing the form, please use the PDF format.

Confirmation of Disposal or Recycling Form (PDF; 13.4 KB) (HTML version)

Important Notices

Important Notice on Changes in Regulations in the United States for Spent Lead-Acid Batteries (July 7, 2010)

Important Notice regarding amendments to the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations (July 28, 2008)

Advisory Note

Advisory Note Regarding recent amendments to the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations (TGDR) and their impact on Permits Issued under the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR) and the Interprovincial Movement of Hazardous Waste Regulations (IMHWR)

Movement Documents

Two regulatory amendments affecting the shipping document under the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations (TDGR) administered by Transport Canada were adopted.

The first was published in July 2014, and came into force on July 15th, 2015. It requires that a shipping document includes a consignor certification that complies with Section 3.6.1 of the TDGR. This Section lists five acceptable consignor certifications, including the consignor certification set out in Section 5.4.1.6 of the United Nations Recommendations, which is precisely the one chosen to be include in the current movement document required under the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR) and the Interprovincial Movement of Hazardous Waste Regulations (IMHWR) for its compliance with the TDGR. Therefore, no changes are needed to the current movement document to be consistent with the July 15, 2015 requirements under the TDGR.

However, the second regulatory amendment to the TDGR may result in the need to prepare additional documents. It was published in December 2014 and came into force on July 1st, 2015. It requires that the UN number be shown before the shipping name in the description of the dangerous goods (Section 3.5 of the TDGR) on the shipping document. If you are moving a hazardous waste or a hazardous recyclable material which is also a dangerous good, you will still need to provide EC’s movement document and you will also have to provide the shipping document for the TDGR. This means that it is no longer possible to use only the movement document in order to comply with both the TDGR and the EIHWHRMR/IMHWR requirements. The format and required information set out in the EIHWHRMR/IMHWR cannot be modified. Please contact Transport Canada for more information on how to comply with the TDGR.

UN3077 and UN3082

The publication of the 18th edition of the United Nations Recommendations has occurred and affects two product identification numbers (PIN): UN3077 for Environmentally Hazardous Substance, Solid, N.O.S. and UN3082 for Environmentally Hazardous Substances, Liquids, N.O.S. These two product identification numbers (Class 9 dangerous goods as per the classification requirements of the TDGR) can now be used again to describe hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material under the EIHWHRMR and the IMHWR. According to Chapter 2.9 of the UN Recommendations, these UN numbers can be used for wastes covered under the Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal. Furthermore, Subsection 2.2(4) of the TDGR provides that a consignor may use the appropriate classification in the UN Recommendations to describe the dangerous goods. As a result, Environment Canada withdraws its previous Advisory Note of July 28, 2008.

Existing valid permits issued under EIHWHRMR containing N/A (Not applicable) as the PIN will continue to be valid until their expiry date. Until the expiry of such existing permits, the associated movement documents should contain N/A for the purpose of complying with the EIHWHRMR and ensuring permits and movement documents match.

When crossing the border, it is recommended that a copy of the present Advisory Note accompany the movement document and permit.

The use of these UN numbers for the purpose of complying with TDGR remains the responsibility of the permit holder. Please contact Transport Canada for more information on how to comply with their Regulations.

Contact information

For information on the TDGR, visit Transport Canada’s web site.

Any question regarding the TDGR may be directed to Transport Canada.

For information on the EIHWHRMR and IMHWR, visit Environment Canada’s web site.

(PDF; 359 KB) (Word; 22 KB)

 

Date modified:

Outils à l’intention des réglementés du Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses

Le Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (le Règlement) s’applique à tous les particuliers et les entreprises qui exportent à partir du Canada, qui y importent au Canada ou qui font transiter par le Canada, à des fins de recyclage et d’élimination, des déchets ou des matières jugés dangereux en vertu du Règlement. Ces personnes ou entreprises peuvent être, par exemple, des générateurs, réceptionnaires, transporteurs, courtiers, agents ou stations de transfert de matières ou de déchets dangereux.

La documentation qui suit a été préparée dans le but d’expliquer les différents aspects du Règlement aux personnes et entreprises devant se conformer au Règlement. En cas de divergence entre la documentation et le Règlement, ce dernier prévaut.

Voir aussi Avis importants

Guide de classification

Il est de votre responsabilité d’identifier et de bien classer vos déchets et matières recylables en fonction du Règlement.

Le Guide de classification a été conçu afin de vous aider avec cette responsabilité. (PDF; 185 Ko)

Guide de l'application du Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD)

Il est de votre responsabilité de suivre les règles et de transporter des déchets dangereux ou matières recyclables dangereuses comme le prévoit le Règlement.

Le Guide de l’application du REIDDMRD a été conçu dans le but de faciliter votre compréhension et la mise en œuvre du Règlement. (PDF; 703 Ko)

Une liste de points essentiels concernant l’exportation, l’importation et le transit des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses est aussi disponible.

Notification

Le Règlement requiert la présentation d’une notification pour l’importation, l’exportation et le transit de matières recyclables et de déchets dangereux. Si vous êtes une entreprise canadienne et vous considérez exporter des déchets ou des matières recyclables dans un autre pays, veuillez lire cet avis important.

Les procédures et les besoins en matière d’information pour la notification et les renvois sont expliqués aux sections 5 et 11 du Guide de l’application du REIDDMRD. Le guide fournit également des instructions détaillées sur la façon d’utiliser le Système de notification et de demande de permis en ligne.

Vous pouvez présenter une proposition de notification à Environnement Canada de deux manières :

Système de notification et de demande de permis en ligne

Le Système de notification et de demande de permis en ligne est la méthode de prédilection pour aviser Environnement Canada de projets d’exportation et d’importation. Vous pouvez y accéder de manière sécurisée à partir du site Web du Guichet unique d’Environnement Canada. Ce système vous permet de présenter des notifications à Environnement Canada, de faire le suivi de l’état de vos transmissions et d’obtenir un permis, le tout en ligne. Après la création de votre compte, vous pourrez utiliser à nouveau les renseignements déjà fournis pour la présentation d’autres notifications dans le futur.

Pour le moment, le Système de notification et de demande de permis en ligne est uniquement disponible pour les permis d’importation et d’exportation. Les notifications pour les transits, les réacheminements, les retours, et les demandes d'amendements doivent continuer à être présentées par courriel, par la poste, par courrier recommandé, par télécopieur ou par messagerie. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les procédures de notification et sur les entités à aviser, consultez le Guide de l’application du REIDDMRD.

Formulaires de notification administrative

Les Formulaires de notification administrative en format papier peuvent toujours être utilisés pour présenter une notification à Environnement Canada pour un projet d’exportation, d’importation ou de transit de matières recyclables ou de déchets dangereux, comme l’exige le sous-alinéa 185(1)(b)(i) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) et le Règlement.

Pour visualiser et imprimer les fichiers PDF, vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader, qui peut être téléchargé gratuitement. Une fois téléchargés, il est possible de remplir les formulaires à l’écran, ou encore de les imprimer pour les remplir par la suite.

Les Formulaires de notification administrative remplis et signés doivent être envoyés par courriel, par la poste, par courrier recommandé, par télécopieur ou par messagerie à l’adresse suivante :

Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets
Environnement Canada
351 boul. St-Joseph, 9e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H3
Télécopieur : 819-938-4555
Courriel : notification@ec.gc.ca

Télécharger les formulaires administraitfs de notification*

Important : Pour l’impression des formulaires, utilisez le format PDF.

Formulaire de notification administrative (PDF; 191 Ko) (version HTML)

Une annexe au Formulaire de notification administrative est aussi disponible pour les lots de déchets dangereux ou matières recyclables dangereuses additionnels qui dépendent du même Formulaire de notification administrative.

Annexe au Formulaire de notification (PDF; 236 Ko)

* Les formulaires disponibles sur cette page sont de nature administrative et peuvent changer sans avis préalable.

Documents de mouvement

La procédure et les besoins d’information pour les mouvements de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses sont expliqués à la section 10 du Guide de l'application du REIDDMRD.

Le document de mouvement est divisé en trois parties et est fait de  six copies de la même information. Un exemple de document sur les mouvements se trouve à l’annexe 9 du Règlement.

Comment obtenir des documents de mouvements?

Les individus ou les entreprises désirant transporter au Canada des déchets dangereux ou des matières recyclables dangereuses doivent se procurer des documents de mouvement préalablement numérotés en s’adressant aux autorités compétentes, notamment l’autorité appropriée de la province.

Formulaire pour transporteurs agréés multiples

Si plus d’un transporteur agréé sont utilisés lors d’un même envoi de déchets, le Formulaire de transporteurs agréés multiples devrait être utilisé et joint au document de mouvement.

Important: Pour l’impression des formulaires, veuillez utiliser le format PDF.

Formulaire transporteurs agréés multiples (PDF; 40 Ko) version HTML

Déclaration d'élimination ou de recyclage


La procédure et les besoins d’information pour la déclaration d’élimination ou de recyclage sont expliqués dans la section 12 du Guide de l’application du REIDDMRD.

Important: Pour l’impression des formulaires, utilisez le format PDF.

Formulaire de déclaration d'élimination ou de recyclage (PDF; 13.9 Ko) version HTML

Avis importants

Avis important concernant les changements dans la réglementation américaine pour les accumulateurs plomb-acide (7 juillet 2010)

Avis important concernant les amendements du Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (28 juillet 2008)

Avis important

Avis important concernant les modifications récentes au Règlement sur le transport des matières dangereuses (RTMD) et leurs incidences sur les permis émis en vertu du Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD) et le Règlement sur les mouvements interprovinciaux des déchets dangereux (RMIDD)

Documents de mouvement

Deux modifications réglementaires visant le document d’expédition en vertu du Règlement sur le transport des matières dangereuses (RTMD) administré par Transports Canada ont été adoptées.

La première a été publiée en juillet 2014, et est entrée en vigueur le 15 juillet 2015. Elle exige qu’un document d’expédition comprenne une attestation de l’expéditeur conforme à l’article 3.6.1 du RTMD. Cet article indique cinq attestations de l’expéditeur acceptables, y compris l’attestation de l’expéditeur établie dans la section 5.4.1.6 des recommandations des Nations Unies, qui est précisément celle choisie pour être incluse dans l’actuel document de mouvement requis en vertu du Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD) et le Règlement sur les mouvements interprovinciaux des déchets dangereux (RMIDD) pour leur conformité au RTMD. Aucun changement au document de mouvement actuel n’est donc nécessaire afin qu’il soit conforme aux exigences du 15 juillet 2015 en vertu du RTMD.

Cependant, la deuxième modification réglementaire au RTMD peut entraîner le besoin de préparer des documents supplémentaires. Elle a été publiée en décembre 2014 et est entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 2015. Elle exige que le numéro d’identification de produits (NIP) soit montré avant l’appellation réglementaire dans la description des matières dangereuses (article 3.5 du RTMD) sur le document d’expédition. Si vous déplacez un déchet dangereux ou une matière recyclable qui est aussi une matière dangereuse, vous devrez tout de même fournir le document de mouvement d’EC et vous devrez également fournir le document d’expédition pour le RTMD. Cela signifie qu’il n’est plus possible d’utiliser uniquement le document de mouvement afin d’être conforme aux exigences du RTMD et du REIDDMRD/RMIDD. Le format et les renseignements requis établis dans le REIDDMRD/RMIDD ne peuvent pas être modifiés. Veuillez communiquer avec Transports Canada pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de se conformer au RTMD.

UN3077 et UN3082

La publication de la 18e édition des recommandations des Nations Unies a eu lieu et a une incidence sur deux numéros d’identification de produits (NIP) : UN3077 pour Matière dangereuse du point de vue de l’environnement, Solide, N.S.A. et UN3082 pour Matière dangereuse du point de vue de l’environnement, Liquide, N.S.A. Ces deux numéros d’identification de produits (matières dangereuses de classe 9 conformément aux exigences de classification du RTMD) peuvent à nouveau être utilisés pour décrire les déchets dangereux ou les matières recyclables dangereuses en vertu du REIDDMRD et du RMIDD. Conformément au chapitre 2.9 des recommandations de l’ONU, ces numéros NIP peuvent être utilisés pour les déchets visés par la Convention de Bâle sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de leur élimination. De plus, le paragraphe 2.2(4) du RTMD prévoit qu’un expéditeur peut utiliser la classification appropriée dans les recommandations de l’ONU afin de décrire les matières dangereuses. Environnement Canada retire donc son avis important du 28 juillet 2008.

Les permis existants valides émis en vertu du REIDDMRD contenant N.A. ou S.O. (sans objet en français) à titre de NIP continueront d’être valides jusqu’à leur date d’expiration. Jusqu’à la date d’expiration de tels permis existants, les documents de mouvement connexes devraient contenir N.A. ou S.O. afin d’être conformes au REIDDMRD et d’assurer que les permis et les documents de mouvement correspondent.

Au moment de traverser la frontière, il est recommandé qu’une copie du présent avis important accompagne le document de mouvement et le permis.

L’utilisation de ces numéros de NIP aux fins de conformité au RTMD demeure la responsabilité du détenteur du permis. Veuillez communiquer avec Transports Canada pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de se conformer à ses règlements :

Coordonnées

Pour des renseignements sur le RTMD, visitez le site Web de Transports Canada.

Les questions concernant le RTDM peuvent être adressées à Transports Canada.

Pour des renseignements sur le REIDDMRD et le RMIDD, visitez le site Web d’Environnement Canada.

(PDF; 359 Ko) (Word; 28 Ko)

 

Date de modification :