Permit of Equivalent Level of Environmental Safety (PELES) issued under section 190 of Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999


1. Permit No.

EC 04-01/8,9 (Ren 3)

2. Permit Holder

Name: Toxco Waste Management Ltd

Street Address:
9384 Highway 22A
Trail, British Columbia
V1R 4W6

Receiving Authorized Facility Address:
9384 Highway 22A
Trail, British Columbia
V1R 4W6

Telephone: 250-367-9882

Facsimile: 250-367-9875

3. Mode of Transport

road

4. Issue Date

September 24, 2013

5. Expiry Date

September 23, 2017

6. Regulations

Interprovincial Movement of Hazardous Waste Regulations (IMHWR)

7. Definitions

(1) The definitions in this subsection apply in this PELES.

a) “IMHWR” means the Interprovincial Movement of Hazardous Waste Regulations;

b) The definitions in section 1 of the IMHWR are applicable in this PELES;

c) “Consignee” is as defined in section 1 of the IMHWR and also means the Permit Holder;

d) “Consignor” is as defined in section 1 of the IMHWR and also means a participant of the program “Big Green BoxTM” registered with the Permit Holder as collection site for any hazardous waste described in section 9 of this PELES;

d) “Director” means the

Director
Waste Reduction and Management Division
Environment Canada
Place Vincent-Massey, 9th Floor
351 St-Joseph Blvd.
Gatineau, Quebec
Canada
K1A 0H3
Telephone: (819) 997-3377
Facsimile: (819) 997-3068;

e) “TDGR” means Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations;

f) “UN number or UN classification” means the product identification number or the classification identified in TDGR or recognized under TDGR.

8. Application

(1) This PELES is hereby granted to the Permit Holder for the purpose of transporting, within Canada, batteries and small electronic devices that meet the definition of “hazardous wastes” in section 1 of the IMHWR and that are described in section 9 of this PELES.

(2) The Permit Holder, the consignor and any authorized carrier transporting hazardous waste under this PELES, shall comply with all of the requirements of the IMHWR, except where requirements other than those of the IMHWR are expressly set out in this PELES, including the conditions and any schedules.

9. Description of Hazardous Wastes

(1) For the purpose of this PELES, a “battery” means, and is strictly limited to, any used battery that meets the criteria for inclusion in classes 8 or 9 of TDGR, as set out in the definition of “hazardous waste” in section 1 of the IMHWR.

a) “Battery” includes:

i) small and non-spillable lead-acid batteries (UN2800);

ii) lithium ion, lithium ion-polymer, lithium alloy, or lithium metal batteries (UN3090, UN3091, UN3480, UN3481);

iii) any other type of primary or secondary batteries (alkaline, nickel metal-hydride, nickel-cadmium, nickel-zinc, zinc-air, zinc-carbon, and button cells batteries) that may be described with any other applicable UN number.

b) “Battery” expressly excludes automotive, marine and other wet or spillable batteries, pursuant to the TDGR (such as those described by UN2794 and UN2795).

(2) For the purpose of this PELES, a “small electronic device” means any small electronic or electric device containing or packaged with batteries, as described in sub-section 9(1) of this PELES, or any small electronic device that meets the criteria for inclusion in classes 2 to 6, 8 or 9 of TDGR, as set out in the definition of “hazardous waste” in section 1 of the IMHWR.

Such small electronic devices include, but are not limited to, cell phones, laptops, tablets, personal organizational devices, cameras, calculators, camcorders, small cordless tools, smoke detectors.

10. Conditions

(1) This PELES authorizes the permit holder (the consignee), the consignor and any authorized carrier transporting the hazardous wastes under this PELES to transport hazardous wastes within Canada, in a manner that is at variance with sections 3 and 4 of the IMHWR, under the requirements set in subsections 10(2) to 10(7) of this PELES and under the following conditions:

a) the hazardous wastes are batteries and small electronic devices, as described in section 9 of this PELES, that are to be sorted and recycled by the permit holder; in the case where the permit holder is authorized to store but not to recycle specific types of batteries or small electronic devices at its facility identified in section 2 of this PELES, the batteries and small electronic devices must be shipped to an authorized facility to be recycled;

b) the hazardous waste must be shipped from a consignor and transported to the permit holder’s authorized facility identified in section 2 of this PELES;

c) the hazardous wastes are transported by an authorized carrier as defined in section 1 of the IMHWR;

d) the hazardous wastes are transported by the mode of transport identified in section 3 of this PELES;

e) the Permit Holder must inform the consignor and any authorized carrier transporting the hazardous wastes under this PELES of their responsibilities under this PELES, and they must have agreed to those responsibilities, prior to any transportation of the hazardous wastes within Canada.

(2) In lieu of a manifest required under subsection 3(1) of the IMHWR and of the requirements set out in subsection 3(2) of the IMHWR, a shipping document, as set out in paragraphs 10(3)(a) to 10(3)(h) of this PELES, and a certification that the information contained is true and accurate must accompany any shipment of hazardous wastes described in section 9 of this PELES.

(3) The permit holder must ensure that the shipping document, referred to in sub-section 10(2) of this PELES, includes the following information:

a) the name and the address of the consignor;

b) the name and the address of the authorized carrier;

c) the name and address of the permit holder’s authorized facility identified in section 2 of this PELES;

d) the date of shipment;

e) the scheduled arrival date at the permit holder’s authorized facility;

f) the UN classification for the set of hazardous wastes described in section 9 of this PELES;

g) the quantity of the load of hazardous wastes shipped in kg (for shipments of a box provided by the “BIG GREEN BOXTM” program, an indication that the quantity in the box will not exceed 19.5 kg is sufficient);

h) the following statement:

“Shipped in accordance with the Permit of Equivalent Level of Environmental Safety EC04-01/8,9 (Ren3)”

or

“Expédié conformément au Permis de sécurité environnementale équivalente EC 04-01/8,9 (Ren3)”.

(4) The permit holder must ensure that the certification, referred to in sub-section 10(2) of this PELES, includes the name and phone number of the person who prepared the information indicated on the shipping document.

(5) In lieu of the requirements set out in subsections 4(1) and 4(2) of the IMHWR and before the transportation of the hazardous wastes, the consignor must:

a) ensure that any shipment of hazardous waste is accompanied by a shipping document completed in accordance with sub-section 10(3) of this PELES;

b) certify the accuracy of the information indicated on the shipping document; and

c) provide a copy of shipping document and its certification to the authorized carrier.

(6) In lieu of the requirements set out in subsections 4(3) and 4(4) of the IMHWR, every authorized carrier transporting hazardous waste under this PELES shall ensure that the shipping document and its certification accompany the hazardous waste during transportation.

(7) In lieu of the requirements set out in sub-sections 3(2), 4(5) and 4(6) of the IMHWR, the permit holder must:

a) for each shipment, record the  information listed in paragraphs 10(3)(a) to 10(3)(g) of this PELES, in addition to the date on which the hazardous wastes were received at the permit holder’s authorized recycling facility (referred to in section 2 of this PELES), within fifteen days of the hazardous waste being received at their facility; and,

b) provide a report, in table format and including the information identified in sub-paragraph 10(7)(b)(i) of this PELES, to the competent authorities of the province where the waste originated and of the province of destination, on a semi-annual basis, unless otherwise specified.

i. The report includes the information specified in paragraphs 10(3)(a) to 10(3)(e) of this PELES; the report must also include the quantity for each UN number as well as the corresponding UN classification, and the shipping name for each type of hazardous waste received during the period covered by the report. When there is no applicable UN number, a text description of the hazardous waste and the corresponding UN classification is sufficient.

ii. A report is provided every six months after the date of issuance of this PELES and covers the period from seven months preceding the date on which a semi-annual report must be submitted to one month preceding that same date.

iii. An authorized representative of the permit holder signs the semi-annual report and certifies, in the report, that the information contained in it is true and accurate.

(8) In lieu of the requirements set out in subsection 4(7) of the IMHWR, the permit holder shall keep the following documents or records for two years after the hazardous waste is received by the consignee, at their address set out in section 2 of this PELES, so that they are available for inspection by an enforcement officer or an analyst designated under section 217 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999:

a) the shipping document described in sub-section 10(2) of this PELES and its certification,

b) the records referred to in paragraph 10(7)(a) of this PELES, and

c) the reports referred to in paragraph 10(7)(b) of this PELES.

11. Miscellaneous Matters

(1) The Permit Holder must inform the Director, in writing and within 30 days, of any change to:

a) the Permit Holder’s name, street address, telephone or facsimile as set out in section 2 of this PELES;

b) the name, street address, telephone, facsimile or email of the Contact Person identified in section 13 of this PELES.

(2) This PELES is non transferable.

(3) Compliances with the terms and conditions of this PELES does not absolve the Permit Holder, the consignors and any authorized carrier transporting hazardous waste under this PELES from their responsibility to comply with the requirements of all applicable federal and provincial legislation and regulations or municipal by-laws.

12. Revocation

The Minister of the Environment may revoke this permit if one of the situations described in subsection 190(3) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 applies.

 

Signed for and on behalf of the Minister of the Environment

Gwen Goodier
Director
Waste Reduction and Management Division
Chemicals Sector
Environment Canada

Schedule 1

Table 1: Applicability and Conditions from the Provincial and Territorial Authorities
 Provincial/Territorial AuthorityConditions
1YukonNo condition specified.
2Northwest TerritoriesNo condition specified.
3NunavutNo condition specified.
4British ColumbiaBased on the information provided and subject to the conditions stated in this paragraph, the British Columbia (BC) Ministry of Environment has no objection to the proposed PELES (No. EC 04-01/8,9 (Ren 3)) for the interprovincial movement of hazardous wastes in BC, as long as:

a) The permit holder of this PELES, Toxco Waste Management Ltd. (Toxco) complies with all applicable BC legislation, including the Environmental Management Act and its regulations (such as Hazardous Waste Regulations), as well as Toxco’s approved Operational Plan;

b) Any carrier engaged in the transport of the subject hazardous wastes in BC will operate in accordance with all applicable legislation, including holding a valid hazardous waste transport licence, if required.
5AlbertaNo condition specified.
6SaskatchewanNo condition specified.
7ManitobaNo condition specified.
8OntarioThe Ontario Ministry of Environment agrees to the variances of this proposed PELES (No. EC 04-01/8,9 (Ren3)) only if the batteries are intact. In Ontario, intact waste batteries that are destined for a waste battery recovery facility are exempted from generator registration and manifesting requirements under Ontario Regulation 347. This exemption does not apply if the batteries are broken or leaking.
9QuebecNo condition specified.
10New-BrunswickNo condition specified.
11Nova ScotiaNo condition specified.
12Prince-Edward-IslandNo condition specified.
13Newfoundland and LabradorNo condition specified.
Date modified:

Permis de sécurité environnementale équivalente (PSEE) délivré en vertu de l’article 190 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)


1. Numéro du permis

EC04-01/8,9 (Ren 3)

2. Détenteur du permis

Nom : Toxco Waste Management Ltd

Adresse municipale :
9384 Highway 22A
Trail, British Columbia
V1R 4W6

Adresse de réception de l’installation agréée :
9384 Highway 22A
Trail, British Columbia
V1R 4W6

Numéro de téléphone : 250-367-9882

Numéro de télécopieur : 250-367-9875

3. Mode de transport

voie routière

4. Date de délivrance

Le 24 septembre 2013

5. Date d'expiration

Le 23 septembre 2017

6. Règlement

Règlement sur les mouvements interprovinciaux des déchets dangereux (RMIDD)

7. Définitions

(1) Les définitions dans ce paragraphe s’appliquent au présent PSEE.

a) « RMIDD » est le Règlement sur les mouvements interprovinciaux des déchets dangereux;

b) Les définitions contenues à l’article 1 du RMIDD s’appliquent au présent PSEE;

c) Le « destinataire » est tel que défini à l’article 1 du RMIDD et est aussi le détenteur de permis;

d) L’ « expéditeur » est tel que défini à l’article 1 du RMIDD et est aussi un participant au programme « Big Green BoxTM » enregistré avec le détenteur du permis comme site de collection pour tout déchet dangereux décrit à l’article 9 du présent PSEE;

d) Le « Directeur » est

Directeur
Direction de la Réduction et de la gestion des déchets
Environnement Canada
Place Vincent-Massey, 9e étage
351 boul. St-Joseph
Gatineau (Québec)
Canada
K1A 0H3
Téléphone : (819) 997-3377
Télécopieur : (819) 997-3068;

e) « RTMD » signifie Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses;

f) Le « numéro UN ou la classification UN » est le numéro d’identification de produit  ou la classification identifié dans le RTMDou reconnu par le RTMD.

8. Champs d'application

(1) Le présent PSEE est délivré au détenteur du permis à des fins de transport au Canada de piles et de petits  équipements électroniques qui correspondent à la définition de « déchets dangereux » établie à l’article 1 du RMIDD et qui sont décrits à l’article 9 du présent PSEE.

(2) Le détenteur de permis, l’expéditeur, et tout transporteur agréé transportant des déchets dangereux dans le cadre du présent PSEE, sont tenus de se conformer à toutes les exigences du RMIDD, sous réserve de celles qui sont expressément précisées dans le présent PSEE, incluant les conditions et les annexes.

9. Description des déchets dangereux

(1) Aux fins de ce PSEE,  une « pile » s’entend uniquement de toute pile usagée qui rencontre les critères d’inclusion pour les classes 8 ou 9 du RTMD, tel qu’établi par la définition de « déchet dangereux » à l’article 1 du RMIDD.

a) Le terme « pile » comprend :

i) les petits accumulateurs au plomb et acide inversable (UN2800);

ii) les piles au lithium ionique, au lithium ionique à membrane  polymère, à alliage de lithium ou au métal lithium (UN3090, UN3091, UN3480, UN3481);

iii) tout autre type de piles primaires ou secondaires (alcalines, hydrure métallique de nickel; nickel-cadmium; nickel-zinc; zinc-air, zinc-carbone; et piles bouton) qui peuvent être décrites avec tout numéro UN.

b) Le terme « pile » exclut expressément les piles utilisées pour le transport routier et maritime et tout autre pile ou accumulateur versable ou à l’électrolyte liquide, aux termes du RTMD (comme celles décrites par UN2794 et UN2795).

(2) Aux fins de ce PSEE, un « petit équipement électronique » s’entend de tout petit équipement électronique ou électrique contenant ou emballés avec des piles, telle que décrites au paragraphe 9(1) de ce PSEE, ou de tout petit équipement électronique qui rencontre les critères d’inclusion pour les classes 2 à 6, 8 ou 9 du RTMD, tel qu’établi par la définition de « déchet dangereux » à l’article 1 du RMIDD.

Ces petits équipements électroniques comprennent, mais ne sont pas limités à, des téléphones cellulaires, des portables, des tablettes, des équipements d’organisation personnelle, des caméras-photos, des vidéo-caméras, des calculatrices, et des petits outils sans fils, des détecteurs de fumée.

10. Conditions

(1) Le présent PSEE autorise le détenteur de permis (le destinataire), l’expéditeur et tout transporteur agréé transportant des déchets dangereux dans le cadre du présent PSEE à transporter des déchets dangereux au Canada d'une manière qui déroge aux dispositions des articles 3 et 4 du RMIDD, selon les exigences établies aux paragraphes 10(2) à 10(7) de ce PSEE, et aux conditions suivantes :

a) les déchets dangereux sont des piles ou de petits équipements électroniques, tels que décrits à l’article 9 de ce PSEE, qui seront triés et recyclés par le détenteur de permis; dans le cas où le détenteur de permis est autorisé à entreposer mais pas à recycler des types spécifiques de batteries ou petits équipements électroniques à son installation mentionnée à l’article 2 de ce PSEE, les batteries et les petits équipements électroniques doivent être expédiés à une installation agréée pour être recyclés;

b) les déchets dangereux doivent être expédiés par un expéditeur et être transportés vers l’installation agréée du détenteur du permis identifiée à l’article 2 de ce PSEE;

c) les déchets dangereux sont transportés par un transporteur agréé tel que défini à l’article 1 du RMIDD;

d) les déchets dangereux sont transportés en utilisant le mode de transport identifié à l’article 3 de ce PSEE;

e) le détenteur de permis doit informer l’expéditeur et tout transporteur agréé transportant des déchets dangereux dans le cadre du présent PSEE de leurs responsabilités établies dans le présent PSEE, et ils doivent y avoir consenties, avant tout transport des déchets dangereux au Canada.

(2) Au lieu du manifeste exigé au paragraphe 3(1) du RMIDD et des conditions établies dans le paragraphe 3(2) du RMIDD, un document d’envoi, tel que décrit aux alinéas 10(3)a) to 10(3)h) de ce PSEE, et une certification que les renseignements contenus sont exacts et véridiques doivent accompagner tout envoi de déchets dangereux décrits à l’article 9 de ce PSEE.

(3) Le détenteur de permis doit s’assurer que le document d’envoi contient les renseignements suivants :

a) le nom et l’adresse de l’expéditeur;

b) le nom et l’adresse du transporteur agréé;

c) le nom et l’adresse de l’installation agréée du détenteur de permis identifiée à l’article 2 du ce PSEE;

d) la date d’envoi;

e) la date d’arrivée prévue à l’installation agréée du détenteur de permis;

f) la classification UN pour l’ensemble des déchets dangereux décrits à la section 9 de ce PSEE;

g) la quantité de l’envoi des déchets dangereux expédiés en kg (pour l’envoi d’une boîte fournie dans le cadre du programme « BIG GREEN BOXTM », une indication que la quantité de la boîte n’excédera pas 19,5 kg est suffisante);

h) la déclaration suivante :

« Expédié conformément au Permis de sécurité environnementale équivalente 04-01/8,9 (Ren3) »

ou

« Shipped in accordance with the Permit of Equivalent Level of Environmental Safety EC 04-01/8,9 (Ren3) ».

(4) The permit holder must ensure that the certification, referred to in sub-section 10(2) of this PELES, includes the name and phone number of the person who prepared the information indicated on the shipping document.

(5) Au lieu des conditions établies dans les paragraphes 4(1) et 4(2) du RMIDD,  et avant le début du transport de déchets dangereux, l’expéditeur doit :

a) s’assurer que tout envoi de déchet dangereux est accompagné par un document d’envoi complété selon les exigences du paragraphe 10(3) de ce PSEE;

b) certifier l’exactitude de l’information inscrite sur le document d’envoi; et,

c) remettre une copie du document d’envoi et de sa certification au transporteur agréé.

(6) Au lieu des conditions établies dans les paragraphes 4(3) et 4(4) du RMIDD, tout transporteur agréé transportant des déchets dangereux dans le cadre du présent PSEE s’assure que le document d’envoi et sa certification accompagnent les déchets dangereux au moment de leur transport.

(7) Au lieu des conditions établies dans les paragraphes 3(2), 4(5) et 4(6) du RMIDD, le détenteur de permis doit :

a) enregistrer les renseignements énumérés aux alinéas 10(3)a) à 10(3)g) de ce PELES, en plus de la date à laquelle les déchets dangereux ont été reçus à l’installation de recyclage agréée (mentionnée à l’article 2 de ce PSEE), dans les quinze jours suivant la date de la réception des déchets dangereux à l’installation du détenteur de permis; et

b) fournir un rapport, sous forme de tableau et contenant les renseignements identifiés au sous-alinéa 10(7)b)i) de ce PSEE, aux autorités compétentes de la province d’origine des déchets dangereux et de celle de destination, sur une base semestrielle, à moins d’indication contraire.

i. Le rapport contient les renseignements spécifiés aux alinéas 10(3)a) à 10(3)e) de ce PSEE; le rapport doit aussi contenir la quantité pour chaque numéro UN, ainsi que la classification UN applicable, le numéro UN et l’appellation d’expédition de chaque type de déchets dangereux reçus pour la période couverte par le rapport. Lorsqu’il n’y a pas de numéro UN applicable, une description textuelle du déchet dangereux et la classification UN applicable est suffisante.

ii. Un rapport est fourni six mois après la date de délivrance de ce PSEE et couvre une période de sept mois précédant la date à laquelle un rapport semi-annuel doit être fourni à un mois précédant cette même date.

iii. Un représentant autorisé du détenteur de permis signe le rapport semi-annuel et y certifie que les renseignements qui y sont contenus sont exacts et véridiques.

(8) Au lieu des conditions établies dans le paragraphe 4(7) du RMIDD, le détenteur de permis conserve les documents  ou enregistrements suivants  pour deux ans suivant la réception des déchets dangereux par le destinataire, à son adresse municipale du Canada identifiée à l’article 2 du présent PSEE, de façon à ce qu’ils puissent être inspectés par un agent de l’application de la loi ou par un analyste désigné en vertu de l’article 217 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) :

a) les documents d’envoi décrits au paragraphe 10(2) de ce PELES et sa certification,

b) les enregistrements mentionnés à l’alinéa 10(7)a) de ce PSEE, et

c) les rapports mentionnés à l’alinéa 10(7)b) de ce PSEE.

11. Dispositions générales

(1) Le détenteur du permis informera le Directeur, par écrit et dans les 30 jours, de tout changement concernant :

a) le nom, l’adresse municipale, ou le numéro de téléphone ou de télécopieur du détenteur du permis, tels qu’indiqués à l’article 2 du présent PSEE;

b) le nom, l’adresse municipale, le numéro de téléphone ou de télécopieur, ou le courriel de la personne-ressource identifiée à l’article 13 du présent PSEE.

(2) Ce PSEE n’est pas transférable.

(3) Le respect des termes et conditions du présent PSEE n’exonère pas le détenteur de permis, les expéditeurs et tout transporteur agréé transportant des déchets dangereux sous ce PSEE de leur responsabilité de se conformer aux exigences de toute législation et réglementation fédérale ou provinciale, ou encore de toute règlementation municipale.

12. Révocation

Le ministre de l’Environnement peut révoquer le permis s'il est d'avis qu’une situation décrite au paragraphe 190(3) de la Loi sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) est applicable.

 

Signé au nom du ministre de l’Environnement

Gwen Goodier
Directrice
Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets
Secteur des produits chimiques
Environnement Canada

Annexe 1

Tableau 1 : Applicabilité et conditions des autorités provinciales et territoriales
 Autorité provinciale ou territorialeConditions
1YukonPas de condition spécifiée.
2Territoires du Nord-OuestPas de condition spécifiée.
3NunavutPas de condition spécifiée.
4Colombie-BritanniqueSelon les renseignements fournis et suite aux conditions spécifiées dans ce paragraphe, le Ministère de l’Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.) n’a pas d’objection à la proposition de PSEE (No. EC 04-01/8,9 (Ren3)) pour les mouvements interprovinciaux de déchets dangereux en C.-B. pour autant que :

le détenteur de permit de ce PSEE, Toxco Waste Management Ltd.(Toxco), doit être conforme à toute la législation applicable en C.-B., y compris le Environmental Management Act et les règlements sous-jacents (tel que le Hazardous Waste Regulations), et au Plan opérationnel de Toxco approuvé;

b) Tout transporteur impliqué dans le transport en C.-B. de déchets dangereux sujets à ce PSEE doit opérer selon la législation applicable, y compris l’exigence de détenir une licence valide pour le transport de déchets dangereux, si requis.
5AlbertaPas de condition spécifiée.
6SaskatchewanPas de condition spécifiée.
7ManitobaPas de condition spécifiée.
8OntarioLe Ministère de l’Environnement de l’Ontario souhaite réitérer qu’il est en accord avec la proposition de PSEE(No. EC 04-01/8,9 (Ren3)) seulement si les batteries sont intactes. Les exigences liées à l’enregistrement du générateur et aux manifestes, spécifiées dans le Règlement 347 de l’Ontario, sont exemptées s’il agit de batteries usées intactes qui sont destinées à une installation de récupération de batteries. Ces exemptions ne sont pas applicables si les batteries sont brisées ou si elles coulent.
9QuébecPas de condition spécifiée.
10Nouveau-BrunswickPas de condition spécifiée.
11Nouvelle-ÉcossePas de condition spécifiée.
12Ile-du-Prince-ÉdouardPas de condition spécifiée.
13Terre-Neuve - LabradorPas de condition spécifiée.
Date de modification :