Advisory Note Regarding recent amendments to the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations (TGDR) and their impact on Permits Issued under the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR) and the Interprovincial Movement of Hazardous Waste Regulations (IMHWR) (December 9, 2015)

Movement Documents

Two regulatory amendments affecting the shipping document under the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations (TDGR) administered by Transport Canada were adopted.

The first was published in July 2014, and came into force on July 15th, 2015. It requires that a shipping document includes a consignor certification that complies with Section 3.6.1 of the TDGR. This Section lists five acceptable consignor certifications, including the consignor certification set out in Section 5.4.1.6 of the United Nations Recommendations, which is precisely the one chosen to be include in the current movement document required under the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR) and the Interprovincial Movement of Hazardous Waste Regulations (IMHWR) for its compliance with the TDGR. Therefore, no changes are needed to the current movement document to be consistent with the July 15, 2015 requirements under the TDGR.

However, the second regulatory amendment to the TDGR may result in the need to prepare additional documents. It was published in December 2014 and came into force on July 1st, 2015. It requires that the UN number be shown before the shipping name in the description of the dangerous goods (Section 3.5 of the TDGR) on the shipping document. If you are moving a hazardous waste or a hazardous recyclable material which is also a dangerous good, you will still need to provide EC’s movement document and you will also have to provide the shipping document for the TDGR. This means that it is no longer possible to use only the movement document in order to comply with both the TDGR and the EIHWHRMR/IMHWR requirements. The format and required information set out in the EIHWHRMR/IMHWR cannot be modified. Please contact Transport Canada for more information on how to comply with the TDGR.

UN3077 and UN3082

The publication of the 18th edition of the United Nations Recommendations has occurred and affects two product identification numbers (PIN): UN3077 for Environmentally Hazardous Substance, Solid, N.O.S. and UN3082 for Environmentally Hazardous Substances, Liquids, N.O.S. These two product identification numbers (Class 9 dangerous goods as per the classification requirements of the TDGR) can now be used again to describe hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material under the EIHWHRMR and the IMHWR. According to Chapter 2.9 of the UN Recommendations, these UN numbers can be used for wastes covered under the Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal. Furthermore, Subsection 2.2(4) of the TDGR provides that a consignor may use the appropriate classification in the UN Recommendations to describe the dangerous goods. As a result, Environment Canada withdraws its previous Advisory Note of July 28, 2008.

Existing valid permits issued under EIHWHRMR containing N/A (Not applicable) as the PIN will continue to be valid until their expiry date. Until the expiry of such existing permits, the associated movement documents should contain N/A for the purpose of complying with the EIHWHRMR and ensuring permits and movement documents match.

When crossing the border, it is recommended that a copy of the present Advisory Note accompany the movement document and permit.

The use of these UN numbers for the purpose of complying with TDGR remains the responsibility of the permit holder. Please contact Transport Canada for more information on how to comply with their Regulations.

Contact information

For information on the TDGR, visit Transport Canada’s web site.

Any question regarding the TDGR may be directed to Transport Canada.

For information on the EIHWHRMR and IMHWR, visit Environment Canada’s web site.

(PDF; 359 KB) (Word; 22 KB)

Date modified:

Avis important concernant les modifications récentes au Règlement sur le transport des matières dangereuses (RTMD) et leurs incidences sur les permis émis en vertu du Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD) et le Règlement sur les mouvements interprovinciaux des déchets dangereux (RMIDD) (9 décembre 2015)

Documents de mouvement

Deux modifications réglementaires visant le document d’expédition en vertu du Règlement sur le transport des matières dangereuses (RTMD) administré par Transports Canada ont été adoptées.

La première a été publiée en juillet 2014, et est entrée en vigueur le 15 juillet 2015. Elle exige qu’un document d’expédition comprenne une attestation de l’expéditeur conforme à l’article 3.6.1 du RTMD. Cet article indique cinq attestations de l’expéditeur acceptables, y compris l’attestation de l’expéditeur établie dans la section 5.4.1.6 des recommandations des Nations Unies, qui est précisément celle choisie pour être incluse dans l’actuel document de mouvement requis en vertu du Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD) et le Règlement sur les mouvements interprovinciaux des déchets dangereux (RMIDD) pour leur conformité au RTMD. Aucun changement au document de mouvement actuel n’est donc nécessaire afin qu’il soit conforme aux exigences du 15 juillet 2015 en vertu du RTMD.

Cependant, la deuxième modification réglementaire au RTMD peut entraîner le besoin de préparer des documents supplémentaires. Elle a été publiée en décembre 2014 et est entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 2015. Elle exige que le numéro d’identification de produits (NIP) soit montré avant l’appellation réglementaire dans la description des matières dangereuses (article 3.5 du RTMD) sur le document d’expédition. Si vous déplacez un déchet dangereux ou une matière recyclable qui est aussi une matière dangereuse, vous devrez tout de même fournir le document de mouvement d’EC et vous devrez également fournir le document d’expédition pour le RTMD. Cela signifie qu’il n’est plus possible d’utiliser uniquement le document de mouvement afin d’être conforme aux exigences du RTMD et du REIDDMRD/RMIDD. Le format et les renseignements requis établis dans le REIDDMRD/RMIDD ne peuvent pas être modifiés. Veuillez communiquer avec Transports Canada pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de se conformer au RTMD.

UN3077 et UN3082

La publication de la 18e édition des recommandations des Nations Unies a eu lieu et a une incidence sur deux numéros d’identification de produits (NIP) : UN3077 pour Matière dangereuse du point de vue de l’environnement, Solide, N.S.A. et UN3082 pour Matière dangereuse du point de vue de l’environnement, Liquide, N.S.A. Ces deux numéros d’identification de produits (matières dangereuses de classe 9 conformément aux exigences de classification du RTMD) peuvent à nouveau être utilisés pour décrire les déchets dangereux ou les matières recyclables dangereuses en vertu du REIDDMRD et du RMIDD. Conformément au chapitre 2.9 des recommandations de l’ONU, ces numéros NIP peuvent être utilisés pour les déchets visés par la Convention de Bâle sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de leur élimination. De plus, le paragraphe 2.2(4) du RTMD prévoit qu’un expéditeur peut utiliser la classification appropriée dans les recommandations de l’ONU afin de décrire les matières dangereuses. Environnement Canada retire donc son avis important du 28 juillet 2008.

Les permis existants valides émis en vertu du REIDDMRD contenant N.A. ou S.O. (sans objet en français) à titre de NIP continueront d’être valides jusqu’à leur date d’expiration. Jusqu’à la date d’expiration de tels permis existants, les documents de mouvement connexes devraient contenir N.A. ou S.O. afin d’être conformes au REIDDMRD et d’assurer que les permis et les documents de mouvement correspondent.

Au moment de traverser la frontière, il est recommandé qu’une copie du présent avis important accompagne le document de mouvement et le permis.

L’utilisation de ces numéros de NIP aux fins de conformité au RTMD demeure la responsabilité du détenteur du permis. Veuillez communiquer avec Transports Canada pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de se conformer à ses règlements :

Coordonnées

Pour des renseignements sur le RTMD, visitez le site Web de Transports Canada.

Les questions concernant le RTDM peuvent être adressées à Transports Canada.

Pour des renseignements sur le REIDDMRD et le RMIDD, visitez le site Web d’Environnement Canada.

(PDF; 359 Ko) (Word; 28 Ko)

Date de modification :