Canada - U.S.A. Agreement

Agreement Between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America Concerning the Transboundary Movement of Hazardous Waste (consolidated text)

Note: This is a consolidated text of the 1986 Agreement and its 1992 Amendment for public use only, and does not constitutes an "official" text.

The Government of Canada (Canada), and the Government of the United States of America (the United States), hereinafter called "The Parties":

Recognizing that severe health and environmental damage may result from the improper treatment, storage, and disposal of hazardous waste and other waste;

Seeking to ensure that the treatment, storage, and disposal of hazardous waste and other waste are conducted so as to reduce the risks to public health, property and environmental quality;

Recognizing that the close trading relationship and the long common border between the United States and Canada engender opportunities for a generator of hazardous waste and other waste to benefit from using the nearest appropriate disposal facility, which may involve the transboundary shipment of hazardous waste and other waste;

Recognizing further that the most effective and efficient means of achieving environmentally sound management procedures for hazardous waste crossing the United States-Canada border is through cooperative, efforts and coordinated regulatory schemes;

Believing that a bilateral agreement is needed to facilitate the control of transboundary shipments of hazardous waste and other waste between the United States and Canada;

Reaffirming Principle 21 of the 1972 Declaration of the United Nations Conference on the Human Environment, adopted at Stockholm, which asserts that states have, in accordance with the Charter of the United Nations and the principles of international law, the sovereign right to exploit their own resources pursuant to their own environmental policies and the responsibility to ensure that activities within their jurisdiction or control do not cause damage to the environment of other states or of areas beyond the limits of national jurisdiction;

Taking into account Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Council Decisions and Recommendations on transfrontier movements of hazardous wastes, the United Nations Environment Program Cairo Guidelines and Principles for the Environmentally Sound Management of Hazardous Waste, and resolutions of the London Dumping Convention,

Have agreed as follows:

Article 1 - Definitions

For the purposes of this Agreement:

(a) Designated Authority means, in the case of the US Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA) and, in the case of Canada, the Department of the Environment.

(b) Hazardous Waste means with respect to Canada, hazardous waste, and with respect to the United States, hazardous waste subject to a manifest requirement in the United States, as defined by their respective national legislations and implementing regulations.

(c) Country of Export means the country from which the shipment of hazardous waste originated.

(d) Country of Import means the country to which hazardous waste and other waste is sent for the purpose of treatment, storage (with the exception of short-term storage incidental to transportation) or disposal.

(e) Country of Transit means the country which is neither the country of export nor the country of import, through whose land territory or internal waters hazardous waste and other waste is transported, or in whose ports such waste is unloaded for further transportation.

(f) Consignee means the treatment, storage (with the exception of short-term storage incidental to transportation) or disposal facility in the country of import and the name of the person operating the facility.

(g) Exporter means, in the case of the United States, the person defined as exporter, and in the case of Canada, the person defined as consignor, under their respective national laws and regulations governing hazardous waste and other waste.

(h) Other Waste means Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) that is sent for final disposal or for incineration with energy recovery, and residues arising from the incineration of such waste, as defined by the Parties' respective national legislation and implementing regulations, but excluding waste covered under paragraph (b) of this Article.

Article 2 - General Obligation

The parties shall permit the export, import, and transit of hazardous waste and other waste across their common border for treatment, storage, or disposal pursuant to the terms of their domestic laws, regulations and administrative practices, and the provisions of this Agreement.

Article 3 - Notification to the Importing Country

(a) The designated authority of the country of export shall notify the designated authority of the country of import of proposed transboundary shipments of hazardous waste and other waste.

(b) The notice referred to in paragraph (a) of this article may cover an individual shipment or a series of shipments extending over a twelve month or lesser period and shall contain the following information:

(i) The exporter's name, address and telephone number, and if required in the country of export, the identification number.

(ii) for each hazardous waste and other waste type and for each consignee:

  1. A description of the hazardous waste and other waste to be exported, as identified by the waste identification number, the classification and the shipping name as required on the manifest in the country of export;
  2. The estimated frequency or rate at which such waste is to be exported and the period of time over which such waste is to be exported;
  3. The estimated total quantity of the hazardous waste and other waste in units as specified by the manifest required in the country of export;
  4. The point of entry into the country of import;
  5. The name and address of the transporter(s) and the means of transportation, such as the mode of transportation (air, highway, rail, water, etc.) and type(s) of container (drums, boxes, tanks, etc.);
  6. A description of the manner in which the waste will be treated, stored or disposed of in the importing country;
  7. The name and site address of the consignee;
  8. An approximate date of the first shipment to each consignee, if available.

(c) The designated authority of the country of import shall have 30 days from the date of receipt of the notice provided pursuant to the date of receipt of the notice provided pursuant to paragraphs (a) and (b) of this article to respond to such notice, indicating its consent (conditional or not) or its objection to the export. Such response will be transmitted to the designated authority of the country of export. The date of receipt of the notice will be identified in an acknowledgement of receipt made immediately by the designated authority of the country of import to the country of export.

(d) If no response is received by the designated authority of the country of export within the 30 day period referred to in paragraph (c) of this article, the country of import shall be considered as having no objection to the export of hazardous waste and other waste described in the notice and the export may take place conditional upon the persons importing the hazardous waste and other waste complying with all the applicable laws of the country of import.

(e) The country of import shall have the right to amend the terms of the proposed shipment(s) as described in the notice.

(f) The consent of the country of import, whether express, tacit, or conditional, provided pursuant to paragraphs (c) and (d) of this article, may be withdrawn or modified for good cause. The Parties will withdraw or modify such consent insofar as possible at the most appropriate time for the persons concerned.

(g) For the purposes of this Article and Article 5, manifetst-related requirements may, with respect to other waste, be substituted by alternative tracking requirements.

Article 4 - Notification to the Transit Country

(a) The designated authority of the country of export shall notify the designated authority of the country of transit of the proposed shipment of hazardous waste and other waste at least 7 days prior to the date of the shipment. The notice shall include the information specified in paragraph (b) of Article 3, with the following exceptions:

(i) The points of entry into and departure from the country of transit shall be provided in lieu of the entry point(s) into the country of import; and

(ii) A description of the approximate length of time the hazardous waste and other waste will remain in the country of transit and the nature of its handling while there shall be submitted instead of a description of the treatment, storage, or disposal of the waste in the country of import.

Article 5 - Cooperative Efforts

  1. The Parties will cooperate to ensure, to the extent possible, that all transboundary shipments of hazardous waste and other waste comply with the manifest requirements of both countries.
  2. The Parties will cooperate in monitoring and spot-checking transboundary shipments of hazardous waste and other waste to ensure, to the extent possible, that such shipments conform to the requirements of the applicable legislation and of this Agreement.
  3. To the extent any implementing laws and regulations are necessary to comply with this Agreement, the Parties will act expeditiously to issue such regulations consistent with domestic law. Pending such issuance, the Parties will make best efforts to provide notification in accordance with this Agreement where current regulatory authority is insufficient. The Parties will provide each other with a diplomatic note upon the issuance and the coming into effect of any such laws and regulations.

Article 6 - Readmission of Exports

The country of export shall readmit any shipment of hazardous waste and other waste that may be returned by the country of import or transit.

Article 7 - Enforcement

The Parties shall ensure, to the extent possible, that within their respective jurisdictions, their domestic laws and regulations are enforced with respect to the transportation, storage, treatment and disposal of transboundary shipments of hazardous waste and other waste.

Article 8 - Protection of Confidential Information

If the provision of technical information pursuant to articles 3 and 4 would require the disclosure of information covered by agreement(s) of confidentiality between a Party and an exporter, the country of export shall make every effort to obtain the consent of the concerned person for the purpose of conveying any such information to the country of import or transit. The country of import or transit shall make every effort to protect the confidentiality of such information conveyed.

Article 9 - Insurance

The Parties may require, as a condition of entry, that any transboundary movement of hazardous waste and other waste be covered by insurance or other financial guarantee in respect to damage to third parties caused during the entire movement of hazardous waste and other waste, including loading and unloading.

Article 10 - Effects on International Agreements

Nothing in this Agreement shall be deemed to diminish the obligations of the Parties with respect to disposal of hazardous waste and other waste at sea contained in the 1972 London Dumping Convention.

Article 11 - Domestic Law

The provisions of this Agreement shall be subject to the applicable laws and regulations of the Parties.

Article 12 - Amendment

This Agreement may be amended by mutual written consent of the Parties or their authorized representatives.

Article 13 - Entry into Force

This Agreement shall enter into force on November 8, 1986 and continue in force for five years. It will automatically be renewed for additional five year periods unless either Party gives written notice of termination to the other at least three months prior to the expiration of any five year period. In any five year period, this Agreement may be terminated upon one year written notice given by one Party to the other.

In witness where of, the undersigned, being duly authorized by their respective Governments, have signed this Agreement.

Done at Ottawa, in duplicate, this 28th day of October, 1986, in the English and French languages, both texts being equally authentic.

Date modified:

L'Accord entre le Canada et les États-Unis

L'Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement des États-Unis d'Amérique concernant les déplacements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux (text codifié)

Note : Cette version consolidée de l'Accord de 1986 et de ses modifications de 1992 est à l'usage du public et ne constitue pas un texte « officiel ».

Le gouvernement du Canada (Canada) et le Gouvernement des États-Unis d'Amérique (États-Unis), appelés ci-après "les Parties":

Reconnaissant que des méthodes inadéquates de traitement, d'entreposage et d'élimination des déchets dangereux et autres déchets peuvent entraîner de graves problèmes pour la santé et l'environnement.

Voulant assurer que le traitement, l'entreposage et l'élimination des déchets dangereux et autres déchets posent moins de danger pour la santé, les biens et la qualité de l'environnement;

Reconnaissant que les relations commerciales étroites et l'étendue de la frontières entre les États-Unis et le Canada créent des possibilités pour un expéditeur de déchets dangereux et autres déchets d'utiliser l'installation d'élimination appropriée la plus près, ce qui peut comporter l'envoi transfrontalier de déchets dangereux et autres déchets;

Reconnaissant, en outre, que la collaboration et les méthodes réglementaires concertées représentent les moyens les plus adéquats et les plus efficaces d'assurer pour les déchets dangereux et autres déchets traversant la frontière canado-américaine une gestion judicieuse du point de vue l'environnement;

Convaincus qu'un accord bilatéral est nécessaire pour faciliter le contrôle des envois transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et autres déchets dans les deux pays;

Réaffirmant leur soutien au principe 21 de la déclaration adoptée à Stockholm en 1972 par la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l'environnement selon lequel, conformément à la Charte des Nations Unies et aux principes du droit international, les États ont le droit souverain d'exploiter leurs propres ressources selon leur politique d'environnement et ils ont le devoir de faire en sorte que les activités, exercées dans les limites de leur juridiction ou sous leur contrôle ne causent pas de dommages à l'environnement dans d'autres États ou dans des régions ne relevant d'aucune juridiction nationale;

Prenant en considération les décisions et les recommandations du Conseil de l’Organization de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) au sujet des déplacements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et autres déchets, les lignes directrices et les principes du Caire pour la gestion écologiquement rationnelle des déchets dangereux et autres déchets adoptés dans le cadre du Programme des Nations Unies pour l'environnement et les résolutions adoptées à la Convention de Londres sur l'immersion,

Conviennent de ce qui suit:

Article 1 - Définitions

Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent Accord:

(a) « autorité désignée » US Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA), et le ministère de l'Environnement, dans le cas du Canada.

(b) « déchet dangereux » Au Canada, toute déchet dangereux et, aux États-Unis, tout déchet dangereux devant faire l'objet d'un manifeste, conformément aux lois et règlements respectifs des deux pays.

(c) « pays d'exportation » Pays d'origine de l'envoi transfrontalier de déchets dangereux et autres déchets.

(d) « pays d'importation » Pays où les déchets dangereux et autres déchets sont envoyés pour leur traitement, leur entreposage (non compris l'entreposage à court terme en cours de transport) ou leur élimination.

(e) « pays de transit » Pays, qui n'est ni le pays d'exportation ni le pays d'importation, sur la partie terrestre ou les eaux intérieures duquel les déchets dangereux et autres déchets sont transportés ou dans les ports duquel ces déchets sont déchargés pour leur transport ultérieur.

(f) « destinataire » L'installation de traitement, d'entreposage (exception faite de l'entreposage à court terme en cours de transport) ou d'élimination dans le pays d'importation et la personne exploitant une telle installation.

(g) « exportateur » Personne répondant à la définition d'exportateur, aux États-Unis, et personne répondant à la définition d'expéditeur, au Canada, selon les lois et règlements respectifs des deux pays s'appliquant aux déchets dangereux et autres déchets.

(h) « Autres déchets » Déchets solides municipaux (DSM) envoyés pour élimination finale ou pour incinération avec récupération de l'énergie, et résidus résultant de l'incinération de ces déchets, tels qu'ils sont définis par les lois et règlements nationaux des Parties, à l'exclusion des déchets visés par l'alinéa b) du présent article.

Article 2 - Obligation générale

Les Parties autorisent l'exportation, l'importation et le transit de déchets dangereux et autres déchets de part et d'autre de leur frontière commune à des fins de traitement, d'entreposage ou d'élimination conformément aux lois, règlements et pratiques administratives en vigueur dans chaque pays et conformément aux dispositions du présent Accord.

Article 3 - Avis à donner au pays d'importation

(a) L'autorité désignée du pays d'exportation avise l'autorité désignée du pays d'importation des projets d'envois transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et autres déchets.

(b) L'avis requis au paragraphe a) du présent article porte sur un envoi particulier ou sur une série d'envois devant être effectués au cours d'une période de douze mois ou moins et il donne les renseignements suivants:

(i) Le nom, l'adresse, le numéro de télépnone de l'exportateur et, si exigé dans le pays d'exportation, son numéro d'identification.

(ii) Pour chaque type de déchets dangereux et autres déchets et pour chaque destinataire:

  1. La description des déchets dangereux et autres déchets devant être exportés, tels qu'identifiés par les numéros d'identification, les classifications et les appellations réglementaires qui doivent figurer dans le manifeste du pays d'exportation;
  2. La fréquence ou le rythme prévu d'exportation des déchets en question et la période au cours de laquelle ces déchets doivent être exportés;
  3. La quantité totale estimée de déchets dangereux et autres déchets, dans les unités indiquées dans le manifeste requis dans le pays d'exportation;
  4. Le point d'entrée dans le pays d'importation;
  5. Le nom et l'adresse des transporteurs et les moyens de transport, par exemple: le mode de transport (air, route, voie ferrée, eau, etx.) et les types de contenant (fûts, boîtes, citernes, etc.):
  6. Une description du mode de traitement, d'entreposage ou d'élimination des déchets dans le pays d'importation;
  7. Le nom du destinataire et l'adresse de l'installation où les déchets doivent être envoyés;
  8. La date approximative du premier envoi à chaque destinataire, si connue.

(c) L'autorité désignée du pays d'importation a un délai de 30 jours à partir de la date de réception de l'avis envoyé conformément aux paragraphes a) et b) du présent article pour répondre à cet avis, en indiquant son consentement (conditionnel ou nom) ou son opposition à l'exportation en question. La réponse est transmise à l'autorité désignée du pays d'exportation. La date de réception de l'avis est indiquée dans l'accusé de réception envoyé immédiatement au pays d'exportation par l'autorité désignée du pays d'importation.

(d) Si l'autorité désignée du pays d'exportation n'a reçu aucune réponse dans les 30 jours mentionnés au paragraphe c) du présent article, il est considéré que le pays d'importation ne s'oppose pas à l'exportation des déchets dangereux et autres déchets faisant l'objet de l'avis, et l'exportation peut se faire à la condition que les personnes important les déchets dangereux et autres déchets respectent toutes les lois applicables du pays d'importation.

(e) Le pays d'importation a le droit de modifier les conditions relatives à l'envoi proposé qui sont mentionnées dans l'avis.

(f) S'il a de bonnes raisons de le faire, le pays d'importation retire son consentement ou modifie celui-ci, que ce consentement ait été donné explicitement, implicitement ou conditionnellement conformément aux paragraphes c) et d) du présent article. Le cas échéant,les Parties modifient ou retirent leur consentement, autant que possible, au moment le plus approprié pour les personnes intéressées.

(g) Pour les fis du présent article et de l'article 5, les exigences relatives aux manifestes peuvent, en ce qui concerne les autres déchets, être remplacées par d'autres exigences de localisation.

Article 4 - Avis à donner au pays de transit

(a) L'autorité désignée du pays d'exportation avise l'autorité désignée du pays de transit de l'envoi proposé de déchets dangereux et autres déchets au moins sept jours avant la date de l'envoi. L'avis requis renferme les renseignements indiqués au paragraphe b) de l'article 3 avec les exceptions suivantes:

(i) Le point d'entrée dans le pays de transit et le point de sortie de celui-ci sont indiqués à la place du point d'entrée dans le pays d'importation; et

(ii) Des détails sur le temps approximatif de séjour des déchets dangereux et autres déchets dans le pays de transit et sur la manutention de ces déchets pendant leur séjour dans ce pays sont donnés à la place de la description du mode de traitement, d'entreposage ou d'elimination des déchets dans le pays d'importation.

Article 5 - Collaboration

  1. Les Parties collaborent afin d'assurer, dans la mesure du possible, que tous les envois transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et autres déchets respectent les exigences des deux pays en ce qui concerne les manifestes.
  2. Les Parties collaborent à des activités de surveillance et de vérification au hasard des envois transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et autres déchets pour s'assurer, dans la mesure du possible, que ces envois répondent aux exigences des lois applicables et du présent Accord.
  3. Dans la mesure où des lois et règlements sont nécessaires à l'application du présent Accord, les Parties voient promptement à les promulguer conformément aux lois de leur pays. En attendant la promulgation de ces règlement, elles s'efforcent du mieux possible de fournir les avis requis conformément au présent Accord lorsque les pouvoirs réglementaires existants sont insuffisants. Elles envoient une note diplomatique à l'autre partie lorsque les lois ou règlements voulus sont promulgués et entrent en vigueur.

Article 6 - Rentrée des envois

Le pays d'exportation permet la rentrée de tout envoi de déchets dangereux et autres déchets qui est retourné par le pays d'importation ou de transit.

Article 7 - Application des lois en vigueur dans chaque pays

Dans la mesure du possible, les Parties s'assurent que dans les limites de leurs compétences respectives leurs lois et règlements en vigueur soient appliqués en ce qui a trait au transport, à l'entreposage, au traitement et à l'élimination des envois transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et autres déchets.

Article 8 - Protection des données confidentielles

Lorsque la présentation de renseignements techniques conformément aux articles 3 et 4 entraînerait la divulgation de renseignements visés par des accords de confidentialité entre une Partie et un exportateur ou un expéditeur, le pays d'exportation fait tous les efforts pour obtenir le consentement de l'intéressé en vue de la divulgation des renseignements en question au pays d'importation ou de transit. Le pays d'importation ou de transit fait tous les efforts pour protéger la confidentialité des renseignements fournis.

Article 9 - Assurance

Les Parties peuvent exiger, comme condition d'entrée, que tout transport transfrontalier de déchets dangereux et autres déchets soit couvert par une assurance ou une autre forme de garantie d'ordre financier pour l'indemnisation des dommages qui pourraient être causés à des tiers durant toute partie du transport des déchets, y compris le chargement et le déchargement.

Article 10 - Effet sur les accords internationaux

Le présent Accord n'a pas pour effet de réduire les obligations des Parties relativement à l'immersion de déchets dangereux et autres déchets en mer suivant la Convention de Londres sur l'immersion des déchets de 1972.

Article 11 - Lois internes

Cet Accord est soumis aux lois et règlements applicable des Parties

Article 12 - Modification

Le présent Accord peut être modifié par consentement mutuel indiqué dans un document écrit par les Parties ou leurs représentants autorisés.

Article 13 - Entrée en vigueur et durée d'application

Le présent Accord entre en vigueur le 8 novembre 1986 et il le reste pendant cinq ans. Il est automatiquement renouvelé pour des périodes additionnelles de cinq ans, à moins que, trois mois avant l'expiration de l'une des périodes de cinq ans, l'une des Parties informe l'autre, par écrit, de son intention d'y mettre fin. Durant toute période de cing ans, l'une ou l'autre des Parties peut également y mettre fin en tout temps avec un préavis écrit d'un an donné à l'autre Partie.

En Foi De Quoi, les soussignés, dûment autorisés par leurs Gouvernments respectifs, ont signé le présent Accord.

Fait en double exemplaire à Ottawa, ce 28ième jour d'octobre 1986, en français et en anglais, les deux versions faisant également foi.

Date de modification :