2012 Statistics on the International Movements of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material

General Information
2012 Statistics on the International Movements of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material

  1. Imports
  2. Exports
  3. Transits

PDF version - 681 KB

General Information

In Canada, the management of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material is a shared responsibility between all levels of government. The Government of Canada is responsible for regulating the international movements of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material.

International agreements play a key role in responding to environmental issues in Canada and abroad. Canada is party to three international agreements on the transboundary movements of hazardous waste, which are the United Nations Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Decision of Council on the Control of Transfrontier Movements of Wastes Destined for Recovery Operations, and the Canada–US Agreement Concerning the Transboundary Movement of Hazardous Waste.

In order to implement the terms of these international agreements, Canada relies on regulations made under the authority of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. In 1992, regulations were introduced to control and track movements of hazardous waste. In 2005, Canada improved and reinforced its former control regime by adopting the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR).

The EIHWHRMR regulate international movements of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material out of, into and through Canada. The statistics presented below show the status of imports, exports and transits for the year 2012. They also present information on the type of operation to be conducted on the hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material following the import, export or transit. The disposal and recycling operations described in this document are listed in Schedules 1 and 2 of the EIHWHRMR.

2012 Statistics on the International Movements of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material

The total quantity of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material exported from Canada has been increasing since 2009 (Figure 1). In general, imports of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material have been decreasing since 2008. The total quantity of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material transiting through Canada decreased for the first time since 2006.

Figure 1: Exports, Imports and Transits of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material 2003–2012

Figure 1. Exports, Imports and Transits for years 2003-2012

Description of Figure 1

The total quantity of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material exported from Canada shows an increase since 2009. The general trend in importation since 2008 shows a reduction of importation of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material. After a significant increase since 2006, the total quantity of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material transiting through Canada has been decreasing for the first time since that time. The total imported quantity of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material decreased by 13%, from approximately 394 000 metric tons in 2011 to 342 000 metric tonnes in 2012. In 2012, the quantities of hazardous material destined for recycling has stayed similar compare to 2011 while the quantity of hazardous waste intended for disposal has decreased by 33% from 2011 to 2012.

1. Imports

The total imported quantity of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material decreased by 13%, from approximately 394,000 metric tonnes in 2011 to 342,000 metric tonnes in 2012 (Figure 1). In 2012, the quantity of hazardous material destined for recycling was relatively stable compared to 2011, while the quantity of hazardous waste intended for disposal decreased by 33% from 2011.

Of the total quantity of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material imported in 2012, 70% was hazardous material destined for recycling and 30% was hazardous waste destined for disposal (Figure 2). In 2011, the proportions were 62% and 38% respectively.

Figure 2: Type of Operation for 2012 Canadian Imports of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material

Figure 2: 2012 Canadian Imports by Type of Operation

Description of Figure 2

Of the total quantity of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material imported in 2012, 70% were hazardous material destined for recycling and 30% were hazardous waste destined for disposal while in 2011, the proportions were 62% and 38% respectively.

As in 2011, more than 99% of the imported quantity of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material originated from the United States. The majority of the remaining imports came from Nigeria, Russia and United Kingdom.

The hazardous waste imported for disposal in 2012 included: halogenated organic solvents, non-halogenated organic solvents, hexavalent chromium compounds and lead and its compounds. The hazardous recyclable material imported for recycling included: lead batteries, hydraulic fluids, waste liquor from the pickling of metals and non-halogenated organic solvents.

The hazardous waste imported for disposal either underwent physical or chemical treatment (43%), were incinerated or thermally treated (18%), were sent to specially engineered landfills (32%) or underwent biological treatment (4%) (Figure 3). The remaining 3% underwent interim operations such as interim storage or blending or mixing prior to disposal.

Figure 3: 2012 Canadian Imports of Hazardous Waste by Disposal Operation

Figure 3: 2012 Canadian Imports by Disposal Operation

Description of Figure 3

Imports of hazardous waste destined for disposal either underwent physical or chemical treatment (43%), were incinerated or thermally treated (18%), were sent to specially engineered landfills (32%) or underwent biological treatment (4%). The remaining 3% included interim storage prior disposal or blending or mixing prior to disposal.

As for the hazardous recyclable material imported in 2012, the majority was destined for various recovery operations such as recovery of metals and metal compounds (52%), re-refining of used oil (24%) and recovery of a recyclable material (16%) (Figure 4).

Figure 4: 2012 Canadian Imports of Hazardous Recyclable Material by Recycling Operation

Figure 4: 2012 Canadian Imports by Recycling Operation

Description of Figure 4

As for the hazardous recyclable material imported in 2012, the majority was destined for various recovering process such as: recovery of metals and metal compounds (52%), the re-refining of used oil (24%) or the recovery recyclable material (16%). There was also recovery or regeneration of a substance (2%), Use of residual materials (2%) and use as fuel for energy recovery (3%).

In 2012, imports of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material were destined to six Canadian provinces, with Quebec and Ontario receiving 93% of all imports into Canada. The other four provinces that received imports of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material were British Columbia, New Brunswick, and to a lesser extend Alberta and Manitoba. No imports of hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material were made into any of the territories or other provinces (Figure 5).

Figure 5: Comparison of 2011-2012 Canadian Imports of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material by Province

Figure 5: Comparison of 2011-2012 Canadian Imports by Province

Description of Figure 5

In 2012, imports of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material were destined to six Canadian provinces, with Quebec and Ontario receiving 93% of all imports into Canada. The other four provinces that received imports of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material were British Columbia, New Brunswick, and to a lesser extend Alberta and Manitoba. No imports of hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material were made into any of the territories or other provinces.

2. Exports

In 2012, exports of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material increased by 10%, from approximately 460 000 metric tonnes in 2011 to approximately 506 000 metric tonnes (Figure 1). Of the total quantity exported in 2012, about 82% was destined for recycling and 18% was destined for disposal (Figure 6). In 2011, the proportions were similar with respectively 81% and 19%. In 2012, the quantity exported for recycling increased by 10% from 2011, while the quantity exported for disposal increased by 8%.

Figure 6: Type of Operation for 2012 Canadian Exports of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material

Figure 6: 2012 Canadian Exports by Type of Operation

Description of Figure 6

Of the total quantity exported in 2012, about 82% was destined for recycling and 18% was destined for disposal.

As in 2011, the majority of all exports of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials, 98%, was destined to the United States. The remaining 2% was exported to Germany, Belgium and Republic of Korea.

Hazardous waste exported for disposal in 2012 included waste acidic or basic solutions, waste oil/water, waste from industrial pollution control devices and waste contaminated with inorganic cyanides.

Hazardous recyclable materials exported in 2012 included waste acidic or basic solutions, materials from the manufacture, formulation and use of wood preserving chemicals, and lead-acid batteries.

The majority of exports of hazardous waste destined for disposal underwent physical or chemical treatment (35%), were disposed of in specially engineered landfill (24%), were permanently injected in soil (14%), were incinerated or followed a thermal treatment (12%), or were mixed or blended prior to their final disposal (15%) (Figure 7). In this case, the final disposal was typically incineration or physical or chemical treatment.

Figure 7: 2012 Canadian Exports of Hazardous Waste by Disposal Operation

Figure 7: 2012 Canadian Exports by Disposal Operation

Description of Figure 7

The majority of exports of hazardous waste destined for disposal underwent physical or chemical treatment (35%), were disposed in specially engineered landfill (24%), were permanently injected in soil (14%), or were incinerated or followed a thermal treatment (12%) or were mixed or blended prior to their final disposal (15%).

As for the hazardous recyclable materials exported in 2012, the majority was sent in order to regenerate acids or bases (31%), to recover metals and metal compounds (22%), to be used as fuel for energy recovery (11%) or for others types of recovery or recycling (Figure 8).

Figure 8: 2012 Canadian Exports of Hazardous Recyclable Material by Recycling Operation

Figure 8: 2012 Canadian Exports by Recycling Operation

Description of Figure 8

As for the hazardous recyclable materials exported in 2012, the majority were principally sent in order to regenerate acids or bases (31%), to recover metals and metal compounds (22%), to be used as fuel for energy recovery (11%) or for others types of recovery or recycling.

In 2012, exports of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material originated from eight provinces, with Ontario accounting for 38% of the total quantity (Figure 9). Manitoba more than doubled its exports of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials compared to 2011. Newfoundland and Labrador did not export any hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material in 2012 as opposed to 2011. No export was made from Prince Edward Island and the three territories.

Figure 9: Comparison of 2011-2012 Canadian Exports of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material by Province

Figure 9: Comparison of 2011-2012 Canadian Exports by Province

Description of Figure 9

In 2012, exports of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material originated from eight provinces, with Ontario accounting for 38% of the total quantity. Manitoba has more than doubled its exports of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials compared to 2011. There was exportation of 80 tonnes of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials from Nova Scotia in 2012. Newfoundland and Labrador did not report exportation of any hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material in 2012 as oppose to 2011. No exports information was also notified for Prince Edward Island and the three territories.

3. Transits

In 2012, the quantity of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material that transited through Canada was about 35,800 metric tonnes. This is a decrease of 40% or about 22,000 metric tonnes compared to 2011 (Figure 1). As in the previous year, the majority of the transits through Canada were shipments between U.S. states.

Of the total quantity of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material transiting in Canada, almost all (about 35,600 metric tonnes), was destined for disposal while the rest was destined for recycling. About 94% of the hazardous wastes that were conveyed in transit through Canada were wastes from the production, formulation and use of biocides and phytopharmaceuticals, which were destined for disposal by incineration or thermal treatment.

For more information, please visit Environment Canada’s Hazardous Waste and Recyclable Material website or contact:

Waste Reduction and Management Division
Environment Canada
Notification@ec.gc.ca
1-844-524-5295

Date modified:

Statistiques de 2012 sur les mouvements internationaux de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses

Contexte
Statistiques de 2012 sur les mouvements internationaux de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses

  1. Importations
  2. Exportations
  3. Transits

Version PDF - 706 Ko

Contexte

Au Canada, la responsabilité de la gestion des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses est partagée entre tous les niveaux du gouvernement. Le gouvernement du Canada, quant à lui, réglemente les mouvements internationaux de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses.

Les accords internationaux jouent un rôle essentiel dans la gestion des enjeux environnementaux au Canada et à l’étranger. À cet égard, le Canada a adhéré aux accords internationaux suivants : la Convention de Bâle sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de leur élimination, la Décision du Conseil de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) concernant le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets destinés à des opérations de valorisation, et l’Accord entre le Canada et les États-Unis concernant les déplacements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux.

Le Canada applique les accords internationaux auxquels il a adhéré en adoptant des règlements internes en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999). En 1992, le Canada a introduit un règlement afin de contrôler et surveiller les mouvements de déchets dangereux. En 2005, le Canada a amélioré et renforcé l’ancien régime en adoptant le Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses(REIDDMRD).

Le REIDDMRD régit les mouvements internationaux de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses au Canada. Les statistiques présentées ci-dessous montrent le statut des importations, exportations et transits pour l’année 2012. Elles présentent aussi des renseignements sur le type d’opérations conduites sur les déchets dangereux ou les matières recyclables dangereuses suite à leur importation, exportation ou transit. Les opérations d’élimination et de recyclage décrites dans ce document sont énumérées dans les Annexes 1 et 2 du REIDDMRD.

Statistiques de 2012 sur les mouvements internationaux de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses

La quantité totale de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses exportée par le Canada est en augmentation depuis 2009 (Figure 1). En général, la quantité totale de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses importée par le Canada a diminuée depuis 2008. La quantité totale de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses transitant par le Canada a diminué en 2012 pour la première fois depuis 2006.

Figure 1 : Exportations, importations et transits de déchets dangereux et matières recyclables dangereuses 2003-2012

Figure 1: Exportations, importations et transits de 2003-2012

Description longue de la figure 1

La quantité totale de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses exportée par le Canada est en augmentation depuis 2009. En général la quantité totale de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses importée par le Canada a diminuée depuis 2008. Après des hausses significatives depuis 2006, la quantité totale de déchets dangereux et matières recyclables dangereuses transitant par le Canada a diminué en 2012 pour la première fois depuis ce temps. La quantité totale de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses importée a diminué de 12 %, passant d’environ 394 000 tonnes métriques en 2011 à 347 000 tonnes métriques en 2012. En 2012, les quantités de matières dangereuses importées destinées au recyclage n’ont pas beaucoup variés par rapport à 2011 alors que les quantités de déchets dangereux destinés à l’élimination ont diminué de 33 % de 2011 à 2012.

1. Importations

La quantité totale de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses importée a diminué de 13 %, passant d’environ 394 000 tonnes métriques en 2011 à 342 000 tonnes métriques en 2012 (Figure 1). En 2012, la quantité de matières dangereuses importées à des fins de recyclage n’a pas beaucoup varié par rapport à 2011 tandis que la quantité de déchets dangereux destinés à l’élimination a diminué de 33 % de 2011 à 2012.

De la quantité totale de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables importée en 2012, 70 % étaient des matières destinées au recyclage et 30 % étaient des déchets importés à des fins d’élimination (Figure 2). En 2011, les proportions étaient de 62 % et 38 % respectivement.

Figure 2 : Type d'opération pour les importations canadiennes de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses de 2012

Figure 2: Importations canadiennes en 2012 par type d'opération

Description longue de la figure 2

De la quantité totale de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables importée en 2012, 70 % étaient des matières destinées au recyclage et 30 % étaient des déchets importés à des fins d’élimination tandis qu’en 2011, les proportions étaient de 62 % et 38 % respectivement.

Comme en 2011, plus de 99 % de la quantité de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses importés provenait des États-Unis. Les autres importations provenaient principalement du Nigeria, de la Russie et du Royaume-Uni.

Parmi les déchets dangereux importés pour élimination en 2012, on retrouvait des solvants organiques halogénés, des solvants organiques non-halogénés, des composés du chrome hexavalent, du plomb et de ses composés. Dans la liste des matières dangereuses importées pour être recyclées, nous retrouvions des accumulateurs électriques au plomb, des fluides hydrauliques, des liqueurs provenant du décapage de métaux ainsi que des solvants organiques non-halogénés.

Les déchets dangereux importés à des fins d’élimination ont soit subi un traitement chimique ou physique (43 %), une incinération ou un traitement thermique (18 %), ont été envoyés à des décharges spécialement aménagées (32 %) ou ont subi un traitement biologique (4 %) (Figure 3). Les 3 % restants ont subi des opérations intérimaires telles que l’entreposage provisoire, le regroupement ou le mélange avant l’élimination finale.

Figure 3 : Importations canadiennes de déchets dangereux de 2012 par opération d'élimination

Figure 3: Importations canadiennes en 2012 par opération d'élimination

Description longue de la figure 3

Les déchets dangereux importés destinés à des fins d’élimination ont soit subi un traitement chimique ou physique (43 %), l’incinération ou un traitement thermique (18 %), été envoyés à des décharges spécialement aménagées (32 %) ou subi un traitement biologique (4 %). Les 3 % restants ont subi des opérations intérimaires telles que l’entreposage provisoire avant disposition ou le regroupement ou le mélange avant la disposition.

Quant aux matières recyclables dangereuses importées en 2012, la majorité était destinée à divers types d’opération de récupération comme la récupération de métaux ou composés métalliques (52 %), le ré-raffinage ou autres réemplois des huiles usées (24 %) et le réemploi d’une matière recyclable (16 %) (Figure 4). 

Figure 4 : Importations canadiennes de matières recyclables dangereuses de 2012 par opération de recyclage

Figure 4: Importations canadiennes en 2012 par opération de recyclage

Description longue de la figure 4

Quant aux matières recyclables dangereuses importées en 2012, la majorité était destinée à divers types de récupération: récupération de métaux ou composés métalliques (52%), le re-raffinage ou autres réemplois des huiles usées (24%) ou le réemploi de matière recyclable (16%). Il y avait aussi la récupération ou régénération de solvants (2%), l’utilisation de matériaux résiduels (2%) et l’utilisation comme combustible pour recouvrement d’énergie (3%).

En 2012, les importations canadiennes de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses étaient destinées à six provinces, avec le Québec et l’Ontario recevant près de 93 % de la quantité importée. Les quatre autres provinces étaient la Colombie-Britannique, le Nouveau-Brunswick et, dans une moindre mesure, l’Alberta et le Manitoba. Aucune importation de déchets dangereux ou de matières recyclables dangereuses n’a été faite par les autres provinces ou territoires (Figure 5).

Figure 5 : Comparaison des importations canadiennes de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses en 2011 et 2012 par province

Figure 5: Comparaison des importations canadiennes en 2011 et 2012 par province

Description longue de la figure 5

En 2012, les importations canadiennes de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses étaient destinées à six provinces, avec le Québec et l’Ontario recevant près de 93 % de la quantité importée. Les quatre autres provinces ayant reçu des importations de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses étaient la Colombie-Britannique, le Nouveau-Brunswick et dans une moindre mesure l’Alberta et le Manitoba. Aucune importation de déchets dangereux ou de matières recyclables dangereuses n’a été faite par les autres provinces ou territoires.

2. Exportations

En 2012, les exportations de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses ont augmenté de 10 %, passant de 460 000 tonnes métriques en 2011 à environ 506 000 tonnes métriques (Figure 1). De la quantité totale exportée en 2012, 82 % était destinée à des opérations de recyclage et 18 % était destinée à l’élimination (Figure 6). En 2011, les proportions étaient similaires à 81 % et 19 % respectivement. En 2012, la quantité exportée destinée à des fins de recyclage a augmenté de 10 % par rapport à 2011, tandis que celle destinée à des fins d’élimination a augmenté de 8 %.

Figure 6 : Type d'opération pour les exportations canadiennes de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses de 2012

Figure 6: Exportations canadiennes en 2012 par type d'opération

Description longue de la figure 6

De la quantité totale exportée en 2012, 82% était destinée à des opérations de recyclage et 18% était destinée à l’élimination.

Comme en 2011, la majorité des exportations de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses, 98 %, ont été acheminées aux États-Unis. Les autres déchets dangereux ou matières recyclables dangereuses ont été exportés en Allemagne, en Belgique et en République de Corée.

Parmi les déchets dangereux exportés en 2012 pour l’élimination, on retrouvait des déchets de solutions acides ou basiques, des déchets de mélanges et/ou émulsions huile/eau ou hydrocarbure/eau, des déchets provenant des installations industrielles antipollution et des déchets contaminés par du cyanure inorganique.

Les matières dangereuses exportées en 2012 pour être recyclées étaient des solutions acides ou basiques, des matières issues de la fabrication, de la préparation et de l'utilisation de produits chimiques destinés à la préservation du bois et des accumulateurs électriques au plomb et à l’acide.

La majorité des déchets dangereux exportés à des fins d’élimination a subi un traitement physique ou chimique (35 %), une mise en décharge spécialement aménagée (24 %), une injection en profondeur (14 %), une incinération ou un traitement thermique (12 %) enfin d’autres déchets ont été regroupés ou mélangés préalablement à leur élimination finale (15 %) (Figure 7). Dans ce dernier cas, l’élimination finale a été soit l’incinération ou un traitement physique ou chimique.

Figure 7 : Exportations canadiennes de déchets dangereux de 2012 par opération d'élimination

Figure 7: Exportations canadiennes en 2012 par opération d'élimination

Description longue de la figure 7

La majorité des déchets dangereux exportés à des fins d’élimination ont soit subi un traitement physique ou chimique (35%), ont été mis en décharge spécialement aménagée (24%), injectés en profondeur (14%), incinérés ou subit un traitement thermique (12%) et enfin d’autres déchets ont été regroupés ou mélangés préalablement à leur élimination finale (15%).

La majorité des matières recyclables dangereuses exportées en 2012 a été envoyée à l’étranger afin de régénérer des acides ou des bases (31 %), de récupérer des métaux ou des composés métalliques (22 %), pour accumulation préalable au recyclage (15 %), pour utilisation comme combustible pour recouvrement d’énergie (11 %) (Figure 8).

Figure 8 : Exportations canadiennes de matières recyclables dangereuses de 2012 par opération de recyclage

Figure 8: Exportations canadiennes en 2012 par opération de recyclage

Description longue de la figure 8

La majorité des matières recyclables dangereuses exportées en 2012 ont été envoyées à l’étranger afin principalement de régénérer des acides ou des bases (31 %), de récupérer des métaux ou des composés métalliques (22 %), pour utilisation comme combustible pour le recouvrement d’énergie (11%) ou pour d’autres types de recyclage ou récupération.

En 2012, les exportations de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses provenaient de huit provinces, avec l’Ontario représentant 38 % de la quantité totale (Figure 9). Le Manitoba a plus que doublé ses exportations de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses par rapport à 2011. Aucune activité d’exportation n’a été faite de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador contrairement à l’année 2011 et il n’y a toujours pas eu d’exportation effectuée à partir de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et des trois territoires.

Figure 9 : Comparaison des exportations canadiennes de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses en 2011 et 2012 par province

Figure 9: Comparaison des exportations canadiennes en 2011 et 2012 par province

Description longue de la figure 9

En 2012, l’exportation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses provenait de huit provinces, avec l’Ontario représentant 38 % de la quantité totale. Le Manitoba a plus que doublé ses exportations de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses par rapport à 2011. Il y eu exportation de 80 tonnes de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses provenant de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Aucune activité d’exportation n’a été rapportée de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador contrairement à l’année 2011 et il n’y a toujours pas eu d’exportation à partir de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et des trois territoires.

3. Transits

En 2012, la quantité de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses transitant par le Canada était d’environ 35 800 tonnes métriques. Il s’agit de 40 % de moins qu’en 2011, soit une baisse d’environ 22 000 tonnes métriques (Figure 1). Tout comme l’année précédente, la majorité des transits de 2012 ont été effectués entre des états américains.

De la quantité totale de déchets dangereux et matières recyclables dangereuses ayant transité au Canada en 2012, presque tous (35 600 tonnes métriques) était destinée à des opérations d’élimination, tandis que le reste étaient destiné à des opérations de recyclage. Un peu plus de 94 % des déchets dangereux en transit au Canada étaient des déchets provenant de la production, la formulation et l’utilisation de biocides et de produits phytopharmaceutiques destinés à l’élimination par incinération ou traitement thermique à terre.

Pour en savoir davantage, veuillez consulter le site Web Déchets dangereux et matière recyclable dangereuses d’Environnement Canada ou communiquer avec :

Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets
Environnement Canada
Notification@ec.gc.ca
1-844-524-5295

Date de modification :