This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Technical Document for Batch Waste Incineration

1.0 Introduction

1.1 Purpose

This Technical Document for Batch Waste Incinerationwas developed to provide guidance for owners and operators of batch waste incinerators regarding proper system selection, operation, maintenance and record keeping, with the goals of assisting them in achieving the intent of the Canada-wide Standards (CWS) for dioxins/furans and mercury, and reducing releases of other toxic substances. This technical document focuses on batch waste incinerators ranging in size from 50 to 3,000 kg of waste/batch. Batch waste incinerators are those that operate in a non-continuous manner (i.e. they are charged with waste prior to the initiation of the burn cycle, and the door remains closed until the ash has cooled inside the primary chamber). Air emission testing completed by Environment Canada in 2002 using a modern Canadian-built batch waste incinerator revealed that, when properly operated and maintained, these systems are capable of meeting the CWS for dioxins/furans (80 pg I-TEQ/Rm³@ 11% O2) and mercury. Stack testing can be carried out as required by the regulatory authorities in order to verify that these standards are met.

The document includes:

  • A discussion on the importance of reducing, reusing and recycling to divert wastes from disposal;
  • Methods for the selection of appropriate incineration technologies to meet specific waste management requirements;
  • Operational requirements that should allow batch waste incinerators to meet the intent of the CWS for dioxins/furans and mercury, and to reduce the release of other toxic substances; and
  • Recommendations on record keeping and reporting.

Owners and operators are advised to undertake a full review of relevant local legislation and consult with the appropriate regulators before proceeding with any waste management operation.

1.2 Background

Incineration is recognized as an effective and environmentally sound disposal method for a wide range of wastes, and is used in facilities and jurisdictions across Canada. Waste generators located in remote areas may have limited options for cost-effective and environmentally sound waste management, and incineration may therefore be considered an appropriate waste management option. Remote commercial activities, such as exploration and development of natural resources, can create large volumes and varieties of wastes that must be managed appropriately. Residual wastes from industry, research activities, and the health care sector may require thermal treatment as an environmentally sound method to control the spread of disease from plants, animals or humans. Furthermore, there are certain locations in Canada where incinerating waste is an important means of avoiding potentially dangerous interactions between humans and wildlife. In all cases, reduction and diversion should be the primary waste management objectives, prior to considering any disposal option.

This section provides background information on batch waste incineration, including: substances of concern; international and national initiatives; and provincial/territorial initiatives.

1.2.1 Substances of Concern

There are some important potential environmental concerns associated with waste incineration that can be addressed through proper equipment selection, operation, maintenance and record keeping. These include potential releases of polychlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins and polychlorinated dibenzofurans (PCDD/F), which are persistent organic pollutants (POPs), and mercury.

Dioxins and Furans

Polychlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins and polychlorinated dibenzofurans (PCDDD/F), commonly known as dioxins/furans (D/F) , are toxic, persistent, bioaccumulative, and result predominantly from human activity.

Data from the measurement of dioxins/furans in the North shows that these chemicals are frequently found at concentrations far in excess of those that might be explained by local production. With the increased social and economic development in Canada's North, it is important to control these persistent chemicals.

Dioxins and furans can be generated from incomplete combustion resulting from the use of inadequate technology and/or operating the incinerator improperly.

Mercury

Another possible contaminant released from incinerators is mercury. Mercury bio-accumulates in the environment and, like POPs, is found in polar regions at higher concentrations than can be explained by local anthropogenic releases.

Mercury is not emitted from the incinerator unless items containing mercury are placed into the incinerator. The best method to control mercury releases is therefore to limit the amount of mercury in the waste fed to the incinerator.

1.2.2 International and National Initiatives

Over the years, Canada has participated in numerous initiatives to reduce dioxins and furans as well as mercury releases such as:

  • Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants;
  • CCMEPolicy for Management of Toxic Substances;
  • Federal Toxics Substances Management Policy (TSMP),
  • Canada Wide Standards for Dioxins and Furans;
  • Canada Wide Standards for Mercury; and,
  • Chemicals Management Plan.
Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants

Canada is a Party to the Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs), which entered into force in May 2004. The Stockholm Convention sets out a range of measures to reduce and, where feasible, eliminate POP releasesFootnote 2.

Incineration was identified as a potential source of the POPs listed in Article 5 of the Stockholm Convention. Article 5 of the Convention requires Parties to take measures to reduce, and where feasible, eliminate releases of unintentionally produced POPs, including dioxins, furans, hexachlorobenzene (HCB) and dioxin-like polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) which are "unintentionally formed and released from thermal processes involving organic matter and chlorine as a result of incomplete combustion or chemical reactions".

Article 5 also requires that Best Available Techniques (BAT) and Best Environmental Practices (BEP) be applied for both new and substantially modified sources. "Best Available Techniques" are defined as using the most effective and advanced techniques that can be practically adopted to:

  • prevent or minimize harmful emissions of by-product POPs and other environmental impacts; or,
  • reduce by-product POPs releases to acceptable limits.

"Best Available Techniques" techniques can be applied by an operator to a specific facility since they have been developed to a state that they are economical and technically viable. Similarly, "best environmental practices" implies the application of the most appropriate combination of environmental control measures and strategies. Annex C states that for the purposes of the Convention there are a series of measures that are appropriate:

"Improvements in waste management with the aim of the cessation of open and other uncontrolled burning of wastes, including the burning of landfill sites. When considering proposals to construct new waste disposal facilities, consideration should be given to alternatives such as activities to minimize the generation of municipal and medical waste, including resource recovery, reuse, recycling, waste separation and promoting products that generate less waste."

CCMEPolicy for Management of Toxic Substances and the Federal Toxics Substances Management Policy

Canada took steps to improve the management of POPs even before the Stockholm Convention was adopted. Polychlorinated dioxins-p-dioxins (PCDD) and polychlorinated dibenzofurans (PCDF) were designated as Track 1 substances and scheduled for virtual elimination from the Canadian environment under the 1995 federal Toxic Substances Management PolicyFootnote 3 and the 1998 CCMEPolicy for the Management of Toxic SubstancesFootnote 4. PCDD/Fare on the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999Footnote 5.

Under the federal 1995 Toxic Substances Management Policy and the 1998 CCMEPolicy for Management of Toxic Substances, mercury was designated as a Track 2 substance. As such, mercury must be managed through its life cycle to minimize releases. Mercury is on the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA 1999).

Canada-wide Standards for Dioxins and Furans

The Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) examined the incidental release of dioxins and furans in emissions from various combustion systems. This led to the development of the Canada-wide Standards for Dioxins and Furans, which were adopted by the CCME in 2001. The standards identify incineration for action to reduce emissions, and include specific air emission standards.

In a 2007 review of the Dioxins and Furans Canada-wide Standards for waste incinerationFootnote 6, a series of recommendations were made by the Dioxins and Furans Incineration Canada-wide Standards Review Group regarding batch incinerators in remote locations. These recommendations suggest that:

  • The company/department should take appropriate measures to ensure good operation and provide adequate records of such operation;
  • The company/department should only use incinerators that are equipped with monitoring equipment (temperature probes, differential pressure meters and auxiliary fuel flow) to ensure that proper operation is maintained. The monitoring equipment should be connected to a computer which will continuously log the data recorded;
  • All installations should install weigh scales to record the weight of each load charged to the incinerator;
  • All data from these systems should be available to inspectors;
  • The computerized data acquisition equipment should be integrated with all the operating controls of the incinerator in a manner that would facilitate remote access to the data to enable the manufacturer to assist the operator with trouble shooting the operation;
  • Operators should be trained, either through an appropriate site specific training program or through a certification program provided by a qualified body;
  • Operators should be instructed to distinguish between broad categories of waste, in terms of their calorific value, and be given clear instructions on how much from each category is suitable for charging to the primary chamber for a given batch;
  • All facilities should be required to file, with the appropriate regulatory authority, their annual waste throughput data. This filing should include details on the quantity and disposition of residues discharged from the facility.
Canada-wide Standards for Mercury

The Canada Wide Standards for Mercury Emissions were adopted in 2000 in order to reduce atmospheric emissions derived from both deliberate use of mercury and from incidental releases of mercuryFootnote 7. The standards include limits for mercury emissions from waste incinerators.

The Mercury Containing Product Stewardship: Manual for Federal FacilitiesFootnote 8provides useful information on how to develop an inventory of mercury within a facility, reducing mercury through life-cycle management practices, and monitoring and reporting on mercury stewardship activities.

Chemicals Management Plan

Canada 's efforts to improve the environment have also led to new measures under the Chemicals Management Plan (CMP)Footnote 9, which was first brought forward in 2006. The CMP develops measures to better protect human health and the environment from the risks posed by chemical substances. Since CEPA was adopted, all new chemicals have received rigorous pre-market assessments; however, approximately 23,000 "legacy" chemicals were in use in Canada before CEPA came into effect. The CMPidentified a list of 193 substances as priority for action. Industry is required to provide Environment Canada and Health Canada with information regarding these substances on a quarterly basis within the next three years. The information that is received, along with that gathered from other sources, will be assessed and used to decide, if necessary, the appropriate actions required to protect the health of Canadians and the environment.

The Waste Sector has been identified as a sector under the CMP due to potential releases to the environment from incinerators and landfills.

1.2.3 Provincial / Territorial Initiatives

The CWS for both dioxins/furans and mercury have been incorporated into regulations related to new incinerators in various provinces. One example is the Ontario Guideline A-7Footnote 10 which incorporated the CWS emission values for new incinerators shortly after they were adopted and Guideline A-7Footnote 11which clarified the approach for existing facilities in 2004. In many cases, the adoption of the CWS by provincial regulators has resulted in the closure of older incineration facilities. Some facilities have been upgraded to meet the new standards.

Footnotes

Footnote 2

At the Conference of Plenipotentiaries on the Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants, held May 22 to 23 2001 in Stockholm, Sweden, the Convention was adopted and opened for Signature. It remained open for signature at the United Nations Headquarters, Treaty Section, in New York, until May 22, 2002. Available on-line at: http://chm.pops.int/

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Environment Canada, Toxic Substances Management Policy. 1995. Available at http://www.ec.gc.ca/toxics/TSMP/en/tsmp.pdf

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

CCME, 1998. CCMEPolicy for the Management of Toxics Substances. January 29, 1998. Available at http://www.ccme.ca/assets/pdf/toxics_policy_e.pdf

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

CEPA, 1999. Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. 1999, c. 33 (Assented to September 14, 1999). Available at http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/C-15.31/

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Chandler, A.J., 2007. Review of Dioxins and Furans from Incineration In Support of a Canada-wide Standard Review A Report Prepared for The Dioxins and Furans Incineration Review Group through a contract associated with CCMEProject #390-2007. Available at: http://www.ccme.ca/assets/pdf/1395_d_f_review_chandler_e.pdf

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME). Canada-Wide Standard for Mercury Emissions, 2000. Available at: http://www.ccme.ca/ourwork/air.html?category_id=87

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

Mercury-containing Product Stewardship: Manual for Federal Facilities. (2004). Environment Canada. Available at http://www.ec.gc.ca/Mercury/ffmis-simif/Manual/index.aspx?lang=E

Return to footnote 8 referrer

Footnote 9

Chemicals Management Plan (CMP), 2006 Notice of intent to develop and implement measures to assess and manage the risks posed by certain substances to the health of Canadians and their environment. Under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. http://www.chemicalsubstanceschimiques.gc.ca/en/index.html

Return to footnote 9 referrer

Footnote 10

Ontario Ministry of the Environment, 2004. GUIDELINE A-7 Combustion and Air Pollution Control Requirements for New Municipal Waste Incinerators. Legislative Authority: Environmental Protection Act, Part V, Section 27, and Part II, Section 9. Last revision February, 2004. Available at: http://www.ene.gov.on.ca/envision/gp/1746e.pdf

Return to footnote 10 referrer

Footnote 11

Ontario Ministry of the Environment, 2004. GUIDELINE A-8 Guideline for the Implementation of Canada-wide Standards for Emissions of Mercury and of Dioxins and Furans and Monitoring and Reporting Requirements for Municipal Waste Incinerators Biomedical Waste Incinerators Sewage Sludge Incinerators Hazardous Waste Incinerators Steel Manufacturing Electric Arc Furnaces Iron Sintering Plants. Legislative Authority: Environmental Protection Act, Part V, Section 27, and Part II, Section 9, August 19, 2004. Available at: http://www.ene.gov.on.ca/envision/gp/4450e.pdf

Return to footnote 11 referrer

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Document technique sur l'incinération en discontinu de matières résiduelles

1.0 Introduction

1.1 But

Ce Document technique sur l'incinération en discontinu de matières résiduelles est conçu pour aider les propriétaires et les opérateurs d'incinérateur de matières résiduelles à fonctionnement discontinu à bien choisir, opérer et entretenir leur système et à tenir leurs registres afin d'atteindre l'objectif visé par les Standards pancanadiens relatifs aux dioxines/furanes et au mercure et de réduire les émissions d'autres substances toxiques. Ce document porte sur les incinérateurs en discontinu de matières résiduelles d'une capacité variant entre 50 kg et 3 000 kg /cycle. Ces incinérateurs sont ceux qui sont chargés de matières résiduelles avant que le cycle de combustion ne soit initié, la porte restant fermée jusqu'à ce que les résidus de combustion dans la chambre primaire se refroidissent. Des mesures d'émissions réalisées par Environnement Canada en 2002 sur un incinérateur pour matières résiduelles à fonctionnement discontinu moderne fabriqué au Canada montrent que ce type de système, bien utilisé et bien entretenu, peut respecter les limites d'émissions de dioxines/furanes (80 pg ETI/Rm³ @ 11 % O2) et de mercure fixées par les Standards pancanadiens. Des mesures d'émissions peuvent être prises, conformément aux exigences des autorités réglementaires (p. ex. fédérale, provinciale/territoriale pour vérifier que ces standards sont respectés.

Le document comprend :

  • une discussion sur l'importance de réduire, de réutiliser et de recycler les matières résiduelles;
  • des méthodes guidant le choix de technologies d'incinération apte à satisfaire aux exigences relatives à la gestion de différents flux de matières résiduelles;
  • des exigences opérationnelles devant faire en sorte que les incinérateurs de matières résiduelles à fonctionnement discontinu atteignent l'objectif visé par les Standards pancanadiens relatifs aux dioxines/furanes et au mercure et réduisent le rejet d'autres substances toxiques, et
  • des recommandations sur la tenue des registres et la production de rapports.

Les propriétaires et les opérateurs sont conseillés d'effectuer un examen complet des lois locales et à consulter les autorités réglementaires concernés avant d'entreprendre toute opération de gestion de matières résiduelles.

1.2 Contexte

L'incinération est reconnue comme un moyen efficace et écologique d'éliminer une grande variété de matières résiduelles et est utilisée par de nombreuses installations et différents ordres de gouvernement au Canada. Les producteurs de matières résiduelles situés dans des régions éloignées peuvent disposer de peu de moyens rentables et écologiques pour gérer leurs matières résiduelles, et l'incinération peut alors être considérée comme une méthode de gestion de matières résiduelles appropriée. Les activités commerciales exercées en milieu éloigné, comme l'exploration et l'exploitation minières, peuvent produire des matières résiduelles très variées et en grandes quantités, qui doivent être gérés adéquatement. Les matières résiduelles produites par l'industrie, les activités de recherche et le secteur des soins de santé peuvent nécessiter un traitement thermique comme moyen écologique de contrer la propagation de maladies d'origine végétale, animale ou humaine. De plus, à de nombreux endroits au Canada, l'incinération des matières résiduelles est un moyen important de décourager l'interaction potentiellement dangereuse entre les humains et les espèces sauvages. Dans tous les cas, la réduction des matières résiduelles et leur réacheminement des sites d'enfouissement devraient être l'objectif premier en matière de gestion des matières résiduelles, avant de considérer des mesures d'élimination.

La présente section fournit une information de base sur l'incinération en discontinu de matières résiduelles, notamment les substances préoccupantes, et les initiatives internationales, nationales et provinciales/territoriales.

1.2.1 Substances préoccupantes

L'incinération de matières résiduelles suscite des préoccupations environnementales importantes qui peuvent être solutionnées par un choix d'équipement judicieux ainsi que de bonnes pratiques d'opération, d'entretien et de tenue des registres. Ces questions portent notamment sur le rejet possible de dioxines et de furanes (PCDD/F), qui sont des polluants organiques persistants (POP), et de mercure.

Dioxines et furanes

Les polychlorodibenzoparadioxines et les polychlorodibenzofuranes (PCDD/F), généralement appelés dioxines/furanes (D/F) , sont toxiques, persistantes, bioaccumulatives, et d'origine principalement anthropologique.

Des mesures effectuées dans le Nord révèlent que ces substances se retrouvent souvent dans des concentrations nettement supérieures à celles qui peuvent s'expliquer par la production locale. Avec le croissement du développement social et économique dans le Nord canadien, il est important de contrôler ces substances persistantes.

Les émissions de dioxines et de furanes peuvent provenir d'une combustion incomplète associée à une technologie d'incinération inadéquate ou d'une mauvaise utilisation d'un incinérateur.

Mercure

Les incinérateurs peuvent aussi rejeter du mercure. Le mercure est un contaminant bioaccumulatif dans l'environnement et, comme les POP, se retrouve dans les régions polaires dans des concentrations supérieures à celles qui peuvent s'expliquer par les émissions anthropiques locales.

L'incinérateur ne rejettera du mercure que si des articles qui en contiennent y sont brûlés. Par conséquent, la meilleure façon de contrôler les émissions de mercure d'un incinérateur est de restreindre la quantité de mercure qui y est chargée.

1.2.2 Initiatives internationales et nationales

Au fil des ans, le Canada a participé à des nombreuses initiatives destinées à réduire les émissions de dioxines/furanes et de mercure, notamment :

  • Convention de Stockholm sur les polluants organiques persistants ;
  • Politique de gestion des substances toxiques du CCME;
  • Politique de gestion des substances toxiques du gouvernement fédéral;
  • Standards pancanadiens relatifs aux dioxines et furanes;
  • Standards pancanadiens relatifs au mercure, et
  • Plan de gestion des produits chimiques.
Convention de Stockholm sur les polluants organiques persistants

Le Canada est membre de la Convention de Stockholm sur les polluants organiques persistants (POP) qui est entrée en vigueur en mai 2004. La Convention établit diverses mesures visant à réduire et, si possible, à éliminer les émissions de POPNote de bas de page 2.

L'incinération a été identifiée comme source potentielle de POP énumérés à l'Article 5 de la Convention de Stockholm. En vertu de l'Article 5 de la Convention, les Parties doivent prendre des mesures pour réduire et, si possible, éliminer les émissions de POP « produits et rejetés involontairement lors de procédés thermiques faisant intervenir des matières organiques et du chlore, du fait d'une combustion incomplète ou de réactions chimiques » notamment les dioxines, les furanes, l'hexachlorobenzène (HCB) et les biphényles polychlorés (BPC).

L'Article 5 exige aussi que les meilleures techniques disponibles (MTD) et les meilleures pratiques environnementales (MPE) soient appliquées aux sources nouvelles et aux sources ayant subi des modifications importantes. Les « meilleures techniques disponibles » sont les techniques les plus efficaces et les plus avancées applicables concrètement pour :

  • prévenir ou réduire au minimum les émissions de POP comme sous-produits et d'autres effets environnementaux, ou
  • réduire les émissions de POP comme sous-produits à des niveaux acceptables.

Les « meilleures techniques disponibles » peuvent être appliquées par un opérateur à une installation donnée puisqu'elles ont été portées à un stade de développement où elles sont économiquement et techniquement viables. De même, les « meilleures pratiques environnementales » supposent l'application de la combinaison la plus appropriée de mesures de contrôle et de stratégies environnementales. L'Annexe C indique qu'aux fins de la Convention, toute une série de mesures peuvent être appliquées :

Amélioration des méthodes de gestion des déchets dans le but de mettre fin à leur combustion à ciel ouvert ou sous d'autres formes incontrôlées, y compris dans les décharges. Lors de l'étude des propositions de construction de nouvelles installations d'élimination des déchets, il conviendrait de prendre en compte des solutions de remplacement telles que les activités visant à réduire au minimum la production de déchets municipaux et médicaux, y compris la récupération des ressources, la réutilisation, le recyclage, la séparation des déchets et la promotion de produits générant moins de déchets.

La Politique de gestion des substances toxiques du gouvernement fédéral et la Politique de gestion des substances toxiques du CCME

Le Canada a pris des mesures pour améliorer la gestion des POP même avant l'adoption de la Convention de Stockholm. Les polychlorodibenzo-p-dioxines (PCDD) et les polychlorodibenzofuranes (PCDF) ont été désignés comme substances de la voie 1 devant être virtuellement éliminées de l'environnement canadien en vertu de la Politique de gestion des substances toxiquesNote de bas de page 3 adoptée par le gouvernement fédéral en 1995 et de la Politique de gestion des substances toxiques du CCMENote de bas de page 4, adoptée en 1998. Les PCDD/F figurent à la Liste des substances toxiques de l'Annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)Note de bas de page 5.

Le mercure a été désigné comme substance de la voie 2 en vertu de la Politique de gestion des substances toxiques du gouvernement fédéral (1995) et de la Politique de gestion des substances toxiques du CCME (1998). À ce titre, le mercure doit être gérée tout au long de son cycle de vie, afin d'en réduire au minimum les rejets. Le mercure figure à la Liste des substances toxiques de l'Annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999).

Standards pancanadiens relatifs aux dioxines et aux furanes

Le Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME) a examiné le rejet non intentionnel de dioxines et furanes dans les émissions de divers systèmes de combustion. Cette étude a mené à l'élaboration des Standards pancanadiens relatifs aux dioxines et furanes, adoptés par le CCME en 2001. Les standards identifient l'incinération parmi les actions ciblées afin de réduire les émissions et fixent des normes relatives aux émissions atmosphériques .

Dans une étude menée en 2007 sur les émissions de dioxines et furannes provenant de l'incinération à l'appui d'un examen des standards pancanadiensNote de bas de page 6, le Groupe chargé de l'examen des standards pancanadiens relatifs aux dioxines et furannes provenant de l'incinération a livré une série de recommandations relatives aux incinérateurs à fonctionnement discontinu situés dans des régions éloignées :

  • La compagnie ou le ministère devrait prendre des mesures appropriées pour assurer un bon fonctionnement et fournir des rapports adéquats à ce sujet.
  • La compagnie ou le ministère ne devrait utiliser que des incinérateurs munis d'équipement de surveillance (sondes thermométriques, mesures de pression différentielle et circulation du carburant auxiliaire) pour en assurer le bon fonctionnement. Le dispositif de surveillance devrait être relié à un ordinateur qui enregistre en continu les données.
  • Toutes les installations devraient avoir une balance servant à enregistrer le poids de chaque charge placée dans l'incinérateur.
  • Toutes les données de ces systèmes devraient être accessibles aux inspecteurs.
  • Un système automatisé d'acquisition des données devrait être intégré à tous les appareils de surveillance de l'incinérateur afin de faciliter l'accès à distance aux données, de manière à permettre au fabricant d'aider l'opérateur à solutionner les problèmes de fonctionnement.
  • Les opérateurs devraient recevoir une formation, en suivant un programme propre au site ou un programme d'accréditation offert par un organisme qualifié.
  • Les opérateurs devraient apprendre à faire la distinction entre les grandes catégories de matières résiduelles, en termes de valeur calorifique, et recevoir des directives claires sur les quantités de chaque catégories à placer dans la chambre primaire pour une charge donnée.
  • Toutes les installations devraient présenter les données annuelles de matières résiduelles traitées à l'autorité réglementaire appropriée. Ces données devraient détailler la quantité et le mode d'élimination des matières résiduelles produites par l'installation.
Standards pancanadiens relatifs au mercure

Adoptés en 2000, les Standards pancanadiens relatifs au mercure visent à réduire les émissions atmosphériques provenant de l'utilisation volontaire du mercure et des rejets non intentionnels de cette substanceNote de bas de page 7. Les standards fixent des limites d'émissions de mercure en provenance des incinérateurs de matières résiduelles.

Le document intitulé La gérance des produits contenant du mercure : Manuel pour les installations fédéralesNote de bas de page 8 fournit de l'information utile sur la façon de dresser une inventaire du mercure dans une installation, de réduire la quantité de mercure par des pratiques de gestion du cycle de vie, de faire le suivi des activités de gérance du mercure et de faire rapport à ce sujet.

Plan de gestion des produits chimiques

Les efforts déployés par le Canada pour améliorer l'environnement se sont aussi traduits par l'adoption de nouvelles mesures dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques (PGPC)Note de bas de page 9, créé en 2006. Le PGPC met de l'avant des mesures destinées à mieux protéger la santé humaine et l'environnement contre les risques associés aux substances chimiques. Depuis que la LCPE a été promulguée, toutes les nouvelles substances chimiques ont fait l'objet d'une évaluation rigoureuse avant leur mise en marché. Cependant, environ 23 000 produits chimiques existants étaient utilisés au Canada avant l'entrée en vigueur de la LCPE. Une liste de 193 substances nécessitant une action prioritaire a été dressée dans le cadre du PGPC. L'industrie doit fournir à Environnement Canada et à Santé Canada de l'information sur ces substances chaque trimestre au cours des trois prochaines années. L'information reçue ainsi que des données d'autres sources seront évaluées et serviront à déterminer les mesures qui pourraient être nécessaires pour protéger la santé des Canadiens et l'environnement.

La gestion des matières résiduelles est un secteur couvert dans le cadre du PGPC en raison des émissions que les incinérateurs et les sites d'enfouissement peuvent rejeter dans l'environnement.

1.2.3 Initiatives provinciales/territoriales

Les Standards pancanadiens pour les dioxines/furanes et le mercure ont été intégrés aux règlements relatifs aux incinérateurs dans diverses provinces. Par exemple, la Ligne directrice A-7Note de bas de page 10 de l'Ontario a incorporé les valeurs seuil des Standards pancanadiens pour les nouveaux incinérateurs peu de temps après leur adoption et la Ligne directrice A-8Note de bas de page 11 a clarifié la méthode relative aux installations existantes en 2004. Dans bien des cas, l'adoption des Standards pancanadiens par les organismes de réglementation provinciaux a entraîné la fermeture d'anciennes installations d'incinération. D'autres installations ont été modifiées en fonction des nouveaux standards.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 2

À la Conférence de plénipotentiaires relative à la Convention de Stockholm sur les polluants organiques persistants, tenue les 22 et 23 mai 2001 à Stockholm, en Suède, la Convention a été adoptée et ouverte à la signature. Elle est demeurée ouverte à la signature au siège des Nations Unies, Section des traités, à New York, jusqu'au 22 mai 2002. Consultable en ligne à http://chm.pops.int/ (en anglais seulement).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Environnement Canada, Politique de gestion des substances toxiques, 1995. Consultable à http://www.ec.gc.ca/toxics/TSMP/fr/tsmp.pdf.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

CCME, 1998. Énoncé de principe du CCME en matière de gestion des substances toxiques, 29 janvier 1998. Consultable à http://www.ccme.ca/assets/pdf/toxics_policy_f.pdf.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

LCPE 1999. Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), 1999, c. 33 (Sanctionnée le 14 septembre 1999). Consultable à http://laws.justice.gc.ca/fr/showtdm/cs/C-15.31//20090707

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Chandler, A.J., 2007. Review of Dioxins and Furans from Incineration In Support of a Canada-wide Standard Review A Report Prepared for The Dioxins and Furans Incineration Review Group through a contract associated with CCME Project #390-2007. Consultable à http://www.ccme.ca/assets/pdf/1395_d_f_review_chandler_e.pdf (en anglais seulement).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME). Standards pancanadiens relatifs au mercure, 2000. Consultable à http://www.ccme.ca/ourwork/air.fr.html?category_id=87.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7

Note de bas de page 8

La gérance des produits contenant du mercure : Manuel pour les installations fédérales, 2004, Environnement Canada. Consultable à http://www.ec.gc.ca/Mercury/ffmis-simif/Manual/index.aspx?lang=F.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 8

Note de bas de page 9

Plan de gestion des produits chimiques (PGPC), 2006. Avis d'intention d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des mesures d'évaluation et de gestion des risques que certaines substances présentent pour la santé des Canadiens et leur environnement, publié en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) http://www.chemicalsubstanceschimiques.gc.ca/fr/index.html

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 9

Note de bas de page 10

Ministère de l'Environnement de l'Ontario, 2004. GUIDELINE A-7 Combustion and Air Pollution Control Requirements for New Municipal Waste Incinerators. Document d'habilitation : Loi sur la protection de l'environnement, Partie V, article 27, et Partie II, article 9. Dernière révision : février 2004. Consultable à http://www.ene.gov.on.ca/envision/gp/1746e.pdf (en anglais seulement).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 10

Note de bas de page 11

Ministère de l'Environnement de l'Ontario, 2004. GUIDELINE A-8 Guideline for the Implementation of Canada-wide Standards for Emissions of Mercury and of Dioxins and Furans and Monitoring and Reporting Requirements for Municipal Waste Incinerators Biomedical Waste Incinerators Sewage Sludge Incinerators Hazardous Waste Incinerators Steel Manufacturing Electric Arc Furnaces Iron Sintering Plants. Document d'habilitation : Loi sur la protection de l'environnement, Partie V, article 27, et Partie II, article 9 ; 19 août 2004. Consultable à http://www.ene.gov.on.ca/envision/gp/4450e.pdf (en anglais seulement).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 11

Date de modification :