Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Introduction to the Antarctic

Leopard seal on the ice
Photographer: Peter Rejcek
National Science Foundation
Date Taken: January 8, 2010

Antarctica is the ice-covered continent south of 60 degrees south latitude. In addition to vast oceans, this region contains 14 million km2 of land, making it the fifth largest continent, nearly 1.5 times the size of Canada. The majority of the continent is covered with ice, and glaciers line its coasts. The Antarctic is one of the harshest environments on the planet, some of the strongest winds and lowest temperatures on earth have been recorded in the Antarctic and snow and ice coverage can be up to four kilometres thick.

The Antarctic is an environmentally significant region. It contains relatively untouched ecosystems that are scientifically valuable. The polar ice cap holds within it a record of past atmospheres that go back tens or even hundreds of thousands of years. This allows a detailed study of the earth's natural climate cycles against which the significance of recent changes can be judged. The Antarctic is home to hundreds of unique and vulnerable wildlife species. Its marine environment sustains a wide range of marine mammals, such as seals and whales, at far greater levels than are found in the Arctic region. Short food chains make the Antarctic marine ecosystem very fragile and susceptible to disruption.

While contributing to global biodiversity, the Antarctic also plays a central role in the world's ocean and climate systems. Approximately 80% of the world's freshwater is frozen in Antarctic ice. The land mass and surrounding waters of the Antarctic provide essential nutrients to the rest of the world's oceans and support life systems thousands of kilometres away.

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Introduction à l'Antarctique

Phoque léopard sur la banquise
Photographe : Peter Rejcek
Fondation nationale des sciences
Photo prise le 8 janvier 2010

L'Antarctique est le continent recouvert de glace, situé au sud du 60e parallèle. Outre de vastes océans, cette région comprend 14 millions de km2 de terres, soit près de 1,5 fois la superficie du Canada, ce qui en fait le cinquième continent en importance. La majeure partie du continent est recouverte de glace et des glaciers bordent ses côtes. L'Antarctique est l'un des environnements les plus rudes sur la planète; on y a enregistré certaines des températures les plus basses et certains des vents les plus forts sur la Terre, et la couverture de neige et de glace peut atteindre quatre kilomètres d'épaisseur.

L'Antarctique est une région importante sur le plan environnemental. Cette région contient des écosystèmes relativement intacts, qui sont précieux en matière de science. La calotte glaciaire renferme des traces d'atmosphères passées qui remontent à des dizaines, voire à des centaines de milliers d'années. Cela permet d'étudier en détail les cycles climatiques naturels de la Terre à partir desquels on peut juger de l'importance des changements récents. L'Antarctique abrite des centaines d'espèces sauvages uniques et vulnérables. Son milieu marin assure la subsistance d'un large éventail de mammifères marins, tels que les phoques et les baleines, à des niveaux bien plus élevés que ceux que l'on trouve dans la région de l'Arctique. En raison des courtes chaînes alimentaires, l'écosystème marin de l'Antarctique est très fragile et est vulnérable aux perturbations.

En plus de contribuer à la biodiversité mondiale, l'Antarctique joue un rôle essentiel dans les systèmes océaniques et climatiques du monde. Environ 80 % de l'eau douce de la planète est entreposée dans la glace de l'Antarctique. La terre émergée et les eaux environnantes de l'Antarctique fournissent des éléments nutritifs essentiels au reste des océans du monde et maintiennent des systèmes de survie qui se trouvent à des milliers de kilomètres.

Date de modification :