Solid Waste Management for Northern and Remote Communities: Planning and Technical Guidance Document

Download the PDF version of the full document (1.09 MB)

Environment and Climate Change Canada, with input from territorial government representatives, key stakeholders, and subject matter experts, developed a voluntary guidance document on how to manage municipal solid waste (MSW) in Canada’s northern, remote, and small communities. This is a summary of the guidance document which covers both the planning and technical aspects of waste management.

Cover of publication

Municipal solid waste (MSW) or simply “solid waste” are terms used by the waste management sector to refer to reusables, recyclables, compostables, and residual waste (i.e., garbage) from homes, businesses, schools, and other institutions. The term MSW can be applied regardless of the type of settlement e.g., hamlet, village, town, municipality, First Nation. MSW and solid waste are not be confused with sewage sludge or biosolids.

Why was the guidance document developed?

Communities in northern and remote regions face unique challenges in managing their MSW due to weather, geology, population size and distribution, socio-economic factors, and access to services and facilities. As a result, some waste management practices can present risks to human health and the environment. While the principles and practices of environmentally-sound waste management are well-documented, and in some areas mandatory, these recommended practices need to be adapted to the distinct conditions of northern and remote communities.

Who should read the guidance document?

The guidance document presents valuable waste management information for regulators, infrastructure departments, senior administrative officers, band managers, facility operators, and other decision-makers in northern and remote regions.

As with all guidance of a voluntary nature, users of the guidance document should always take into account their specific local conditions and existing requirements. Although great care has been taken to provide accurate and practical guidance, the information contained in the guidance document is not intended to replace any local, provincial/territorial, or federal regulatory requirements, and is not a substitute for seeking advice from qualified professionals.

Why is planning important for municipal solid waste management?

Responsible waste management requires careful planning, investment, and ongoing management and monitoring. Many northern and remote communities may experience growth in their population or sudden changes in economic activity in their region which will impact the types and quantities of waste that require management. As a result, waste management policies, programs, and infrastructure need to be developed in a way that respects the community’s changing needs and available financial and human resources.

Waste management planning, with meaningful community engagement, is important to a community’s success in improving its practices and meeting the challenge of changes in and around the community. Through this process, communities can take stock of their current waste management situation, set priorities and goals, identify and evaluate options, develop and implement a waste management plan, and then track their progress and make adjustments over time.

Continuous Improvement Approach to Waste Management Planning

Long description
  • Step 1: Complete a Community Waste Assessment
  • Step 2: Set Waste Management Priorities for the Community
  • Step 3: Identify and Evaluate Options and Develop a Plan
  • Step 4: Implement, Evaluate, and Improve the Plan

To create efficiencies and expand waste management options, partnerships with neighbouring communities, private businesses, educational institutions, and non-profit organizations should be made whenever possible. A good waste management plan is valuable for northern and remote communities as it can help guide decisions, including financial planning, over the long term. It can also help keep the focus on identified priorities and reduce risks and future liabilities.

Site evaluation and selection is one of the more challenging and critical activities in the planning process. Whether a community is looking to upgrade their existing MSW facility or to establish a new one at a different location, there are a number of considerations that will help reduce risks to human health and the environment that can be grouped into the following themes: land, water, wildlife and sensitive ecosystems, transport, and proximity to the community.

What should the waste management priorities be?

As part of their waste management system, most communities have access to some type of MSW facility, ranging from basic to more advanced infrastructure (e.g., dumps to engineered landfills), where they can store, process, or dispose of their waste. Waste management practices sometimes include separating waste types such as hazardous and special waste, electronic waste, etc. The proper design, operation, monitoring, and closure of part or all of a MSW facility are integral to the health and safety of the community and to the protection of the surrounding environment. For this reason, the ongoing support of qualified professionals and trained personnel during planning and operations is required.

In northern and remote communities, competing infrastructure priorities, limited budgets, and the high cost per capita of building and maintaining infrastructure are an ongoing challenge. Taking this into account, the guidance document proposes two principles that should guide communities in their effort to manage waste in an environmentally responsible manner:

  1. Taking a risk-based approach to waste management. This means prioritizing infrastructure, operational activities, and waste types to reduce the risks to human health and the environment (in the guidance document, the recommended priority actions are colour-coded: red for high priority, yellow for medium priority, and green for lower priority); and
  2. Committing to continuous improvement to the waste management system over time.

The guidance document proposes a new twist on the 3Rs mantra – Reduce, Reuse, Recycle – by applying a risk-based approach to waste management in northern and remote communities:

Reduce risks
keep hazardous substances out of the landfill and no open burning of waste
Reuse
sell or donate reusable household items (e.g., furniture, clothing) and other materials and products (e.g., lumber)
Recycle
collect products and packaging for recycling and compost food and yard waste.

What topics does the guidance document cover?

The guidance document is organized into the following sections:

Section 1 – Introduction: Introduces the reader to how the document came to be, the intended audience, its limitations, the current state of waste management, and a vision for the future.

Section 2 – Waste Management Planning and Continuous Improvement: Discusses the importance of waste management planning, describes the key steps a community can take to continuously improve its waste management system over time, and includes a framework for prioritizing the recommended best practices.

Section 3 – Municipal Solid Waste Facility Site Selection: Provides guidance on site evaluation and selection for a new MSW facility or a new sub-component, such as a landfill cell, or to assess an existing MSW facility or landfill cell to identify potential areas for improvement.

Section 4 – General Operation of the Municipal Solid Waste Facility: Provides guidance on general operation of the MSW facility, recommends priority actions that apply to the MSW facility as a whole, and provides examples of how to lay out and design the facility.

Section 5 – Landfill Design and Operations:Provides technical guidance on the design, construction, and operation of a landfill cell for residual waste disposal within a MSW facility and recommends priority actions.

Section 6 – Management of Major Waste Types: Prioritizes the remaining major waste types and presents best practices in terms of design and operations for each:

  • Hazardous and special waste;
  • Electronic waste;
  • End-of-life vehicles;
  • Bulky waste;
  • Scrap tires;
  • Construction, renovation, and demolition waste;
  • Organic waste;
  • Reusable items; and
  • Recyclables.

Section 7 – Performance Monitoring and Reporting: Provides an overview of considerations for MSW facility performance monitoring and reporting. Key parameters include groundwater, surface water, and in some instances, leachate and landfill gas.

Section 8 – Municipal Solid Waste Facility Closure and Post-Closure: Provides an overview of considerations for closure and post-closure activities that apply to an entire MSW facility or to gradual closure of a sub-component such as a landfill.

Section 9 – Summary and Next Steps:Summarizes the key recommended best practices and suggests next steps for improving waste management in northern and remote communities.

Appendix A – Additional Resources: Provides additional resources on the various topics covered in the guidance document including:

  • Waste management planning;
  • Operations and maintenance;
  • Landfills;
  • Incineration and open burning;
  • Hazardous and special waste;
  • Electronic waste;
  • End-of-life vehicles, etc.

What waste management goals can northern and remote communities work towards?

The waste management approach promoted in the guidance document supports the national vision adopted by Canadian environment ministers in 2014 and its objective to, “address the challenges of remote and Northern communities to improving their waste practices”. For some northern and remote communities, the path to achieving this objective is an incremental one but the goals are the same:

  • Waste will be sorted, processed, and stored temporarily on-site for reuse, recycling, composting, or treatment;
  • Hazardous and special waste and hazardous substances will be separated, stored temporarily and safely, and directed to authorized facilities for proper treatment or disposal;
  • The open burning of waste will become a thing of the past;
  • The quantity of waste requiring disposal will be greatly reduced and any residual waste disposal on-site will be done in an environmentally-sound manner;
  • Community members and the private sector will be actively engaged in sustainable waste diversion activities.

Quick tips for improving waste management in northern and remote communities:

  • Understand the waste stream, prioritize, and plan ahead with input from the community;
  • Seek out partnership and funding opportunities;
  • Train staff and, as needed, hire qualified professionals;
  • Engage the community on the importance of reducing and reusing waste before recycling and disposal;
  • Install a fence and a gate to keep people and wildlife safe and post clear signs;
  • Keep hazardous waste and substances out of the landfill and do not open burn waste;
  • Keep surface water, snow, and groundwater away from waste;
  • Save resources and premium landfill space by reusing, recycling, and composting;
  • Monitor for impacts to the surrounding environment; and
  • Maintain facility records and report to regulators as required.

To obtain a copy of the full guidance document, please visit the Government of Canada Publication website.

For more information about the document, please contact the Waste Reduction and Management Division.

Date modified:

Gestion des déchets solides pour les collectivités éloignées et du Nord: Document d’orientation technique et de planification

Télécharger la version PDF du document complet (1,09 Mo)

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, avec l'apport des représentants des gouvernements territoriaux, des principaux intervenants et des experts en la matière, a élaboré un document d'orientation volontaire sur la gestion des déchets solides municipaux (DSM) dans les collectivités éloignées et du Nord. Le présent s'agit d'un résumé du document d'orientation qui couvre à la fois les aspects techniques et de planification de la gestion des déchets.

Couverture du publication

Déchets solides municipaux (DSM) ou simplement « déchets solides » (ainsi que « matières résiduelles ») sont des termes utilisés par le secteur de la gestion des déchets pour faire référence aux articles réutilisables, aux matières recyclables, aux matières organiques et aux déchets résiduels (c.-à-d., les ordures) provenant de maisons, d’entreprises, d’écoles et d’autres établissements. Le terme DSM peut être appliqué, peu importe le type d’agglomération (p. ex., hameau, village, ville, municipalité, Première Nation). Les DSM et les déchets solides ne doivent pas être confondus avec les boues d’épuration ou les biosolides.

Pourquoi le document d’orientation a-t-il été élaboré?

Les collectivités dans les régions éloignées et du Nord font face à des difficultés particulières liées à la gestion de leurs DSM en raison du climat, de la géologie, de la taille et de la répartition de la population, des facteurs socioéconomiques et de l’accès aux services et aux installations. En raison de ces difficultés, certaines pratiques courantes de gestion des déchets peuvent présenter des risques pour la santé humaine et l’environnement. Alors que les principes d’une gestion des déchets respectueuse de l’environnement sont bien documentés, et obligatoires dans certaines régions, ces pratiques exemplaires doivent être adaptées aux circonstances uniques des collectivités éloignées et du Nord.

Qui devrait lire le document d’orientation?

Le document d’orientation présente de précieuses informations pour les organismes de réglementation, les ministères des infrastructures communautaires, les agents principaux d’administration, les gestionnaires de conseil de bande, les techniciens qui travaillent dans les installations pour la gestion des DSM (« installations pour DSM »), et d’autres responsables dans les régions éloignées et du Nord.

Comme pour tous les conseils de nature volontaire, les utilisateurs du document d’orientation devraient toujours tenir compte de leurs conditions locales particulières et les exigences existantes locales. Bien qu’une grande attention ait été consacrée à fournir des conseils pratiques et précis, les renseignements contenus dans le document ne visent pas à remplacer les exigences réglementaires locales, provinciales/territoriales ou fédérales, et ne doivent pas être vus comme un substitut à l’obtention de conseils de professionnels qualifiés.

Pourquoi la planification est-elle importante pour la gestion des déchets solides municipaux?

Une gestion des déchets responsable nécessite une planification minutieuse, un investissement prudent et une gestion et une surveillance continues. De nombreuses collectivités éloignées et du Nord pourraient connaître une croissance de leur population ou un changement soudain de l’activité économique de leur région, ce qui aura un impact sur le type et la quantité de déchets à gérer. Par conséquent, les politiques, les programmes et les infrastructures liés à la gestion des déchets doivent évoluer en tenant compte des besoins de la collectivité et des ressources financières et humaines qui sont disponibles.

La planification de la gestion des déchets, accompagnée d'un engagement communautaire significatif, est cruciale pour la réussite d’une collectivité en matière d’amélioration de ses pratiques. Grâce à ce processus, les collectivités peuvent faire état de leur situation actuelle en matière de gestion des déchets, établir des priorités et des objectifs, déterminer et évaluer les options, élaborer et mettre en œuvre un plan de gestion des déchets et finalement faire le suivi de leur progrès pour apporter des correctifs au fil du temps.

Afin de réaliser des gains d’efficacité et élargir les options de gestion des déchets, des partenariats avec les collectivités avoisinantes, des entreprises privées, des établissements d’enseignement et des organismes sans but lucratif devraient être conclus dans la mesure du possible. Un bon plan de gestion des déchets peut être utile dans les collectivités éloignées et du Nord car il peut aider à guider les décisions à long terme, y compris la planification financière. Il peut également aider à garder l'accent sur les priorités identifiées et réduire les risques et les responsabilités futures.

Démarche d’amélioration continue

Description Longue
  • Étape 1: Effectuer une évaluation des déchets de la collectivité
  • Étape 2: Établir des priorités en matière de gestion des déchets pour la collectivité
  • Étape 3: Déterminer et évaluer les options et établir un plan
  • Étape 4: Mettre en œuvre, évaluer et améliorer le plan

L'évaluation et la sélection des sites constituent l'une des activités les plus difficiles et les plus critiques dans le processus de planification. Qu'une communauté cherche à améliorer son installation existante de DSM ou à en créer une nouvelle à un autre endroit, il y a un certain nombre de considérations qui contribueront à réduire les risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement. Ces considérations peuvent être regroupées dans les thèmes suivants : le terrain, l'eau, la faune et les écosystèmes sensibles, le transport et la proximité de la communauté.

Quelles devraient être les priorités en matière de gestion des déchets?

Dans le cadre de leur système de gestion des déchets, la plupart des collectivités ont accès à certains types d’installations pour DSM, passant d’une infrastructure de base à une plus avancée (par ex. de dépotoir à site d’enfouissement technique), où elles peuvent entreposer, traiter et éliminer leurs déchets. Les pratiques de gestion des déchets comprennent parfois le tri à la source de certains déchets tels que les déchets dangereux et spéciaux, les déchets électroniques, etc. La conception, l’exploitation, la surveillance et, éventuellement, la fermeture en bonne et due forme d’une partie ou de la totalité d’une installation pour DSM sont indispensables à la santé et à la sécurité de la collectivité, ainsi qu’à la protection de l’environnement. Par conséquent, le soutien continu de professionnels qualifiés et de personnel formé est requis.

Dans les collectivités éloignées et du Nord, les priorités concurrentes en matière d’infrastructure, les budgets limités et le coût élevé (per capita) pour construire et entretenir des infrastructures sont une réalité persistante. En réponse à cela, le document d’orientation est fondé sur deux principes directeurs qui peuvent soutenir les collectivités dans leurs efforts de gestion des déchets d’une façon écoresponsable :

  1. Adopter une approche fondée sur les risques pour la gestion des déchets. Ceci signifie prioriser les infrastructures, les activités d’exploitation et les types de déchets afin de réduire les risques pour la santé humaine et l’environnement (dans le document d’orientation, différentes couleurs sont utilisées pour identifier les actions prioritaires recommandées dont le rouge pour élevée, jaune pour moyenne, et vert pour moindre); et
  2. S’engager à une amélioration continue du système de gestion des déchets au fil du temps.

Le document d’orientation propose une nouvelle tournure au mantra des 3R – réduire, réutiliser, recycler – en appliquant une approche fondée sur les risques à la gestion des déchets dans les collectivités éloignées ou du Nord :

Réduire les risques
garder les substances dangereuses hors de la cellule d’enfouissement et aucun brûlage à ciel ouvert de déchets
Réutiliser
vendre ou donner des articles ménagers (p. ex., meubles, vêtements) et d’autres matériaux et produits réutilisables (p. ex., bois)
Recycler
collecter les produits et les emballages aux fins de recyclage et composter les matières organiques tels que les déchets de cuisine et de jardin.

Quels sujets couvre ce document d’orientation?

Le document d’orientation est organisé de la façon suivante :

Section 1 – Introduction: Introduit le lecteur à l’origine du document, les publics visés, ses limitations, les pratiques de gestion des déchets actuelles, et une vision pour l’avenir.

Section 2 – Planification et amélioration continue de la gestion des déchets: Discute de l’importance de la planification de la gestion des déchets, décrit les principales étapes qu’une collectivité peut suivre pour améliorer continuellement son système de gestion des déchets au fil du temps, et comprend un cadre pour établir l’ordre de priorité des pratiques exemplaires recommandées;

Section 3 – Choix de l’emplacement de l’installation: Fournit une orientation sur l’évaluation et le choix de l’emplacement d’une nouvelle installation pour DSM ou d’une nouvelle sous-composante, comme une cellule d’enfouissement, ou pour évaluer une installation pour DSM ou une cellule d’enfouissement existante afin de cerner les améliorations possibles;

Section 4 – Exploitation générale de l’installation pour DSM: Fournit une orientation sur l’exploitation générale de l’installation pour DSM, recommande des mesures prioritaires qui s’appliquent à l’ensemble de l’installation pour DSM et fournit des exemples de plans conceptuels;

Section 5 – Conception et exploitation de sites d’enfouissement : Fournit une orientation technique sur la conception, la construction et l’exploitation d’une cellule d’enfouissement pour l’élimination de déchets résiduels dans une installation pour DSM et recommande des mesures prioritaires;

Section 6 – Gestion des principaux types de déchets : Établit l’ordre de priorité des principaux types de déchets restants et présente des pratiques exemplaires en matière de conception et d’exploitation pour chaque type, tels que :

  • déchets dangereux et spéciaux;
  • déchets électroniques;
  • véhicules en fin de vie utile;
  • déchets volumineux;
  • vieux pneus;
  • déchets de construction, de rénovation et de démolition;
  • matières organiques;
  • matières recyclables.

Section 7 – Surveillance du rendement et production de rapports: Fournit un aperçu des considérations liées à la surveillance du rendement des installations pour DSM et à la production de rapports;

Section 8 – Fermeture et post-fermeture d’installations pour DSM: Fournit un aperçu des considérations pour les activités de fermeture et de post-fermeture qui s’appliquent à l’ensemble d’une installation pour DSM ou à la fermeture progressive d’une sous-composante comme une cellule d’enfouissement;

Section 9 – Résumé et prochaines étapes: Résume les principales pratiques exemplaires recommandées et suggère les prochaines étapes pour améliorer la gestion des déchets dans les collectivités éloignées et du Nord.

Annexe A – Ressources supplémentaires: Fournit des ressources supplémentaires sur les divers sujets abordés dans le document d’orientation, tels que :

  • la planification de la gestion des déchets;
  • l’exploitation et l’entretien des installations;
  • les sites d’enfouissement;
  • incinération et le brûlage à ciel ouvert;
  • les déchets dangereux et spéciaux;
  • les déchets électroniques;
  • les véhicules en fin de vie, etc.

Vers quels objectifs de gestion des déchets les collectivités éloignées et du Nord peuvent-elles travailler?

L’approche qui est encouragée par le document d’orientation est constante avec la vision nationale adoptée en 2014 par le Conseil canadien des ministres de l’environnement et son objectif «d’aborder les défis des collectivités éloignées et du Nord pour améliorer leurs pratiques en matière de gestion des déchets». Pour certaines collectivités, la voie à suivre pour atteindre cet objectif est une étape graduelle, mais les objectifs sont les mêmes :

  • Les déchets seront triés, traités et entreposés temporairement sur place aux fins de réutilisation, de recyclage, de compostage ou de traitement;
  • Les déchets dangereux et spéciaux et les substances dangereuses seront conservés séparément et entreposés temporairement et de façon sécuritaire jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient traités ou éliminés dans une installation autorisée;
  • Le brûlage à ciel ouvert des déchets deviendra une chose du passé;
  • La quantité de déchets devant être éliminés sera grandement réduite et l’élimination sur place de tout déchet résiduel sera effectuée de manière écoresponsable; et
  • Les citoyens et le secteur privé participeront activement aux activités durables de valorisation des déchets.

Conseils en bref pour améliorer la gestion des déchets dans les collectivités éloignées et du Nord :

  • Comprendre le flux des déchets, établir les priorités, et planifier à l’avance avec la participation de la collectivité;
  • Rechercher des partenariats et des possibilités de financement;
  • Former le personnel et, au besoin, recruter des professionnels qualifiés;
  • Engager la collectivité sur l’importance de réduire et de réutiliser les déchets avant le recyclage et l’élimination;
  • Installer une clôture et un portail pour garder les gens et la faune en sécurité et afficher des panneaux clairs;
  • Garder les substances et les déchets dangereux hors du site d’enfouissement et ne pas brûler les déchets à ciel ouvert;
  • Garder les eaux de surface, la neige et les eaux souterraines loin des déchets;
  • Conserver les ressources et la précieuse capacité d’enfouissement à travers la réutilisation, le recyclage et le compostage;
  • Surveiller les impacts de l’installation sur l’environnement;
  • Tenir des registres liés à l’installation et rapporter aux organismes de réglementation au besoin.

Pour obtenir une copie du document d’orientation, veuillez visiter le site internet des publications du gouvernement du Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le document d’orientation, veuillez communiquer avec la Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets.

Date de modification :