This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Governance of the Antarctic

The Antarctic Treaty

During the first half of the twentieth century, several countries made territorial claims to various parts of the Antarctic. The International Geophysical Year (1957-58) presented an opportunity to discuss ways to avoid possible problems with conflicting claims and establish a means to facilitate continued international scientific collaboration. It led to the development of the Antarctic Treaty, which was signed in 1959 and entered into force in 1961. The goal of the Antarctic Treaty is to ensure "in the interests of all mankind that Antarctica shall continue forever to be used exclusively for peaceful purposes and shall not become the scene or object of international discord." The Treaty's main features include: prohibition of all military activities; freedom and international cooperation in scientific research and exchange of information; suspension of claims of territorial sovereignty; and prohibitions of nuclear explosions or disposal of radioactive waste.

Elephant seals spar in the midst of king penguins
Photographer: Mike Usher
National Science Foundation
Date Taken: February 3, 2005

Since 1961, Parties to the Antarctic Treaty have negotiated several international agreements and more than 200 resolutions and decisions dealing with the governance and management of Antarctica. The key international agreements are: the Convention for the Conservation of Antarctic Seals (CCAS), 1972; the Convention on the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR), 1980; and the Protocol on Environmental Protection to the Antarctic Treaty, 1991 (Madrid Protocol). Collectively, the Treaty, the Protocol and Conventions, and the measures adopted under those agreements constitute the Antarctic Treaty System. Canada is a non-consultative party to the Antarctic Treaty which means that it participates only as an observer in consultative meetings. Canada is a member to all of the agreements of the Antarctic Treaty System, having ratified the Madrid Protocol in 2003, the CCAS in 1990 and CCAMLR in 1988.

Related link: The Antarctic Treaty

The Madrid Protocol

The Protocol on Environmental Protection to the Antarctic Treaty, commonly called the Madrid Protocol came into force in 1998 and has been ratified by more than thirty countries. Parties are required to oversee the activities of expeditions organized in or proceeding from their territory, as well as the activities of their vessels, aircraft and stations in the Antarctic. In order to ratify this Protocol, Canada enacted the Antarctic Environmental Protection Act (AEPA) and its regulations in 2003.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Gouvernance de l'Antarctique

Le Traité sur l'Antarctique

Au cours de la première moitié du vingtième siècle, plusieurs pays ont présenté des revendications territoriales sur diverses parties de l'Antarctique. L'année géophysique internationale (1957-1958) a été une excellente occasion de discuter des manières d'éviter les problèmes éventuels de réclamations contradictoires et de favoriser une collaboration scientifique continue à l'échelle internationale. Elle a mené à l'élaboration du Traité sur l'Antarctique, qui a été signé en 1959 et est entré en vigueur en 1961. Le but du Traité sur l'Antarctique est de s'assurer que « dans l'intérêt de toute l'humanité, l'Antarctique continue pour toujours d'être utilisé exclusivement à des fins pacifiques et qu'il ne devienne pas la scène ou l'objet d'une discorde internationale. » Les principales caractéristiques du Traité sont les suivantes : interdiction de mener des activités militaires; liberté et coopération internationale en matière de recherche scientifique et d'échange d'information; suspension des revendications de souveraineté territoriale; interdiction de procéder à des explosions nucléaires ou d'éliminer des déchets radioactifs.

Des éléphants de mer parmi des manchots royaux
Photographe : Mike Usher
Fondation nationale des sciences
Photo prise le 3 février 2005

Depuis 1961, les parties au Traité sur l'Antarctique ont négocié plusieurs accords internationaux ainsi que plus de 200 résolutions et décisions portant sur la gouvernance et la gestion de l'Antarctique. Les accords internationaux clés sont les suivants : la Convention pour la protection des phoques de l'Antarctique, 1972; la Convention pour la conservation de la faune et de la flore marines de l'Antarctique, 1980; et le Protocole au Traité sur l'Antarctique relatif à la protection de l'environnement, 1991 (Protocole de Madrid). Collectivement, le traité, le protocole et les conventions de même que les mesures adoptées en vertu de ces accords constituent le Système du Traité sur l'Antarctique. Le Canada n'est pas une partie consultative au Traité sur l'Antarctique, ce qui signifie qu'il participe aux réunions consultatives en tant qu'observateur seulement. Le Canada est partie à tous les accords du Système du Traité sur l'Antarctique, étant donné qu'il a ratifié le Protocole de Madrid en 2003, la Convention pour la protection des phoques de l'Antarctique en 1990 et la Convention pour la conservation de la faune et de la flore marines de l'Antarctique en 1988.

Lien connexe : Le Traité sur l'Antarctique (en anglais seulement)

Le Protocole de Madrid

Le Protocole au Traité sur l'Antarctique relatif à la protection de l'environnement, connu sous le nom de Protocole de Madrid, est entré en vigueur en 1998 et a été ratifié par plus de trente pays. Les parties au Protocole de Madrid doivent superviser les activités des expéditions organisées à l'intérieur ou à partir de leur territoire ainsi que les activités de leurs navires, aéronefs et stations dans l'Antarctique. Afin de ratifier le Protocole, le Canada a adopté la Loi sur la protection de l'environnement en Antarctique ainsi que son règlement, en 2003.

Date de modification :