Skip booklet index and go to page content

Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations - User Guide

Download the PDF version (742 KB)

Background

In Canada, all three levels of government contribute to environmental protection and have a role to play in managing hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material.

  • Municipal governments manage the collection, recycling, composting, and disposal programs within their jurisdictions.
  • Provincial and territorial governments establish measures and criteria for licensing hazardous waste generators, carriers, as well as treatment and disposal facilities, in addition to controlling movements of waste within their jurisdictions.
  • The Federal Government regulates transboundary movements of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material, in addition to negotiating international agreements.

Canada implements the terms of international agreements to which it is a party through domestic regulations, under the authority of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA). Canada is party to three international agreements regarding the transboundary movement of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material:

In signing these international agreements, Canada made a commitment to develop national legislation to promote the environmentally sound management of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material to protect the environment and human health from the risks posed by transboundary movement of waste and recyclable material. This led to the development of regulations, which came into force on November 26, 1992, under the former Canadian Environmental Protection Act. The current Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR or the Regulations), made pursuant to CEPA 1999, revoked and replaced the 1992 regulations in November 2005.

 
Background
Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses - Guide d'application

Télécharger la version PDF (833 Kb)

Historique

Au Canada, les trois paliers de gouvernement participent à la protection de l’environnement et ont un rôle à jouer dans la gestion des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses:

  • Les gouvernements municipaux gèrent les programmes de collecte, de recyclage, compostage et d'élimination sur leur territoire.
  • Les gouvernements des provinces et des territoires créent des mesures et des critères concernant l’octroi de permis pour les producteurs de déchets dangereux, les transporteurs et les installations de traitement et d'élimination. De plus, ils contrôlent le mouvement des déchets dangereux sur leur territoire.
  • Le gouvernement fédéral réglemente les mouvements transfrontaliers des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses. Il est également responsable de la négociation d’ententes internationales.

En vertu de l’autorité que lui confère la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LCPE), le Canada met en œuvre les dispositions des accords internationaux auxquels le Canada a adhéré.

Le Canada est signataire de trois accords internationaux concernant les mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses:

En signant ces accords, le Canada s'est engagé à élaborer une loi nationale favorisant la gestion écologique des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses afin de protéger l’environnement et la santé humaine contre les risques posés par les mouvements transfrontières des déchets et des matières recyclables. Cela a mené à l’élaboration du règlement qui est entré en vigueur le 26 novembre 1992, en vertu de l’ancienne Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement. Le Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD ou le Règlement) actuel, qui découle de la LCPE de 1999, a révoqué et remplacé le règlement de 1992 en novembre 2005.

 
Historique
Date de modification :