Service Standard and Performance Target for permits under the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR)

Quality and predictability of service are legitimate expectations of Canadians when interacting with the Government of Canada. A public commitment to a measureable level of performance that clients can expect under normal circumstances (i.e., regular day-to-day operations) is referred to as a service standard.

Service standards are integral to good client service and are important for effective management of performance. They help to clarify expectations (both internally and externally), drive improvement to services being provided and contribute to results-based management.

A high volume of regulatory authorizations (in the form of permits) are issued annually by Environment and Climate Change Canada under the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR). Under these Regulations, the following service standards and performance indicators have been set.

Service Standard

The administrative review process will be completed within 60 days for shipments of wastes or materials to or from the United States, and materials to or from Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) countries.

Performance Target

The target for achieving this standard is set at 70%.

Certain factors impact the ability to meet the listed service standard. Notifications submitted to Environment and Climate Change Canada are not always complete or accurate, thus requiring that clarifications or additional information be submitted. In addition, consent required from other parties prior to issuing a permit (e.g., foreign states, Canadian provinces) sometimes takes longer than the expected 30 days.

Measuring Service Performance

The service standard on cross-border movement of waste authorizations has been in place since April 1, 2013. For 2013, performance in meeting this service standard was measured over the period April 1 - December 31, 2013. Starting in 2014, performance was measured from January 1st to December 31st.

Table 1. Service Standard and Performance Target for Permits issued under the EIHWHRMR

Service StandardThe administrative review process for permit applications will be completed within 60 days for shipments of wastes or materials to or from the United States, and materials to or from Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) countries.
Performance TargetThe target for achieving this standard is set at 70%.
Assessment MeasureWhat proportion of permit applicants received a final decision on their application within 60 days?
2013 Performance64% Footnote 1
2014 Performance76%
2015
Performance
54.2% Footnote 2
2016
Performance
34.1% Footnote3

Footnotes

Footnote 1

In 2013, a number of factors that were beyond Environment and Climage Change Canada’s control influenced performance against the service standard for the issuance of export permits. Delays were noted in the time required to exchange correspondence with regulated companies in order to obtain complete information, and to obtain consent from importing jurisdictions (particularly the United States due to the shut-down of their federal government). If export permits were removed from the assessment of performance, the service standard would have been met 79% of the time.

Return to the footnote 1

Footnote 2

In 2015, Environment and Climate Change Canada’s performance against the service standard was affected by: a significantly higher volume of notifications and requests for amendments to existing permits; delays in receiving required information from regulated companies and consent from importing jurisdictions; the need to allocate resources to developing a new online notification and movement tracking system and helping regulatees to adjust to the first phase of the new system.

Return to the footnote 2

Footnote 3

In 2016, Environment and Climate Change Canada’s performance against the service standard was affected by: data entry delays; delays in receiving required information from regulated companies; and the implementation of regulatory changes both in Canada and the US.

Return to the footnote 3

Applying for an Export, Import or Transit Permit for Hazardous Waste or Hazardous Recyclable Material

Notification is the process by which exporters, importers, and persons wishing to convey in transit notify the Minister of the Environment of their intention to send or receive international shipments of hazardous wastes or hazardous recyclable materials. It serves as the application for a permit, without which no shipment can proceed.

Although the Regulations do not prescribe the completion of a specific form, Environment and Climate Change Canada has developed an Online Notification and Permit System and paper Administrative Notice forms to facilitate the notification process for regulatees. Note: The Online Notification and Permit System is not available for transits at this time. Notices for transits must continue to be submitted via email, mail, registered mail, fax, or courier.

Important notice to Canadian companies considering exporting waste or recyclable materials to another country:

Not every country considers the same types of waste or recyclable materials to be hazardous. Before exporting any type of waste or recyclable material, you should first determine if the countries to which you want to export and through which you want to transit the waste or material have national laws that in any way prohibit, restrict, or control the import or transit of the waste or material you are planning to export.

The Basel Convention Export and Import Control Tool is a searchable database providing you with quick access to specific information for the countries of export, import, and transit, such as their national definitions of hazardous waste and import restrictions. If the export or transit of the waste or material is prohibited in the receiving country or any of the transit countries, you cannot send your shipment to those countries. If there are laws restricting or controlling the import or transit of the waste or material, you must submit a notification to Environment and Climate Change Canada of your intent to export. Environment and Climate Change Canada will contact the competent authority of the countries to seek their consent before you begin the export.

The Regulations are administered by Environment and Climate Change Canada. The competent authority for all Canadian imports, exports, and transits is Environment and Climate Change Canada’s Waste Reduction and Management Division, which is also the contact point for the competent authorities in other countries. Canadian companies wishing to import or export hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material do not need to contact the provincial and foreign authorities directly during the notification process; rather, Environment and Climate Change Canada will contact them and then forward the response to the notifier.

Summary of Notification Information Requirements:

The information that must be included in the notification is outlined in section 8 of the Regulations. It includes:

  • the name, registration number, civic and mailing addresses, email address, and contact information (name, telephone number, and fax number) of the
    • Canadian exporter and foreign receiver,
    • Canadian importer and foreign exporter,
    • the facility from which the hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material will be shipped,
    • the authorized facility that will receive the hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material, and, if applicable, any authorized facilities where final disposal or recycling will take place (formerly referred to as the “final destination”),
    • exporter and importer or foreign exporter and foreign receiver, in the case of a transit, and
    • authorized carriers;
  • shipment details, including dates, number of shipments and all modes of transport (road, rail, marine or air) that will be used;
  • customs details, including the ports of entry or exit, or the customs offices, if applicable;
  • the classification of the hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material (see the Guide to Classification).

In addition to the requirements above, the notifier must also submit:

  • a signed, written contract or series of contracts, and
  • proof of insurance for the Canadian exporter or Canadian importer and all carriers, by providing the name of the insurance company and the insurance policy number.

The EIHWHRMR User Guide (PDF; 167 KB) has been prepared to help you understand and implement the requirements of the Regulations. It will be useful to anyone who generates, handles, transports, treats, recycles, stores, or disposes of hazardous wastes or hazardous recyclable materials where international shipments are involved.

A list of key considerations with respect to the export, import or transit of hazardous wastes or hazardous recyclable materials is also available.

After Environment and Climate Change Canada has received the notification and its accompanying documents, a thorough technical review of the accuracy and completeness of the application is conducted. If the notification is found to be satisfactory, the information is forwarded to the receiving jurisdiction.

In the case of an export, Environment and Climate Change Canada submits the notification to the competent authority in the country of import and countries of transit (if applicable), as required by the Basel Convention, for review and consent. For exports to the United States, the notification information is sent to the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

In the case of an import, Environment and Climate Change Canada submits the notification to the appropriate authority in the province or territory where the disposal or recycling operation is to take place, since the provinces/territories license the treatment facilities.

Environment and Climate Change Canada must receive acknowledgement from the authority that has jurisdiction over the receiving facility that the hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material is authorized for disposal or recycling. If any competent authority objects, the shipment cannot proceed.

The Minister will issue a permit to the notifier once all authorizations are in place. No one shall import, export, or transit hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material without a permit.

Signed and completed Administrative Notice Forms and all accompanying documents required by the Regulations must be forwarded to:

Waste Reduction and Management Division
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Boulevard, 9th Floor
Gatineau, QC K1A 0H3
Fax: 819-938-4555
Email: ec.notification.ec@canada.ca

The notice may be sent by email, mail, registered mail, fax, or courier, or submitted through the Online Notification and Permit System.

For additional information, please contact the Waste Reduction and Management Division by telephone at 1-844-524-5295 to have your call directed to an appropriate contact. Alternatively, you may also send an email to ec.notification.ec@canada.ca.

Feedback Mechanisms

If a service expectation has not been met, feedback can be provided by one of the following means:

Mail:

Director, Waste Reduction and Management Division
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Boulevard, 9th Floor
Gatineau, QC K1A 0H3

Email:

ec.notification.ec@canada.ca

For More Information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians web sites.

Date modified:

Norme de service et objectif de performance pour les permis sous le Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD)

La qualité et la prévisibilité du service sont des attentes légitimes des Canadiens lorsque ceux-ci ont des interactions avec le gouvernement du Canada. Un engagement public d’assurer un niveau de service auquel les clients peuvent s’attendre dans des circonstances normales (c.-à-d. des opérations courantes effectuées sur une base régulière) est une norme de service.

Les normes de service sont essentielles à la prestation efficace de services à la clientèle ainsi qu'à la bonne gestion du rendement. Elles servent à mettre au clair les attentes des clients et des employés, à encourager l'amélioration des services et à faciliter la gestion axée sur les résultats.

Chaque année, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada délivre un volume élevé d’autorisations réglementaires (sous forme de permis) en vertu du Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (le Règlement). En vertu de ce Règlement, les normes de service et les indicateurs de performance suivants ont été établis.

Norme de service

Le processus d’examen administratif se fera dans les 60 jours pour les expéditions de déchets ou de matières en direction ou en provenance des États-Unis et de matières en direction ou en provenance des pays membres de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE).

Objectif de performance

Pour cette norme, l’objectif à atteindre est fixé à 70 %.

Certains facteurs peuvent avoir un impact sur la capacité de répondre à la norme de service indiquée. Il arrive que les notifications soumises à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ne soient pas complètes ou que les renseignements ne soient pas exacts, ce qui nécessite l’envoi de précisions ou d’information additionnelle. De plus, l’envoi du consentement requis des autres parties avant la délivrance d’un permis (par ex., états étrangers, provinces canadiennes) prend parfois plus que les 30 jours prévus.

Information sur la performance

Une norme de service pour les autorisations émises pour les mouvements transfrontaliers des déchets a été mise en œuvre depuis le 1er avril 2013. En 2013, nous avons mesuré notre performance à rencontrer la norme de service pour la période du 1er avril au 31 décembre 2013.  À partir de 2014, nous avons mesuré notre performance du 1ier janvier au 31 décembre.

Tableau 1. Norme de service et objectif de rendement pour les permis émis en vertu du REIDDMRD

Norme de serviceLe processus d’examen administratif des demandes de permis se fera dans les 60 jours pour les envois de déchets ou de matières en direction ou en provenance des États-Unis, et de matières en direction ou en provenance de pays membres de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE).
Objectif de rendementPour cette norme, l’objectif à atteindre est fixé à 70 %.
Critère d'évaluationÀ l'échelle du Canada, quelle est la proportion des demandeurs de permis à travers le pays qui ont reçu une décision finale pour leur demande dans un délai de 60 jours?
Rendement 201364 % Note de bas 1
Rendement 201476 %
Rendement 201554,2 % Note de bas 2
Rendement 201634,1 % Note de bas 3

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

En 2013, des facteurs hors du contrôle d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ont eu une influence sur la performance de la norme de service en ce qui concerne la délivrance des permis d’exportation. On a constaté des retards en raison du temps requis pour les échanges avec les compagnies réglementées afin d’obtenir les renseignements complets, et pour obtenir le consentement des autorités des pays importateurs (notamment les États-Unis en raison de la fermeture de leur gouvernement fédéral). Si on ne considère pas les permis d’exportation dans l’évaluation de la performance, la norme de service aurait été atteinte dans 79 % des cas.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

En 2015, le rendement d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada par rapport à la norme de service a subi les effets d’une importante augmentation du nombre d’avis et de demandes de modifications aux permis existants; de retards dans la réception des renseignements nécessaires des entreprises réglementées et du consentement des pays importateurs; du besoin d’attribuer des ressources à l’élaboration du nouveau système de suivi en ligne pour les avis et manifestes, et d’aider les entités réglementées à s’adapter à la première phase du nouveau système.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

En 2016, le rendement d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada par rapport à la norme de service a subi les effets de retards dans l’entrée de données, de retards dans la réception des renseignements nécessaires à être fournis par les entreprises réglementées et de retards dus à la mise en œuvre des changements réglementaires au Canada et aux États Unis.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Demande de permis d'exportation, d'importation ou de transit de déchets dangereux ou de matières recyclables dangereuses

La notification est le processus par lequel les exportateurs, les importateurs et les personnes qui désirent transporter en transit avisent le ministre de l’Environnement de leur intention d'envoyer ou de recevoir des envois internationaux de déchets dangereux ou de matières recyclables dangereuses. La notification sert de demande de permis, sans lequel aucun envoi n’est possible.

Le Règlement n’exige pas la présentation d’un formulaire particulier, alors Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a développé un Système de notification et de demande de permis en ligne ainsi que des Formulaires de notification administrative afin de faciliter le processus de notification pour les réglementés. Remarque : Le Système de notification et de demande de permis en ligne n’est pas disponible pour les permis de transit à l’heure actuelle. Les notifications pour les transits, les réacheminements et les retours doivent continuer à être transmises par courriel, par la poste, par courrier recommandé, par télécopieur ou par messagerie.

Avis important aux entreprises canadiennes qui considèrent l’exportation des déchets ou des matières recyclables dans un autre pays :

Ce ne sont pas tous les pays qui considèrent les mêmes types de déchets ou de matières recyclables comme étant dangereux. Avant d’exporter tout type de déchet ou de matière recyclable, vous devez d’abord déterminer si les pays de destination ou de transit ont des lois ou des règlements nationaux qui interdisent, restreignent ou régissent l’importation ou le transit des déchets ou des matières recyclables que vous souhaitez exportés.

L'Outil de la convention de Bâle concernant le contrôle des exportations et des importations (en anglais seulement) est un outil de recherche qui fournit un accès rapide à des renseignements spécifiés par les pays d'exportation, d'importation et de transit, telles que leurs définitions nationales de déchet dangereux et leurs conditions d’importation. Si l’exportation ou le transit du déchet ou de la matière recyclable est interdit par le pays de destination ou un des pays de transit, vous ne pouvez pas envoyer l’expédition à ces pays. S’il y a des lois ou règlements restreignant ou régissant l'importation ou le transit du déchet ou de la matière recyclable, vous devez soumettre une notification à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de votre projet d'exporter. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada communiquera avec les autorités compétentes du pays en question afin d’obtenir leur consentement avant que commenciez l’exportation.

Le Règlement est mis en œuvre par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. L'autorité compétente pour l’ensemble des importations, des exportations et des transits canadiens est la Division de la réduction et de gestion des déchets (DRDG) d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. La DRGD est également le point de contact des autorités compétentes des autres pays. Les compagnies canadiennes qui souhaitent importer ou exporter des déchets dangereux ou des matières recyclables dangereuses n’ont pas à contacter directement les autorités provinciales/territoriales et étrangères durant le processus de notification. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada les contactera plutôt et, par la suite, fera parvenir la réponse à l’auteur de la notification.

Résumé des informations requises pour le préavis :

Les renseignements qui doivent être inclus dans la notification sont énoncés à l’article 8 du Règlement. Ils comprennent :

  • le nom, le numéro d’enregistrement, les adresses civique et postale, l’adresse du courriel et de l’information sur les personnes contacts (nom, numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur) de :
    • l’exportateur canadien et du réceptionnaire étranger,
    • l’importateur canadien et de l’expéditeur étranger,
    • les installations à partir desquelles les déchets dangereux ou les matières recyclables dangereuses seront expédiées,
    • les installations agrées qui recevront les déchets dangereux ou les matières recyclables dangereuses, et, le cas échéant, toute installation agrée où se dérouleront l’élimination ou le recyclage final (anciennement connu sous le nom de « destination finale »)
    • l’exportateur et l’importateur, ou l’exportateur et l’importateur étranger, dans le cas d’un transit, et
    • transporteurs agréés;
  • les détails sur les envois incluant les dates, le nombre d'envois et tous les modes de transport (routier, ferroviaire, marin ou aérien) qui seront utilisés;
  • les détails douaniers incluant les points d'entrée ou de sortie, ou les bureaux de douanes le cas échéant;
  • la classification des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses (voir le Guide de classification).

En plus de l’information exigée susmentionnée, l’auteur de la notification doit également présenter :

  • un contrat ou une série de contrats signés et écrits, et
  • la preuve d’assurance pour les exportateurs et les importateurs canadiens et tous les transporteurs en donnant le nom de la compagnie d’assurance et le numéro de la police.

Le Guide de l’application du REIDDMRD (PDF; 178 Ko) a été conçu dans le but de faciliter la compréhension et la mise en œuvre du Règlement. Il sera utile à tous ceux qui produisent, transportent, traitent, recyclent, entreposent ou éliminent des déchets dangereux ou des matières dangereuses recyclables et où il est question d'envois internationaux.

Une liste de points essentiels concernant l’exportation, l’importation et le transit des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses est aussi disponible.

Après que Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ait reçu la notification et ses documents d’accompagnements, il y a un examen technique approfondi de la précision et de l’achèvement de la demande. Si l’application est jugée de qualité suffisante, les renseignements sont envoyés à la juridiction réceptionnaire.

Dans le cas d’une exportation, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada présente la notification requise par la Convention de Bâle aux autorités compétentes du pays d’importation et des pays de transit (le cas échéant) pour examen et consentement. Pour les exportations vers les États-Unis, la notification d’exportation est envoyée à l'Agence américaine de protection de l'environnement, la US Environmental Protection Agency.

Dans le cas d’une importation, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada présente la notification à l’autorité compétente de la province ou du territoire où l’élimination ou les opérations de recyclage vont avoir lieu, puisque ce sont les provinces et les territoires qui autorisent les installations de traitement.

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada doit recevoir une confirmation de l’autorité qui a jurisdiction sur les installations réceptionnaires que ces dernières peuvent effectivement éliminer ou recycler les déchets dangereux ou les matières recyclables dangereuses. Si les autorités compétentes s’objectent, l’envoi ne peut être effectué.

Le ministre émettra un permis une fois que la notification a été complétée correctement et que toutes les autorisations sont en place. Nul ne doit importer, exporter ou effectuer un transit de déchets dangereux ou de matières recyclables dangereuses sans avoir un permis.

Les formulaires de notification administrative remplis et signés et tous les documents d’accompagnement exigés par le Règlement doivent être envoyés à l’adresse suivante :

Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
351, boul. Saint-Joseph, 9e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Télécopieur : 819-938-4555
Courriel : ec.notification.ec@canada.ca

La notification peut être envoyée par courriel, par la poste, par courrier recommandé, par télécopieur ou par messagerie, ou encore soumise dans le Système de notification et de demande de permis en ligne.

Pour plus d’information, veuillez communiquer avec la Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets au 1-844-524-5295. Votre appel sera alors acheminé à la personne-ressource appropriée. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer un courriel à ec.notification.ec@canada.ca.

Mécanismes de rétroaction

Si le service a été en deçà des attentes, transmettez vos commentaires en utilisant l’un ou l’autre des moyens ci-dessous :

Par la poste :

Directeur, Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
351, boul. Saint-Joseph, 9e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3

Par courriel :

ec.notification.ec@canada.ca

Pour plus d'information

Pour vous informer au sujet des consultations à venir ou en cours sur les projets de règlements fédéraux, visitez les sites Web Gazette du Canada et Consultations auprès des Canadiens.

Date de modification :