The Antarctic Environmental Protection Act

Palmer Station personnel use Zodiac boats to travel between islands in the region. Seen in the background is Torgersen Island, which is covered by Adelie penguin colonies. Farther in the distance are mountains rising steeply from the Antarctic Peninsula.
Photographer: Peter Rejcek
National Science Foundation
Date taken: January 27, 2010

The purpose of the Antarctic Environmental Protection Act (AEPA) is to protect the Antarctic environment by implementing the Protocol on Environmental Protection to the Antarctic Treaty. The AEPA provides the legislative basis that Canada requires to oversee Canadian activities in the Antarctic and otherwise fulfill the Madrid Protocol's obligations. The Minister of the Environment is responsible for the AEPA.

The AEPA applies to Canadians, Canadian aircraft and Canadian vessels as defined in the Act. Canadians include Canadian citizens, permanent residents and Canadian corporations as defined in the Act. The Act also applies to anyone who is part of a Canadian expedition in the Antarctic. For the purpose of the Act, a Canadian expedition is an expedition that is organized in Canada or for which the final place of departure is Canada.

The Act specifically prohibits Canadians and Canadian vessels where applicable, from undertaking the following activities in the Antarctic under any circumstance

  • Damage of historic sites or monuments 
  • Open air burning of waste  
  • Disposal of waste in ice-free areas or freshwater systems
  • Discharge into the sea any products or substances that are harmful to the marine environment except under the conditions established for the disposal of domestic liquid waste under Section 43 of the Regulations 
  • Introduction of prohibited substances into the Antarctic
  • Possession, sale or transport of anything that has been obtained in contravention of the Act or its Regulations
Date modified:

La Loi sur la protection de l'environnement en Antarctique

Le personnel de la station Palmer utilise des Zodiacs pour voyager entre les îles de la région. En arrière plan se trouve l’île Torgersen, couverte par des colonies de manchots d’Adélie, et au loin se dressent des montagnes de la péninsule antarctique.
Photographe: Peter Rejcek
Fondation nationale des sciences
Photo prise le 27 janvier 2010

L'objectif de la Loi sur la protection de l'environnement en Antarctique est de protéger l'environnement en Antarctique en mettant en œuvre le Protocole au Traité sur l'Antarctique relatif à la protection de l'environnement. La Loi sur la protection de l'environnement en Antarctique donne au Canada le fondement législatif nécessaire pour superviser ses activités en Antarctique et s'acquitter de ses obligations en vertu du protocole de Madrid. Le ministre de l'Environnement est responsable de la Loi sur la protection de l'environnement en Antarctique.

La Loi sur la protection de l'environnement en Antarctique s'applique aux Canadiens ainsi qu'aux aéronefs et aux navires canadiens, tel qu'il est défini dans la Loi. Au sens de la Loi, « Canadiens » s'entend des citoyens canadiens, des résidents permanents et des entreprises canadiennes. La Loi s'applique également à toute personne qui participe à une expédition canadienne en Antarctique. Aux fins de la Loi, une expédition canadienne est une expédition qui est organisée au Canada ou dont le point de départ final est le Canada.

La Loi interdit expressément aux Canadiens et aux navires canadiens, s'il y a lieu, de se livrer aux activités suivantes en Antarctique, quelles que soient les circonstances :

  • Endommager des lieux ou des monuments historiques;
  • Brûler des déchets en plein air;
  • Éliminer des déchets dans les zones libres de glace ou dans les systèmes d'eau douce;
  • Déverser dans la mer des produits ou des substances qui sont nocives pour l'environnement marin, sauf dans les conditions établies pour l'élimination des déchets domestiques liquides en vertu de l'article 43 du Règlement;
  • Introduire des substances interdites en Antarctique;
  • Posséder, vendre ou transporter quoi que ce soit qui a été obtenu en violation de la Loi ou de son règlement.