Antarctic Environmental Protection Act Permits

The Antarctic Environmental Protection Act prohibits Canadians and Canadian vessels where applicable, from undertaking the following activities, except where a permit has been granted or under circumstances described in the Act:

  • Activities related to mineral resources other than for scientific purposes
  • Interference with wildlife indigenous to the Antarctic
  • Introduction of animal or plant species that are not indigenous to the Antarctic
  • Any activity related to waste disposal
  • Any activity in a specially protected area

Permit applications must include environmental impact assessment, waste management plans and emergency plans. In some cases, the Minister may require that a permit applicant provide and maintain a security to cover potential costs needed to prevent, mitigate or remedy any adverse environmental impacts caused by the permit holder while in the Antarctic.

The Research Vessel NATHANIEL B. PALMER in Barilari Bay, Antarctic Peninsula
Photographer: Adam Jenkins
National Science Foundation
Date Taken: January 23, 2010

It is not necessary for everyone on an expedition, or everyone planning to carry out a specific activity in the Antarctic, to apply for a permit. One person may apply on behalf of others. The conditions of a permit apply to any person or vessel covered by that permit. A person who applies for and/or receives a permit is called a permit holder. The permit holder is responsible for the actions of every person and vessel covered by that permit. Permit application must be filled out and submitted to Environment Canada by a representative of an expedition or group.

Recognizing the global effort to implement the Protocol, and the desire to avoid duplication, written authorization from another nation that is a Party to the Madrid Protocol is an adequate substitute under the AEPA.

Applications are to be submitted to:

Permit application forms are appended to the Antarctic Environmental Protection Regulations. For a copy of the Regulations, the permit application form, or general inquiries, contact the office identified below. Permit applications must be directed to:

Marine Protection Programs
Environment Canada
Attn: Antarctic Environmental Program
351 St. Joseph Boulevard, 16th Floor
Place Vincent Massey
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3

Phone: 819-956-1313

Date modified:

Permis délivrés en vertu de la Loi sur la protection de l'environnement en Antarctique

La Loi sur la protection de l'environnement en Antarctique interdit aux Canadiens et aux navires canadiens, s'il y a lieu, d'entreprendre les activités suivantes, sauf dans les cas où un permis a été accordé ou dans certaines circonstances décrites dans la Loi :

  • Activités relatives aux ressources minérales autres que la recherche scientifique;
  • Interférence avec la faune indigène en Antarctique;
  • Introduction d'espèces animales ou végétales non indigènes en Antarctique;
  • Toute activité liée à l'élimination de déchets;
  • Toute activité menée dans une zone spécialement protégée.

Les demandes de permis doivent inclure l'étude d'impact environnemental, les plans de gestion des déchets et les plans d'urgence. Dans certains cas, le ministre peut exiger d'un demandeur qu'il fournisse une garantie afin de couvrir les coûts potentiels nécessaires pour éviter, atténuer ou réparer les effets environnementaux négatifs causés par le titulaire du permis pendant son séjour en Antarctique.

Le navire de recherches NATHANIEL B. PALMER dans le baie Barilari dans la péninsule antarctique.
Photographe : Adam Jenkins
National Science Foundation
Photo prise le 23 janvier 2010

Il n'est pas nécessaire que chacun des membres d'une expédition ou toute personne qui projette de mener une activité en Antarctique fasse une demande de permis. Une seule personne peut faire la demande au nom des autres. Les conditions d'un permis s'appliquent à toutes les personnes et à tous les navires visés par ce permis. On appelle « titulaire de permis » toute personne qui demande ou reçoit un permis. Le titulaire de permis est responsable des actes de toutes les personnes et de tous les navires visés par ce permis. La demande de permis doit être remplie et présentée à Environnement Canada par un représentant d'une expédition ou d'un groupe.

Reconnaissant les efforts déployés à l'échelle mondiale pour mettre en œuvre le protocole ainsi que le désir d'éviter le dédoublement, l'autorisation écrite d'un autre pays qui est partie au Protocole de Madrid (en anglais seulement) est considérée comme un substitut adéquat en vertu de la Loi sur la protection de l'environnement en Antarctique.

Les demandes doivent être adressées à :

Les formulaires de demande de permis sont annexés au Règlement sur la protection de l'environnement en Antarctique. Pour obtenir une copie du règlement, le formulaire de demande de permis ou des renseignements généraux, communiquer avec le bureau ci-dessous. Les demandes de permis doivent être acheminées à :

Programmes de protection marine
Environnement Canada
À l'attention de : Programme de protection de l'environnement en Antarctique
351, boulevard Saint-Joseph, 16e étage
Place Vincent Massey
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H3
Canada

Téléphone : 819-956-1313
Courriel : antarctique-antarctic@ec.gc.ca