Management of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material in Canada

In Canada, all three levels of government contribute to environmental protection and have a role to play in managing hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material.

  • Municipal governments establish collection, recycling, composting and disposal programs within their jurisdictions.
  • Provincial and territorial governments establish measures and criteria for licensing hazardous-waste generators, carriers, and treatment facilities, in addition to controlling movements of waste within their jurisdictions.
  • The federal government regulates transboundary movements of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material, in addition to negotiating international agreements related to chemicals and waste.

Environment and Climate Change Canada implements the terms of international agreements related to hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials to which it is a Party. In signing these agreements, Canada made a commitment to develop national legislation to promote the environmentally sound management of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material.

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 Regulations related to hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material

Under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), the Waste Reduction and Management Division of Environment and Climate Change Canada implements the following regulations:

  1. Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR)
  2. Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCB) Waste Export Regulations
  3. Interprovincial Movement of Hazardous Waste Regulations

1. Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations

The first Export and Import of Hazardous Wastes Regulations (EIHWR) came into force on November 26, 1992, under the former CEPA. The Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (the regulations) revoked and replaced the EIHWR in November 2005. The Regulations establish a permitting regime to control and track transboundary movements of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material between Canada and other countries. It is through this permitting process that Canada obtains consent from the importing and transit countries.

The regulations were amended in 2012, mainly to address some minor clarity issues and inconsistencies that were identified in the regulatory text by the Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations. The amendments were published in Canada Gazette Part II on May 23, 2012. The regulations were further amended in 2016 to strengthen Canada’s ability to meet two of its obligations under the Basel Convention: the obligation to seek the consent of importing and transit countries for any export from Canada of waste or recyclable material subject to the Basel Convention, including household waste; and the obligation to take or send back shipments that cannot be completed as planned. These amendments were published in Canada Gazette Part II on November 3, 2016.

If you are an individual or business that exports waste or recyclable material from Canada, imports it into Canada, or conveys it in transit through Canada, for recycling or disposal purposes, and the waste or recyclable material is considered to be hazardous under the regulations, Environment and Climate Change Canada has prepared a suite of tools, including the Online Notification and Permit System, to help you fulfill your responsibilities according to the regulations.

2. Polychlorinated Biphenyls Waste Export Regulations

The Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCB) Waste Export Regulations allow Canadian owners of PCB waste to export such waste to the United States for treatment and destruction (excluding landfilling) when the waste is in concentration equal to or greater than 50 parts per million. The regulations require that advance notice of proposed export shipments be given to Environment and Climate Change Canada. If the PCB waste shipment complies with the regulations and if the authorities in any countries or provinces through which the waste will transit do not object to the shipment, a permit is sent from Environment and Climate Change Canada to the applicant authorizing the shipment to proceed.

More information is also available on other PCB related regulations on the PCB web site.

3. Interprovincial Movement of Hazardous Waste Regulations

The Interprovincial Movement of Hazardous Waste Regulations control the movements of hazardous waste between provinces and territories by prescribing the use of a tracking system.

Date modified:

Gestion des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses au Canada

Au Canada, les trois paliers de gouvernement participent à la protection de l'environnement et ont un rôle à jouer dans la gestion des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses.

  • Les gouvernements municipaux font la mise en oeuvre des programmes de collecte, de recyclage, de compostage et d'élimination sur leur territoire.
  • Les gouvernements des provinces et des territoires créent des mesures et des critères pour l'octroi de permis pour les producteurs, les transporteurs et les installations de traitement de déchets dangereux. De plus, ils contrôlent le mouvement des déchets dangereux sur leur territoire.
  • Le gouvernement fédéral réglemente les mouvements transfrontaliers des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses. Il est également responsable de la négociation d'ententes internationales liées aux produits chimiques et aux déchets.

Environnement et changement climatique Canada met en œuvre les dispositions des accords internationaux auxquels le Canada a adhéré et qui portent sur les déchets dangereux et matières recyclables dangereuses. En signant ces accords, le Canada s’est engagé à développer une législation nationale qui encourage la gestion écologiquement rationnelle des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses.

Règlements d’application de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) concernant les déchets dangereux et les matières recyclables dangereuses

En vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], la Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets d’Environnement et changement climatique Canada met en œuvre les règlements suivants :

  1. Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMR)
  2. Règlement sur l'exportation de déchets contenant des biphényles polychlorés (BPC)
  3. Règlement sur les mouvements interprovinciaux des déchets dangereux

1. Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses

Le premier Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation des déchets dangereux (REIDD) est entré en vigueur le 26 novembre 1992, en vertu de l’ancienne LCPE. Le Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (le Règlement) a abrogé et remplacé le REIDD en novembre 2005. Le Règlement établit un régime de permis qui assure le contrôle et le suivi des mouvements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses entre le Canada et d’autres pays. C’est au moyen du processus de demande de permis que le Canada obtient le consentement des pays importateurs et des pays de transit.

Le Règlement a été modifié en 2012, principalement pour corriger des problèmes mineurs de clarté et d’uniformité qui ont été cernés par le Comité mixte permanent d’examen de la réglementation. Ces amendements ont été publiés dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada le 23 mai 2012. Le Règlement a été modifié de nouveau en 2016 afin de renforcer la capacité du Canada à s’acquitter de deux de ses obligations en vertu de la Convention de Bâle : l’obligation d’obtenir le consentement du pays d’importation et des pays de transit pour toute exportation du Canada de déchets ou de matières recyclables visés par la Convention de Bâle, y compris les déchets ménagers, et l’obligation de reprendre ou de renvoyer les envois qui ne peuvent pas être menés à bien comme prévu.

Si vous êtes une personne ou une entreprise qui exporte des déchets ou des matières recyclables du Canada, qui en importe au Canada, ou qui en fait transiter par le Canada, à des fins de recyclage ou d’élimination, et que les matières recyclables ou les déchets sont considérés comme dangereux en vertu du Règlement, Environnement et changement climatique Canada a préparé une trousse d'outils, dont le Système de notification et de demande de permis en ligne, qui vous aidera à assumer vos obligations en vertu du Règlement.

2. Règlement sur l’exportation de déchets contenant des biphényles polychlorés

Le Règlement sur l'exportation des déchets contenant des biphényles polychlorés (BPC) permet aux propriétaires canadiens de BPC d’exporter ces déchets aux États-Unis pour les traiter ou les éliminer (mais pas dans des sites d’enfouissement) quand les concentrations de ces déchets sont égales ou supérieures à 50 parties par million. Le Règlement exige que ces propriétaires remettent à Environnement et changement climatique Canada un préavis d’exportation pour les lots de déchets qu’ils entendent expédier. Si les envois de BPC sont conformes aux exigences du Règlement et si les autorités des pays ou des provinces où transitent les BPC ne s'opposent pas à leur expédition, Environnement et changement climatique Canada est alors en mesure de délivrer au demandeur un permis l’autorisant à effectuer l’expédition.

Il est possible d’obtenir plus d’information sur les autres règlements concernant les BPC en consultant le site web portant sur les BPC.

3. Règlement sur les mouvements interprovinciaux des déchets dangereux

Le Règlement sur les mouvements interprovinciaux des déchets dangereux contrôle les mouvements de déchets dangereux entre les provinces et les territoires en imposant l’utilisation d’un système de suivi.

Date de modification :