Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal

Background

Worldwide concern about the transboundary movement and disposal of hazardous wastes was first heightened in the late 1970s and early 1980s. The major concern was wastes being exported from industrialized nations for cheap disposal in inadequately prepared sites in developing countries.

This concern led to an urgency in developing and implementing international controls. It culminated in the landmark global convention under the United Nations to control the transboundary movement of hazardous wastes and their disposal, commonly called the Basel Convention. Canada participated in the development of the Convention and was one of the original signatories on March 22, 1989. As of March 2009, 172 countries and including the European Union are parties to the Convention.

Ratification and Implementation

The Basel Convention came into force on May 5, 1992, after being ratified by 20 countries. Canada ratified the Basel Convention on August 28, 1992.

The Basel Convention’s key objectives are to:

  • Minimize the generation of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials;
  • Ensure they are disposed in an environmentally sound manner and as close to the source of generation as possible;
  • Minimize the international movement of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials.

The Basel Convention controls the transboundary movement of hazardous and other wastes through its provisions for “Prior Informed Consent” (PIC) that must be met before any shipment of wastes is permitted. Shipments without proper documentation are considered illegal under the terms and conditions of the Convention. Each Party to the Convention is required to take appropriate measures to regulate the transboundary movement of wastes.

In 1992, Canada complied with its international obligations by bringing the former Export and Import of Hazardous Waste Regulations (EIHWR) into force. The Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR) revoked and replaced the EIHWR in November 2005. These Regulations work toward ensuring that hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials are managed safely and in a manner that protects the environment and human health.

Conditions under Basel

Parties may not carry out or authorize transboundary movements (imports, exports or transits) of hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material:

  •  to States that are not Parties to the Convention unless they have a bilateral agreement under Article 11 (such is the case with the Canada - US Agreement on the Transboundary Movement of Hazardous Wastes);
  • to Antarctica;
  • if the prospective State of destination has prohibited such imports;
  • if appropriate disposal or recycling facilities are available in the State of origin unless the waste is needed as a raw material for recycling or recovery industries in the state of import; and
  • if there is reason to believe that environmentally-sound management/disposal options are not available in the prospective State of destination.

In addition to the environmental benefits that Canada’s commitment to the Basel Convention provides, it harmonizes the Canadian framework with nations in the European Union and the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) with respect to transboundary movements of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials. It is with OECD member countries that most Canadian hazardous waste transactions destined for recovery/recycling take place.

Canadian Representation at Basel

Canada continues to be a strong participant in Basel Convention activities. Environment Canada's (EC) Waste Reduction and Management Division (WRMD) has represented Canada on the Expanded Basel Convention Bureau and has headed Canadian delegations at meetings of the Basel Convention Technical and Legal Working Groups as well as meetings of the Conference of Parties (COP). WRMD develops and represents the Canadian position on issues such as:

  • Development of technical guidelines related to environmentally sound management (ESM) practices;
  • Clarification of the scope of the Basel Convention (waste lists);
  • Harmonization of the OECD and Basel Convention control systems;
  • Consideration of work on hazard classes;
  • Drafting technical guidelines related to recycling operations; and
  • ESM guidelines for various hazardous recyclable materials.

For information on Basel Convention meetings and activities, you may consult the Basel Convention Website.

Obtaining Copies of Relevant Publications

A copy of the Basel Convention agreement can be obtained from the United Nations Environment Programme's Basel Convention Website.

Convention de Bâle sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de leur élimination

Contexte

Les préoccupations mondiales au sujet des mouvements transfrontières et de l’élimination des déchets dangereux se sont intensifiées à la fin des années 1970 et au début des années 1980 et concernaient surtout l’exportation des déchets des pays industrialisés en vue de leur élimination à bon marché dans des pays en développement dont les installations n’étaient pas en mesure de protéger la santé humaine et l’environnement.

De ces préoccupations est née l’urgence d’établir et de mettre en place des contrôles internationaux, ce qui a mené à la signature, sous l’égide des Nations Unies, d’une convention historique visant à contrôler les mouvements transfrontières et l’élimination des déchets dangereux, soit la Convention de Bâle. Le Canada a participé à l’élaboration de la Convention et a été l’un de ses premiers signataires, le 22 mars 1989. En mars 2009, 172 pays dont ceux de l’Union européenne sont Parties à la Convention.

Ratification et mise en œuvre

La Convention de Bâle sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de leur élimination est entrée en vigueur le 5 mai 1992 après avoir été ratifiée par 20 pays. Le Canada, quant à lui, l’a ratifiée le 28 août 1992.

La Convention vise surtout à :

  • réduire le plus possible la production de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses;
  • faire en sorte qu’ils soient éliminés de façon écologiquement rationnelle, le plus près possible de l’endroit où ils sont produits;
  • limiter au minimum les mouvements internationaux de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses.

La Convention de Bâle assure le contrôle des mouvements transfrontaliers des déchets dangereux et d’autres déchets en prévoyant l’obligation de respecter sa procédure de consentement préalable en connaissance de cause (PCC) avant de permettre toute expédition de déchets. Toute expédition qui ne possède pas la documentation obligatoire est considérée illégale selon les modalités de la Convention. Chaque Partie de la Convention est tenue de prendre les mesures appropriées pour régulariser le mouvement transfrontalier des déchets.

En 1992, le Canada s’est acquitté de ses obligations internationales en adoptant le Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation des déchets dangereux (REIDD), ensuite révoqué et remplacé en novembre 2005 par le Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD). Le nouveau règlement vise la gestion sécuritaire de ces produits de façon à protéger l’environnement et la santé humaine.

Conditions de la Convention

Les Parties ne peuvent pas effectuer ou autoriser des mouvements transfrontières (importation, exportation ou transit) de déchets ou de matières recyclables dangereuses :

  • vers des États qui ne sont pas Parties à la Convention, sauf s'il existe un accord bilatéral en vertu de l'article 11 (tel que  L'Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et des États-Unis concernant les déplacements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux");
  • vers l'Antarctique;
  • si l'État de destination visé a interdit des importations de ce genre;
  • s'il existe, dans le pays d'origine, de bonnes installations d'élimination ou de recyclage, à moins que les déchets ne soient utilisés comme matières premières par des entreprises de recyclage ou de récupération;
  • s'il y a lieu de croire que l'État de destination ne dispose pas d'options de gestion et d'élimination écologiques des déchets dangereux.

En plus de nous procurer des avantages environnementaux, l’engagement du Canada à l’égard de la Convention de Bale permet d’harmoniser notre cadre régissant les mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses à ceux des autres pays de l’Union européenne et de l’Organization de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE). Or c’est avec les pays de l’OCDE que nous effectuons la plupart de nos transactions de déchets dangereux destinés à la valorisation et au recyclage.

Représentation du Canada aux rencontres sur la Convention de Bâle

Le Canada continue à participer activement aux activités entourant la Convention de Bâle. La Division de la gestion des déchets (DGD) d’Environnement Canada (EC) a représenté le pays au sein du Bureau élargi de la Convention de Bâle et a souvent dirigé les délégations canadiennes envoyées aux réunions des groupes de travail techniques et juridiques de la Convention et aux Conférences des Parties (CCP). La Division doit élaborer et présenter la position du Canada sur des questions comme :

  • l’élaboration de directives techniques concernant les pratiques de gestion écologique des déchets (GED);
  • la précision de la portée de la Convention (listes de déchets);
  • l’harmonisation des contrôles de l'OCDE et de la Convention;
  • l’étude des travaux sur les catégories de risques;
  • l’établissement de directives techniques provisoires régissant le recyclage;
  • les directives de la GED de diverses matières recyclables dangereuses.

Pour plus d’information sur les réunions et les activités liées à la Convention de Bâle, visitez le site Web de la convention. (in english only)

Obtention des publications pertinentes

Il est possible d’obtenir une copie du texte de la Convention de Bâle sur le site Web de la convention faisant partie du Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement.

Date de modification :