Managing and Reducing Waste

Waste generally refers to any material, non-hazardous or hazardous, that has no further use, and which is managed at recycling, processing, or disposal sites.

In Canada, the responsibility for managing and reducing waste is shared among the federal, provincial, territorial and municipal governments. For instance, municipal governments are responsible for collecting and managing waste from homes for recycling, composting, and disposal, while provincial and territorial authorities are responsible for the approval, licensing and monitoring of waste management operations.

For its part, Environment Canada (EC) exercises responsibilities with respect to international and interprovincial movements of hazardous waste, releases of toxic substances to the air, land, and water, and activities on federal lands.

Find out more about...

What can you do to reduce waste?

Reducing the amount of waste we produce is by far the most effective way to reduce the flow of garbage into landfill. To be really effective, we have to incorporate the 3Rs – Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle – into our daily routine. This means reducing and reusing materials and packaging wherever possible and participating in municipal 3Rs programs. Materials and packaging that cannot be reused should be recycled at home, work and school. Individual Canadians can help close the loop on recycling by purchasing recycled and recyclable products.

La gestion et la réduction des déchets

Le mot « déchets » fait généralement référence à toute matière, dangereuse ou non, qui ne sert plus et qui est gérée à un site de recyclage, de traitement ou d'élimination finale.

Au Canada, la gestion des déchets est une responsabilité partagée entre les gouvernements fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux et les administrations municipales. Ces dernières font la collecte et gèrent les ordures ménagères afin de les recycler, de les composter et de les éliminer. Les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux approuvent et surveillent les installations de gestion des déchets et leurs activités.

Le gouvernement fédéral régit les déplacements internationaux et interprovinciaux de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses, ainsi que les rejets de substances toxiques provenant, entre autres, de déchets.

Pour en savoir plus

Que pouvez-vous faire pour réduire les déchets?

La réduction de la quantité de déchets que nous produisons est de loin la façon la plus efficace de réduire la quantité de déchets expédiés aux sites d’enfouissement. Afin d’être vraiment efficaces, nous devons appliquer les 3R, soit réduire, réutiliser et recycler, à nos activités quotidiennes. Cela signifie réduire les matériaux d’emballage et réutiliser ces matériaux dans tous les cas possibles et participer aux programmes municipaux des 3R. Les matériaux et les emballages qui ne peuvent être réutilisés devraient être recyclés à domicile, au travail, et à l’école. Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens peuvent aider à boucler la boucle en ce qui concerne le recyclage en achetant des produits recyclés et recyclables.

Date de modification :