The Dangers of Lightning: The Many Ways That Lightning Can Hurt You

When we think of how lightning can hurt us, we often think of a direct strike which can injure or kill the person struck. However, it has been shown that a direct hit from lightning is responsible for only a small percentage of lightning-related injuries, compared to other causes.

Lightning dangers can also be caused by ground current, side flash, contact (to an object struck by lightning), upward leaders, direct strike and blunt trauma (shockwave). 

This chart shows the frequencies of the primary lightning fatality mechanisms (Cooper & Holle, 2008)

This chart shows the six ways a lightning strike can kill or injure a person.

Here’s the way it works: a lightning strike that hits the ground typically hits a primary object and then the current disperses through the ground until it dissipates. Research shows that a lightning strike that hits the ground is hazardous out to 10 metres. Some people have been injured 15 to 30 metres away from where a lightning strike has hit the ground. 

Lightning danger definitions:

Ground Current

Lightning enters the earth, travels through it and voltages are set up in the ground. One part of your body contacts one voltage, and another part of your body contacts a different voltage. The difference in voltage is what drives the current through your body. See also surface arc lightning.

Side Splash/Flash

When lightning that has hit an object travels partly down the object before jumping to a nearby victim. Never seek shelter near a lone tree or other tall object, as a side flash can splash lightning from these tall objects onto a nearby object to reach the ground. 

Contact

The person is touching or holding onto an object which lightning attaches itself to, such as wire fencing, telephones poles, etc. When inside a house, either a corded telephone or water pipe such as a faucet can also cause this.

Upward Leaders

Or streamers, are currents of positive charges that start growing upward from the ground from elevated objects. They are produced in response to the step leaders coming down from the cloud base. If a downward step leader and a streamer meet, a conductive path will be formed and a lightning stroke will occur. Other streamers in the area of the main stroke still carry a charge. This charge is much smaller than the main stroke but still large enough to cause injury or death to humans.

Direct strike

Is when lightning attaches directly to the victim. Only three to five per cent of lightning fatalities result from a direct strike.

Blunt trauma

This often occurs when a shock wave on the ground throws a person up to two metres away (10 feet) which results in bodily harm/injury. Blunt trauma can also occur from injuries related to fire, explosions, or falling objects, that are caused by a result of the lightning strike.

Surface Arc

High current surface arcs are associated with ground currents. They appear in photographs as bright arcs of light radiating from a strike point like spokes of a wheel, in the air just above the ground’s surface.

The graphic below illustrates some of these phenomena.

The images shows lighting striking a tree, upward leaders not reaching the downward leader, a surface arc radiating out from an object and a side flash splashing out from a tree

Ultimately it is two types of lightning strikes (ground current and side flash) that account for 60 to 80 per cent of all the lightning strikes that see people being killed or injured.  

As always with lightning is it important to remember: When thunder roars, go indoors!

To find out what else you can do to keep yourself safe from lightning, visit our section on Lightning Safety

Les dangers de la foudre : la foudre peut vous faire bien du mal de bien des façons

Dans la plupart des esprits, être victime de la foudre, signifie être frappé directement, avec risque de blessures ou perte de vie. Toutefois, il a été démontré, comparativement à d’autres causes, que seulement un petit pourcentage des effets néfastes résulte d’avoir été atteint directement par la foudre

En plus du foudroiement direct, il peut aussi y avoir danger dans un courant tellurique, un éclair latéral, un contact (avec un objet frappé par la foudre), un traceur ascendant, un foudroiement direct et un ondes de choc (traumatisme contondant).

Ce graphique montre la fréquence des principales causes de décès liés à la foudre (Holle et Cooper, 2008)

Ce graphique présente les six façons dont la foudre peut causer des fatalités ou des blessures.

Voici comment : un éclair frappe généralement le sol par le biais d’un objet principal, puis le courant se disperse dans le sol et s’y dissipe. Les recherches démontrent que là où un éclair frappe le sol il y a danger sur 10 mètres ou plus. Des personnes ont été blessées de 15 à 30 mètres du point d’impact.

Explication des dangers de la foudre :

Les courants telluriques

La foudre pénètre dans la terre et s’y déplace, établissant ainsi des tensions de courant. Le corps peut se trouver en contact avec deux tensions différentes. C’est la différence de tension qui fait passer le courant à travers le corps. Voir également la foudre en arc à la surface.

Les éclairs latéraux

La foudre descend partiellement le long d’un objet qu’elle a frappé puis saute de chemin sur une victime proche. Ne jamais chercher un abri sous un arbre isolé ou un autre objet élevé, étant donné qu'un éclair latéral peut rejoindre la terre à travers ce qui est à proximité de l’objet élevé qu’elle vient de frapper.

Un contact par le toucher d’un conducteur

Lorsque l’on touche un objet par lequel peut passer la foudre, (grillage poteau de téléphone, etc.) on peut s’exposer par contact. Dans une maison, il en est de même avec les téléphones qui ont des fils, les conduites d'eau, voir même les robinets.

Les traceurs ascendants

Il s’agit de courant positif qui, du sol commence à monter le long d’objets élevés. Des branches se produisent en réponse aux traceurs par bonds provenant provenant de la base d’un nuage. Si un traceur par bonds descendant et un traceur ascendant se connectent, il y a conduction et un éclair se produit. Même les branches de décharges qui ne se connectent pas ont une charge électrique. Cette charge est beaucoup plus faible que celle de l'éclair principal, mais elle est suffisante pour entraîner des blessures ou la mort chez les humains.

Le foudroiement direct

Il s’agit du phénomène où la foudre frappe directement une victime. Le foudroiement direct n’est la cause que de 3 à 5 p. 100 des fatalités.

Un traumatisme contondant

C'est le résultat d’une onde de choc qui projette une personne sur environ deux mètres (10 pieds), entraînant des lésions ou des blessures. Un traumatisme contondant peut également résulter d’un incendie, d’une explosion, ou provenir de l’impact d’un objet en chute libre délogé par la foudre.

Les arcs en surface

Les arcs en surface, à courant élevé, résultent des courants telluriques. Sur les photos, ils apparaissent comme des arcs de lumière brillants qui irradient tout juste au-dessus de la surface du sol là où la foudre est tombée.

Le graphique ci-dessous illustre certains de ces phénomènes.

L’image démontre un éclair qui frappe un arbre, un traceur descendant qui ne touché pas le traceur ascendants, un arc à la surface qui rayonne à partir d’un arbre et un éclair latéral qui projette la foudre à partir de l’arbre.

En fin de compte, les courants telluriques et les éclairs latéraux causent 60 à 80 p. 100 du total des fatalités ou blessures chez les humains.  

Il convient de se rappeler que quand le tonnerre gronde, rentrez vite!

Pour toutes autres mesures à suivre en vue de se protéger contre la foudre, bien vouloir consulter notre section sur les mesures de sécurité en cas de foudre.

Date de modification :