Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

What is a Fulgurite?

Did you know a bolt of lightning can travel at speeds of up to 220,000 km/h and reach temperatures approaching 30,000 °C? Sometimes through this amazing process, lightning can have an effect on the earth it hits in the form of a fulgurite.

But what exactly is this alien sounding thing? Fulgurites are thin, hollow tubes formed in sandstone or soil with a high sand content, when the ground is struck by lightning. The extremely high temperature of the lightning instantly melts the sand particles and fuses them together. These tubes indicate the path the lightning took and can be up to a few metres long; they can also be quite fragile and must be handled with care.

Fulgurites can be created anywhere where there is sandy soil. A good place to find them is in the desert areas of the American Southwest where sandy soil and lightning are common, and there is a little vegetation.  Grasses and vegetation often obscure or hide the fulgurites, making them difficult to find.  

Want to know what they look like? Take a peek at the two examples below:  

A photo of a fulgurite taken end on. The hollow portion indicates the path of the lightning through the sandstone.  The intense heat of the lightning has melted the surrounding soil. Photo copyright Environment Canada

 

A photo of a Fulgurite that measures 7 cm in length. Photo copyright Environment Canada

Qu'est-ce qu'une fulgurite?

Saviez-vous que la foudre peut voyager à une vitesse allant jusqu’à 220 000 km/h et atteindre des températures frôlant les 30 000 oC? Parfois, au cours de ce processus incroyable, la foudre peut créer un effet sur la terre qu'elle frappe, soit une fulgurite.

Mais quel est au juste cet étrange phénomène? Les fulgurites sont des tubes minces et creux qui, lorsque la foudre s’abat sur le sol, se forment dans le grès ou là où le contenu sableux du sol est élevé. La température extrêmement élevée de la foudre fait fondre instantanément les particules de sable et les fusionne. Ces tubes indiquent la trajectoire de la foudre et peuvent mesurer jusqu'à quelques mètres de long; ils peuvent également être relativement fragiles et doivent donc être manipulés avec soin.

Les fulgurites peuvent être créées partout où il y a un sol sableux. Un bon endroit où les trouver est dans le désert du sud-ouest américain où le sol sableux et la foudre sont communs, et où il y a peu de végétation. La végétation rend souvent les fulgurites difficiles à trouver.  

Vous voulez voir à quoi elles ressemblent? Jetez un coup d'œil aux deux exemples ci-dessous :

Photo de l'extrémité d’une fulgurite. La partie creuse indique la trajectoire de la foudre dans le grès. La chaleur intense de la foudre a fait fondre le sol environnant. Droits d'auteur sur la photo : Environnement Canada.

 

Photo d’une fulgurite d’une longueur de 7 cm. Droits d'auteur sur la photo : Environnement Canada.

Date de modification :